check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

SPECTACULAR CHEF'S KITCHEN, Private Terrace, Sleeps 6, DOWNTOWN Ottawa!!!

31 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
1 - 4 nights


Lower Town Condo Rental Photos and Description

This well appointed suite is fully furnished and unique.

I have been renting this condo for years (which can be verified at the bottom of this page). As the overwhelming majority of my reviews reveal, I do my best to help my guests' make their experience be a postiive one.

In order to ensure the protection of both parties, I do not accept any reservations that are requested within 14 days of arrival. The credit card used to book a reservation will be verified with matching government photo i.d. upon arrival at my property.

- 1100 square feet (about 110 sq metres); 10 foot high ceilings

- lovingly restored 1871 hardwood floors; porcelain tile with toasty under-the-floor heating in kitchen and bathrooms

- queen size sofa bed in living room with privacy French doors with privacy drapery for so the living room can be used as a 3rd bedroom

- 3 42” LED TV's (with 290+ digital and HD channels); 1 in each bedroom and 1 in the living room

- expansive 7 foot high windows with built-in window seats

- well laid out floor plan; very private between the two bedrooms

- queen-size beds

- cotton linens

- duvets

- two full bathrooms

- soaker tub with shower

- glass enclosed shower, with waterfall shower head, in second bathroom

- facecloths, hand towels, bath towels

Fully-equipped, well stocked modern kitchen with granite counters has:

- 6-burner gas range imported from Italy (Bertazzoni-easy to use)

- microwave oven & Krug stainless steel toaster/oven

- stainless steel pots and pans

- full dinnerware sets and china

- abundance of cooking utensils, cutlery and glassware

- coffeemaker

- large selection of dried goods, spices, rices, grains, baking needs, teas, coffee, etc., all complimentary during your stay

- customized cedar dining table on private, well lit (everything on dimmers) outdoor terrace, BBQ

A full-size in-suite washer and dryer for your convenience (including soap, stain remover and dryer sheets)

Parking is 1/2 block (30 second walk) from the condo and is $10 per 24 hours, with in/out privileges and no reservation required.

Ours is a non-smoking, pet-free suite.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2016
Call Owner

What makes this condo unique

Lovely decor. Beautiful, large well-stocked kitchen enjoyed by many chefs from around the world. Outdoor private terrace. Walking distance to tourist attractions, business district, university, live theatre.


based on 31 traveler reviews

SPECTACULAR CHEF'S KITCHEN, Private Terrace, Sleeps 6, DOWNTOWN Ottawa!!!
average rating of 4.7419353 based on 31 reviews
Berkeley, CA USA


  • 1 of 5

We were first very excited to get to this rental based on the photos that were on the web site. Our excitement died quickly.

We first got the unpleasant surprise that we could not stop in front of the house (bus diamond lane) to drop off the luggage. We parked the car at the parking recommended by the owner.

Parking is a block away and you have to roll the luggage to the apt. - which is ok except that we had to walk by a sex shop (with our small daughter) to get from parking to the apt.

We reached the place at 9:15PM and nobody was there to greet or help us. Just a code to get in and good luck.

Since the bus lane runs in front of the apt, it is very noisy - buses shake the front rooms and woke us up every morning. Sound insulation is bad - the floors squeak - chandeliers rattle - and traffic of upstairs tenants kept us up quite late. The apartment is also not small children-proof (sharp knives in the kitchen, many electrical outlets) and was not very clean when we came in.

There are several restaurants in the vicinity of the house which makes it convenient to get fast food. However, as I was picking up take-out dinner for the family, I ran into a a few people who were soliciting drugs - which made me worried about our safety for the rest of our stay. It also made me understand why security cameras were installed outside near the patio door of the apartment.

At the end of the stay, I called the owner to ask her if she could grant us 30 mins extra time to check-out (11AM - no stopping in the bus lane - having to roll the luggage one block to the parking lot - and obviously not easy with a small baby on a busy street). She said that we had to get out right away and that we had to open the door to let the maid inside.

As if the experience had not been bad enough already, we received a text message from the owner a few hours later claiming that we had damaged a carpet, stained the granite counter with coffee and that she was not going to be able to clean the place before the next tenants. As a result, she said she would keep our deposit. We felt that this was very dishonest of her but what to do?

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so grateful to my thousands of guests I have hosted (since 2009) for the enviable reputation I enjoy. I encourage you, the reader, to peruse some of my other reviews from other guests for this property to get a balanced and fair assessment before you make your decision. To briefly explain, this particular guest was terribly upset with me because I contacted him shortly after his check-out to tell him I was appalled at the condition of the apartment and that his damage deposit would not begin to cover the hundreds, and possibly, thousands of dollars in damage. It wasn't because he left the home is disarray, and that there were spills and stains throughout but that he allowed his young daughter to play with some sort of crayon-like doughy compound (he must have brought this from France-I have not seen it before) throughout the apartment and specifically in our living room. This doughy crayon was spread all over - on the upholstery, crushed into the wool rug, smeared over the top of the mahogany table, and ground into the original 1871 wood flooring (update: we lost the wool carpet $2800 spent $853 fixing the damage ). I have never, after hosting thousands of guests, had to ask any guest for any money for any damages. I understand and appreciate that the occasional thing will get broken - it does in all houses - and, so, I put my guests' minds at ease in those circumstances by telling them that I do not quibble over normal wear and tear. But, this was different...this was an appalling display of utter disregard for another person's property. I advised the guest that I had numerous photos of the condition of the apartment. The guest never chose to defend himself, or to explain his actions. He simply ended communication with me and wrote this review instead. The guest had no complaints during his stay and asked me the night before his departure if he could extend it by one more day (I could not-I had another guest checking in). The guest did not ask me if he could check out late-he simply stayed and refused to answer his door when my cleaner showed up at 11 am. I spent 30 minutes emailing, calling and texting him before he answered. He was unkind during our communication but agreed to leave within 20 minutes. My guests are able to park in front of the building in order to unload their luggage (with the exception of 2 hours Mon-Fri) though the parking lot is a 30 second walk away and they can park for free after 5:30 and weekends.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Stunning apartment, great location

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is an extremely beautifully decorated and highly functional place to stay in a great location in Ottawa. It was a joy staying, I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy all that this place has to offer--amazing kitchen and bathrooms and bedrooms! I would definitely stay again, and it was great having instant access to someone (via text or phone or email) if you have any questions. It was great having little notes all over the apartment so you know how everything works, and there was a great book made up with tons of information about Ottawa and staying there in the apartment.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Calgary, Alberta

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent nine days in this lovely 1871 heritage house with all the lastest modern conveneiences. Very comfortable bed, although on busy road the unit is quiet, the kitchen is quite exceptional, the terrace is private, and the crowing glory is the location. Bus stop outside the front door has four different bustes which take you down to the centre of Ottawa. Walking distance to grocery, pharmacy, Rideua backery a must visit, well stocked wine/spirits store. Also within walking distance is the Byward Market with the wonderful La Bottega Itallian market. Can either walk or take one of the buses up to Parliament Hill.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Dayville, CT

Great place to stay in Ottawa

  • 5 of 5

I recently stayed here with my sister and her family and at first I was apprehensive due to the location this rental was in the city. Located in a somewhat non-picturesque part of town I was not sure I would really like this place. Upon arriving the property manager took us for a tour of the unit and we were blown away at how beautiful and complete this unit was!!! Her family stayed in the two bedrooms and I stayed in the living room with a pull out couch. The stay was extremely enjoyable!!! They provided a small refridgerator, coffee maker, and microwave in this room which made this very confortable and made me feel right at home. The property managers are very maticulous about giving you all the information you need when you stay. This place has everything you could every want, food, appliances, etc. We also stayed in Montreal and found ourselves missing this unit immediately as they take alot of pride in making this a great experience for their guests. I highly recommend!!! This unit is about a 10 minute walk from Parliment place, 5 minute walk to Loblaws (24hr marketplace) and make sure you hit up Rindeau's bakery!!! You will not ve dissappointed!!! Definately plan on coming back and I hope to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Great comfort, amenities, value

  • 5 of 5

First impressions are deceiving, slightly non-descript section of town, the entrance is still in reno, but then you enter a sanctuary of eclectic style, comfort and amenities.

This was a business trip for a trade-show when there were no hotel rooms available, and we made a fine choice. The bedrooms are far apart so it didn't feel like you were impinging on a co-worker's personal space, and the place was spotlessly clean. Our only regret was that we didn't have the opportunity to use the amazing kitchen for a real meal. The walk to the Liquor store, downtown is easy.

Way more fun than staying in a chain hotel, and great value. Will be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our guests consistently give us high marks for our attention to detail, our desire to offer much more than the guest was expecting, and to keep our home super clean. This particular condo has its own entrance through the private European-style terrace exclusively for the guests' use. Our guests consistently comment that they will return, and indeed, many do! They also have felt comfortable referring their friends and colleagues to stay at one of our unique and clean condos.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
North Bay On Canada & St. Louis Mo USA

Sisters and nieces reunion

  • 5 of 5

Fourteen women spent three nights at this very comfortable condo. We rented three units. The listing descriptions and photos accurately reflected the location and appearance. This was my third stay. I am now familiar with four of the units. All four were clean , well maintained and very well stocked with dry goods and the necessary kitchen supplies. The owner was prompt and very helpful with the rental and preparation. This was very helpful for such a large group of people. The assistant was also very helpful and professional on our arrival and departure.

Overall, we enjoyed our three days in Ottawa and all found the lodgings beautiful. I would certainly recommend this property to friends and relatives. The location is perfect for a visit to Ottawa

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dorothy, and her family, have been a pleasure to host and we are thrilled with our guests return. It tells us that our hard work and attention to detail are noticed and appreciated. We specialize in offering accommodations for larger groups, whether for family reunions, out-of-town wedding visitors, convention attendees, gal's weekends, theatre-goers, or sports groups. We have 5 condos (total 28 persons) in our downtown heritage building, and 2 adjoining houses (total 16 persons) a 5 minute drive away. We recommend that our larger group guests book the accommodations well in advance. It is not unusual for our calendar to receive bookings 12 months early.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Ottawa International-about $40 taxi ride
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
1 block from front door
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Many golf courses in the area-public and private
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Ottawa main station
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Highway 417
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
Many restaurants starting across the street!
Nearest Beach
9 Kilometres
Britannia or Meech Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Byward Market
Nearest Point of Interest
University of Ottawa
Nearest Point of Interest
The Rideau River
Nearest Point of Interest
National Gallery of Canada
Nearest Point of Interest
Royal Canadian Mint
Nearest Point of Interest
Rideau Centre
Nearest Point of Interest
Parliament Hill
Nearest Point of Interest
Supreme Court of Canada
Nearest Point of Interest
National Archives of Canada
Nearest Point of Interest
Museum of Nature
Nearest Point of Interest
Rideau Hall
Nearest Point of Interest
Prime Minister's residence
Nearest Point of Interest
Major's Hill Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Strathcona Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Grocery stores
Nearest Point of Interest
Liquor and beer stores
Car: not necessary

Walking distance to Parliament Hill, Governor General's Residence, 24 Sussex, Byward Market, U.S. Embassy; University of Ottawa; Cordon Bleu Culinary Arts Institute, Rideau Canal, Rideau Centre; National Arts Centre; National Arts Gallery; Ministry of National Defence, French Embassy, British High Commission, Dept of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, 4 live theatres, 1 rep theatre, parks; 2 large grocery stores open 24 hours, liquor and beer stores, restaurants, bars, night life.


Rates & Availability

Lower Town Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
Dec 27 2016 - Dec 28 2016
1 night minimum stay
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 8 2017
1 night minimum stay
Winterlude weekend 1
Feb 3 2017 - Feb 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
Winterlude weekend 2
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 11 2017
2 night minimum stay
Winterlude/Family Day
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
March break 2017
Mar 3 2017 - Mar 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
Easter 2017
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 1 2017 - May 18 2017
1 night minimum stay
Victoria Day Weekend
May 19 2017 - May 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 22 2017 - May 24 2017
1 night minimum stay
Ottawa race weekend 2017
May 25 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jun 26 2017 - Aug 3 2017
1 night minimum stay
August Civic long weekend
Aug 4 2017 - Aug 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
Aug 7 2017 - Aug 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Labour Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 5 2017
1 night minimum stay
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
Oct 9 2017 - Nov 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
Dec 11 2017 - Dec 21 2017
1 night minimum stay
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
Dec 27 2017 - Dec 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
New Years
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
Jan 2 2018 - Jan 7 2018
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $29
Refundable damage deposit $150


Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lower Town Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Two sinks vanity.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Heated porcelain floors, glass-enclosed shower.
  • 2 full bathrooms at either end of the condo so perfect for privacy between the two bedrooms. Completely updated and renovated, both bathrooms are super-clean, well-detailed, and fully stocked.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • 2 Queen size Bedrooms) with privacy between the two bedrooms. The living room, which has French doors and privacy drapery, offers a queen size sofa bed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties