Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Creekside Serenity And Privacy with Bubbling Hot Tub

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Rustic Timberframe Cabin with Massive Pine Beams, One Bedroom, One Bath

Tucked away in your private get-a-way, you can enjoy looking at the trees while you listen to the sound of your own gurgling creek.

This private Timber frame cabin is airy, with rustic pine walls, and massive pine beams. A cozy dining nook is within easy reach of the long galley style kitchen, which overlooks the centrally located living room. The living room has carpet, a gorgeous stone fireplace for those chilly nights, and a sofa and a futon that opens up for those third and fourth guests.

A full bathroom and utility nook with a full size washer and dryer complete the downstairs. A large TV with DVD player and a wifi nook takes care of your electronic needs.

Woods stairs lead up to the large, private second floor with its comfy queen sized bed overlooking the woods, a cozy chair and ottoman, and large TV and DVD player to view your favorite shows and movies.

Spend peaceful moments on the large and very private back deck, with its built-in benches, patio furniture, bistro seating, and four person hot tub, while listening to the rustling leaves and the trickle of your private hidden creek, tucked away down in the glen behind the house. A short walk down the hillside trail allows you to relax on the creek side deck, or meditate on the large rock overlooking the creek, surrounded by nothing but trees.

There is two night minimum stay. Specials do not apply to holiday periods.

If you are reserving within 24 hours from arrival, please call or email the owner for instructions.

More Details

Owner
Kate
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Kate

I am originally from New England. I came to Georgia to attend chiropractic college. After Graduating with a Doctorate of Chiropractic, I went in search of a place that had clean water, clean air and a community of people that would appreciate the energetic technique of Network Spinal Analysis. After driving the entire country including a month on the Hawaiian Islands, I chose Northeast Georgia. I love how intact its nature is, its four seasons (with a much milder winter than New England!) and its warm and kind people.

Kate purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Kate chose North Georgia Mountains

When I was looking for a place to live, I wanted something remote, a place I could recover. My days are long and physically, emotionally and mentally demanding. As a single woman, I wanted to feel safe and still connected to the wildness of nature. This cabin afforded me that and more.

What makes this cabin unique

I love rocks and at the bottom of the trail to the creek there is a gorgeous rock. After sitting on the rock and soaking up the awesomeness of the "holler" (as they say up here) I knew I would buy the cabin. To my delight the inside of the cabin was gorgeous with its white pine timbers, fireplace and hot tub. It was a delicious place to live.

For the years that I lived in the cabin I would meditate daily on that rock. It feels to me like being in the womb of mother nature. I had a deck built on the creek and slept on that deck many a nights. Once 6 black bear approached the deck while I was on it. Luckily they were just as surprised to see me as I was them and no harm was done! I recommend sleeping in the cabin and not leaving food outside for very long.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We love this cabin. The peaceful seclusion was just what we needed. After hiking Anna Ruby Falls and Dukes Falls, we came back to the cabin to witness the sunset in the hot tub. We hate to leave and return to reality!
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Atlanta
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Helen, GA
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Innsbrook, Helen GA
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Helen, GA

Just 1.3 miles from the lake and hiking trails at Unicoi State Park and Anna Ruby Falls!

4 miles from downtown Helen for:shopping, restaurants, tubing, zip lining, gold panning, waterslides and wine tasting.

15 minutes from white water rafting down the Chatahoochee river.

www.wildwoodoutfitters.com

15 minutes from the Folk Pottery Museum. W The award winning structure was funded by Dean and Kay Swanson and houses their outstanding collection of Georgia folk pottery which they gathered with the guidance of collector and folk potter, Michael Crocker. In addition SNCA hosts a History Museum and the African American Heritage Site. Also offering live music, theater and contra- dancing. www.snca.org

15 minutes to Lucille's Mountaintop Inn offering day spa services.

www.lucillesmountaintopinn.com/georgia-spa-massage.htm#menu-and-packages

15 minutes from Sweetwater Coffee house. www.sweetwatercoffeehouse.com

Nearby Batesville has beautiful winding roads for biking and a trip back in time at the Batesville General Store.

Mark of the Potter is an icon of the area worth the 10 minute drive to Batesville. www.markofthepotter.com

6 miles from Hardman farm Historical site. Great place to take the family to learn how it used to be.

Visit the Gourd Place Museum and gift shop to purchase that special gift. www.gourdplace.com

5 miles from Innisbrook golf resort and spa.

Amenities

Helen Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Full size bathroom with tub/shower unit, toilet, vanity and sink, raised ceiling, wood walls and skylight.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Spacious, full loft bedroom with queen size bed, bookcases, large TV with DVD player and movies, comfy chair and ottoman, and dressers for clothing.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Creekside Serenity And Privacy with Bubbling Hot Tub
average rating of 4.55 based on 22 reviews
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

I will definitely be staying here again. We had a great trip! Everything was very clean. The atmosphere was very serene.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect secluded getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This was our third visit to Creekside Serenity and it was wonderful as always. We love this little cabin! It is close to many beautiful hiking trails with waterfalls and manages to feel secluded even though it is relatively close to the town center of Helen.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Extremely dirty

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived, the door was standing wide open, and had been for a week according to the cleaning lady who had forgotten to come by. The entire place was infested with bugs. We were unable to get anything done about it until late afternoon the next day. There was only about a half a roll of toilet paper to last all weekend, so we had to get our own. It is just really sad to pay so much and have to deal with such a mess.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The cabin became dirty because the entry door was left open between the last cleaning and your arrival, which invited in many moths that created a mess. Your initial texts were responded to within an hour, and Cas did not come Friday evening to re-clean because you said you had already cleaned and wanted time alone. When you called the following morning, Cas came back within a few hours to re-clean the entire cabin, and when she left you indicated that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the cabin. Our sincere apologies for dealing with this on your vacation. We had hoped that our responses and re-cleaning of the cabin had met your expectations. The cabin has been thoroughly cleaned again after your departure, and we have had no further complaints (or moth infestations).
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had the best and well needed vacation. The cabin was perfect and in a perfect location. Nice and cozy and a fireplace for that romantic moment. It had everything you could ask for. It was well secluded and the hot tub was perfect in the chilly evening. Nice little hike behind the cabin was fun. Has a sitting area to relax and hear the creek. Helen was a few miles away and a great place to hang out. If you like hiking, Ravens Cliff falls was a great moderate hike. Dukes creek also nice and a little easier. Vineyards great place to visit. If you like zip lining you need to try Nacoochee Adventures Big Zip Intimidator. All in all best cabin location. Close to everything. Thank you Kate for a great experience. Will definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Nasty. Deck wasn't swept, bed sheets weren't washed, hot tub was cloudy and had no chlorine.

  • 2 of 5

Couldn't enjoy overall getaway because of dirty hot tub, bed sheets, and broken shower head. Won't stay again.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that the cabin cleaning did not meet your expectations, and would have been happy to come back and re-clean, had we known about your complaints prior to your review. We always wash linens and towels, and attend to the hot tubs and decks on all cleanings. It is possible for leaves and pine needles to fall onto the deck in the days in between the cleaning and your arrival, but these items are a part of every cleaning. The shower head split during the course of your stay, and has been replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Loved everything this cabin had to offer! Secluded enough from everything but yet still close enough to town! Will definitely be back :)

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Security Deposit Waiver $29
Cleaning Fee $55
Tax Rate 15.0%

Security Deposit Waiver of $29 is required for all bookings, in place of the traditional security deposit. This waiver covers unintentional damages, up to $1000. This fee is non-refundable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties