check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Joseph Sestito

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian

Downtown ... Beautiful Historic Cabbagetown

3 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Downtown House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, Each with Private Bathroom, Flat Screen Cable TV - Sleeps 10

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION: The Winchester is a boutique hideaway in an A-List location. Poised in the heart of Toronto, in the stylish Old Cabbagetown community, it offers access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment.

The Winchester Tourist Home offers an upscale blend of sophisticated glamour, classic Victorian design, and modern amenities & services.

From the moment you enter our home you will know it is much more than a place to sleep. You know your stay will not be a boring white box hotel experience. Perhaps best of all you're close to everything Toronto has to offer.

It's perfect...elegant and comfortable in the heart of Toronto, a great place for great people. And did we mention we had great rates !! Please check the Calendar for Availability.

5 Private Bedrooms - EACH with Queen Bed, Private renovated Bathroom, flat screen Cable TV, free WiFi Internet, Desk.

On 2nd & 3rd floors. Some with glass Shower, some with Tub/Shower.

Some with Mini-fridge. One with rooftop Deck and seating.

Main floor Kitchen and Dining room. Living Room.

Small Backyard. On-site Laundry facilities.

NOTE ... We also have available a renovated 1-bedroom Basement Apartment. Separate & house entrances, full Kitchen, private Bathroom, Queen bed, flat screen Cable TV, free WiFi internet, Living Room, Desk. Spacious. Fully furnished.

NO Smoking in the House please.

We seek respectful guests.

Self-maintained rooms.

NO pets please.

There is a live-in house manager on-site.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Joseph Sestito (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian

What makes this house unique

We have a live-in House Manager.

Reviews

3.7
based on 3 traveler reviews

Downtown ... Beautiful Historic Cabbagetown
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
2

If looking just for bedrooms, adequate. If looking for place to gather with family, doesn't work.

  • 2 of 5

( + ). It is difficult to find a place that has 5 bedrooms, so that being said, it was great to have five bedrooms. All the beds were comfortable. Location was lovely and walking distance to restaurants. ( - ) There was no communal area other than a small sitting room. Our whole family could not comfortably gather anywhere. The outside deck was under repair and so we could not gather there. There's a cleaning fee but the place really wasn't clean. Kitchen was dingy and no lights. I would not recommend this home to friends unless they are just looking for bedrooms and don't plan to spend any time in the home other than sleeping.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. This gives us a chance to let everyone know that communication is essential. Your stay with us was for 3 days. We cannot believe that for three days you did not contact us or our manager about your issues. It is quite impossible for a kitchen not to have lights. Also it would have been appreciated if you told us what was not clean according to you, we would have addressed the issue immediately if in fact there was any concern. Our home is one of 18 listed here which actually does hold 10 people comfortably . It has 5 bedrooms which all have their own flat screen tv and "ensuite bathrooms" You do not have to share the bathroom with anyone else in your group. The home was built in the late 1887....at that time it must have been a home of the wealthy considering its size etc. We are sure that it entertained many people at various times . It has a large living room and dining room which holds 10 people comfortably. Please read the previous review which confirmed that. We do wish to thank you for pointing out the positive things which are a great asset for a downtown property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Faith Church Mission Trip Hayden,Alabama USA

  • 4 of 5

We love the house there was 10 of us staying at this home we had plenty of room. We came from the states working on a mission trip in Toronto the house was located downtown Cabbagetown very convenient for us quite neighborhood. The house needed a few repairs but nothing effected us staying there. We would love to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location, even better Accomodations

  • 5 of 5

I spent a week in Toronto in August and stayed at the Winchester in Cabbagetown. The best thing about the whole week was my say here. The house has been completely remodeled and finished, It is beautiful. All modern and luxurious amenities. As the main floors of the house were just being completed, I stayed in the basement apartment, with a full new kitchen, Flat screen TV and tassimo coffee maker. I asked the owner if I could have a tour of the rest of the house. All new beds and bedding, linens and furniture. New flat screen TVs and even a tassimo coffee maker in each room. The decor in this Old house is modern and clean. The photos do not do justice to the real thing!

Within a 4 or 5 minute walk there are great restaurants (if you like Indian food, try Butter Chicken Factory, just around the corner), Starbucks, liquor and beer store, and access to the city's TTC transit system. Within 10 or 15 minute walk is absolutely every thing else: you are that close to down town. But the area is very safe, I walked around at night and during the day and always felt safe. Occasionally, when I wasn't in the mood to walk I would take a taxi from Eaton Center, the downtown mall, and the fare was only like $6 or $7.

Working with the owner was always very easy and he communicated fast and effectively. Any issues or questions (non of them serious) were answered promptly.

I cant wait to stay here again! I have told all of my friends and family (only the ones that I like) that they should stay with Joseph the next time they are in Toronto.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the giving us you honest opinion . We know this will help others when they are searching for the right place to stay, be it short or long term. We look forward to having you back anytime and we will only get better when we see that the guests enjoy what we are doing for them. Come back sooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn !!!!!!! Joseph
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Pearson International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Kilometres
at Winchester St. & Parliament St.
Nearest Train
4 Kilometres
Union Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Kilometres
at Winchester St. & Parliament St.
Nearest Beach
7 Kilometres
Ashbridges Bay
Car: not necessary

A grand Victorian home, circa 1879, situated on a quiet tree-lined street in historic Cabbagetown. The neighbourhood comprises the largest continuous area of preserved Victorian housing in North America. Walk to restaurants, park, groceries.

Also - Fully furnished renovated Basement Apt is a perfect hotel alternative.

Walk to everything - located just a walk away from Riverdale Farm, Allen Gardens Botanical Gardens, Toronto Eaton Centre, Yorkville, the Gay Village and the bustle of Yonge Street.

Just steps away from the transit system, placing all of Toronto at your doorstep -

Enjoy all Toronto has to offer: Shopping, Restaurants, Night Life, Comedy Clubs, Parkland, Waterfront, Beaches, Toronto Islands, CN Tower, Ontario Science Centre, Toronto Zoo, Aquarium, Theatre, Ballet, Opera, Symphony, Museums, Art, Festivals, Concerts, Sporting Events, Hockey Hall of Fame, Canada's Wonderland (amusement park), Wild Water Kingdom, various Ethnic Neighborhoods, Public Squares with free activities, and much more .......

There is no over-night parking on our street. Pay Parking is available off-site at a Green-P city parking lot, approximately 450 meters from the house, for a minimal fee.

Great location for those coming to the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), etc. etc

Everything you need to enjoy your visit is available.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downtown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$305
$1,830
$6,099
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$274
$1,601
$5,337
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $191
Cleaning Fee $57 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
This is our beloved second home and we expect you to treat it as you would anyone's home in which you are a guest.
Check in time is :4:00pm onwards Check out time is : 11:00 am or before. Please respect these times since we may have new guests arriving and will be waiting for their rooms . Thank you

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Downtown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , with skylight
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2nd floor, with mini-fridge
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 3rd floor, with mini-fridge
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 3rd floor, with mini-fridge, rooftop deck with seating
  • ALL Bedrooms have a Private ensuite Bathroom and Queen Bed. Plus Desk, flat screen TV & Cable, free WiFi wireless Internet, Tassimo Coffee Maker, Hair dryer. Air conditioning in summer.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Notes:
Every Bedroom has its own flat screen Cable TV. Free WiFi wireless Internet. Strictly NON-SMOKING Home. (Smoking permissible OUTSIDE). We seek respectful guests. Thank you.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties