Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean View 'Tree House' - 1 Block to the Beach, Dog-Friendly

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Wireless Internet
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-8)

Live like a local in a beautiful 'Tree House' like home. Just a 3 minute walk to the sand at Wind n Sea Beach. Upstairs, the entire top floor of the 2 story building is yours, walk down stairs to your own private patio with BBQ, lounge chairs and outdoor dining. Includes private laundry room with washer and dryer and an outdoor shower for washing the sand off your feet at the end of the day.

2 newly renovated bathrooms, bedrooms and a large cooks kitchen- perfect for gourmet meals and entertaining. Both bedrooms have queen size beds and lots of closet space. The en-suite master bathroom has a tub/shower combination and the 2nd bathroom has a shower. The beautifully decorated living room has a comfortable full-sized sofa bed, and the two chairs also convert to twin beds for little ones.

Blue sky, ocean and green tree top views - you'll love calling the 'Tree House' home!

Keywords: Flat, Townhouse, Cottage, Beach House, Water View, Surf, Dog, Family Friendly

More Details

Owner
Sharon Simmonds
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

About Sharon Simmonds

I design dog toys for a living, love to travel and spend time with good friends and family.

Sharon Simmonds purchased this townhome in 1978

Why Sharon Simmonds chose San Diego

I grew up near La Jolla and have always loved the charm and beauty. Wind n Sea Beach is truly beautiful and I love the peaceful 'tree house' feel of our vacation home.

What makes this townhome unique

The beach is a 3 minute walk out the front door. There are restaurants close by and downtown La Jolla is also close. Walk 2 blocks to pick up hot bagels in the morning after a walk on the beach.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi,



We arrived home safely after a really great holiday in San Diego. Your house met all our expectations and we felt it was like home after a couple of days. The home equipment, amenities and location, particularly to the beach, were wonderful, and your support during our stay was much appreciated.



Thanks again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay



Best Regards
May 2013
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Beach Barber Tract Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 7
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Beautiful newly renovated bathroom.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Beautiful newly renovated bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Large room with memory foam mattress and en-suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Charming bedroom with large closet.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double , 2 child bed , Large comfortable sleeper sofa bed and 2 child size beds
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor shower. Private Laundry room, Outdoor patio with deck chairs and table seating, Large Gorgeous Kitchen, Separate Dining Room, Beautifully Decorated.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Ocean View 'Tree House' - 1 Block to the Beach, Dog-Friendly
average rating of 4.72 based on 35 reviews
Frederiksberg
5

Perfect little spot for vacation in La Jolla!

  • 5 of 5

Nicely furnished apartment with great kitchen and patio. Hostess was really helpful and answers promptly. In summary I give my warmest recommendations.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Location was great but the furniture not comfortable.

  • 3 of 5

We walked to La Jolla center and Birdrock. The kitchen was beautifully designed with adequate dishes. The couch in the living room was broken and the other chairs only moderately comfortable. Beds are very low to the ground and the bedrooms freezing regardless of turning up the heat! I would not likely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, The heating in the apartment works perfectly, no one has ever complained about being too cold, on the contrary we usually get comments that our guests were perfectly toasty during the winter. Perhaps this guests didn't understand how to use the thermostat, and never called to ask? The beds are modern style and lower to the ground, however we have had guests of all ages stay, without a problem. I would say that if you have a serious physical mobility issue, than perhaps a tall bed would be a better choice. Lastly, the furniture is comfortable, there are cushions on all seating, nothing is broken. We take customer service seriously and take great pride in our responsiveness if there ever is a problem. Unfortunately, we never heard a peep from this guest during their entire stay. If we had any issues, they would have been fixed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

Thank you Sharon!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a lot in this beautifully decorated house.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Gemütliche, gut ausgestattete Wohnung in einer schönen Wohngegend! Ideal für Familien.

  • 4 of 5

Hübsche Ikea & Vintage Einrichtung, alles da.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Tucson
5

Very Good Vacation Get-Away

  • 5 of 5

The overall experience was very good. We loved the location and the livability of the house. The walk to the beach was quick and easy. We really loved our week there. Access to fun places in La Jolla and Pacific Beach was great.

Additional comments/suggestions:

1. We had trouble with the Wi-Fi throughout the stay. Sharon was very concerned and helpful, but the connection was intermittent.

2. The TV was nice but very difficult to turn on. There were multiple remotes and no instructions.

3. For enhanced appearances and enjoyment, we suggest that the patio table be painted and all the patio furniture be stained. Some nice "Sunbrello" cushions would look great, but those are pricy.

We would definitely consider staying here again, and we have recommended this property to friends and relatives.

Rob & Mo

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Ocean View Treehouse was the perfect rental for us! We stayed 3 weeks in this lovely beach apartment. The first two weeks my husband and I were working from the apartment. There was plenty of room to set up a work station for each of us and the WIFI was fast and dependable. Even though the apartment is close to La Jolla Blvd, we just closed the front windows and it was plenty quiet enough and opening the back and side windows keep a beautiful cool breeze blowing through the house. Early every morning we would walk a block and a half down to Windansea beach to watch the morning surfers and walk through the neighborhood to the south to admire the beautiful homes and little hidden beach acces stairs and paths to explore incredible tide pools that changed daily with the tide. In the evenings we would walk back down to watch the sunset and on our first night we even witnessed the fabled green flash which I had last seen over 30 years ago despite hundreds of watched sunsets! Our two grown sons joined us for the last week of vacation and there was plenty of room for both of them. One in the 2nd bedroom and one on a very comfortable raised air bed in the family room. Having our own laundry room was a huge plus and the updated kitchen had everything we needed. The biggest surprise for us was the fact that we did not share walls with the other units. This apartment is free standing and all that is below are 4 garage bays and our laundry room. There is a front and a back entrance and an outdoor shower in a private patio. Parking was never an issue. One mile south is Bird Rock for coffee, dining, bars and a mile north is La Jolla Village for groceries, great restaurants bars, and scenery.

In conclusion, we would highly recommend this place and would definitely book it again.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Beach Barber Tract Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring Break 2017
Mar 15 2017 - Apr 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Winter 2017
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
$3,650
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $160
Tax Rate 10.5%

Cleaning Fee Schedule:

a) 1 cleaning fee ($160 total) required for a 7-14 day stay.
b) 2 cleaning fees ($320 total) required for a 15 - 30 day stay (we pay for a 3rd cleaning during a 30 stay).
c) Cleaning fee schedule repeats for days stayed beyond 30.

Please note: the cost estimator does not include cleaning for stays longer than 7 days. Cleaning fees will be adjusted during actual billing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties