Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Pool Table, Hot Tub, Ping Pong, Pet Friendly, Fantastic Location

Sleeps17
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
17
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

About the property

Our Place Has Master Suites And Can Fit Up To 16 People.

We love coming up with our family and friends and think you will too. The floor plan is great for multiple families or groups with 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and several living spaces. The upstairs has three bedrooms and two bathrooms. One is a master suite. The downstairs is the same and one of the bedrooms is a bunk room with 4 beds. If you need an extra bed, you'll find a pull out couch in the downstairs. There is a hot tub on a large screened porch and a pool table and ping pong table downstairs. The house sits on 3 acres so there is lots of privacy and space for exploring. We have seating inside for 16 as well as dining for 8 more on the deck and porch. In the winter months, we would strongly recommend a 4-wheel drive vehicle for the secondary roads and for our driveway.


Owner
Hunter Buxton
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2017

About Hunter Buxton

We having been renting places in the Mountains of North Carolina for a decade and last year decided it was time to buy a place of our own. We have three kids and absolutely love the beauty and activity of this area. We can provide you with all sorts of recommendations of secret swimming holes, great near-by hikes and restaurants we love.

Hunter Buxton purchased this house in 2012

Why Hunter Buxton chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

We chose this house because it was big enough to hold lots of friends and family and we could not ask for a better location. The pavement ends right by our drive and if you go to the left it is natural and beautiful for lovely walks with the dog and a very short and gorgeous drive to the parkway, fishing , hiking , etc. But if you go right out of the drive, you are 5-10 minutes from either Boone or Blowing Rock and all the amenities of those areas. We have a view from the screened porch and are surrounded by trees.

What makes this house unique

We have lots of games to play. There is a Wii downstairs with board games and a big-screen TV. There is also a DVD upstairs as well. We have a pool table and have converted the garage to a ping pong room.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Pool Table, Hot Tub, Ping Pong, Pet Friendly, Fantastic Location
average rating of 4.730769 based on 26 reviews
5

Ski Trip Success

  • 5 of 5

We had 6 couples for a weekend of skiing. House was great, plenty of room for all of us. Second time staying at the house, just as much time as the first.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi- Thanks for taking the time to write- that was nice of you. Glad everyone had a good time. Always great when folks come back to the house!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful and private. Plenty of space for everyone to relax and enjoy.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Cabin for a Large Group!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this cabin January 13-16, 2017 and were very pleased! There was 13 adults (18+), a 14-year-old, and a 7-year old and there was PLENTY of room. Each floor has a Master Suite and two additional bedrooms, which worked out perfectly for our crew. The common area (Family/Dining Room) offered dining seats for 16, which was perfect for our size group. The kitchen was adequately furnished (we cooked all three nights), and though the kitchen isn't huge, we comfortably had 3-4 people in it at a time helping to prepare meals with no issues. The house was clean upon our arrival and the owner was very responsive throughout the process, and quick to answer any questions we had. The home has a binder in it with all kinds of information on things to do, places to go, etc. and that came in handy for us. Since it was 55 degrees and not great skiing weather, we were able to use the book as a resource to find things to do. We shopped on King Street in Boone on Saturday and went Gem Mining and Trout Fishing on Sunday. The Grandfather Mountain Stocked Trout Pond is a must do for children! The only negative to this house is the driveway is very steep and I wouldn't recommend a non-4X4 vehicle. Other than that, this house met all of our expectations!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK YOU, THANK YOU for that nice review. I needed that :-) Glad you had a good time although I wish the weather had cooperated. One Thanksgiving we went up and we had a foot of snow and the next Thanksgiving we were almost in short sleeves...you never seem to know these days. It is good that the area has lots of diversions! I really appreciate your taking the time to write.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house. Plenty of room. Clean and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad you had a good time. I appreciate your taking the time to write.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
charlotte nc
1

Review of Property ID 3581064

  • 1 of 5

This property was large enough for our group, with adequate sleeping arrangements, and the location was ideal. It was comfortably furnished; however, the overall cleanliness of the house was not up to my family's standards. For instance, the counters in the kitchen had not been wiped, the freezer was coated in frost, the towels were mildewed, two of the comforters had blood stains on them, and the house was extremely dusty. I also found a set of dirty sheets bunched up on one of the bunk beds! We notified the owner, and she seemed to be greatful to know that her cleaning crew was doing a very bad job. I would also like to note that two of the toilets backed up while we were there - one on the first day, and a second one on the last day. The owner was notified of this on our first day, but a plumber never came. Even though the location was beautiful and the owner was extremely nice, I will not stay at this property again.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was disappointed that they did not find the house up to their standards. The woman that cleans the house takes pride in her work and almost without exception folks are very pleased with the cleanliness of the cabin. I will pass on the review to her. In terms of the backed up toilet, that isn't really a plumbing issue. Mountain homes are predominantly on septic systems and therefore cannot withstand large amounts of items to flush. I don't ever get calls about this but I was just assuming they would use a plunger (rather than a plumber coming out to use the plunger) and be careful to flush after every use!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Gilbert 1982

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our time spent in this home- the living area is really open so it allows for gathering around the fireplace. the eating area was nice having enough room between the tables for everyone to have a seat to eat. However, the bedrooms (except for the Masters) are relatively small. The bunk bed room is really not big enough for adult sleeping. We used the air mattress in the game room downstairs to adjust for space. The kitchen area is pretty small only big enough for two or three people at a time to navigate which when with a large group can get to be a problem. Over all the place was clean and tidy but several of the towels provided were in bad need of replacing. My review sounds bad but all in all it was a very nice place to rent for a fairly large group. When we checked out on Sunday it began to snow pretty heavily so if you are going during the winter months you should have four wheel drive as the road up to parking is steep.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh no- I've never had less than a five star review! Well, I can see about replacing some towels but I'm afraid there is nothing I can do about the size of the rooms. I'm glad your family had an enjoyable time and hope you had a chance to see some of the natural beauty of the area. Have a wonderful 2017.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: not necessary

We are located under 10 minutes from downtown Blowing Rock and downtown Boone. You can take a 5 minute walk from the house and arrive at the top of the Appalachian Ski Mountain. We are close to zip lining, fishing, hiking, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and more. I have a book I can send you with all the local attractions and how to get there from the house! We would love to share our favorite hikes, swimming holes, fishing spots, and restaurant picks with you. At the house, you can have fun playing pool, ping pong, lounging in the hot tub or relaxing on the deck or screened in porch. There is lots of space to spread out.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Blowing Rock House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Ski Season
Jan 6 2017 - Mar 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
From
$425
Thu,Fri,Sat
$2,575
 
 
Peak Summer/Fall
May 1 - Oct 30
2 night minimum stay
$375
From
$400
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,500
 
 
Christmas and New Years
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,750
$3,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Blowing Rock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 13 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • There are four bathrooms in the house - two upstairs and two downstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 4 twin/ single , bunk beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
  • The main floor master we refer to as the Bird's Nest because you feel like you are sleeping in the trees. It has a king size bed and its' own bathroom. The second bedroom on the main floor is a queen bed with a bathroom right beside it. The third bedroom on the main floor is a high double bed with a single trundle underneath that rolls out. Downstairs you have a master suite with a king bed, a bedroom with a queen bed and a bunk room that sleeps four. We also have a pull-out couch in the rec room downstairs but it's uncomfortable so we have purchased an inflatable bed that sits on a platform.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties