check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sveinn Kjartansson

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Spacious, warm and cozy studio in a quiet courtyard in the city center.

5 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Old West Side Studio Rental Photos and Description

Private entrance, 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom w. shower, 1 kitchenette and hallway

Cozy Studio is a spacious fully furnished basement style self catering studio apartment that sleeps up to 3 people in one double bed and one fold-out cot if needed. Cozy Studio is in a private house and was built in 2009.

Location: It is perfectly located in a very quiet courtyard with no street traffic in only 2-3 min. walking distance from Reykjavik center square where you'll find the cities best restaurants, cafes, galleries, bars, shops and museums. In the neighborhood you'll also find a variety of Icelandic seafood restaurants, low price grocery stores and the old charming harbor area with shops, restaurants, whale wathching, puffin tours etc.

Amenities:

- Free Internet: Cozy has free high speed Internet (FIBER OPTIC / LAN cable provided - NO WiFi), flatscreen TV with a selection of International channels and Internet TV options.

- Bathroom: has a tiled shower and a washing machine.

- Kitchen: a kitchenette with a two ring ceramic cooking unit, toaster, water boiler, press can coffee maker, pots, pans and basic utensils.

- Sleeping area: has a 160x200 cm. double bed with a designer head board with dimmer lights.

- Entrance: Private entrance with your own key.

- Size: Cozy is very spacious or approx. 40 sqm. big (430 sqf.) in total.

- Lighting: Cozy Studio is very bright since it has 4 windows in the main area, 3 main ceiling lights (60W bulbs in each), 5 wall lights (40W bulbs in each) and the designer head board above the bed with dimmer lights on both sides or 10 lights in total in the main area with 3 main switches. It also has a reading lamp on the nightstand and a cozy floor lamp for more ambience.

- Style: the apartment was designed in a fusion style with focus on showing the raw materials (Scandinavian style) but with warm natural colors and simple and appealing decor.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sveinn Kjartansson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Why Sveinn Kjartansson chose Reykjavik

Cozy Studio is very spacious for a studio and is in a very quiet area even though it takes you only 3 min. to walk to the centre square. There is no street traffic outside the house and only one family lives in the building.

What makes this studio unique

In the middle of everything, restaurants, the old harbor where you get whale watching, museums, tourist info etc.

Reviews

4.8
based on 5 traveler reviews

Spacious, warm and cozy studio in a quiet courtyard in the city center.
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
5

A lovely location in Reyjkavik

  • 5 of 5

This apartment was the perfect home base for a recent trip to Iceland with my 9 year old son. Exactly what we needed in the way of accommodations; a cozy spot with a private bath and kitchenette, and just a short walk from downtown and the old harbor -- short enough that we would pop back in for a few minutes a couple times a day to change clothes or drop off stuff before heading out again. The neighborhood is wonderful, and Sveinn is a perfect host. We hope to return!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kristin, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. We truly appreciate it and thank you for choosing Cozy Studio for your stay in Iceland. It was a pleasure meeting both of you and the tour we did to Thorsmork was a great opportunity to get to you know you a little bit better. You are always welcome to stay with us again if you come back to Iceland and please feel free to contact us at any time if you need any information. Give our best to your family. Warm regards from Iceland, Svenni
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Washington, DC
4

Great rental & location

  • 4 of 5

Nice, clean, new pad that was super in being centrally located and having everything necessary (and more) for a stay in the capitol. Sveinn was very accommodating, and we felt very comfortable at this flat. Will definitely recommend to others headed to Iceland.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
United States
5

Clean quiet and right in the middle of town

  • 5 of 5

This was exactly what I was looking for. A home base in the middle of the city while I was there for work. I stayed for ~1 month and really enjoyed this peaceful apartment. Very clean and comfortable, right in the city, and Sveinn is friendly and welcoming. I will be staying here again on return trips.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Noah, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to meeting you again, next time around. You are always welcome. Kind regards, Svenni
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Reading, UK
5

A great stay in Iceland in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at cozy studio for 3 nights recently during a short break to Iceland. Before we arrived Sveinn was extremley helpful not only with arrangements concerning our booking but just general hints and tips to help us during our stay. The apartment was like its name very cozy and warm. Clean and comfortable and in a great location for the capital's centre without being noisy. We loved Iceland and were very happy to be staying in such lovely place.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Bryne, Norway
5

Cozy apartment and exellent landlord.

  • 5 of 5

This was my second stay in Cozy apartment. Last year I and two friends stayed for three nights, this year we stayed for nine. The Cozy Studio apartment is a great little home away from in downtown Reykjavik, located just two minutes walk from the town square. The apartment offers everything you need including a washer and dryer, internet access, a small kitchen with a refrigerator and water boiler. On top of everything, the landlord Sveinn is your best friend in Reykjavik. He knows all the restaurants, bars, hot spring swimming pools and sights worth seeing and knows what is going on in terms of movies, concerts and other events in town. We also took a day trip in Sveinn's own super jeep to Ejafjallaj?kull, ??rsm?rk and surrounding areas. Sveinn is a wonderful guide and brought us a lovely lunch with smoked lamb sandwiches, skyr and beverages.

I highly recommend a stay in Cozy Studio apartments.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tormod and thank you for your kind words. It makes me happy when our guests are happy but what makes me even happier is when people come back, year after year and become more than apartment guests, in your case a friend. I'm looking forward to see you next time you are in Iceland. Regards, Svenni
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Kilometres
Reykjavik Domestic
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Many
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
Grotta
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Icelandic Fish and Chips - organic
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Blafjoll / Skalafell
Nearest Beach
4 Kilometres
Nautholsvik
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Old West Side Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn 2016
Sep 16 2016 - Dec 20 2016
3 night minimum stay
$140
$886
 
 
Christmas & New Years
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,169
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 3 2017 - May 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$886
 
 
Summer 2017
May 15 2017 - Sep 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,169
 
 
Autumn 2017
Sep 16 2017 - Dec 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$886
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,169
 

Additional information about rental rates

We ask for a 25% deposit to confirm a reservation. We accept PayPal for the deposit and cash USD, EUR, GBP or ISK on location for the balance.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Old West Side Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 40 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Washing machine
  • Towels, soap and hair dryer provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 160 x 200 cm. + 90 x 200 cm.
  • Since it's a studio the bed is in the open area along with the TV area, kitchen and kitchen table and chairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties