check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


10 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Spruce Pine House Rental Photos and Description

Imagine a charming, picturesque mountain house in a beautiful landscape

Step back in time when houses were made from local materials found right on the property. Experience the charm of construction before the days of levels and perfect fits, yet the craftsmanship was so remarkable that somehow things not only fit, but held up well against the trials of time.

As you climb the stone steps in front of the house, note how each step has a different height before you arrive on the stone deck where rocking chairs and a wood bench await your use and delight. A truly great front porch and beautiful sunsets await you!

Inside, lovely rooms will greet you with quality furnishings as well as modern amenities in the kitchen and baths. Started in the 1920s (with outside kitchen and bath during the early days), the house has had several additions as it was enlarged and modernized. Today, it contains 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, a living room, large kitchen with dining area, and a large family room. Although rarely if ever needed, air conditioning has been added to insure your comfort.

The house is configured whereby it can be easily enjoyed by 6 people as an extended family or group, or by 2 or 3 couples or family units with separate sleeping areas in the 2 bedrooms and the family room.

Each of the living room and family room are equipped with a television with cable service and a dvd/vhs player. Also in the family room are a convertible sleeper couch and lounge chairs, a stereo system with cd player and floor speakers, and a bumper pool table.The house is heated primarily via gas heaters that helps keep this area warm and cozy even in the coldest weather. An extensive and varied collection of vhs movies are also available for your viewing pleasure.

All rooms are furnished with comfortable and suitable furniture and furnishings, including high quality mattresses in the bedrooms and plenty of closet space.

The kitchen contains all new appliances, including a refrigerator with ice maker, stove, and dishwasher, as well as all normal kitchen utensils, pots and glassware. Stove and oven are gas.

A utility room contains the electric clothes washer and clothes dryer, as well as a gas powered water heater.

One bath has a tub and shower, while the contains a shower.

There is also a “mud room” if needed to clean your feet before entering the house, and this is also a suitable area for storing skis or other outdoor equipment.

Enjoy a unique experience when you stay in this very cool house that is literally a taste of history, but with modern cooking and plumbing facilities as well as modern comforts and features like TV and Wi Fi . It is conveniently located close to stores and restaurants, but in a rural/natural setting. Where else do you get on the Blue Ridge Parkway to get groceries, but you are only 6 miles from a 24 hour WalMart Super Center, and a variety of other stores?

Logs and Stones Vacation Rentals is 14 acres, and we also offer 2 lovely log cabins with hot tubs at vrbo listings 481130 and 601785

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Steve Pearson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german, spanish, Korean
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Owner

About Steve Pearson

Wife Soony and I love Little Switzerland and the NC Mountains. I have been visiting different areas of the mountains since I was a child and selected Little Switzerland after careful consideration. It is a great area with a perfect mix of rural living and natural beauty, paired with the old time NC culture that keeps things like mountain music fresh and alive, yet close enough to more international art, music and cuisine in Asheville,

Steve Pearson purchased this house in 2011

Why Steve Pearson chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

About 11 years ago, this property and 2 acres were purchased by a couple from eastern NC. I then purchased the adjoining 12 acres that had been the historic farm that was owned by the family that also owned this house. When the last owners decided to sell in 2011, I wanted to re-unite the properties and I purchased the house with its 2 acres late that year. At the time, I wasn't even sure what I would do with the house as I have a log home that is nearby and that my wife is crazy about. But I had always dreamed of owning an old stone house, and it was literally a dream come true when we closed. Although we also like to stay in the stone house from time to time, we decided to open a vacation rental business with it and 2 brand new cabins that are now also on the 14 acre property. I wanted to share not only this unique house, but also what NC mountain living had meant to me as a child when I discovered it and my lifelong love affair began. I hope you will experience or re-discover that for yourself in this historic and interesting house. It was the 'cadillac' of its day, and we have worked hard to restore it to its former glory while modernizing the kitchen and baths, refinishing the floors, and otherwise getting the house into good condition. We could never have done it alone, and we are thankful for the assistance of our friend Doug McKinney (part of a family that has been involved with construction in this area for generations). With Doug's help, we are finally ready to share this treasure with others. We believe that you will have a great time if you rent this unique house, most of which was literally built by hand with rock and wood harvested from this property. Doug is now the Property Manager for our business, Logs and Stones Vacation Rentals, LLC.

What makes this house unique

Although the kitchen, baths and appointments of the house are updated and modern, you will really feel like you have stepped back in time when you stay here, especially sitting on the front porch. Picture yourself living a calmer, slower lifestyle where you are confronted with the beauty of nature at every turn... or perhaps on a special shoot for the Andy Griffith show....This area was the home of moonshine, but this is soul shine!


based on 10 traveler reviews

average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews

Charming and quiet property

  • 5 of 5

We were there for labor day weekend. Everything was as described. The owner made sure that property was ready for early arrival. The house is on a quiet street. The family room is large and ample seating for all and with several windows - sunny and enjoyable. Beds were comfortable. Front porch was nice, we enjoyed one morning there. Do not rely on GPS - follow owner's instruction. The cell signals are very weak and there will unlikely be 3G/4G connection for phone GPS to work, We came from dinner 1st night and car GPS put us 1 mile away on the same street and we had trouble finding the property. At night it is very dark and you will not be able to see any landmarks etc. If you planning to stay Sunday - make sure the restaurant you plan to visit is open - most of the places close around 3 or 4. There is Walmart about 5 miles away and you probably will go there for anything you need. There are not too many other stores around.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review, and we are very happy that you enjoyed the stone house!! Its our most unique and, in some ways, interesting property, but people seem to gravitate to our cabins. I feel all of them are special or we wouldn't offer them, but the stone house is like a time warp, except that you still have the accoutrements of modern life. I am sorry that you had trouble with GPS directions, but that is why we always want to give our guests directions. GPS usually works OK, but sometimes it gives some weird instructions up in the mountains. Keep care, and please come again sometime .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC

Wonderful location - quaint, old little house

  • 5 of 5

My family of five (with three children - 2, 6, and 9) stayed at this house for a week in August. The location couldn't be beat as the house is just a few minutes off the Blue Ridge Parkway (BRP), 15 minutes from Spruce Pine and a SuperWalmart, and within 15 to 45 minutes of many wonderful places to visit in the Blue Ridge Mountains. We hiked to waterfalls, visited several BRP destinations, explored the Linville Caverns, and enjoyed the tiny town of Little Switzerland with its amazing used book store and interesting cafe. My children loved the fact that we were minutes away from the Emerald Village! The house itself is quaint and restful (with a few little quirks that give old houses their soul) on a beautiful piece of property.

We did not have any problems with the house; it is clearly well-managed. Steve provided a great guide for the area that we found extremely helpful. Everything was very clean with the exception of the floors. While they looked clean, we noticed that our feet/socks were often dirty after spending some time indoors. This was perhaps a one-time oversight by the cleaning team as everything else was spick and span. The house stayed cool and comfortable without running the AC even in August, except while we were cooking dinner and using the gas stove. It was nice to have a window AC unit in the kitchen to run during meal prep. We did find the game/TV room a little damp due to humidity and the fact that the room is built into a small hill but it did not cause any problems for us. My husband and I enjoyed the book selection at the house - I finally read "The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" - and there were many other classics that I would have liked to read if I had more time. Cell phones and Internet only really worked in the game/TV room, but we were happy to have some time away from our devices!

I would recommend this property to others!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review, and we are happy that you had a good time. Any problem with the floors not being spic and span was probably my fault as my wife and I come down to the stone house sometimes because we do not have internet or tv service at our house, which is more remote. We probably were the ones that did not do an adequate job on cleaning the floors, and I apologize for same. But, as you mentioned, its a great old house in a beautiful area, and I am happy that your family had a good time. Please come again. P.S. The stone house has a land line for phone service, so lack of cell phone service (common in the area) is not much of a problem here. You can provide any expected callers with the land line number while you are visiting. Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lancaster, SC

Fall Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for sharing the stone house with us. It is a charming place with a down-home feel that you just don’t find at a hotel. The home was immaculately clean! I have rented many VRBO properties and this one was, by far, the cleanest. You can tell the owners and his property managers truly care for this place. The kitchen is updated with everything you need. The vase of fresh-picked wildflowers sitting on the kitchen windowsill did not go unnoticed and was very thoughtful. Beds were comfy with the wonderful smell of freshly laundered linens. Two bathrooms with towels provided was nice since all VRBO properties do not provide linens. Having a washer/dryer on hand also a plus. Everything is there for you to enjoy a home away from home, cozy enough for a couple or spacious enough for a family. Strolling around the beautiful property and then relaxing in the rockers on the front porch reminded me of simpler times when life was less hectic.

We ate at the nearby Switzerland Café, which has delicious food and a great selection of delectable desserts! But get there early as the tables fill up rather quickly for lunch. There is also a Pub upstairs where you can relax and enjoy a cold draft beer or a glass of wine. The connecting general store has a great selection of wine, snacks, and gifts. If you like to read, take time to browse the bookstore next door….a real “old-timey” bookstore….rare to find these days. In all, there is a great vibe on that whole corner of Little Switzerland tucked right into the curve of Hwy 226. For adventure, there are many activities in the surrounding area for which the owner has provided a detailed guide. The Blue Ridge Parkway is less than 3 miles from the house. We picked the right weekend to visit as the fall colors were spectacular! We enjoyed Linville Falls and Mt. Mitchell and also took time to visit Roan Mountain (and climb Round Bald!). Thank you, Steve, for all the info provided, from spot-on directions, to where the nearest Wal-Mart is and your personal number in case we needed anything. From initial email to checkout, it shows how much the owner cares about this place and his guests. I found this statement at the end of the listing for the stone house and I think this speaks volumes: “We will strive to provide you with a great and memorable vacation experience. That starts with a really neat and clean home and beautiful property, but includes helping you find activities that you enjoy”. You succeeded in all aspects!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Rose, Thank you for such a thoughtful and thorough review! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our stone house. I too find it to be a VERY special place. Thank you , and please come again sometime. Keep care, Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming Stone House in a Quiet Mountain Setting

  • 5 of 5

This old, stone home was perfect for our short family stay this past summer. Bedrooms are spacious and clean, with comfortable, quality bedding. The kitchen is well appointed, and also very clean. The interior is nicely updated with wood and stone, and if we had more time the extensive movie library and game area looked great.

During our summer visit in the mountains the temps were perfect and there was no need for air conditioning. The great wooded location, private setting, available and knowledgable nearby Mgr (Doug), made our stay even more pleasant. We also appreciated the owner's attention to detail and cleanliness. Plenty of local information available to choose itineraries, restaurants, shopping, etc. We really liked the nearby mountain view restaurant with mountain range views, together with breakfast at the Little Switzerland Inn, and their spectacular views. Little Switzerland and Spruce Pine are quaint, interesting towns, and having the Blue Ridge Parkway close by is an added bonus.

We've already stayed at one of Steve's two newer cozy log cabins on the same acreage. We now have two thoroughly memorable experiences as repeat guests! Thanks, Ken G.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ken, We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our stone house! And thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and nice review. Thanks especially for pointing out that the stone house is cool and comfortable even in the summer. 2015 was one of the hottest summers I can remember, and what you said confirms what I tell potential customers: that you don't need air conditioning there because the house is located next to a creek and a spring, and surrounded by big trees. But we lose some customers because they are convinced they need air conditioning! Its far better to breath the fresh, mountain air, and ceiling fans are also available, but seldom needed or used. We also appreciate your repeat business and that you have now enjoyed stays in both the stone house and a cabin. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Keep care, Steve Logs and Stones Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cincinnati, OH

Quiet, relaxing, a step back in time

  • 5 of 5

First of all, this was a last minute trip to see the fall colors of the Blue Ridge Parkway and I had limited places to choose from but this was a very nice house which accommodated us very well. We needed nothing except food during our stay. I booked the house, received detailed instructions on how to get there and even where to stop for food ahead of time. The place was CLEAN and so adorable from the outside and inside was larger than I thought. It was close to enough attractions to keep us busy for the weekend and we even had quite a few suggestions waiting for us when we got there. Checking out was easy and the caretaker was very friendly and talked to us about the area. The water was fresh spring water! I might suggest a fire pit near the house but I am by no means complaining. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and then wanted to share your good experience with others. THANK YOU! We look forward to having you visit again sometime - the stone house is a very special place! Keep care, Steve Logs and Stones Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, Quiet and feels like being at Home

  • 5 of 5

My sister and niece from Wisconsin were visiting NC and we wanted to show them the Blue Ridge Parkway. The Historic Stone House in Little Switzerland was the perfect location. The house had plenty of room for us to not feel crowded and we really enjoyed the time together. We loved the family room, bumper pool table, cozy kitchen and front porch. With the leaves changing color and the sound of the rain on the metal roof it really made our family visit super special. Steve was so helpful in providing directions and ideas for areas to explore. If you are looking for a special place this is it!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you and your family had such a nice time. The stone house porch is a special part of the house, and in the winter beautiful sunsets can be seen from there. Thanks for sharing your experience with others! Steve Logs and Stones Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
110 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Switzerland Inn
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Spruce Pine
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Spruce Pine
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Blue Ridge Pkwy and Highway 226A
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Little Switzerland Cafe
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Beech Mountain
Car: necessary

If you get tired of exploring the property's forest, pasture, creek and pond, then hop on the Blue Ridge Parkway for incredible views and sites, with Crabtree Falls, Mount Mitchell, and Craggy Gardens to the south, and Linville Falls, Grandfather Mountain, and Blowing Rock to the north.

Only 7 miles from the property, Crabtree Falls is a lovely falls that is best enjoyed as part of a 2 mile loop trail that includes a variety of terrain. 15 miles further south is Mount Mitchell State Park, a wild and beautiful area with a tower, picnic areas, restaurant, and lots of hiking trails. We enjoy visiting Mt. Mitchell most for an evening picnic combined with climbing the summit's tower to watch spectacular sunsets.

Just 2 miles from the property, you can also hike to Grassy Creek Falls, a high, delicate falls that is quite lovely.

You can easily visit Little Switzerland downtown and Spruce Pine for interesting shops and a wide assortment of restaurants. I particularly like the extensive bookstore located in Little Switzerland. There is fine dining at the Switzerland Inn, Little Switzerland Cafe, Mountain View, Knife and Fork, and Spruce Pine Golf Course restaurants.

Spruce Pine is the site of a blacksmithsfair each spring as well as a large gem and mineral show in late July and early August. The BBQ and Bluegrass Festival in July is great. The nearby towns of Bakersville, Burnsville, Marion, Old Fort and Black Mountain all have their own charms as well as festivals, especially during the summer months, with the famous rhododendron festival in Bakersville and Roan Mtn. in June. Of course, the area is aflame with fall colors and enlivened by spring flowers during those seasons, and for peace and long views, you can't beat a visit during winter.

Nature lovers, hikers, bikers and motorcyclists all love this area for its scenic and winding roads and trails, and its spectacular vistas. These are the oldest mountains in North America, and you have the highest native plant diversity in the continental the southern Appalachians. Its a wonderfully rich and beautiful area in so many ways.

Authentic mountain music is played regularly at many local venues that are close by, including the Apple Orchard at Altapass during the day and Young's Mountain Music on Saturday nights. Lots of other music venues are available, including a weekly, traditional square dance in Little Switzerland during July and August.

Within an hour's drive is Asheville with its diverse art and music offerings, the Biltmore Estate, and an extensive and international selection of fine restaurants. A wellspring of new music that often combines bluegrass, rock and international rhythms, Asheville hosts a lot of concerts as well as free music events like the Downtown After Five and Shindig on the Green series during the summer. .

While staying at the stone house, we hope that you will also consider visiting our favorite local spot, Roan Mountain to the north with its famous rhododendron gardens and evergreen forests. If you go, also take at least a short walk on the Appalachian Trail that crosses at the entrance to the Park at Carver's Gap. Just an easy and short hike up the natural balds that characterize the tops of some mountains in this area are some of the most spectacular views in NC. On the way to Roan Mountain, you can also stop in Bakersville for some wonderful gourmet goat cheese that is produced by Oak Moon Creamery, a local farmer. You also might try one of the great hamburgers sold at Bonnie and Clyde's in nearby Loafers Glory or go there for a tubing ride in the afternoon on the way to the Roan for a late afternoon visit..

Gems and minerals have played, and continue to play, an important role in this community, and our property is just a few miles from the only commercially viable emerald mine to have ever operated in the US. You can also see historic mines and try your luck at finding gemstones at the Emerald Village, less than a mile from the cabin, and featuring some wonderfully picturesque mines for viewing even from the road. Other choices for rockhounds abound in this area.

There are many, many other things to do in the area and we provide our guests with an extensive guide to the foregoing mentioned activities as well as a host of other things ranging from horseback riding, golf, canoeing, skiing, whitewater rafting, etc.

However, maybe you won't even want to leave the house and property. You can find plenty to do right here exploring the hardwood knoll at the opposite end of the 14 acre property, playing in or relaxing by the creek, picking wildflowers or blackberries, or simply sitting on your porch watching a beautiful sunset. Stars and fireflies can create magical views during clear nights.

We will strive to provide you with a great and memorable vacation experience. That starts with a really neat and clean home and beautiful property, but includes helping you find activities that you enjoy.


Rates & Availability

Spruce Pine House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.75%

Rates are based on a maximum of 4 persons. No surcharge for infants under 2 years old. All others above 4 persons added at $15 per night per additional person.

11 AM is check-out deadline and 4 PM or later is check-in time. Owner may accommodate special requests.

Cancellations 60 days or more before arrival will receive full refund less $30 fee. Cancellations 30-59 days before arrival will receive full refund less $60 fee. Cancellations less than 30 days before arrival will receive refund (less $60) only for those days re-booked.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Spruce Pine House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • First bath has tub and shower. Second bath has shower only.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Dressers, arm chair and lamp, walk-in closet, electric heat
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Bedroom 2 has double bed, storage cabinet and closet
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Cross the creek to enter a lovely property that is a private 2 acre portion of a 14 acre property. Very picturesque house has lovely yard that includes a giant weeping willow tree, a large blue spruce, plum trees and many flowering shrubs. Watch hummingbirds and other birds that visit the property and pond. Deer, turkey and rabbits seen often, bear on occasion. Picnic table is located in yard under a large Black Walnut tree and overlooks the pond.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties