Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

100' Lake Huron Frontage Fall specials $150 night 2 night min

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 10)

Take walks in the State Park- ride bikes- have a roaring campfire at night....

You'll love the 100' private sandy beach and 1 acre grassy yard. This A-frame has 1 first floor bedroom and a second floor dorm style room that has 2 double beds on each side. The cabin is ideal for family vacations. Have your coffee watching the sunrise on the deck overlooking beautiful Lake Huron and fall asleep to the waves lapping the shore. The kids will love playing in the sand and waves and enjoy s'mores around the huge beach fire pit at night. Walk or bike to downtown Harrisville, shops, restaurants and State Park. Pricing based on number of occupants. Pets ok $50 fee.

Keywords: Lake Huron, beach, lake front , beach house, cottage, up north Michigan, Harrisville, sleeps up to 10, house,pets

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 5, 2017

Why The Owner chose Northern Michigan

3 generations of our family have enjoyed vacations here for many years.

What makes this cabin unique

We love taking walks and bike rides and spending the days on the beach. Plenty of room for yard games. One of our favorite stores is Northern Accents and we love the ice cream store. Harrisville Harbor Grocery is close by so you can stock up on groceries- 2 gas stations in town.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I have stayed here many times since it is my sisters summer cabin. My most recent stay was Memorial weekend and we were blessed with great warm weather. The beach is so nice and private, great for the kids and swimming- you can walk along the beach all the way to the State Park. The kids love finding special rocks, playing in the sand and swimming. We always have a campfire until late at night cook smores and RELAX- I always hate leaving.
May 2011
  • 1 of 1


Harrisville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront
  • Internet ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Double Beds (5)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

100' Lake Huron Frontage Fall specials $150 night 2 night min
average rating of 4.25 based on 9 reviews
Ortonville, MI

Perfect getaway in a clean, lovely cabin on Lake Huron

  • 5 of 5

Upon arrival we found the cabin to be very clean and perfect for my family. Lake Huron is in full view from the lovely deck, the fire pit is perfect to stay warm in the evening and relax with the crashing waves. The beach is nice and sandy (some rocks here and there from past high waters). I could not say anything better about this place, fantastic getaway!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Metro Detroit

Perfect Place for Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cabin for 4 days. There were three smaller families that came to visit together, and we enjoyed our time up there, even though the weather wasn't as good as we would have liked it to be.

It is nice and cozy. There are two porches, one in front of the house and one in the back, which is a lake view one. Our families were extremely satisfied with the property.

In future, it would be great if wifi was added, and if owners had a some kind of a vessel boat or canoes that could be used by guests.

Thank you Elaine and Jane for a smooth and easy transaction.

June 21st to June 24th, 2014.


  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything a Beach House Should Be!

  • 5 of 5

If you have ever stayed at a lake house before, then this A-frame should meet or exceed your expectations. The house was clean (the first floor was freshly painted and had new flooring) and it was decorated with an "up north" theme that made it cute and homey.

The beach is wonderful! We were luck enough to stay during a period of warm, sunny weather, and Lake Huron was perfect for swimming! The beach does have pebbles, but not even worth mentioning in my book had others not commented on it before. The fire pit is large and the owner had chairs and benches around it. We bought firewood from a nearby, self-serve vendor for $5 and had more than enough for the evening. We cooked hotdogs and roasted marshmallows over the fire and talked the evening away as the sun set and the stars filled the sky.

For fun, we walked the beach to Harrisville State Park, shopped at local stores (Northern Accent is a great store and Moose Tales was really cute!), and we ate dinner at The Dugout and the food was really good!

If it happens to rain during your stay, there are board games in the house and a TV & DVD player. There is also a binder filled with local activities, which we did use and do things from it. One thing I have not seen mentioned before is that there is a bowling alley, a pizza place (Harrisville Pizza), and a grocery store near by. There is also a food mart at the BP gas station, which could come in handy if needed.

Overall, I would give this vacation 5 stars. The house was comfortable, the beach was awesome, and there is plenty to do in the area.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Relaxing Week at the Lake

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our visit to the A-frame cabin in Harrisville. The cabin really is beachfront and during the weekdays, there was none else near us, so it felt like we had even more beach to ourselves. The water is clear there with waves on a windy day. The beach is sandy with some pebbles that are typical of the Great lakes. The shoreline is shallow for a long ways out. My husband must have swam out a hundred yards and he could still touch bottom.

The cabin itself is a rustic 70's A-frame. You aren't paying for a modern luxury cabin, but what you get is well kept and clean. It was clear that the owners have made some improvements. Overall it was a simple rustic place. There was plenty of room for the three adults and two dogs who were there that week, but I don't think I would want to go beyond six adults in this cabin. The kitchen was well supplied with utensils and pans, the bathroom was clean and tidy, and the beds were reasonably comfortable. We didn't use the TV all week, but we were glad it was there. We did have trouble with cell service and had to go up on the road if we had to make a call.

If you go be sure to bring some warm clothes. There is a small heater, but this is not an all season cabin. The only improvements we would make are more lighting in the living room and having a rake available to clear the goose droppings on the beach. One surprise is that there is a ramp to the cabin and wide doorways so some wheelchair users would be able to stay there.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great suggestions- we will add more lighting in the main living area and include a rake for the beach. It's always wonderful to know how to make our guests more comfortable. Before next season we will be replacing the flooring in the main level and painting the main level bedroom. We replaced the bathroom vanity and faucets and sink after your stay...and painted the main level this year too. FYI Geese only visit our beach about every 10 years. Glad you had a nice stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lake Huron every year

  • 3 of 5

This property was very private and had a really large space outside. It was the perfect place for a family to take a pet. We brought our 2.5 year old yellow lab and we were able to take her out the door to the lake without any worry that she would bother anyone. She swam all she wanted without worry. The neighbors have dogs and were very nice too. However, our priority was that our kids could swim without having to dodge large rocks. I even asked if the water entrance was rocky (and specifically said that we would find another place if it was) and I was told that I would not be disappointed because it was all sandy. It was sandy on the SHORE, but the entrance was loaded with rocks. We had to go down about 3 houses to a public access site that was sandy once in the water, so we could swim without hurting our feet. That is a deal-breaker for me. Yes, this is an A Frame, so the upstairs is hard to get around in if you are an adult. Luckily we were outside most of the time on either of the two great decks. The property was clean but outdated. It's best features include the large space outside, the great view from the deck, all the privacy, and of course, the ability to bring mans best friend!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was sorry to hear that this visitor was troubled with what she considered a rocky bottom. Our grandchildren play in the water and have never complained about "rocks". My sister has a place on the lake further north and they have "Rocks"....our beach has pebbles (small smooth stones;). There is also a sandbar about 3 feet out that our kids, and grand kids have always played on, without water shoes etc. We have never had complaints regarding the swimming conditions and have enjoyed years of fun playing in the water; we take out ROCKS whenever they appear assuring a pleasant experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Nice Beach

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed at the cabin with our children and two grandchildren. The best feature of this rental is definitely the beach. Very nice, sandy and lots of room to spread out and have a great campfire.

The interior of the house left a lot to be desired. The downfalls of an A-frame were not as bad as there have obviously been no updates to this property in some time. There is no true dining area, just a long table with some folding chairs that you would have to pull out into the living room area to use. Luckily, we were able to eat all of our meals outside on the deck, but it would have been very inconvenient for us if the weather had not cooperated. The sleeping arrangements are very crowded and the beds old. Four double beds upstairs that are hard to sleep in because of the A-frame walls. We have stayed in a lot of rentals and this one really needs to have some updates.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We opted to leave the table (long wooden seats 8 comfortably) against the wall to leave more living space. It's very convenient to pull it out if needed and we've never had any problems with this arrangement. We do have lots of additional outside seating as well so it's always worked out. The cabin is dated in decor but very clean and stocked to accommodate visitors. We've never had anyone complain about the beds and personally find them comfortable. The majority of the time visitors are outside enjoying the beach and beautiful Lake Huron.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Boyne Mountain Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.9 Miles
The Dug Out
Nearest Golf
0.7 Miles
Loggers Trace-Springport Hills
Nearest Train
33.4 Miles
Amtrak Station Bus Stop
Nearest Restaurant
0.9 Miles
The Dug Out

Cedarbrook Trout Farms opened in 1968 as the first licensed trout farm in the state of Michigan! Located at 1543 Lakeshore Dr, Harrisville, Michigan 48740 -4.6 Miles

Sturgeon Point Lighthouse and Museum built in 1869 6071 Point Rd, Harrisville, MI 48740-

8.9 Miles

Harrisville Harbor has a play ground for kids to play on. Located in the town of Harrisville.

Hunt's Canoe & Mini Golf- 711 Lake St, Au Sable Charter Twp, MI 48750- 15.8 Miles

Stoney Creek Golf mini golf- 4402 N US Hwy 23, Oscoda, MI 48750- 21.0 Miles

Oscoda Canoe Rental- 678 W River Rd, Oscoda Twp, MI 48750- 16.0 Miles

Beck Farms (horseback riding)- 537 E Spruce Rd, Spruce, MI 48762- 21.5 Miles

Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary (Glass bottom boat tours)- 500 W. Fletcher

Alpena, Michigan 49707- 34.3 Miles

Besser Museum Small museum with focus on local history and current local artist exhibits. You can dig for fossils in their Fossil Park and keep what you find!- 491 Johnson St, Alpena, MI 49707- 34.9 Miles

Island Park & Wildlife Sanctuary Excellent natural beauty, in an island park located right in Alpena, Michigan city limits. Well-marked trails, as well as a tower and covered bridge- Long Rapids Road & Gilchrist Avenue, Alpena, MI

Stoney Acres Winery-4268 Truckey Road, Alpena, MI 49707- 37.1 Miles

Arzo Sports and Fun Park- 2516 Bloom Rd, Alpena, MI 49707- 38.5 Miles

Mackinaw City & Island- 136.9 Miles

These are some of the many enjoyable things available to do.


Rates & Availability

Harrisville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $55
Pet Fee $50

Standard rates 2 people: $1,100 weekly $225 per night (July and August) June and Sept. (1,000 week/ $200 per night)
3-4 people: 1,200 a week ($225 per night July-August) June and Sept ( 1,100 a week/ $200 per night)
5-7 people: $1,300 a week ($250 per night July- August) June and Sept ($1,200 a week/ $225 per night)
Owner has the option of increasing rate if more than 1 family stay

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties