check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Private 1 Acre Hillside Hacienda

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

Description

Basalt House Rental Photos and Description

Single Story House, 3 Bedrooms + X-tra sleeping space, 2.5 Baths, (Sleep 6-8)

Come feel the ambiance of Old Mexico in this spacious hacienda-style home with large, arched windows capturing 180 degree views of Mt. Sopris & the Frying Pan & Roaring Fork River Valley. Marble, granite, tile, limestone & large, log vigas enhance the interior design. Enjoy the amenities of the dramatic Great Room with the spacious high ceilings, fully equipped kitchen, dining room & inviting, sunken living room with the Natural Boulder fireplace & Indoor Atrium. Relax in the large, comfortable family room that host a TV, DVD & Stereo system with surround sound installed in both living areas as well as the outside veranda. Three, large bedrooms with queen beds await you at days end. The master bed & bath hosts a marble jacuzzi tub, skylight & access to the back veranda & gardens.

Breathe the clean, fresh mountain air as you meander among multi-tiered gardens with elaborate stone walkways & viewing platforms totally surrounded by open space. Dine on one of three enchanting patios to the serenade of a tranquil stream & waterfall. Glimpse the occasional wildlife as they traverse through this park like setting.

While surrounded by all this nature, the town of Basalt rests within walking distance & offers unique boutiques, art galleries & a sumptuous variety of exceptional restaurants. Aspen & it's sister resort, Snowmass Village, with their world renowned ski slopes & shops are 20 miles south while Glenwood Springs & it's Olympic size natural, hot springs pool & vapor caves lies 22 miles north of Basalt.

Whether you enjoy the activities of winter or summer, this home will welcome you at the end of the day & you will return home from your vacation refreshed & rejuvenated. Come, experience the magic of Basalt's HILLSIDE HACIENDA. ( If interested in relocating to the valley, inquire about possible purchase options.)

Oh, and contrary to what VRBO rates my reponse time to inquiries, I respond within the day of receiving an inquiry; I just don't do it through VRBO's site. I like to keep my contact with prospective guests private.

Keywords:

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 30, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

John & I have lived here for 35 years. We had a stone company specializing in marble, granite, tile & masonry. John designed & remodeled the home in 1998. We retired a year ago & now spend most of our time visiting our children & grandchildren who are scattered from Washington state to New Mexico. We also enjoy volunteering with Habitat for Humanity & traveling.

The Owner purchased this house in 1976

Why The Owner chose Northwest Colorado

As a child, I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area & fell in love with the mountains when visiting family in Lake Tahoe. When the opportunity arose to move to Colorado, I jumped at it. Going from the fast pace of the city to the snail pace of the country took quite an adjustment. The population of Basalt was about 500 people; the perfect place to raise a family.

What makes this house unique

Even though the population has increased, Basalt still remains a small, peaceful, mountain town. I love waking up in the morning & looking out at the majestic, snowcapped mountain across the valley. You can't help but breathe a deep sigh of relief at the peace & quiet that surrounds you. As you walk outside, you may be greeted by two or three deer grazing on the grass or the gobble of a flock of wild turkeys sharing the hillside with you. Mother Nature never fails to amaze me. I love it here & I'd love to share what this property has to offer with others.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for making our stay extra special, the pies, jam, and hospitality made our trip more than we could hope for! We had an amazing time and we can't wait to come back-thank you again for everything!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 20

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Private 1 Acre Hillside Hacienda
average rating of 3.8 based on 25 reviews
1

Renter Beware

  • 1 of 5

The good:

-Location was nice. Close to town. Amazing views.

The Bad:

-Owners are moving, house is a bit dilapidated and run down. Building materials are scattered throughout the property.

-Owners hover above the garage as other renters mentioned. They never leave. No real privacy.

The Ugly:

-Owners refused to refund security deposit. During our stay, the steptic tank stopped working. We prodded the owners to send somewhat out to fix it, which they did immediately. About two weeks after our stay, I emailed them to check on the status of the deposit. At that point, the owner replied that due to the septic tank repair, they would not be refunding the deposit. They also insinuated that this was our fault, and perhaps our guest with a baby had flushed a diaper down the toilet. The response was ridiculous and outrageous. And I found it revealing that they didn't mention they would be withholding the deposit in person at the time of the incident. I asked for a copy of the receipt and proof of her claim. They sent the receipt which revealed the septic needed a standard repair / snaking. I have been using vrbo for years, and have never had an issue like this before and/or not received my security deposit back. Put a damper on what was otherwise a wonderful vacation with family on the slopes.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First let me respond with what the guests wrote in our guest book: John & Sandra, Your house is truly fantastic. We enjoyed dinners in and the Town of Basalt is great. We had fantastic weather for cross-country skiing, hiking up Snowmass, and great downhill skiing with fresh powder. We hope to be back next year at this same time. Dave & Denise/Alberto & Jessica Vineland, NJ/Kansas City, MO The four guests arrived on Saturday and then invited 3 of their family or friends from Denver to join them, with permission from the owners. The new guests arrived on Monday or Tuesday with a baby. The sewer backed up on Wednesday which required an after hours call to the local plumbing company. My husband was with the plumber when he snaked out the pipe leading to the septic tank. What came back out of the sewer pipe was, what the plumber called, the remains of a diaper. My husband described it as a plastic/cloth like material. The guests from Denver left the next (Thursday) morning, thanking me for their wonderful stay and taking care of the plumbing issue so quickly. I did not see Jessica and the rest of the original party leave on the next Saturday morning but when I went to clean the house, I found the corner, circular cabinet in the kitchen totally broken and off it's center. When I mentioned this to her, via email, she claimed it had been broken when they arrived. The welcome booklet left on the kitchen counter specifically says that upon arrival, please inspect the house, kitchen cabinets, etc. and let us know immediately if anything needs attention. This she did not do because I know the cabinet was not broken when they arrived. My husband and I do live on the property, totally separate from the main house. We are the caretakers, maintenance personnel. If anything goes wrong, we want to be there to take care of it. This is a disgruntled guest who because she didn't get her deposit back is writing this negative review. What she needs to do is collect her security deposit from the guests she invited from Denver who caused the back-up. By the way, this is the first security deposit we have withheld in the five years we've been renting through VRBO. We are delighted with 99% of guests that we host and love seeing them come back year after year. They are kind, considerate and respectful of the property they are renting. Unfortunately, there is a 1%. Sandra Lorton
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Kansas City
5

Awesome house; awesome owners

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at Hillside Hacienda while in the Aspen area for our daughter's wedding. Aspen/Basalt is a beautiful area, but the highlight of our trip (other than a beautiful wedding) was staying at the Hillside Hacienda. It is a "jaw dropper" property....my wife and family couldn't believe what a beautiful house we stumbled upon. The house itself is fantastic...beautiful furnishings, beautiful artwork and adornments, great living and resting spaces and a great location just above Basalt. We were visited by "Sweetie," a wild turkey who stopped by for a bit of corn, and enjoyed the fantastic mountain views from each of the patios.

John and Sandra are wonderful, gracious hosts and we all enjoyed meetng them. They are full of great ideas and tips for the area and are really nice people.

If you have an opportunity to stay here....DO IT!. You will love it.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Orleans
5

Scenic and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a wonderful summer at the Hacienda. Couldn't stay at a more perfect home. Waterfall stream in backyard, gorgeous view of Sopris in the front. Interior adorned with exceptional Indian and cowboy paintings and sculptures.

Have stayed in Basalt for many summers and this was definitely our favorite! Can't wait to return.

Thank you Sandy and John.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location

  • 3 of 5

Nice place but I would only recommend this place for retired couples without kids. The woman who rents this place out lives above the garage and thats way to close! She was

always home and peering out the window. She actually snapped at the end of our stay

and swore at my wife. BUZZ KILL!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Too bad renters can't respect the rules. The house has a maximum occupancy of 8 and a departure of 10 am. This party had additional guests in excess of 8 and didn't leave until after 2 pm. Only bad experience!! It's a matter of respect.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Santa Barbara, CA
5

Enchanting, restful...did I mention the view!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent a month in this warm, rustic, very comfortable home, from August 15 - Sept. 15. Everything was perfect when we arrived; towels, linen, TP etc...fully equipped kitchen, DirecTV and spacious living. But the best part is the incredible views from the front lawn and the restful waterfall in the back. Gas BBQ is easy to operate and the quiet stillness at night is wonderful. Close to fishing and hiking. We enjoyed ourselves immensely, even though we were attending to business interests in the Valley. We would definitely come again.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Basalt House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
December 2016
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 21 2016
5 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 29 2016
5 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
New Years 2016/2017
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 7 2017 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Spring Off Season
Apr 1 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$300
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

A security/damage deposit and cleaning fee is required, amount dependent on length of stay. Guests will pay a booking fee that converts to the security/damage deposit upon arrival to secure the dates with 50% of the balance due 60 days from arrival and the remaining balance due 30 days from arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Basalt House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , Vanity
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Walk in shower & Vanity
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master bath with jacuzzi tub and European shower
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties