check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Book Now for Spring & Summer! 2016 Rates! Family-Friendly Beach Just Steps Away!

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Enjoy this home in a unique 'houses only' area of Fort Morgan beach. No condominiums or busy commercial congestion. Relax on one of Two open Decks with views of the Gulf of Mexico and Mobile Bay. Spend the day just steps away on the uncrowded white, sandy Beach. Watch for porpoises, find shells, and swim in the clear blue waters of the gulf. At night find your favorite constellation. It's just a short drive to great Golf courses, or shopping and dining in Gulf Shores. See 'The Little Zoo That Could' on a cool morning. Visit Historic Fort Morgan, or ride the auto ferry to Dauphin Island for a tour of the SeaLab. Take an easy hike at beautiful Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge; find secluded "Shell Beach" at the end of Pine Beach Trail, perfect for a Picnic! Dine minutes away at 'Tacky Jack's' or drive just 30 minutes to 'LuLu's', owned by Jimmy Buffett's sister. Golf nearby at Kiva Dunes.

Our home sleeps 10 people very comfortably. New King-sized beds in 2 bedrooms, a bunk room for the kids with 2 sets of bunk beds and a queen-sized sofa bed in the living room. All furnishings are newer & comfortable. King Beds have new 400 count sheets. A complete kitchen will make meal preparation a breeze. Dine inside, or outside on one of our 2 spacious Decks. Two large sofas, a loveseat, comfy chairs and game table with chairs rounds out the huge living room. Three full baths and a separate laundry room provide you with all the comforts of home. Keep in touch with work & family on free wifi internet and unlimited long distance. Watch Netflix on a rainy day.

The uncrowded beach is only a 200 foot stroll away; where the street ends the sand begins.

You will be renting directly from the owners. No large property management firm with hidden fees. We built this house and do all the maintenance. We have been renting with vrbo for 10 years and have many returning guests. Join us! We know you will love this place as much as we do!

For larger gatherings, rent both of our beach houses. 'On Dune Pond' is just one street & a short walk away. See vrbo Listing #115234.

Keywords: private house, beach house

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

We grew up near the beach and always dreamed of owning a house on the beach. We were thrilled when we found Fort Morgan, only 2 hours away from home (at the time). We purchased three lots and built our beach house 'On Dune Pond' the first year. We built 'Conch'ed Out' next and have been renting it out ever since. We have snowbirds that use it all winter and we enjoy repeat visits from many of our summer guests. Our daughter was nine years old when we first starting coming here, and she has grown to love it and share it with others through her photographs. We know your vacation here will be one you will always cherish! Chris & Sue Willoughby

The Owner purchased this house in 2003

Why The Owner chose Alabama Gulf Coast

Fort Morgan is the ideal vacation spot; close to many major cities but it feels very far away.

The beach is never crowded - we spent our first summer on the sand waiting for the crowds to show up...they never did! Shelling, swimming, walking, reading, napping - it's all right here.

What makes this house unique

Fort Morgan is rich in history, nature and man-made attractions. The fort was made famous during the Civil War battle for Mobile Bay. Union Admiral Farragut sent his ships past the fort and into a torpedo field. His famous cry of 'damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead' saved the Union ships and launched an attack on Fort Morgan. Confederate Admiral Buchanan surrendered the fort after a three week battle. We are surrounded by beautiful Gulf Islands National Seashore, and one of our favorite hikes is Pine Beach Trail. It's an easy, flat hike and at the end you are rewarded with a gorgeous stretch of beach covered with shells - don't miss it. (You'll find out why we call it "Shell Beach"!) The young and young at heart will love a morning trip to the zoo in Gulf Shores, made famous by Animal Planet's show 'The Little Zoo That Could'. It is a short 20 mile drive from our house. Fishing is easy - at the shore or 1/4 mile away to catch a charter boat for a day in the Bay or the gulf.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Book Now for Spring & Summer! 2016 Rates! Family-Friendly Beach Just Steps Away!
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews

Vacation in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We loved everything about this property - great location - comfortable - was set up with everything we needed - beautiful beach - Stores were close if you run out of food or liquor - the week we stayed was perfect weather - "Ft. Morgan - was interesting history and enjoyed touring the Fort.

There are things to do in towns close, although we were happy at the beach and on property!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful home and location!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the location of the home. It was a very short walk to the beach on a dead end street with no traffic. We had five adults and two children for a week. It was great for each set of families to have their own bedroom and bathroom. House was in great shape and had everything we needed for cooking, staying in, going to the beach, etc. Very quiet area which we enjoy. We were able to leave our stuff up on the beach all week long without any issues. Great to have a full size washer and dryer as well. If we go back to Gulf Shores next year this is where we will be. Owners were great and easy to contact via email.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house with ideal location to the beach.

  • 5 of 5

The house was great. This part of the island was a little more quiet than the heavy traffic of Gulf Shores. The beach was just a short walk away. House had everything you needed for a great vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Owner deducted money from our deposit for an invalid reason!

  • 1 of 5

We have been renting beach houses for many years and have never had money deducted from our deposit. The night before we departed, we followed the checklist, vacuumed, dust mopped etc. the only thing we forgot to do was remove the last few items of food (lettuce, cucumber and potato salad) from the fridge and throw them away (we realized this 20 minutes after we left). The owner took over a third of our deposit and accused us of bringing too much sand into the house (we all showered outside each time we came back from the beach) but there is always going to be some sand when you're going to the beach each day. My husband felt that it was suspicious that the money taken out of our deposit was equal to that of the cleaning fee. We booked for 2 weeks and the cleaner didn't get to clean on the Saturday in the middle of those two weeks so the owner had to pay her for that particular Saturday. The owner tried to justify the deduction by saying there much sand etc etc Apart from that, the house was comfortable and beautifully decorated. The vegetable peelers and knives in the kitchen are all completely blunt and need to be sharpened. During our vacation, my husband and I had discussed returning every year (he gets 6 weeks vacation a year) but since the owner did not return our full deposit, we won't be returning to this house. The owner wrote an unprofessional email to us regarding the items left in the fridge and the sand.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is untrue that we deducted money for an invalid reason. We are very clear in our instructions how we expect the house to be left at the time of check out. If the house is left "excessively untidy" we will charge an additional cleaning fee, deducted from the deposit. These guests were notified that the house was left with excessive sand everywhere, food & dishes left in the refrigerator, and soiled linens that we were not sure we could clean. We let them know through email that we would be charging an additional cleaning fee; their reply at the time was "OK, that is fair". The gal that cleans for us has been doing so for over 6 years, and we trust her judgment. Our guests leave the cleaning fee for her at check out, so this reviewer is mistaken about us holding their deposit to pay the maid for a day she did not clean. They were charged for leaving her a mess, simple as that. 99% of our guests are never charged for additional cleaning. Again, our instructions are clear and we did communicate very clearly with these guests about the state they left the house. If the cleaning takes twice as long as it should, they will be charged for that. We also advise all our guests to call or email if something is not working at the house or if they need anything. It is unfair to us to now hear about dull knives weeks after they have left. We could have corrected that if we had been given the chance. We believe that 99.9% of our guests have a wonderful stay at "Conch'ed Out"!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

AMAZING stay at Conch'ed out!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I were fortunate enough to book this for 4th of July week and were pleasantly surprised. Sue was helpful and accommodating from the beginning and the house was more than we could have imagined. My twins loved the bunk room and the game closet. My husband and I were thrilled with the amount of space and the well equipped kitchen. The beach was quiet and incredibly close- we were able to leave out our chairs and umbrellas with no issue. We will definitely be back! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
North LIberty, IA

Perfect Place For Families Wanting a Relaxing Beach Experience

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a week here recently with our three boys (8,6, and 3). The house was perfect for our family. The boys enjoyed staying in the room with the bunk beds and enjoyed having their own TV they could watch. My wife and I were happy with the master bedroom and bathroom. The house is perfect for a beach vacation with an outdoor shower as well as a shower off the laundry room near the entrance where we could hose down the kids again once we were inside. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need, including a steamer pot for fresh seafood if you want to catch your own crabs. Big comfy couches, cool air conditioning. They place has Direct TV with some premium channels which was great. Only beef was that it would have been nice to have it in High Def, but really a minor thing. Kids loved the board games in the closet.

Beach experience was amazing. It is not crowded at all and we were able to leave all our chairs and umbrella on the beach all day and evening. Lots of fun for the kids on the beach. We went into Gulf Shores to do go karts (and for a visit to Quick Care for ear infection!) and found the trip quick and easy. We really enjoyed eating at Sassy Bass Restaurant that is close to the place and my wife loved her nacho pile we brought home from Tacky Jacks. Ordered pizza from Fort Morgan Pizza...way overpriced for small pizza, but close and fast.

Overall the experience at this house was awesome. Had never done VRBO before but this was painless and great. Good communication, quick and prompt service, and an amazing place. Would certainly return to this property!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad to hear that your family had such a great time! It sounds like you hit all the high points on your stay to the area. As anyone who stays in the area, or owns rental property knows, it is sometimes difficult to stay current with all the new technology. We hope to add High-def cable to our homes soon (we were last on the block to have flat-screen!) We are glad that lack-of did not limit your fun....thanks for the feedback, and again we thank you for choosing "Conch'ed Out" for your family beach vacation. Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Tacky Jack's
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Mobile Bay Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kiva Dunes
Nearest Motorway
22 Miles
Hwy 59 and Hwy 180
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Tacky Jack's
Car: necessary

Fort Morgan sits on a spit of land at the mouth of Mobile Bay. From our house you have great views of both the Gulf of Mexico to the south and Mobile Bay to the north. You can also see the Mobile shipping channel - interesting to those who enjoy something a little unique. There is lots of history available if you visit the two Civil War-era forts that guard the mouth of Mobile Bay. A ferry trip across the bay takes you to Dauphin Island and Fort Gaines as well as the SeaLab - a fun trip with or without your car. Nearby enjoy an easy hike at Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge. Great shelling on an uncrowded beach. The public beach is just steps away from our house - less than a 200 foot walk! Where the street ends the sand begins. So much to do!


Rates & Availability

Gulf Shores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Late Fall/Early Winter
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 30 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Memorial Day Week
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Early Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
July 4th Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Jul 8 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Labor Day Week
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $120
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Gulf Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Master bath en suite with shower; tub/shower combo in connecting bath with king room & bunk room; full bath with shower adjacent to laundry room.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2) Newer, firm Beds., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen-sized sofa bed; linens available for bed in the closet. Sofa Bed located in the Living Room., Bunk Beds (2) 2 sets of Bunk Beds will sleep 4 children....all in their own room!
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Comfortable sofas & beds. 400 ct sheets on King beds. Most furniture is new or newer. Outdoor Shower for convenience.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties