check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jennifer Mathis

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Hip Little Cabin on the Hill with Hot Tub & Wi-Fi/ Fantastic Location

30 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Swannanoa Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4 - 6

Peacefully situated on a hill surrounded by trees. Fully equipped cabin for a stress free vacation. Beautiful walks in the neighborhood with breathtaking views. Great deck with hot tub, grill and table for outdoor dining. Spiral staircase to a

kid haven - twin beds with reading lights come with their own sock monkey! Reading nook with plenty of books and toys for kids to enjoy. New furnishings and wood burning stove make for a really cozy retreat. Bring a good book or borrow one of ours - you won't want to leave!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jennifer Mathis (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Amazing! This has been our second time here, and we had (another) great time with our two dogs, Lady and Minnie. My sister, brother, and parents all loved relaxing in the hot tub and snoozing by the fireplace. We also enjoyed the art studios, the Asheville Brewing Company

and going up the mountains. This is the perfect cabin and we will surely be coming back!
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.9
based on 30 traveler reviews

Hip Little Cabin on the Hill with Hot Tub & Wi-Fi/ Fantastic Location
average rating of 4.9 based on 34 reviews
5

Whimsical cabin, full of character!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, myself, our daughter , and her boyfriend stayed here and could not have been more pleased. Very easy to find and yet secluded from everything. When we opened the door I think we all gasped in appreciation of the decor of the cabin. This cabin is so adorable, clean and plenty of room. The pictures do not do this place justice! It is that cute! We would love to plan another get away just to stay in this cabin. The hot tub was great too! On our last night we did see a small bear at dusk that briefly entered the yard then went back into the woods. There is no dishwasher so plan to wash dishes. I had paper ware and it all worked out. My husband fell in love with the local grocery store Ingles which is only minutes away. We also met several neighbors when my husband and I would take walks and everyone is so friendly. The owner Jennifer was very informative and quick to respond which is very appreciative. The cabin is also organized with tips, maps, and guides for the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear it! We want to feel great about the place we stay when vacationing and hope that guests find this in The Hip Little Cabin on the Hill. Come back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

We never want to leave!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I try to visit the area in spring and fall and always stay at this peaceful, beautiful cabin. It has everything you could possibly need and is located just a short drive to Asheville and Black Mountain. It is always spotlessly clean. We feel so grateful to be able to stay here and always look forward to coming back.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

FABULOUS cabin right outside downtown Asheville

  • 5 of 5

This place it truly a fabulous retreat just 10 minutes from downtown Asheville. We were able to enjoy everything downtown offers - galleries, great restaurants and breweries, and in 10 minutes we could also be hiking off the Skyline Drive. The cabin has 2 lovely bedrooms which we used and a super kid friendly loft - complete with hideaway, which our 3 year old son LOVED. The deck is beautiful, the hot tub great, and the fire pit just perfect for family smores nights. We will definitely be back the next time we are in town. Thank you Jennifer for such a lovely stay!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect cabin getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My wife, pup, and I stayed in Jennifer's cabin in late March and could not be more pleased with our experience. The location is great for a quick trip into town to explore Asheville, while also being secluded enough to provide the mountain escape-like feel we were looking for. Next time we are come back to Asheville, we'll hope this place is available.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location for what we needed

  • 5 of 5

Great little cabin. Perfect for family of four. Minutes from Ashville or Black Mountain and Monteat College. I think we got a little lucky with the weather for a February visit. I wore shorts each day. Jennifer was very, very responsive. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful Cabin!!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay so much!! Cute place not far from Asheville and the great hiking offered around the area. The cabin was just as expected. We loved making a fire in the pit outside. We enjoyed the jacuzzi as well. Decorated very well. The only change would be to replace some of the cooking pans. I like to cook and the pans/pots were very used and scratched up (though to be expected with rentals). Otherwise this was a great place and we will return again. As well as tell our family and friends of this place. Jennifer was so helpful and responded very quickly. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Asheville Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Pisgah Brewing Company
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Black Mountain Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 40
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Athen's Pizza
Nearest Ski
24 Miles
Wolf Ridge Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Fantastic location to dive into all that the area has to offer. Nearby attractions include the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, biking, whitewater rafting, the Biltmore, shops, and restaurants. The River Arts District is a not to be missed introduction to the local art scene in Asheville. Another sure bet for art lovers is the Folk Art Center - home to the Southern Highland Craft Guild, conveniently located nearby on the Parkway. Lake Lure and Chimney Rock are an easy day trip from the cabin. Warren Wilson College is in Swannanoa , which offers miles of trails to explore and a farmers market in warmer weather. With Asheville 11 miles away and Black Mountain just 6 miles away, and a sweet little cabin like this to hang your hat, you can't go wrong!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Swannanoa Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$130
Fri,Sat
$850
 
 
leaf 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$135
$875
 
 
winter 2016
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$130
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
January/February 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$125
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
spring 2017
Mar 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$130
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$140
Fri,Sat
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
fall 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$130
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$130
Fri,Sat
$800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
cleaning fee $50 + Tax
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Holidays are a 3 night minimum stay and are charged at a rate of $135/night.

Cancellation policy: full refund if cancelled 30 days prior to trip. 75% 3 weeks before, 50% 2 weeks before, 25% 7 days out. No refund within the week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Swannanoa Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , sink outside of bathroom
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • towels are provided
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • loft - 2 twin/ single , twins beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • The cabin has 2 bedrooms with closed doors and a sleeping loft that is open to the kitchen/living area. The downstairs bedrooms share a jack and jill bath. Both bedrooms have a dresser and lots of closet space The loft area has two twin beds nestled under the eaves, each with their own reading light and sock monkey! The reading nook, hideaway fort with toys and clawfoot tub makes this area great for the younger set. Bed linens are provided with rental.
Entertainment:
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
A dock is available for your ipod/itouch to serve as your sound system

Partner Offers