Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Newly Renovated Ocean View Condo

Bedrooms 1
Space 600 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Poolside Condo Overlooking Caribbean Sea

Nestled in the hills of Ocho Rios overlooking the Caribbean Sea, this 1 bedroom/1 bathroom condo comfortably fits up to 4 with redecorated interior, cable, wifi and is in walking distance or a quick cab ride to all major vacation attractions.

The space is newly renovated and comfortably accommodates 4 guests with queen bed in the bedroom and 2 daybeds in the living area. Guests will be provided with owner contact/maintenance contact for assistance while onsite. Condo is located in premier tourist district with many local bars/restaurants in walking distance. At the time of booking guests should indicate whether they want 1) complete privacy during stay, 2) housekeeping during stay, or 3) housekeeping/cooking service during stay as rates for each differ.

Guests will have access to all furnishings and supplies provided on property, cable/wireless internet, and pay for use gym on site. In addition, guests will also have access to a Magic Jack phone line with unlimited calls to the U.S. and Canada.

More Details

Simone Stewart
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 4, 2018

About Simone Stewart

I am managing this property with my mom who is a full time teacher in Jamaica. As a reformed workaholic I understand the value of a truly satisfying vacation. I have always associated my trips back to Jamaica to visit my mom as my only opportunity to really disconnect. I am hoping by offering this small getaway that I can help others find a peaceful getaway and make their own memories.

Simone Stewart purchased this condo in 2012

Why Simone Stewart chose Ocho Rios

My mom and I had been talking for years about owning oceanfront property, but it was never really attainable for us to do so. By chance my mom had the opportunity to stay in a Columbus Heights condo with a friend and fell in love. She then introduced me to the property and I also immediately fell in love with the views and the location. An opportunity presented itself for us to purchase a unit and we took full advantage. We spent our first year of ownership renovating the unit and using it as our own personal hideaway. Now that the renovations are complete we look forward to having others enjoy the unit as well.

What makes this condo unique

This property will provide the relaxation of a vacation getaway with the comfort of feeling at home. All of the popular Ocho Rios attractions are just minutes away.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed our stay and easily contacted Simone when wanted to extend the stay. Excellent visit all around...
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 4


Ocho Rios Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Safe in room
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Tennis
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Newly Renovated Ocean View Condo
average rating of 4.125 based on 12 reviews

Book now

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of four.our stay Was the best. Confortable. Beautiful view. Pool right there. The beach is 5-10 min walk. Loved to go to the margaritaville beach which is right there down the Hill. You can walk or call taxi 5$

Lavern, the Lady that Take care of thé place is so awesome. She cooks so Well. She clean. She can do your laundry which Was awesome cuz with kids laundry Never ends. She give us tips about where to go shopping for food . Prices And more. It Was more then a all included for us. And for less $

Enjoy !

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Poorly Maintained and Smells Unpleasant

  • 1 of 5

The property is centrally located to everything and the overall complex is nice. The quality of a private rental is solely based on the owner. With that said here are the pros and cons of unit:

Pros: The complex is safe and is conveniently located to shops, restaurants, super markets, shopping, and entertainment. The apartment is clean but uncomfortable (see cons). The internet connection is good and reliable.

Cons: The apartment is foul smelling. There seems to be two problems that cause this: One, there is a sour/moldy smell in the bedroom. The source seems to be the air-condition. Two, the bathroom smells. It appears to emit a slight sewer odor. Perhaps the plumbing are not sealed properly. The apartment is mosquito infested. There are all sorts of mosquito repellents such as wristbands and sprays as well as raid insect killer. Also, if you are skirmish, you may find the occasional unwanted worms a problem. If you need hot water to shower, you will have a problem in moderating the temperature because it shower constantly goes from hot to cold. A good shower head could probably fix that. The two daybeds are dingy; I am sure that shining a black-light on them would reveal more than you want to know. The pots and pans can definitely use an upgrade. The TV is old. I had to manually turn it on and off and to control the volume; maybe that was on me. There is nothing to play a little music or to listen to the radio. At the price point per night, those things are normally available and the units are generally far superior. I visit Jamaica often and normally use private owned rentals and this is the worst experience I have had with a rental. Bear in mind that once you book and arrive at the facility there is no changing rooms or getting a refund. I was tempted to find another place and eat the costs but a friend urged me not to waste the money. Note that one of the pictures of property shows a beach scene. The property is not situated on a beach, but a beach is close by that you can access for a small fee. I depended heavily on the reviews, which seem reasonably recent, before I booked. I also placed a lot of weight on the fact that the unit was billed as newly renovated. I definitely did not see any evidence of that.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, We are both surprised and disappointed in this review. Surprised in that out of the 31 reviews across 3 sites we have 100% 4 & 5 star ratings. Also surprised because the photo that you describe in your post does not pertain to our rental. We do not show any beach pictures. Disappointed because we would have loved the opportunity to help you operate the flat screen television and call any service professionals that you thought were necessary to improve the quality of your stay and to meet your expectations. Additionally disappointed because of false statements such as "there is no changing rooms or getting a refund" when these requests were never made. We wish we would have had a chance to address your needs which would have required communication from you to us prior to this post. We remain committed to a phenomenal stay for all our guests and hope that in the future you would make other hosts aware of how they can address concerns proactively.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Ocho Rios Oasis

  • 4 of 5

I really enjoyed my accommodation in Columbus Heights, Ocho Rios, Jamaica.

I was attending a friend's wedding and immediately upon dropping me off they were impressed with the space having already rented a unit up the street in advance of their special day. It was clean, safe, and well furnished. A nice balance of authenticity and convenience.

While in Jamaica one certainly enjoys getting out and exploring. Downtown is a bit of a walk but accessible. If were to stay longer I certainly could have done so and would have enjoyed making use of some of the other amenities, particularly the swimming pool and kitchen.

To this point it would serve as a nice retreat for couples that are a little more independent and in pursuit of a genuine experience .You are able to enjoy the peace and quiet as well as the beautiful views of the surrounding area at a fraction of the tourist/resort prices.

Owners were friendly, considerate, and prepared to offer additional services (housekeeping, laundry etc) to make my stay more enjoyable.

Close to activities, nightlife, popular attractions and delicious food! Jerk is plentiful but I particularly enjoyed the curry goat at My Favourite Place Restaurant. The Mongoose also offered up some savory oxtail while catering to more delicate palates.

I would recommend this property for visitors who are looking for value and something slightly under the radar.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you had a great time and I hope the wedding was beautiful. It was our pleasure to host you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very nice location

  • 4 of 5

I stayed at this condo for 10 days with my Wife & Daughter(age 6). The place is clean, comfortable and exactly as pictured. The view from the balcony is priceless and the pool is awesome. The owner and house keeper are very nice and accommodating. The hill to the unit is very steep, so not easy to walk up. You can get a taxi from the town if needed.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Calgary Alberta

Home Away from Home........Highly Recommended!!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed for two weeks in Feb-May 2015. This condo was fantastic! It was everything I had wanted and more! Both the owner and house keeper were extremely friendly and the unit was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The complex was a 5 minute walk to Margarita Ville and the main strip of Ocho Rios. And I couldn't have asked for a better view from the balcony!! Amazing! As a seasoned traveller to Jamaica I would definitely stay here again and recommend. Great pool area and fitness center too!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

loved this place....beautiful view, great location

  • 4 of 5

I absolutely loved the condo and will definitely be back next time I'm in Ocho Rios....the condo was exactly as pictured, the view from the balcony was gorgeous, great location in proximity to lots of popular places including Margaritaville, the WiFi was excellent, bed was extremely comfortable. Simone and Laverne were super helpful throughout our stay. Soon come back! :)

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Dunn's River Falls
This is a must see for any trip to Ocho Rios. Climb to the top of the 700 ft waterfall and ...
Mystic Mountain
Looking for a little more adventure try this great day trip into the mountains with everythi...
Dolphin Cove
Great little hideaway beach day. You come to relax or have a little fun and swim with the d...
Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Ocho Rios
Paradise Turtle Towers Apartments
A day pass to Turtle beach is definitely worthwhile with many beach activities available.
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Montego Bay International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Sandals Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
North Coastal Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Mama Marleys
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Turtle Beach
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties