check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Relax, Restore & Revive Yourselves On The Great North Mountain

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 10 (3 Queen Sized Beds And 2 Sleeper Sofas)

This 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath spacious home sits on the northern tip of Virginia's Great North Mountain, just off VA Hwy 50 West (15 minutes from I-81 and 4 miles from the West Virginia border).

This 80-acre private paradise will awe you with spectacular views from this inviting cedar home featuring a huge wrap-around Trex deck and lower patio with ample furniture for your use.

It has an eat-in kitchen with deck access and a living room with an incredible view of West Virginia's Appalachian Mountains!

There are 2 HDTVs with Direct TV and even on your getaway. We NO LONGER offer high-speed internet. There is however EXCELLENT cellular coverage for your electronic devices have cellular data.

The basement recreation room features a conversation pit and stone fireplace plus wet bar, opening onto large patio and in-ground pool. You will have peace and quiet. Excellent wildlife and hiking abound on this all wooded retreat. You will never want to leave!!

We offer discounts for Clergy, US Active Duty Military and US Military Retirees. Please mention this when you inquire.

More Details

Property Manager
Jamie & Paul
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 27, 2016


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Relax, Restore & Revive Yourselves On The Great North Mountain
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
Westerville, OH

Relaxing Mountain Escape!

  • 5 of 5

Property exceeded our expectations. It was beautifully appointed and served our group of 10 very well. The owners were extremely responsive and clear in communication as well as kind enough to meet us at the property and walk us through everything that we needed to know. Our favorite part was sitting around on the deck checking out the view while talking together. Second favorite aspect was the heated pool. Would highly recommend this property to anybody reviewing it, not a single complaint. We will be looking to rent this property again.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed sharing our home with your family and look forward to your stay in the future! Excellent guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect summer getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time at Paul and Jamie's gorgeous mountaintop retreat. Spacious enough for ten people, we had a lovely Independence Day holiday. The grill and updated kitchen are perfect for feeding a crowd and the large wraparound deck (with lounge furniture and ample umbrellas) were ideal for dining al fresco or just hanging out. The pool was incredibly clean and warm as well, we loved swimming all day. Would definitely love to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5

We definitely recommend this rental! Paul and Jamie were gracious and generous hosts that went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The house easily accommodated our group of 9 and we had a great time in the pool. The kitchen had everything a cook needs and eating dinner on the deck enjoying the amazing views was very enjoyable. If you're looking for a quiet mountain retreat, this is the place - we'll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! You all are terrific guests and we really enjoyed sharing our home and the beautiful Mountain View with you. We look forward to your return visit. With kind regards, Paul and Jamie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsburgh, Pa.

Restful mountain

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed 5 days on this beautiful piece of God's country. The views are spectacular and if it's a restful vacation you are looking for, then this is where you want to be. The owners are so gracious to allow "strangers" to enjoy their awesome retreat. The pool and entire house sparkled and the town of Winchester must be revisited. Our family consisted of 6 adults, l child and one dog who think she's a child. We recommend this stay to everyone!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful guest! We were happy to share our home with you! Please consider us in your future vacation plans! Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect stay

  • 5 of 5

2 adults and 3 kids (aged 8-14), stayed 6 nights. Easy, precise and friendly communication with owners. "Cabin" (an understatement in my terms) provides ample space for one or two families. Interior and exterior spotless and well-maintained. Amenities are all as described or better. At no time were we in need of anything that could not be found in the house. The very large deck is perfect for eating breakfast or dinner or enjoying the sunset. We chose the cabin mainly because of the pool (and the expected hot and humid weather) and the kids spent every spare minute in or around it, playing with all the "equipment". We also considered renting something on the Shenandoah River, but I'm glad we did not. Most cabins are not directly on the river, and the heat, added humidity and mosquitoes would have been a problem. At the "Great Northern" there were no mosquitoes at all, perhaps due to the 3 "zappers" and the elevation. The property is within easy driving distance of any number of small towns. We went canooing on the Shenandoah River (hot), visited the Luray Caverns and the girls went outletshopping at Leesburg and Hagerstown (1 hour drive). Civil War sites are abundant - I got as far as Gettysburg (1hour 45 min.) - and this was when the pool played its major role! Would recommend and rent again.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved having you stay with us! We could not have asked for better guests to share our home with. Best regards!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing place to stay'

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this beautiful mountain retreat with our family. It was pure magic! The home is cozy but also very large. Even though we had our children with us the large floor plan gave us lots of space and opportunity for "alone time" as a couple.

The kids loved it too! There's no shortage of exploring! Miles and miles of hiking trails, room to run and play outdoors. There's even a pool!

We had a great time and felt totally renewed after our weekend stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you had a great time and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Hayfield Family Restaurant
Luray Caverns
Sweet Frog Frozen Yogurt
Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Washington Dulles International (IAD)
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Gore House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Professional Cleaning $190 + Tax
Pet Fee $45 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

You may cancel reservation up to 30 days prior to arrival for refund (except card fees).

Please email owners for events where more than 10 guests are present (weddings, family reunions, parties, etc). Special rates apply.

Check-in 3pm
Check-out 12 pm

Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice. Reservations are confirmed after guests accept the quote and make partial payment.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Gore House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2974 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Basement bathroom - toilet
    Main-level bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Adjoins to bedroom 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 queen , Master loft with spectacular view of the mountains!
    Additional Main-level Accommodations - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Main-level sleeper in sofa common area - Sleeps 2
    Additional Basement Accommodations - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Tan Leather Sleeper sofa - sleeps 2
    Vibrant and Refreshing - Grey/Yellow Room - 1 queen , Features HDTV with Direct TV and access to the deck.
    Calm and Comfortable - Brown Room - 1 queen , 1 child bed , Child bed converts to baby crib (w/ dresser/changing table)
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
Things to do - Things for families – Hiking – Wineries & Wine Events –

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties