check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Tim Campbell

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Cozy Timberlake Cottage, 3 Miles to LU, Mini Goats

43 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lynchburg Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Timberlake Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6), Great Convenient Location

Come visit our three baby goats born 2/9/16. They grow up quick so hurry!

We have chickens, ducks, miniature goats, five acres, a creek and a foosball table to keep the kids busy.

Timberlake Cottage is a charming two bedroom, one bath cottage located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Parkway and mountains in the beautiful city of Lynchburg, Virginia.

The cottage is a quick THREE MILES from Liberty University and Lynchburg College and ten to fifteen minutes from Randolph College and located in a really nice part of town.

Relax in our turn-of-the-century farm cottage. The 1,200 square foot 2 bedroom, 1 bath cottage SLEEPS SIX PEOPLE ON REAL BEDS...(NO SLEEPER SOFAS, AIR MATTRESSES OR TWIN BEDS)... and has been updated and remodeled with hardwood floors, low ceilings, brick fireplace and comes completely furnished with antique and reproduction furniture, a leather couch and three 145 channel satellite TVs.

Upstairs, the master bedroom is furnished with ONE KING gel memory foam bed and the second bedroom has TWO QUEEN pillowtop beds.

Since both bedrooms are upstairs, on the second floor, the cottage may not be suitable for those with physical limitations.

Downstairs the cottage has a full bath with a shower/tub combination and pedastal sink, a kitchen with full size appliances, a coffee maker, a living room and dining room.

On the back porch there is a FOOSBALL table and new washer and dryer.

Outside you can enjoy two decks that overlook the property's 5.5 acres. There's also a creek and woods.

Other amenities include WIFI, new washer/dryer, central heat and air and furnished kitchen. We furnish towels, hair dryer, soaps, shampoo, bed linens, pots and pans, silverware, cups and plates.

For those families with children, we are located just two doors down from Tiny Town Golf and Uncle Joe's donuts.

Convenienty located in the city limits and within walking distance to a Kroger grocery store with a new STARBUCKS, TGIFridays and other restaurants and shopping.

**30 minutes to Blue Ridge Parkway & Peaks of Otter

**20 minutes to Bedford and WWII Monument

**20 minutes to Appomattox & Civil War Site

**40 minutes to Smith Mountain Lake

**45 minutes to Roanoke

**45 minutes to Charlottesville

**Minutes to Liberty University, Lynchburg College and Randolph College

While we love animals, unfortunately PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED.

Smoking is permitted outside on either porch. No smoking inside the cottage.

Check-in is 4pm. Check-out is 10am.

Early check-ins or check-outs may be available depending on bookings.

This is a small cottage with one bathroom, therefore the MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY IS 6 PERSONS. PLEASE NO AIR MATTRESSES, SLEEPING BAGS OR EXTRA PEOPLE. Daytime guests are limited to a maximum of 4 people.

NO PARTIES ALLOWED. Due to excessive wear and tear on our house no parties, barbeques, get-togethers, after wedding socializing or any type of gatherings are allowed. You are paying only for the use of the house by 6 people, not as a venue to host parties or get-togethers.

While we want you to enjoy our home please do not be messy. If our cleaner has to spend an extra hour cleaning we will pass along the extra cleaning charges.

Special events, holidays, LU graduation and weekends may have higher rates.

We give higher preference to 5 night, 7 night and 2 night weekend rentals.

Keywords: Home for rent, cottage, cabin, Lynchburg, Liberty University

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Tim Campbell (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Tim Campbell

Thank you for taking the time to view our home in Lynchburg, Virginia. Marylou and I reside in Orlando, Florida, the vacation capital of the world. We love the beauty and area around Lynchburg. We'd love for other families to enjoy our home and area as well.

Tim Campbell purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Tim Campbell chose Central Virginia

Central Virginia is a very beautiful and special place with it's mountains, rolling hills, lakes, rivers and countryside.

What makes this cottage unique

Enjoy the privacy and convenience of our home versus a hotel room. We are in the city and close to all activities but have over five acres to explore.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your cottage was absolutely perfect for our girls weekend! We had a fantastic time and loved all of the sweet touches. Thanks again!
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 19

Reviews

4.8
based on 43 traveler reviews

Cozy Timberlake Cottage, 3 Miles to LU, Mini Goats
average rating of 4.837209 based on 62 reviews
5

Nice, very clean and convenient cottage.

  • 5 of 5

My family enjoyed the Cottage at Timberlake, specially my daughter who has fun with the goats and the chickens and she even put nicknames on them :-)

I appreciated a very clean property.

Convenient location to go to Peaks of Otter, Smith Mountain Lake, Lynchburg.

Maria Brito.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
venice, fl
5

Awesome Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Unlike the review before us, this location was PERFECTfor our family. My girls are on a first name basis with all the goats and chickens. For us, it was the perfect balance of easy access to the town and a country feel if you walked out the back door. The property was beautiful. At night, the woods lit up like a Christmas tree with all the fireflies. We were close enough to travel to Peaks of Otter and hike up the mountain one day, spent another day in Appomattox and learned so much about history. Clover Hill Village was a favorite of our family. Tim was fantastic and took care of the animals. My younger daughter loved that she could ask him questions about the animals when he was feeding them. After returning from vacation, my family and I are agreed that this vacation ranks up there as one of our best ever! Thank you for a wonderful vacation - it was very much needed!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Mixed feelings

  • 3 of 5

Inside of house is great. Beds were comfortable and house was clean and well stocked with necessities. However, the house is within about 40 feet of a 4 lane divided highway, which creates noise problems. Picture of house and description of property in advertisement versus the reality is not really accurate. I thought I was getting a house sitting on 5 acres for a quiet country like setting. Also not mentioned is the barn next to the house that has 3 additional rentable spaces that were occupied, one by the owner who was on site nearly every day. Wife was uncomfortable going out to the animals because the owner was usually out there already. if you think you are getting a house on 5 acres with privacy and solitude, you might be disappointed. I know we were. I communicated these concerns privately to the owner through email and have not received a response. This place might work for some, but it didn't really work for us.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I responded to all three of this guests emails. He wanted something for nothing. Called me a name I can't repeat here. He showed up 2.5 hours early on arrival day even after we told him twice that the cleaner would not be finished before 4pm because there was a departure that same day. Take what he has written with a grain of salt. We have lots of repeat guests and satisfied customers for over five years now. No one has ever complained about noise before. This guest said he lived in Lynchburg before and went to school right down the street from the house. How could he not know where the house was located? Everything you need to know about the house is right there in the listing. There is a google map with street view in the listing. Our listing says we are two doors down from the Tiny Town Putt Putt Golf and Donut Shop. We are right in the middle of town and not in the country. You can go out to the backyard where the chickens and goats and creek are and feel like you are in the country. If you have any questions or concerns please ask us before or during your stay. Our three rentals next door are on a separate property and over 200 feet away from the cottage. The parking lot and entrances are on the other side of the building. All four of our listings are linked together under "owner info" and they each mention our chickens and goats and have similar photos. How could you not put them together? The guests that rent the studios next door are in Lynchburg for LU intensive classes and seldom, if ever, go outside because they are studying all of the time. We live in Florida and not at the property. When we come to Lynchburg there is always a list of things to do to maintain a house with five acres and animals. We always try to be as unobtrusive as possible. The animals have to be fed and watered twice a day. Morning and evening. How does he think they are going to eat and be taken care of? Was he going to put on his muck boots and clean out the coop and goat shed? Who is going to mow five acres of grass, trim the bushes and weed-eat? We also like to free range the chickens and goats while we are in town. This allows guests more interaction with the animals than if they were fenced in. There are four new hotels on Wards Road that back up to the railroad tracks and on a busier street than ours and next to the airport. One hotel is right next to a biker bar. All of them are over $120 per night.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Easter Weekend at Timberlake Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 enjoyed a wonderful visit with our daughter, who is a student at Lynchburg College. We really felt at home in the adorable cottage and there was plenty of room to spread out, not like being crammed into a hotel room. While the weather wasn't perfect, the house certainly was. It is decorated beautifully and had everything we needed and more.

The beds were very comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was great, and the linens provided were a convenience for us. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans, and we did cook a few meals there while we were visiting.

My kids could not get enough of the GOATS!! I really didn't know that goats could be so amusing, but we spent a few hours on the rainy Easter Sunday just hanging out with them, and it was delightful. We would love to stay at Timberlake Cottage on another visit to Lynchburg. We really felt like we got to see and be part of the town much more than all our prior stays at hotels. The house also gave us the opportunity to just hang out, play cards, and connect as a family.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable and Convenient

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. My wife had to come up for a class at Liberty University. The house is only about a 5 minute drive from campus. Lots of restaurants and such nearby but still a very country feel. The house has a lot of charm and was warm even though it was cold the week we were there. Our girls loved seeing the goats and chickens on the property and exploring in the woods behind the house. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Retreat Vacation

  • 5 of 5

I loved this house! It was very comfortable, private and clean. It had every amenity that I was looking for my vacation retreat with my Grandchildren and Daughters visiting me on my stay.

The bedrooms rooms where spacious and the beds were amazingly comfortable I especially liked the kitchen!

Thanks and I hope to rebook when I return.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Thomas Jefferson's Poplar Forest
Liberty University
"5-10 minutes away!"
Lynchburg College
Blackwater Creek Athletic Area
"Beautiful place to walk, bike or hike. Miles of paved and dirt trails through the woods, tun..."
Peaks of Otter Visitor Center
"Our favorite place! Eat at the Peaks of Otter, hike the Peaks or drive the Parkway and enjoy..."
Appomattox
"Where our nation reunited at the end of the civil war. Beautiful and historical. Twenty minu..."
Randolph College
"Beautiful campus. Take a stroll along Rivermont Ave and Riverside Park nearby."
Riverside Park
Blue Ridge Pkwy
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Lynchburg Regional
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Amtrack
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Liberty University Snoflex
Nearest Point of Interest
Liberty University
Nearest Point of Interest
Lynchburg College
Nearest Point of Interest
Blackwater Trails
Nearest Point of Interest
The Blue Ridge Parkway
Nearest Point of Interest
Appomattox Courthouse
Car: recommended

Hockey, Ice skating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lynchburg Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 4 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
CFAW
Sep 22 2016 - Sep 24 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Homecoming
Oct 21 2016 - Oct 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$160
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Winterfest
Dec 30 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
LU Graduation
May 11 2017 - May 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
LC Graduation
May 18 2017 - May 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$120
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $40
Cleaning Fee $70

Special events, holidays, LU graduation and weekends may have higher rates.

We give higher preference to 5 night, 7 night and 2 night weekend rentals.

We have a 2 night minimum stay requirement.

Cancellations: No refunds given. Once we block the calendar for your dates it is very hard to rebook them. Renters move on to the next available property once they see the dates are no longer available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lynchburg Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , First floor bathroom. Towels, hair dryer, soaps, shampoo.
  • Bathroom is located on the first floor. No bathroom upstairs. Towels, hair dryer, soaps and shampoo provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , Two Queen Pillowtop Mattresses
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , One King Pillowtop Mattress
  • King size beds (1) First Bedroom Includes King Bed, Queen size Beds (2) Second Bedroom Includes TWO Queen Beds. All linen provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 13 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Home sits on over five acres and overlooks fields, woods and creek along one border. Look for the wildlife to come out in the late afternoon and early evening. Baby deer play in the field along with plenty of groundhogs and rabbits.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties