check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Owner

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Vacation at Beautiful Waterfront Property on Cowichan Lake

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

Youbou Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Lakeside Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-

Beautiful cabin suits a couple wishing to 'get away from it all' or a family wanting to relax, have fun and vacation together. Enjoy swimming in the warmest water in the lake, relax on the beach, deck, patio or dock.

Roast marshmallows around the fire pit in the evenings.

View amazing sunsets from anywhere on the 1/2 acre property.

Soak up the rays on the beach or try your hand on one of the finest fishing lakes on the island.

Cottage comes fully equipped with dishwasher, fridge, stove, fireplace, soaker tub, four foot walk-in-shower, spacious deck complete with comfortable patio furniture, wonderful master suite, and on-deck propane barbeque.

Pedal boat and golf cart available for your use!

Keywords:

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

We really enjoy every minute at the cabin or 'Lakehouse' as we call it with family (our daughter and grand-daughter in photo above) and friends. There's always something to do or see for all ages. But most of all RELAXING is our No. 1 past-time. We hope that you will enjoy this beautiful spot too!

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2008

Reviews

Vacation at Beautiful Waterfront Property on Cowichan Lake
average rating of 4.5 based on 2 reviews
4

A Lot to Like...

  • 4 of 5

There’s a lot to like about this spacious, well-furnished lake house that we stayed at for three days in May. There were just the two of us, so we only used a portion of the house during our stay.

You could see Lake Cowichan (and the mountains on the other side of the lake) from much of the interior of the house as well from the large front deck. The extensive grounds leading down to the lake are well cared-for and it was fun to ride back and forth to the waterfront with the golf cart. The docks weren’t in position for the season yet, so we didn’t attempt to carry the paddle boat down to the lake.

There are many options for relaxing outside the house (in fact, the choices were a little overwhelming—we counted 12 different places to sit or sit and eat on the grounds and deck). The kitchen was outfitted well and we enjoyed making our own meals (especially after picking up groceries at the amazing Saturday Farmer’s Market in Duncan).

Because the house is off the grid and has a unique water system there were a number of special instructions we had to follow during our stay, including daily flushing of the water filter in the crawl space below the house. The owner took the time to show us what needed to be done when we arrived (but I’d have appreciated a little more information about these requirements in the listing.)

We had a few minor issues with this lovely accommodation, which would be useful to know before booking: The last 4 kms of the road to the house is gravel, which mades the last part of the journey dusty and slow in our small car. This also kept us from heading out for many local excursions.

Guests have to bring our own sheets and towels, which we found irksome. We don’t have king size sheets so had to make do with flat queen sheets from home, that didn’t fit the bed in the master bedroom. No kleenix or paper towels were supplied, so we had to purchase our own. Although we paid a significant cleaning fee, guests are asked to vacuum or sweep before leaving, which doesn’t seem fair.

The house doesn’t have a washer and dryer (not that the listing claims that it does), but I imagine this would make longer stays more challenging.

The house and location are lovely and we really felt like we got away from it all. While we do plan to come back to explore this area again in the future, we’ll be looking for other accommodation to better suit our needs for the price we paid.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review Elizabeth. Your comments are much appreciated.. We really enjoy the mountain spring fed water but yes, the purification system does require checking at certain times of the season. We will clearly mark the System Operations section of the binder that included floor cleaning info as it is intended for winter long term renters. We do not expect folks to sweep/vacuum if they have paid a cleaning deposit. Guests are all contacted about the last 4 K being a logging road with conditions that vary. It's unfortunate that it was so dusty during your time at the Lake House. When you do come out this way in the future, we would be happy to offer you a complimentary stay. Thanks again for booking with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kitchener, Ontario
5

Exactly What We Needed

  • 5 of 5

A week at this beautiful piece of paradise was exactly what we needed. It was so refreshing to leave jam-packed schedules behind, sit back and relax, and breathe in the clean mountain air. Being nature lovers, we were immediately captivated by the amazing views of Cowichan Lake and the surrounding mountain ranges, the nearby hiking trails, gorgeous sunsets, and the early morning visits of the elk. The cottage was classy, yet warm and inviting, tastefully decorated and furnished, clean and well-maintained. Our hosts went out of their way to accommodate our schedule and circumstances, provided quick response times to our questions, and were very helpful and obliging in every way both before and during our stay. We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely spot to anyone.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Croquet, badminton, bocce ball, and also a golf cart available for touring the property

Bowl at North America's only remaining lanes with pins changed by hand in Youbou!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Youbou Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,415
 
 
September
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,293
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $65

*** Guests provide pillows, sheets and personal towels.

Supplied are comforters, kitchen linens and beach towels.

Pillows, sheets and personal towels can be provided for $100.

Contact owner for rates during spring/fall/winter

Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Youbou Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) There is an absolute maximum of 6 guests
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties