Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 Bedroom 1.5 Bathroom Home Overlooking Lake Superior

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to our 'Haven'. Our two bedroom home is roomy enough to sleep eight guests comfortably and has a large kitchen, family room and deck over looking a small pond and Lake Superior.

Located only two miles from town, guests will enjoy the feeling of privacy while still being close to amenities.

The master bedroom on the second floor has a king size bed and a double bed, along with television and a half bathroom. Down stairs is the second bedroom with a double bed and a hide-a-bed sofa in the living room. Just off the living room guests will find peace and quite on the covered porch, relaxing in our porch swing and watching birds come and go around the pond.

Hop in the row boat and paddle over to Lake Superior for agate hunting and a lazy walk on the beach. Or spend the day soaking up the sun. At the end of the day, enjoy a home cooked and watch the dazzling colors in sky and on the water as the sunsets for the day.

Stay and Play in Grand Marais!

Keywords: home, lakefront home, lake superior view home,

More Details

Property Manager
Nikki Darrow
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
June 11, 2017

About Nikki Darrow

We are now semi-retired and live in a beautiful home in the North Georgia Mountains. Our children tease us that it too is a vacation home. What's wrong with that?

Nikki Darrow purchased this house in 1973

Why Nikki Darrow chose Michigan

We come to Grand Marais as often as we can, and would probably live here if our children and grandchildren were not so far away. We love the beach which changes every year. It now has the Sucker River running through the middle of it, so we have a pond, a river and Lake Superior in our front yard!

What makes this house unique

The lake has so many personalities, from quiet and serene to crashing waves and threatening skies. It is always an adventure! We love the restaurants, the people, the endless attractions, the animals and the birds. We love to sit on the front porch swing and watch the freighters go by. We always hate to leave, every time, and feel so fortunate that this special place found it's way into our lives.

Amenities

Burt Township House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No fireworks except on Fourth of July.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

2 Bedroom 1.5 Bathroom Home Overlooking Lake Superior
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
West Bloommfield, MI
5

A lovely cabin in a fabulous location!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was much roomier that we expected and very comfortable. We loved sitting on the back deck and watching the magnificent sunset over Lake Superior. We will definitely be back!!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review, it makes us happy when our guests enjoy the things we too love about the home! The sunsets from the swing are popular and this year we have a resident swan on the pond!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kalamazoo
5

Great views, excellent location, comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Lovely views of the pond and the big lake from the living, dining and kitchen area. Clean comfortable furniture, not pictured is outdoor table chairs on the deck, we spent much time there. We are seniors, had no problem rowing across the pond, walking to the beach. It would be difficult for those who are not active or disabled. The beach is very private. We saw a bald eagle sitting on driftwood. Just 2 of us, the king bed was great, liked the adjoining half bath. Suggestions for guests, bring dish towels and dish clothes and a box fan or 2. The ceiling fans are nice but we needed more. I hope the owers read this and leave a box fan in a closet. They have plenty of bath towels. Kitchen is well supplied with pots, pans, dinnerware, silverware, utensils. If need spices, flour, sugar, bring along, there is salt, pepper. Don't forget coffee and toilet paper! I liked finding the refrig and bathrooms were free of remnants from other guests. There is a very close by neighbor to the West, no one was home. A realtor showed that house while we were there. This neighboring house has a birds eye view of the deck and west side of house. Total privacy is something crave when in Grand Marais, the house was a great fit for us, we will return and take our chances.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review Haven. We are pleased that you had a positive stay and consider returning. Every year we try to add a few new items to make the house more appealing. We are busy working on our house in Georgia as well so its little by little in both spots. This Fall we plan to put in a new showerhead and a new TV stand. The table and chairs that you mentioned on the porch we added in the Spring and yes, are not pictured as yet. We also plan to address new carpeting. We will think about bringing up a fan in the Spring. As for dish towels - there were plenty last we were there. We will check as we plan to head that way next week. Happy that you had no problem working your way to the beach. It’s always worth the trip! We too are seniors and enjoy the challenge. Again, thank you for your input. We look forward to reading entries in our little guest book when we get there and it is always fun to get a review directly. Hope to hear from you again next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brighton
5

U.P. fun

  • 5 of 5

I don't want to give too good of a review so that we can keep it to ourselves in the future, but it was great. We've been to the area many times but always were camping so we wanted to stay near town. This gave us the privacy we wanted and town is just a few minutes away. Trails for the atv, fishing, and beaches were at the doorstep. Crossing the pond to get to the beach made it fun for us. The yard was spacious enough for the dogs as well. The swing on the porch was a nice touch to enjoy the view and just relax. We hope to return soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Haven. Your enthusiasm makes us anxious to get up there ourselves! We have a trip planned in October and hope to catch some color as well as a possibility of snow. Living in Georgia we don't get to see too much snow! We never tire of our trips to Grand Marais and of the many things there are to see and do; and yes, at the end of the day that swing and that view are perfect. !
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Michigan
4

Summer Vacation

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was perfect. My teenage daughter loved that their was 2 TV's. She could hook her xbox up to one while we could watch tv on the other. She also received WIFI from next door so she was in heaven and hooked up to all her friends while away from home. Plenty of room, clean and pet friendly as we brought our dog. Close to town for trips for things we needed or to go eat. Great area to walk the dog.

The part I did not like was that it is not beach front property. You had to row across a pond - big pond and the boat always seemed to have water in it. Made me very nervous. Then across a small sand dune to a drop of 5-6 feet to cross the sucker river emptying into Lake superior. The river did have a current but was clear and you could see the bottom about midway up to my knees. Then you were finally to the beach and the lake. So if you made a trip you better be prepared and plan on staying as that was no small feat to get there. Luckily we had walkie talkies and I would radio my husband or daughter if they didn't come with me to pick me up. Our dog loves the beach and we only brought her one time as the trip in the boat and etc.. was too much for our 11 yr old. If this house was acutally lake front property I'd say it would be excellent. The house was super, the beach was not.

Close to other areas for sightseeing like the sable dunes, lighthouse, etc.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Haven last summer. We always appreciate any input we can get and are always attempting to add to our amenities. Our guest book is so much fun to read, and gives us new ideas as well as some connection to the people who visit. As we have said, we can relate to the challenges of a trip to the beach. We are in our late 60's and make that trip several times a visit. As for water in the boat, that is simply rainwater. If the boat is not flipped over between trips it may collect a little water. When we first started coming to Grand Marais the river did not even exist but simply dumped into East Bay. In the last several years it has worked it's way down the beach and changed the landscape on a yearly basis. We are thankful to be far enough from the beach that our house is safe from the ravages of Lake Superior and the added invasion of the Sucker River. Now with the addition of the new break wall we expect to gain even more beach - maybe a longer trip, but always worth it, and there is always the beach in town with all of the amenities it affords. Thank you again for enjoying your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Canton, MI
5

A fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for almost a week with our 2 dogs and had a FANTASTIC time! We highly recommend this home and location. The listing description and posted pictures are just like it really is. The property is very clean and well maintained. The house is much larger than we expected - nice! We had to row across a pond to get to the sandy beach area, but it was no problem even with our pooches on board. It was fun! There are houses on both sides of this house, but we didn't see anyone while we were there - it was quiet. The road this home is on, is a quiet one without a lot of traffic which is nice. The beach is really wonderful - lots of sand and space.We spent the week hiking all over- we did a couple mornings in Pictured Rocks, but since they don't allow dogs, we spent most of our time on varying sections of the North Country Trail and went to Tahquamenon Falls, and our favorite, Seney National Wildlife Refuge. And of course, we hit the beach every day when we got back from hiking, and sat on the back porch swing overlooking the pond and beach with a glass of wine. We found we needed to go to Munising for enough groceries for the week and we had dinner in town (Grand Marais) a couple times. The people we met in town were all so nice and friendly. And, Nikki at the rental agency is super. Thank you for a great place to stay and allowing dogs!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Lancaster, OH
5

K&P

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at Haven and enjoyed every minute of it! The house is well laid out with quite a large living/dining/kitchen area, clean, and very comfortable. The home was well stocked with kitchen equipment, could have had more dishtowels. Makes a nice base camp for planning all your day trips to Pictured Rocks. Grand Marais offers adequate dining opportunities if you want to eat out. We had our 2 Goldens with us, who could not get enough of swimming in the pond, wading through the river, and enjoying the spacious Superior beach. We have been to this area for the last few years and already knew about the challenge getting to the beach. We are in our 50's and see this as just a little more of an adventure. One of the oars for the rowboat had lost half of it's paddle, but we were still able to row across the pond, definitely needs replaced.

If you are looking for some r&r and love the outdoors, you won't be disappointed with Haven!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

geo chaching, bird watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Burt Township House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$170
$1,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $110
Tax Rate 6.0%

Dogs are welcome at the Haven. We ask guests to provide a crate for their dog if it should need to be left alone in the house. Dogs are not allowed in the house, unattended, unless they are crated.
Haven is not available for rent in the winter months.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties