check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

'The Bungalow Too' Key West

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

About the property

This Unique Bungalow Has 3 Rooms On One Level. Perfect For 2 People.

For nearly 15 years now guests have been delighted to discover the Beach Bungalow-Key West.

Nestled among palm trees, hibuscus, and boganvillas, the Bungalow2 is located in a compound just a block from the Beach and Atlantic Ocean, about a mile from Upper Duval Street, and across the street from the Bike Path.

The Bungalow2 features 3 rooms on one level, a 40 foot covered deck with outdoor jacuzzi and gas grill, and free parking.

Located a block to the beach and across from the Bike Path,

it is very popular for both the value and location. Our guests like to go to Duval and the nightlife, but appreciate the tranquility of returning back home to the quiet and away from the bars that are open downtown until 4 AM.

The Bungalow has free Internet service, 36' HD TV, Queen Bed, washer/dryer access, Free Parking on the street, original Art, books, movies, and other features to make your vacation cozy and relaxing.

The kitchenette has a microwave, dishes, small sink, refrigerator, and outdoor gas grill.

Truely living like a Local ... The Beach Bungalow is the best value in Key West.

Located 1 block from the Beach on Atlantic Blvd, which runs along the Atlantic Ocean from Smathers to Higgs Beach.

The commons features extensive palms and other plantings all done by the owner over the past 10 years, with an outdoor fireplace, outdoor Jacuzzi, deck chairs, gas grill, water features, and the largest beach in Key West only a block away.

Bikes are available to rent and encouraged. The Bike path is across the street and Sloppy Joe's and the Hemmingway House are just 10 minutes away by bike.

Guest's also receive discounts on all sorts of fun things to do while in Key West at the Ticketsellers at Mallory Square ticket booth off Duval at Front Street.

Live like a local for the price of a hotel room. The Beach Bungalow-Key West is the island's best buy.

NOTE: Also see our Beach Bungalow #972748 on HOME AWAY and VRBO.

More Details

Property Manager
Timothy Gaffney
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Timothy Gaffney

Born and raised in the midwest.

Graduated from the University of Iowa and Iowa State University.

I've also lived in Connecticut for about 5 years.

We also have Vacation Rentals in Palm Springs,CA and grad school rentals in Boulder and Iowa City for students.

There are no outstanding warrents for me at this time.

Timothy Gaffney purchased this house in 1995

Why Timothy Gaffney chose Key West

People stay with us because they like to go down to Duval Street, but don't want to be out till the bars close at 4 AM each nite, or stay next to the bars with music until then.

Very secluded little spot a short walk to the beach. Across from the Nature Preserve, and the Bike Path.

What makes this house unique

The Bungalow2 is unique because of it's low price, quality accomdations, and location.

You are staying in a suite for the price of an ordinary hotel room.

And living like a local!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(71 traveler reviews)

'The Bungalow Too' Key West
average rating of 4.450704 based on 71 reviews
4

Lovely Key West bungalow

  • 4 of 5

Relaxing, fun, close to beach and bike path. Away from the hustle and bustle of Duval St. but you will need a way to get down to that area for most of the restaurants and attractions. We biked all over!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thanks for staying and again thanks for taking the time to response back. We are just 5-10 minutes to Duval by Bike. We can also show you where there is free parking if you choose to Drive to Old Town/Duval, which is less than 5 minutes by car. But you are right, most people like to stay with us because we are not next to the bars that are open till 4 AM. Hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very quaint

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at The Bungalow Two very much. Couple glitches when we arrived but Tim had them taken care of within 24 hours. He was very accommodating and gave great advice on places to go and things to do.

The bungalow was very clean. Only suggestion I would make is to have plenty of towels on hand for visitors.

We had a great time in Key West!

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thanks for staying with us. Great to meet you. I've talked to the girls about the towels. Best wishes for 2017. Hope to see you guys again soon! Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice stay at the bungalow

  • 4 of 5

We have had a pleasant stay in the bungalow.

Nice owner, convenient that there is a washing machine and tumble dryer and everything was clean and tidy. In terms of decor a little dated, but that's also a question of taste.

Definitely recommended!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thanks for staying with us, and for letting others know about Key West. Hope you had a safe trip back home. Just let us know when you would like to return to Key West! tim
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Great , convenient spot. Close to the beach. Hot tub was real useful. Clean , Tropical setup.

  • 5 of 5

Tim has a real nice setup for you . Clean, cozy, and friendly.

From the bungalow we were able to bicycle all over the whole island.

Plenty to do . Great breakfast places. Smathers beach is walking distance or bicycle to it.

The cottage has a nice tropical garden atmosphere that lets you appreciate where you are.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thanks for your kind review. Great to meet you. Just let us know when you would like to return and we'll take care of you! Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Served the purpose

  • 3 of 5

The place was very clean but didn't get to use the hot tub as the weather was very hot and humid and who wants to sit in a hot tub when it's hot outside. We Had trouble with the TV in bedroom and Tim was very accommodating , although we never Got it to work. The bathroom had only small sink... Which was very hard to get ready when you have make up, blow dryer and flat iron. It would be nice if there was another area for getting ready with large mirror and lighting... Just a suggestion. Location was OK...was a bit far from all the action downtown, but we rented bikes and mopeds and got around OK . Smathers Beach was close by but it's stunk with a stinky's fish smell ..the local' taxi driver said was from seaweed and it smells like that all the time. I guess the locals just get used to it. it was so bad that we couldn't stay to enjoy the beach! Tim was not very accommodating in regards to our departure ...as our flight didn't leave until 2:30 and our stuff was booted out in the deck at 11 o'clock while we were out returning our mopeds. He sent us a message that the cleaning people needed to clean the apartment and put our belongings on the deck. We had no place to go so we just called the taxi to come get us early to hang out at the airport instead of our apartment. It wasn't like this is a hotel and even hotels would be more accommodating than he was! We told the taxi driver what he had done and he was appalled ! In my book this was terrible terrible customer service ! We picked this place because he was from the Midwest as we are ...but midwesterners would never treat anyone like this! Overall the apartment served it's purpose but I would probably never stay there again!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our units are cleaned by an outside cleaning crew. They do not work for us, and do multiple guest houses and condos in the area. As such, they set their schedules up a week or so in advance. Our check out is 11 AM. They usually come over at that time, clean, and move on to their next job. We can't have them come over, and tell them the guests are not ready to check out, and ask them to come back in an hour or 2. It upsets their entire schedule. If you have a late flight, it is best to address this issue up front when you arrive. And we can try to push back the cleaning. Once the units are cleaned, we can't let guests go back in and take a shower. That would not be fair to the next guest. We have had countless people with late flights simply leave their luggage by my office door, and return at 2-3 PM, get their luggage, call a Taxi, and head to the airport. The complex is locked, and we have never had an issue. Most people DO NOT want to simply sit on the deck for 3 hours. However, you are/were certainly entitled to do that. But there is much more to do and see in town if you are here for just a couple of day. I am sorry you were unhappy with the departure process. The best time to try to resolve this is at the time it occurs... Rather than 2-3 weeks later. We aim to please! Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
5

Very clean, quaint, great tropical look to it.

  • 5 of 5

I loved the place, so tropical looking and it is perfect for 1 or 2 people (Bungalow 2). The apt. was very clean and had all the amenities I needed.

I would stay here again in the future. Tim was always on hand if I had a question and pointed out all the local attractions. I highly recommend Bungalow 2.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI, Thanks for your kind review. I wish the weather was a little better for you. Hope you will come back and see us again from my old home in Port St. Lucie! Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Key West International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.03 Miles
Shanna Key
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Ft. Meyers and Naples
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Key West Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US #1
Nearest Restaurant
0.03 Miles
Shanna Key and a Mexican joint about 4-5 blocks.
Nearest Beach
0.02 Miles
Smather's Beach
Car: not necessary

You are on an Island that is basically 2 miles X 4 miles long.

Everything is here within @ a 5 minute drive, or @ a 10-15 bike trip.

P.S. If we are full in the Bungalow2, check out our dates in the Beach Bungalow- Key West at #972748, or in Palm Springs,CA on the golf course at #972511 and #3654438

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Additional information about rental rates

Key Fee $10 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

*Sorry guests are asked to be 25 years of age or older.
* Maximum of 2 people in the unit.
* All units No Smoking. No pets. (You can smoke on the deck).
* Book directly on HomeAway with your Credit Card.
* Book directly with us with check or to make 2 payments.

*** Note. Our Home Away reservations require a 3 nite stay.
For 1-2 nites open between reservations contact us directly.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Midtown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Indoor plumbing! (Private bath with shower/tub combo).
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen Bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Stay in a suite for the price of an ordinary hotel room. Book now while our Bungalow2 is still open. Remember... We also have discounts for you at our TicketSeller ticket booth at Duval @ Front Street.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers