About the property
- Condo1100 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay1 - 10 nights
2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6
$225 Spring Special! Valid now until 04/30.
HALE ONO LOA LOCATED OCEANFRONT IN KAHANA
There is literally only a yard of grassy lawn between us and the ocean. Our home sits on the corner of the property set apart from the main building (almost like a separate annex).
Very private with the most magnificent oceanfront view. In the morning we enjoy our breakfast out on the lanai and watch the sea otters and the sea turtles swim right up to our seawall! What a way to start the day on Maui and if you're lucky enough to be here during whale season (November - May) you don't even need to go on a boat to see these magnificent humpback whales. Just sit back on your lanai every morning and every afternoon you won't be disappointed... we can almost guarantee that you'll witness whale action throughout your visit.
We've re-designed our kitchen so it is all open and allows you to enjoy our beautiful oceanfront view. The living room, dining area and guest bedroom all share the same view. The guest bedroom is just off of the living room and has a louver door to provide for extra privacy. We've added a full size sleep sofa which provides for additional bedding. Our home is best suited for 2-4 adults and small children.
The swimming pool is located close by to our unit and there is a convenient staircase that leads down to the ocean for easy access for swimming. Less than a mile south is Honokawai Beach which is perfect for families with small children they have a delightful picnic area and it sits directly opposite our local farmers market.
Our location is quite central in Kahana which makes it convenient to all the markets, restaurants and island activities. We have a grocery service that you may wish to take advantage of. This is especially nice if you're arriving late in the evening and allows you to have the basic staples already in your unit for the following morning. Be sure to ask at the time you reserve our unit.
We hope you'll enjoy our home as much as we do! Come and visit soon!
OWNER'S HI STATE TAX NO: GE-031-797-6576-01
Maui Beachfront Rentals HI TAX ID #GE-046-411-7760-01
Keywords: Condominium, Vacation Rental Maui, Vacation Rental Hawaii, Hale Ona Loa Resort, Kapalua Condominium rentals, Beachfront Rentals, Maui, Kahana, Lahaina
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few days
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 25, 2018
About Property Manager
Maui Beachfront Rentals, a division of Maui Realtors Inc., has been a provider of licensed vacation rental management services for select properties on Maui since 1997. We offer a seasoned team of professionals who have a thorough understanding of the needs of our customer base, and how it equates to long term customer loyalty. Our strong consumer confidence is largely attributed to our quality control protocol, with emphasis on customer service.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Great location , comfortable space, little sinkhole problem but an excellent value for money
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. The location is great, the view from the rooftop deck on top of the condo is amazing and the pool and amenities were really nice. The elephant in the room, or rather outside it, is the sinkhole that has developed on the left side of the patio (lanai.) The engineers have been at it and they've done their engineering thing (sandbags etc.) and put up a chain link fence. You're probably thinking, 4 stars for a sinkhole! But I balance everything out, including price and this place is a great deal. If we didn't want to look at the chain link fence, we went upstairs to the roof deck or moved the patio chairs right to the waters edge.
We were some of the first people to stay here since sinkhole Bob aka Satan's pit aka time out (I've got kids and they named it-ok I may have named it time out but I never used it for that) anyway...we're first since it happened and here's my advice if you are thinking about staying here: if you are a picky sort of person who is bugged by stuff this probably isn't the place for you. It's not a perfect place where everything works perfectly, it's a condo that's at least 30 years old and is well kept but rather like a home where there are a few quirks. It's also something very dear to my heart, a great deal. If you are worried, there's no danger of a bunch of condos landing on you because this unit is one of 4 right on the water with only the rooftop deck above you. On a positive side, the chain link fence surrounding the sinkhole has made this end of the condos a dead end and very private. In addition to being a super price for being right on the water there are great restaurants, coffee shops, grocery/beer/liquor stores easy walking distance away. Know yourself and if you have a family that enjoys making up names of interesting features on vacation and stories about them, enjoys posting your less than perfect life on social media or perhaps you're just cheap like I am and can work around life's little or not so little sinkholes this may be the place for you.
Great views and close to amenities!
Our family of five stayed here and enjoyed it. The linens and towels smelled fresh and clean. The kids loved the pool and being splashed by the waves off the lanai.
Thanks Colette for your review. We're so glad your family enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure having you as a guest, and we hope you do consider a return again soon. Mahalo!
View was beautiful could not be better
it was to hot in the main living areas and the sliding screen doors need some work. We got a fan and left it for the next guest to enjoy which helped.
Don't get me wrong I would stay again it was a beautiful view we saw turtles everyday sometime as many as 8 just looking from the property We saw more fish and several eels when we went snorkeling behind the condo for free it was better snorkeling there then on the Crater tour that cost a bucket of money.
The one other thing was the swimming pool was under construction and we would have like to know that in advance I call the property manage on the second to last day of our stay they said we could use the pool next store this was not posted so we did not know.
I loved the sunsets and the view!!!
Thank you for your review, Marilyn. It sounds like overall you had a good stay. We had posted in advance of the of the pool construction on our listing and site, at the top of the post. We're sorry that wasn't made more clear. Usually, being near the ocean and the cross breeze this unit doesn't tend to get hot, though we did experience an abnormally hot summer. Thanks for being our guest and the feedback. We hope you do consider returning in the future.
Great ocean view!
We enjoyed our stay in this unit #121. It was right on the ocean with a great lanai and fabulous view. The unit it self was just the right size for us and our 2 teenagers. It was nice to have a kitchen and fridge. We cooked several meals in the oven and the communal BBQ. We had access to boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas, all kept in an outdoor closet.
The location was perfect, close to several beaches. We made day trips to Molokai, road to Hana (and Mama's Fish house), Nakalele blowhole and Wailea area. Plenty of great restaurants to choose from. Downtown Lahaina and Whalers village shopping center were close and we enjoyed shopping and eating there.
The pool area was well maintained and not busy when we were there.
Thank you so much for your kind review. Indeed this location is centrally located providing much to do close by. We're so glad you had such a great experience! Please do come and stay with us again!
One word. Perfection
This was our first visit to Maui and this condo could not have been more perfect. Sitting at the edge of the sea, we were able to relax and hear the waves, watch the turtles and even a whale! The sunset felt like it was ours alone to enjoy. The moon called us to the lanai each evening. The condo is beautifully appointed, clean as a whistle and close to everything in Lahaina. Do not miss the chance to live - even briefly - in paradise. I've been home 6 hours and am already looking for the next trip back to Maui.
We're always happy to attain perfection, Donna. Thank you for your kind review! We're glad you had such a great time. Please do visit again!
Stayed 8 nights at the end of June and into July
2 adults and 2 pre-teens. The view is everything advertised and more and should be advertised more on the listing. This unit is on the corner of the property. There are no units on top of this unit as this annex is single story with the observation deck directly on top. The yard between this unit and the ocean is NOT used by any other guest other than the 4 units in the annex. It can be accessed by anyone on property, but we never saw anyone do that. Please use google maps to help illustrate. This property does not really have beach access (at least in July). There is a staircase to the ocean but that is only to rocks, not sand. A tiny sand beach is one property south which you can walk across the rocks to get to. DANGEROUS during high tide.
The coffee maker uses cone type filters. Bring your own cone filters or be prepared to buy some in Maui. They do provide regular filters but they are not ideal for coffee makers that use cone filters.
My only major complaint for this unit is the AC (4 stars instead of 5). It is not a central unit but rather a window unit in each bedroom. The window units do nothing to cool down the kitchen and livening. Outside in the breeze is pleasant, but you will not want to spend any daytime hours in the living area or kitchen. This will also discourage you from wanting to use the oven or stove (electric). Again this may change throughout the year, but that was our experience. There are slats that you can open throughout the unit to allow air to pass through, but we found little difference in using them and I believe based on the location/position of the unit and surrounding infrastructure the unit receives little to no cross breeze.
Someone else just posted the inventory of the outdoor gear and I can concur. I can also concur about sea turtles every day during high tide. However one 1 day was clear enough to snorkel.
A lesser complaint was the lack of blackout curtains in the bedroom. The listing photos show you the common courtyard and shuffle board court. That is right outside both bedrooms and while we did not have any noise complaints the existing curtains especially in the 2nd bedroom were not adequate to block out the property lights. Be prepared to sleep with an eye mask.
We spent very few waking hours in the kitchen and living area and were always either exploring the island or enjoying the patio. I highly recommend any party of 4 or less staying here.
Thank you for your review, Kyle. We do take all feedback very seriously, and I would like to address a few of your points. In regards to beach access on property, I'm a little confused by your review, as we don't advertise this unit has being on a beach, in fact, we take great care to make sure this isn't mentioned for obvious reasons (It doesn't have beach access). I think some of the issues you had with the heat could have been due to the time of year you came. The summer months in Maui are the most sweltering by far, and if you come during a heat wave and the wind isn't blowing, it's going to get hot, which can be one of the few downsides of paradise. Usually, there are cross breezes that blow through this unit, as evidenced that no others reviewers on this unit has raised the same issue. In regards to the shades, we'll take a look at whether they are not blocking the outdoor lights properly, and if this is the case, we will be sure to rectify the situation. Thank you for being our guest. We do hope you consider staying with us again.
Additional information about rental rates
From $235/nt – US Dollars 4-night minimum stay required; 10-night minimum Dec 15-Jan 6 HI taxes apply: 4.167% GET / 10.25% TAT Check out clean fee $235 We accept all major credit cards – 3% int’l surcharge applies for credit cards issued by a non-US banking institution We also accept checks (US dollars only) and eCheck (US bank only) – some restrictions apply Vacation Rental Damage Protection (VRDP) – $45 one-time fee covers accidental damages up to $3,000 If you opt out of VRDP, we require $3,000 security deposit by check or eCheck only (some restrictions apply) We offer optional travel insurance at 6.95% of rent and taxes We also offer a travel insurance rider to cover flights or other non-refundable costs of your entire vacation