check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Family Lake Fun or Lake Austin Spa Retreat

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Steiner Ranch Neighborhood Association House Rental Photos and Description

2 BR, 1 Bath, with sleeping loft - sleeps 6. Fab screened sleeping porch too.

Top rated Lake Austin spa is minutes away, rent paddle boards at the park down the road, or paddle our kayaks to the nature preserve across the lake and hike up to a waterfall. Our sand volleyball court is regulation size, we have a water trampoline, and diving board. But the serenity of this property may lead you to R&R and forgo all that activity - the screened in porch with antique iron day beds and desk beckons as a writer's retreat. Custom built with cedar flooring and rugged beams. Feels like middle of nowhere but great restaurants (sushi, Mexican, Steiner Ranch Steakhouse) are in the neighborhood, famous sunsets at the Oasis on Lake Travis 7 miles away, and 30 minutes from downtown Austin.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Shelly Priebe
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2016
Call Owner

About Shelly Priebe

I grew up in a dreadfully nondescript area of Illinois (cornfields) but my parents wanted more than anything to live on the water and even though they earned a modest income as teachers they succeeded! In third grade we moved into a lakefront home in Central Illinois and it was THE gathering place for my friends as I grew up. They gave me the gift of prioritizing this water based lifestyle. Chuck and I bought this property when we got engaged in 1988 and our 4 children college to age 7 relish the lifestyle I did as a child.

Shelly Priebe purchased this house in 1988

Why Shelly Priebe chose Austin

We fell in love with this ethereal part of Lake Austin and bought our home in 1988. It was 2 BR/1Bath with gold shag carpet and we were in heaven because it but we could not bear to leave. Have added on to our home many times and we built the guest house in 2004 hoping to lure in out of state grandparents. We failed at that but have loved being able to freely host many travelers, church youth retreat weekends, you name it!

What makes this house unique

Every piece of furniture hand picked over time from visits to the semi-annual Round Top antique fair except for the custom made cedar dining table with benches. Nothing matches but everything soothes in this eclectic and comfortable home. Want some activity? A sand volleyball court awaits. Or kayak across the lake and hike up to a waterfall.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Family Lake Fun or Lake Austin Spa Retreat
average rating of 4.756757 based on 37 reviews
5

Awesome property and Shelly excuses warmth in making our stay phenomenal!!

  • 5 of 5

Nestled in wooded area backing onto Lake Austin this property is a true gem !! Felt like a home away from home :) Shelly welcomed us with a platter of fresh home-baked cookies !!The downside being that the property doesn't have a fenced-in yard and was a bit of a negative as we were traveling with our fur-babies . Being on the second level also was a bit of an adventure as the approach to the property is dimly lit . On a walk we had a close-call with the neighbors dog, and fortunately when the owner called him he went away. But, left our lil pup paranoid so we had to drive a lil to have him go for a walk. The best part being that when I informed Shelly she was right on it, informed her neighbors and even told us the time the dog would be put away . She went beyond and even offered to come with us while we walked our dogs :) Ofcourse, we didn't bother this sweet lady with that . This is a well appointed rustic property and extremely clean . We would totally recommend this place :)

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed your family's Thanksgiving visit, and you will have to come back so that your daughter can try out the water trampoline next time. This trip you were just too busy with all your festivities withe Steiner area friends. :) Sorry your sweet fur baby had a scare. Our neighbor who lives up the street does have a German shepherd that can be foreboding; I forget about the impression he can make because I know him to be a big pussy cat. And dear future guests - don't count on the home baked cookies. I WISH I was always that gracious, but that was good luck and good timing for these lovely visitors. Ha! Shelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming and cozy

  • 5 of 5

Charming and cozy spot enough off the beaten path but yet close to all of the big city amenities. Shelly was very welcoming and friendly.

My son and I spent the night in the screened in porch. It felt like we were at camp!

Brought our dog and he had a ball as well.

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to having Rocky back to sleep on our porch and romp with our Siberian Husky....and the humans in your family may come back, too! Loved having you. Shelly & Chuck
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Florida
4

Great spot for relaxing!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time (3 adults) and found the location to be perfect if you primarily want to relax and eat in. (It's not far into Austin, but we wouldn't have wanted to do it every day.) Shelly was very warm and welcoming. We walked down to Lake Austin Spa one day and enjoyed that. Also did some kayaking and hiking - fantastic. And enjoyed the dock. Bring bug spray!!! The mosquitoes are horrible. (Just a product of being in Texas and near the water.) FYI we took a cab into downtown Austin - it cost $50 at a time with normal (light) traffic. You can get a luxury shuttle car for $75. Uber-like alternatives out that far out weren't available. Our only complaints (and why no 5 stars): 1) While clean generally, it looked the tub needed a deeper clean (looked like it had been rinsed, but not scrubbed as there were some (mild) soap scum rings) and the floor definitely wasn't cleaned (we did some sweeping to get some of the dirt/dust bunnies but mostly just didn't go barefoot). Not a huge deal, but could have been better. 2) possibly related, there was a musty smell that smelled a lot like pet urine. We only noticed it when we first entered from being outside or woke up in the morning, but still not a pleasant smell to have at all. Not sure if it needs to be aired out more, or if there needs to be some deep cleaning. Finally, no ice (the ice maker didn't work - not a big deal; we never mentioned it since we weren't there that long).

Overall, we would definitely recommend it, but check for cleanliness (if that's a big deal to you) when you arrive and have it addressed by Shelly it if matters (we didn't mention it because we didn't care that much and we were there for just a short time).

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved having you and that you made full use of the fabulous Lake Austin Spa and Resort nearby. It is heavenly. Absolutely agree that this is not a place for those without a car. Even though once most people get here they don't want to venture far, it is still nice to be able to get to the well known Oasis on Lake Travis nearby, or the famous Steiner Ranch Steakhouse in the neighborhood. There is no readily available transportation to downtown. (The State Capitol downtown maps at 12 miles and 36 minutes away during NON rush hour) We always want our guests to find our guest house retreat heavenly also and are bummed that instead of the usual "oo ah" there was some "oo ugh." Our cleaner of 2+ years always gets wonderful reviews so something must have been "off" with her. She so dependably shines I no longer always do the white glove tests so I'll give her feedback and go back to my quality checks of yore. I'll also refund 50% of your cleaning fee. Our guests should always feel the place is pristine. Ice maker - oops - repair call in! Thanks for helpful notes. Shelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A truly relaxing weekend on Lake Austin

  • 5 of 5

We had a Project Managers getaway weekend on Lake Austin. Working with Shelly was an ease from the beginning of booking to the check out process. The house is perfect for the amount of guests we had and also were able to utilize a docking system for a boat that was used for our weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Chris - Your group from CleanScapes group was easy to host. And you proved that the water trampoline is not just for kids! Shelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Weekend on the Lake

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 6 adults (plus 1 pug) for a Friday - Sunday stay. The property was exactly as described and then some. I honestly expected it to be a little bit smaller from the pictures, but we found we had plenty of room. Beds were clean and comfortable. Shelly was extremely accommodating and allowed us to use the hot tub at the main house. It rained for most of the weekend but that didn't keep us from piling in and making the most of it. Even though we were "sharing" the property, we never really saw Shelly or Chuck since the main house is separated from the guest house and has it's own entrance. The grill was excellent and the kitchen was stocked with enough plates and utensils for all of us. Other reviews mentioned the damaged dock. It is bent on the walkway so you need to be careful and we had a couple of slips. Nothing major, but I could see it being an issue for people with young children or a more elderly crowd. However, the end of the dock is completely stable, secure and level, and we spent hours hanging out by the water using the kayaks and trampoline. Shelly gave us directions to the waterfall, which is well worth a paddle across to the other bank and a little hike. We also rented a waverunner from ATX watersports. I wanted to mention them because, they were very fair and accommodating. Some others had mentioned "Captain Kyle" but he never answered his phone, nor did he have a working voicemail. ATX delivered and picked up right at the dock and discounted our rate by 50% because of the rain. Highly recommended. I would definitely stay here again. Many thanks to Shelly and Chuck for their hospitality.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great family memories

  • 4 of 5

The entire stay was great. Everyone was very welcoming. The house was perfect escape. Definitely recommend .

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you made your own sunshine despite the ran. Come back again. Shelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Austin
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Steiner Ranch Steakhouse
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
UT Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Lakeside Grill
Car: necessary

Top rated Lake Austin spa is minutes away, rent paddle boards at the park down the road, or paddle our kayak to the nature preserve across the lake and hike up to a waterfall. Our sand volleyball court is regulation size. But the serenity of this property may lead you to R&R and forgo all that activity - the screened in porch with antique iron day beds and desk beckons as a writer's retreat. Custom built with cedar flooring and rugged beams. Feels like middle of nowhere but great restaurants (sushi, Mexican, Steiner Ranch Steakhouse) are in the neighborhood, famous sunsets at the Oasis on Lake Travis 7 miles away, and 30 minutes from downtown Austin.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Steiner Ranch Neighborhood Association House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holiday
Dec 19 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$265
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day 2017
May 25 2017 - May 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
July 4th 2017
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$215
From
$245
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,515
$3,995
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Steiner Ranch Neighborhood Association House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
  • Deep Jacuzzi tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Open onto Screened in porch, lake view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , This 'red room' is the romantic suite.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Loft is carpeted and the kids love it. Ship ladder access
  • Queen bed, walk in closet
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties