check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lisa Menna

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

1 - accommodation Nelson, BC, a Roxanne House (cameo in Steve Martin's film)

8 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Nelson Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Two bedrooms available or rent both and have a private suite. (up to 6 people)

A Roxanne House is the top floor of the historic home with a rich and varied history. It is located just two blocks from historic Baker Street in downtown Nelson B.C..

This 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom vacation rental can accommodate up to 6 people.

Guests can rent one room and share the bath or rent both rooms and enjoy the privacy of a full suite rental, with own entrance.

Built in 1889, this Victorian home appeared twice in the movie Roxanne - starring Steve Martin and Daryl Hannah. Art deco theater seats adorn the veranda. Much of the interior is the original house, including the wooden banister, trim and several authentic lathe and plaster walls. A photo of the Doctor who built the house is on display in the rental.

The kitchenette provides fridge, microwave, rice maker, griddle. toaster, kettle and coffee maker. The full kitchen in the main house is available to guests.

Enjoy a fantastic old house that is not appropriate for the persnickety or people with bad knees.

A short drive to Whitewater Ski Hill (known for having the best powder in B.C), pristine beaches, hiking, biking and walking trails.

Everything, groceries, art, music and a hospital, is within walking distance.

Getting Here:

By Air -

West Kootenay Reg. Airport

is the closest, with optional Shuttle Service

About 30 minutes driving time from Nelson.

By Car - Distances from closest major centres.

Spokane 3.5 hrs * (International Airport)

Edmonton 11-12 hrs * (International Airport)

Lethbridge 5 hrs

Vancouver 8 hrs * (International Airport)

Calgary 8 hrs * (International Airport)

Kelowna 4 hrs

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lisa Menna (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

What makes this apartment unique

The gorgeous front porch is everyone's favorite place.

Reviews

4
based on 8 traveler reviews

1 - accommodation Nelson, BC, a Roxanne House (cameo in Steve Martin's film)
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
5

Awesome place to spend your vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The Roxanne house is warm and inviting. My family stayed for 8 days. We had everything that we needed, it was clean, had comfy beds and lots of room. Lisa was a charming hostess and was there for anything that we needed. The house is located within walking distance to Baker Street shopping, restaurants and cafes as well grocery stores and the waterfront. The front porch is a perfect spot to relax with morning coffee or afternoon drinks. Thanks Lisa, hope to be back soon,

The Kraft family

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, unpretentious vibe, spacious character home

  • 4 of 5

Host Lisa was gracious and not imposing. A genuinely caring soul with a joyful heart welcomed us at a late hour. Our upper floor apartment unit was decked out in a mix of antiques and estate sale cast offs. We fell into our beds and were comfortable with clean bedding and the cool night air, and quiet of a small community. The impression was casual warmth a step above an eclectic cabin with all we could want. A powerful vintage blender for smoothies. Coffee pot, toaster appliances all at the ready for inexpensive meals in. A sprawling porch for catching the last rays of sunshine before the sun slipped behind the mountains. A friendly family neighbourhood was perfect for my trip where I hiked with my young daughter and went swimming at the public beach, and enjoyed people watching at the night market, and grabbing ice cream and late night (children welcome) Mexican fare at Baker Street.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, AB
2

In need of some TLC

  • 2 of 5

Lisa was great fun and very accommodating, which is why I really wanted to love this accommodation.

I think the word 'Heritage' is used as an excuse for not taking care of the property. You can have an old house without it being run down.

It was semi-comfortable and quite clean, but definitely needed some TLC. A lot of botch DIY jobs made it seem a bit like a student property (curtains held up with pins, pegs; holes covered over with 'something', fridge without any door shelves) and there were stains on the rugs. Chairs were old and dirty I didn't want to sit on them.

Many of the windows couldn't be opened (painted over) and the top balcony couldn't be used - door locked, which made for a VERY hot house which we couldn't bear to be in during the day.

It was definitely quirky - I loved some of the old/antique stuff in the house such as radio/CD deck etc. but we couldn't comfortably use the main balcony at the front as it seemed to be just full of junk (chairs from a theatre nearby which, while quirky, were not clean).

I really hope Lisa updates and cleans up this property as she's a great host and it has potential... but we wouldn't recommend it until that was done.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is true, the house is 128 years old and the balcony doors and windows are locked by law. The summer is hot ; It is true that you must close the curtains and turn on the air conditioner for it to cool the bedroom. 12 Art Deco theater chairs do sit on the porch. The Persian rug is antique and has some wear. Most people love them It is true we had to replace the fridge that week , with a temporary fridge, due to the real one having found a strange fishy smell. It is true that these people broke the curtains and left without saying so. It is a fun funky old house, not meant for people with bad knees or the persnickety.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Comfortable apartment, centrally located.

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for three days in March. Place was warm. Beds were comfortable. Kitchen well equipped. Beautiful views from the living room.

Clean, quiet, safe and wifi are our priorities. All these were met.

The owner also ensured our special needs of non scented cleaners and non scented bedding and towels were met. Much appreciated.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: ..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

More than adequate

  • 4 of 5

Roxanne House is a work in progress with interesting and amusing features. It is fully stocked with kitchen utensils, bed and bathroom linens. Beds are comfortable. It certainly fits with the uniqueness of Nelson. .

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location, awesome town, tons of fun

  • 5 of 5

What an awesome place. Cool house, very close to downtown, which was perfect for the New Years festivities. There was plenty to do. . . We came for skiing, but also ended up having a great time in Nelson, meeting some cool locals, and going off to the Ainsworth Hot Springs twice... Which has a cool water cave. I highly recommend this place if you're looking to experience Nelson and the surrounding areas. I've stayed in Castlegar before (a two night ski trip to Red and Whitewater) and this place is SOOOOO greatly superior that it's not even comparable. Lisa and the VRBO staff went above and beyond to help us and the price point was very reasonable. The place is big enough for a couple, two couples, or - if you don't mind tight quarters - a bunch of friends looking to rent a place so that they can ski/board or do whatever other awesome activities in the heavily wooded and mountainous area. Nelson rocks, and this place does too. Oh, and you should probably rent Roxanne and watch it while you're here (on your computer - no TV) if you have the energy after skiing the amazing terrain at the local hill; but, you might not.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Castlegar, Trail or Spokane
Nearest Barpub
Bibo
Nearest Ferry
30 Kilometres
Balfour
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Nelson
Nearest Restaurant
all seasons
Nearest Ski
20 Kilometres
whitewater
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Nelson, lakeside
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Nelson Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$119
$831
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $378
cleaning fee $76

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Nelson Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , or 2 single beds
  • The fold out couch in the front room sleeps 2.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties