check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Gayle Kennedy

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Charming Stone Cottage - Walk To Downtown Williamstown and Williams College

6 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Williamstown Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Unique 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom 1930s house

This lovely little cottage was renovated six years ago by the marvellous Peter and Maureen Koppenaal. It has three bedrooms (two downstairs and one large bedroom upstairs), one bathroom, a well-equipped kitchen, elegant dining room and relaxing living room. Outside there is a large yard with gas BBQ and table and chairs. In the basement there is a washer and dryer. There is also WIFI and an HD television.

There is no end to the attractions in the Berkshires. Whether you enjoy museums and theatres or want to bask in the gorgeous landscape by hiking, swimming, and skiing, the Berkshires has something for everyone.

Additional information:

Completely renovated in 2007 with fully equipped kitchen and bathroom.

Four blocks from campus - walk to Williamstown Theater Festival and town.

Quiet residential street with quaint luncheonette and deli around the corner.

Cable, HDTV, wireless internet included.

Washer, dryer and dishwasher

Location, location, location...Three hours from Boston and New York City, one hour from Albany International Airport. Five minutes to Vermont, 17 minutes to historic Bennington or Jiminy Peak.

Note: Fireplace not operational.

Sorry: NO PETS, no smoking, please.

** NOTE: Maximum 4 Adults, 2 Children **

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gayle Kennedy (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Gayle Kennedy

I grew up in Williamstown and even as a child was awed by the beauty of its landscape and seasons. I moved to England 15 years ago, but I have always come back here once a year, even after my family moved away. I bought this house so we could keep coming back.

Gayle Kennedy purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Gayle Kennedy chose Williamstown

I rented this house twice as a vacationer (and learned to book it early!) and fell in love with its uniqueness and coziness. I love being able to walk to downtown Williamstown and the Williams campus, as well as to some of the trails like Pine Cobble. My sons and I also love to walk in the shallow Green River - if you come in the summer, bring a pair of watershoes and hop on in!

I'm also hugely in love with the history of the house, and I still have more to learn. It was built in the 1930s by Thomas Hart, an African-American former Williams student who worked at a stone quarry in Pownal, Vermont - hence the house's unique exterior. The Harts rented the house out for years - one of their tenants was an elderly couple that my father remembers shovelling coal for in the early 1960s.

Reviews

4.8
based on 6 traveler reviews

Charming Stone Cottage - Walk To Downtown Williamstown and Williams College
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
wellington
4

Quiet and comfortable cottage

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a pleasant stay at this lovely cottage. It has all the basic amenities needed. The beds were quite comfortable and it is quite roomy for a small house. Williamstown is a charming town ,perfect for relaxation. The house is an easy walk to town and the college. There is a lot to do in the area from nature hikes to cultural pursuits . I look forward to visiting the area soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely place to stay. It has everything you need.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this adorable home. It was comfortable and clean and conveniently located to the town. So close to museums, historic areas, hiking trails. Every day was a new adventure. The beds were very comfortable. Definitely highly recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magical cottage getaway for the whole family!

  • 5 of 5

My family had the pleasure of staying at Gayle's cottage over this past Memorial Day Weekend, when we attended a wedding at the Mass MOCA in North Adams. The Cottage is immaculately maintained, and super sweet and comfortable. We loved the stone cottage itself, and there was plenty of room for 5 adults and our 15month old son. The backyard is magical, and it was very conveniently located for our weekend away. I found Gayle to be a gracious and conscientious host - in fact she bent over backwards to make sure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We can't recommend this cottage highly enough! Stay here if you get the chance!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

Our family was in town for a weekend to see a wedding, and, after staying here, we now think we now think we may have to come back for a longer visit. The house is absolutely charming and well-maintained. It's close to everything in Williamstown, and within walking distance to a playground, which was perfect for our two young kids. The kids also loved their upstairs room, and we just loved having a beautiful "home away from home." The hosts also provided us with everything we needed. We would highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Warwick, RI
5

Great Property

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the stone cottage, in town for a bike race, the accommodations were better than expected! The charm of the exterior was carried through the interior, along with all the modern amenities. The beds had great sheets and were very comfortable!!

Gayle was a peach, she even left us cookies and a bottle of wine! We will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautifully Maintained Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Adorable renovated cottage close to the town of Williamstown. Layout of the house is perfect for families or couples alike. Great upstairs bedroom perfectly situated for children to sleep and play.

The house is clean and well appointed. The owner provides linens and towels which is a huge plus.

Area hiking, restaurants and attractions are a short drive away. Many stores and activities at Williams College are of walking distance.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
42 Miles
Albany International Airport, NY
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Hops and Vines, Water Street, Williamstown, MA
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Taconic Golf Club, Meacham Street,Williamstown, MA
Nearest Train
42 Miles
Albany-Rensselear Amtrak, Albany, NY
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Hops and Vines, Water Street, Williamstown, MA
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Jiminy Peak, Hancock, MA
Car: recommended

The Cottage@60 Maple Street is located within walking distance or a short drive of the best Williamstown and the northern Berkshires have to offer - cultural attractions such as the Williamstown Theatre Festival, museums including the Clark Art Institute, the Williams College Museum of Art and MASS MoCA, summer hiking trails including Pine Cobble (part of the Appalachian Trail), winter cross-country skiing in Hopkins Forest, downhill skiing and summer fun at the mountain resort Jiminy Peak, plus restaurants, the beautiful Williams College campus, free public swimming, and so much more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Williamstown Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 7 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Homecoming 2016
Nov 4 2016 - Nov 6 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
New Year 2017
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Graduation 2017
Jun 2 2017 - Jun 6 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 6.25%

-Base rate for off-peak ($1,000 week; $400 weekend)
-Peak season rate periods* ($1,300 week; $650 weekend), include:
Winter holidays (Dec 20-Jan3)
Presidents' weekend
Valentines' weekend
Summer 2014 (see above)
Memorial Day
July 4th
Labor Day
Fall Foliage (Oct)
Homecoming (Nov 2-4)
Thanksgiving
-Cleaning fee $75
*Excludes Graduation and Commencement
MAX CAPACITY: 4 ADULTS and 2 CHILDREN

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Williamstown Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Integral bath and shower, toilet and sink. Towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Two bedrooms downstairs with double beds; in attic room there is one double bed and one single bed
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties