Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private 1 Acre Hillside Hacienda

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Single Story House, 3 Bedrooms

Come feel the ambiance of Old Mexico in this spacious hacienda-style home with large, arched windows capturing 180 degree views of Mt. Sopris & the Frying Pan & Roaring Fork River Valley. Marble, granite, tile, limestone & large, log vigas enhance the interior design. Enjoy the amenities of the dramatic Great Room with the spacious high ceilings, fully equipped kitchen, dining room & inviting, sunken living room with the Natural Boulder fireplace & Indoor Atrium. Relax in the large, comfortable family room that host a TV, DVD & Stereo system with surround sound installed in both living areas as well as the outside veranda. Three, large bedrooms with queen beds await you at days end. The master bed & bath hosts a marble jacuzzi tub, skylight & access to the back veranda & gardens.

Breathe the clean, fresh mountain air as you meander among multi-tiered gardens with elaborate stone walkways & viewing platforms totally surrounded by open space. Dine on one of three enchanting patios to the serenade of a tranquil stream & waterfall. Glimpse the occasional wildlife as they traverse through this park like setting.

While surrounded by all this nature, the town of Basalt rests within walking distance & offers unique boutiques, art galleries & a sumptuous variety of exceptional restaurants. Aspen & it's sister resort, Snowmass Village, with their world renowned ski slopes & shops are 20 miles south while Glenwood Springs & it's Olympic size natural, hot springs pool & vapor caves lies 22 miles north of Basalt.

Whether you enjoy the activities of winter or summer, this home will welcome you at the end of the day & you will return home from your vacation refreshed & rejuvenated. Come, experience the magic of Basalt's HILLSIDE HACIENDA.

Please contact me at 970-379-1105 if you need additional information or are interested in reserving the hacienda. Thank you. Sandra Lorton

Keywords:

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 30, 2017

About The Owner

John & I have lived here for 35 years. We had a stone company specializing in marble, granite, tile & masonry. John designed & remodeled the home in 1998. We retired a year ago & now spend most of our time visiting our children & grandchildren who are scattered from Washington state to New Mexico. We also enjoy volunteering with Habitat for Humanity & traveling.

The Owner purchased this house in 1976

Why The Owner chose Northwest Colorado

As a child, I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area & fell in love with the mountains when visiting family in Lake Tahoe. When the opportunity arose to move to Colorado, I jumped at it. Going from the fast pace of the city to the snail pace of the country took quite an adjustment. The population of Basalt was about 500 people; the perfect place to raise a family.

What makes this house unique

Even though the population has increased, Basalt still remains a small, peaceful, mountain town. I love waking up in the morning & looking out at the majestic, snowcapped mountain across the valley. You can't help but breathe a deep sigh of relief at the peace & quiet that surrounds you. As you walk outside, you may be greeted by two or three deer grazing on the grass or the gobble of a flock of wild turkeys sharing the hillside with you. Mother Nature never fails to amaze me. I love it here & I'd love to share what this property has to offer with others.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed spectacular views from your amazing windows in sunshine, clouds and driving rains and blowing white-outs all within a few days. The best views were of the moon and stars. Your home is very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed meeting you and wish we could have met John. We hope we are able to return this summer.
Mar 2017
  • 1 of 21

Amenities

Basalt House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , Vanity
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Walk in shower & Vanity
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master bath with jacuzzi tub and European shower
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Private 1 Acre Hillside Hacienda
average rating of 4.0 based on 27 reviews
5

Fabulous vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

To begin, I would like to point out that our experience renting this beautiful home was the complete opposite of the previous review. In our opinion the home was neither "run-down or dilapidated", in fact it was beautifully and lovingly taken care of and decorated. We were a party of 7 (family of 5 with our 2 young adult children accompanied by friends) who arrived late and tired. Linda (who does reside in the apartment above the garage) met us on arrival, explained some of the house amenities, where additional fire wood was, etc., then left us to settle in. The house has plenty of space to spread out and easily sleeps 8 people. In addition to the beautiful family or great room, which has a stunning view of the town and valley below, there is an additional large living room/study with large windows providing a pleasant work/study area for those in our party who needed to do so. There are 3 large bedrooms with comfortable beds/bedding and an additional smaller library that accommodated 2 twin beds. The master bedroom has a jetted tub. There is an additional large bathroom with a large walk-in shower plus another 1/2 bath adjoining the study at the other end of the house. Even with 7 people (5 being young adults/teenagers) we never had any issues re: waiting for the shower or running out of hot water. The kitchen is fully stocked with any and all cooking utensils (we were able to make Cornish Game hens for New Year's Eve dinner) and more than enough dishes. In addition, there is also a washer and dryer. Because of the season, we didn't take advantage of either of the outdoor patio areas, but enjoyed watching the wild turkeys wander around the house each morning. Linda was pleasant to work with. I would not hesitate to recommend this home and would definitely consider it again should we return to the area.

This rental would be good for families, adult friends, people with mobility issues, maybe not so much people with toddlers or younger children - sharp drop off of one patio area and the furnishings are unique.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Renter Beware

  • 1 of 5

The good:

-Location was nice. Close to town. Amazing views.

The Bad:

-Owners are moving, house is a bit dilapidated and run down. Building materials are scattered throughout the property.

-Owners hover above the garage as other renters mentioned. They never leave. No real privacy.

The Ugly:

-Owners refused to refund security deposit. During our stay, the steptic tank stopped working. We prodded the owners to send somewhat out to fix it, which they did immediately. About two weeks after our stay, I emailed them to check on the status of the deposit. At that point, the owner replied that due to the septic tank repair, they would not be refunding the deposit. They also insinuated that this was our fault, and perhaps our guest with a baby had flushed a diaper down the toilet. The response was ridiculous and outrageous. And I found it revealing that they didn't mention they would be withholding the deposit in person at the time of the incident. I asked for a copy of the receipt and proof of her claim. They sent the receipt which revealed the septic needed a standard repair / snaking. I have been using vrbo for years, and have never had an issue like this before and/or not received my security deposit back. Put a damper on what was otherwise a wonderful vacation with family on the slopes.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First let me respond with what the guests wrote in our guest book: John & Sandra, Your house is truly fantastic. We enjoyed dinners in and the Town of Basalt is great. We had fantastic weather for cross-country skiing, hiking up Snowmass, and great downhill skiing with fresh powder. We hope to be back next year at this same time. Dave & Denise/Alberto & Jessica Vineland, NJ/Kansas City, MO The four guests arrived on Saturday and then invited 3 of their family or friends from Denver to join them, with permission from the owners. The new guests arrived on Monday or Tuesday with a baby. The sewer backed up on Wednesday which required an after hours call to the local plumbing company. My husband was with the plumber when he snaked out the pipe leading to the septic tank. What came back out of the sewer pipe was, what the plumber called, the remains of a diaper. My husband described it as a plastic/cloth like material. The guests from Denver left the next (Thursday) morning, thanking me for their wonderful stay and taking care of the plumbing issue so quickly. I did not see Jessica and the rest of the original party leave on the next Saturday morning but when I went to clean the house, I found the corner, circular cabinet in the kitchen totally broken and off it's center. When I mentioned this to her, via email, she claimed it had been broken when they arrived. The welcome booklet left on the kitchen counter specifically says that upon arrival, please inspect the house, kitchen cabinets, etc. and let us know immediately if anything needs attention. This she did not do because I know the cabinet was not broken when they arrived. My husband and I do live on the property, totally separate from the main house. We are the caretakers, maintenance personnel. If anything goes wrong, we want to be there to take care of it. This is a disgruntled guest who because she didn't get her deposit back is writing this negative review. What she needs to do is collect her security deposit from the guests she invited from Denver who caused the back-up. By the way, this is the first security deposit we have withheld in the five years we've been renting through VRBO. We are delighted with 99% of guests that we host and love seeing them come back year after year. They are kind, considerate and respectful of the property they are renting. Unfortunately, there is a 1%. Sandra Lorton
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Kansas City
5

Awesome house; awesome owners

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at Hillside Hacienda while in the Aspen area for our daughter's wedding. Aspen/Basalt is a beautiful area, but the highlight of our trip (other than a beautiful wedding) was staying at the Hillside Hacienda. It is a "jaw dropper" property....my wife and family couldn't believe what a beautiful house we stumbled upon. The house itself is fantastic...beautiful furnishings, beautiful artwork and adornments, great living and resting spaces and a great location just above Basalt. We were visited by "Sweetie," a wild turkey who stopped by for a bit of corn, and enjoyed the fantastic mountain views from each of the patios.

John and Sandra are wonderful, gracious hosts and we all enjoyed meetng them. They are full of great ideas and tips for the area and are really nice people.

If you have an opportunity to stay here....DO IT!. You will love it.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Orleans
5

Scenic and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a wonderful summer at the Hacienda. Couldn't stay at a more perfect home. Waterfall stream in backyard, gorgeous view of Sopris in the front. Interior adorned with exceptional Indian and cowboy paintings and sculptures.

Have stayed in Basalt for many summers and this was definitely our favorite! Can't wait to return.

Thank you Sandy and John.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location

  • 3 of 5

Nice place but I would only recommend this place for retired couples without kids. The woman who rents this place out lives above the garage and thats way to close! She was

always home and peering out the window. She actually snapped at the end of our stay

and swore at my wife. BUZZ KILL!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Too bad renters can't respect the rules. The house has a maximum occupancy of 8 and a departure of 10 am. This party had additional guests in excess of 8 and didn't leave until after 2 pm. Only bad experience!! It's a matter of respect.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Santa Barbara, CA
5

Enchanting, restful...did I mention the view!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent a month in this warm, rustic, very comfortable home, from August 15 - Sept. 15. Everything was perfect when we arrived; towels, linen, TP etc...fully equipped kitchen, DirecTV and spacious living. But the best part is the incredible views from the front lawn and the restful waterfall in the back. Gas BBQ is easy to operate and the quiet stillness at night is wonderful. Close to fishing and hiking. We enjoyed ourselves immensely, even though we were attending to business interests in the Valley. We would definitely come again.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Aspen Airport
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Glenwood Springs
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Aspen Mtn./Snowmass
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Basalt House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Fall 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 20 2017 - Dec 27 2017
5 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
New Years 2017
Dec 28 2017 - Jan 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Winter 2018
Jan 3 2018 - Mar 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $500

A security/damage deposit and cleaning fee is required, amount dependent on length of stay. Guests will pay a booking fee that converts to the security/damage deposit upon arrival to secure the dates with 50% of the balance due 60 days from arrival and the remaining balance due 30 days from arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable