check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Joseph A Villalona

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

La Iguana del Molino-Puerto Vallarta-Molino de Agua-Oceanfront-Romantic Zone

23 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Downtown (Viejo Vallarta) Condo Rental Photos and Description

3 BDR, 3 Bathroom. Sleep 6. No car needed. Walking distance to everything.

La Iguana del Molino is a luxurious beachfront condominium located in the Residencial Molino de Agua in the heart of the Romantic Zone.

Walking distance to world-class restaurants, art galleries, shopping, beaches, the Blue Chairs and water sports. Step out to the boardwalk and enjoy Vallarta Malecon with its Seahorse and famous Sergio Bustamante's sculptures and exciting nightlife... no taxi is needed.

If you are a nature enthusiast or simply seek tranquility, this is the place for you. From the main terraces watch iguanas foraging in the canopy of an enormous rubber tree or watch pelicans and albatrosses flying over the water of Bandera Bay by Los Muertos Beach.

Have friends over for cocktails and enjoy the breath taking unobtrusive view of the Puerto Vallarta's sunsets. The lights of the city glow as the sun sets and you prepare to watch the nightly fireworks from the terraces. You just landed in Paradise.

Welcome to La Iguana Del Molino: Now is the time to take part in an exotic, exclusive vacation experience at one of the most prestigious vacation rentals at the Residencial Molino de Agua right in the heat of the Romantic Zone of Puerto Vallarta.

Specific tailored concierge services at an additional cost are available upon request, e.g., airport pick-up/drop-off, private cook, etc. Please inquire when booking.

Suitability: No spring break students, no smoking, no pets

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Joseph A Villalona (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Joseph A Villalona

Born in the Dominican Republic, naturalized US Citizen. Pediatrician-Neonatologist by trade who decided to retire 2 yrs ago. Lived most of my life in the USA and contemplated the idea of retiring in some place warm away from the Chicago cold and Puerto Vallarta is it. Not able to retire there just yet given thus caring for my 93 y/o mother in Chicago. Have been coming to PV since the late 80's and always was contemplating buying my retirement home there. Made the final decision in October 2010 and I don't regret it at all.

Joseph A Villalona purchased this condo in 2010

Why Joseph A Villalona chose Puerto Vallarta

It is centrally located. It is walking distance to practically all the restaurants; shopping; beach; local markets etc. No car is needed. Given that I was not ready to live there full time, it needed to be a property that would appeal to potential vacationers as all the units in the Molino de Agua complex are.

What makes this condo unique

No extra charge for WiFi, safety deposit box, A/C, early or late check-in or out, pool chairs, beach towels, cable TV, laundry or maid service.

Reviews

5
based on 23 traveler reviews

La Iguana del Molino-Puerto Vallarta-Molino de Agua-Oceanfront-Romantic Zone
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
Chicago, IL USA
5

Tremendous Stay

  • 5 of 5

My parents, husband, and I had the pleasure of staying at La Iguana Del Molino for six nights, and we were thrilled with the condo. The interior decorations are so chic - the unit looks like it's right out of a magazine. The kitchen was fully loaded with everything we needed for our stay. From lovely Crate and Barrel bowls and serving dishes to every alcoholic glass we needed, the kitchen was fully stocked. We also appreciated the fact that we could drink directly from the refrigerator water dispenser.

The unit contains three bedrooms, two en-suite bathrooms, and another bathroom near the kitchen. The beds were firm and lovely, and the bedding was fantastic. The showers were spacious along with the closets and drawer-space.

And the patio.... oh how I will dream of that patio. Having a glass of wine (or two) while watching dolphins swim in the ocean is my idea of heaven. I sprained both of my ankles during this trip on a jungle hike, and I didn't even mind given the fact that I could sit on the patio couch and watch the waves every day.

The staff at Molino de Agua are incredible, and it was a true pleasure working with Joseph while booking this stay. We have stayed in Molino de Agua before, and the service, grounds, and safety are second to none. Per Joseph's suggestion, Chef Ernesto cooked dinner for us one night, and it was one of our favorite meals of the trip. We would not hesitate to return to La Iguana Del Molino again!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hola Bri, Thank you so much for your stellar review and compliments. I'm so glad that you had a great time at my place and in PV. So sorry that you had a sprain ankle. Hopefully you are doing much better by now. Looking forward to have you again in the near future. Cheers and thanks for your patronage. Joseph
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing Beautiful Breathtaking...............

  • 5 of 5

WEll where to start? walked into the residence and was blown away! we'd asked for appy's and drinks to be ready on our late night arrival and to be honest it was some of the best food we had during our entire 10 day stay(thank you Fernando and Bernie) the sunsets blew us all aways! Joseph's attention to detail is above and beyond what we'd expected with zero glitches during our stay,have to say the beds are some of the most comfy we'd slept in while vacationing,everything is at your door step once you walk outside the Molino right is the Malecon where you can walk and shop for miles(our fav breakfast stop was Vitea Oceanfront Bistro) go left and you have all the resturaunts you'll need,our fav street was Basilio Badillo where we had Joe Jacks fish shack, quaint ice cream & chocloate store side by side,best tacos ever Takos Panchos is a must! ,we purchased our liquor from "Vinos América"@Basilio Badillo 284 mention your staying at the Molino and get 10% off your purchases(thanks Moses at security) my wifes 40th Birthday dinner was held at Cafe Atista which is now our favorite place in all of PV Mexico,you've gotta try the cucumber martini's ; ) anyways think I'm getting off track haha.. thanks for a real taste of Mexico Joseph and for your great hospitality during our stay, my wife surprised herself by telling me she'd fallin in love with Old Town Puerto Vallarta so it looks like we'll be coming back for a 14 day stay instead of 10........cheers to everyone we hope you have the same great experiences we did, Christina and Steve.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hola Steve, Thanks so much for your exuberant review. You made it so easy to please you and be able to meet your expectations. It is a joy to have guests like you. Looking forward to have you in the near future. My best, Joseph
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fabulous Puerto Vallarta

  • 5 of 5

So many times photos look better than the real thing.......this was definitely NOT one of those times. When the doors of the condo opened we were all blown away by the spaciousness and beauty of your property. We were given a tour by the property manager who showed us how to use everything and answered any questions we had. We placed our bags in our room and for the first of many, many times sat out on the balcony to take in the views. Everything from the inside of the condo, to the grounds, to the pool, to the staff at Molino de Agua was perfection. We couldn't have asked for a better location. Having never stayed in PV before this place was an awesome find, we were able to walk to all of the great bars and restaurants the city has to offer. It's even an short walk to the pier to catch a boat out to Yelapa (which was fabulous) or any of the other nearby beaches. Joseph was responsive, easy going and provided so much information on the condo and PV it made this vacation effortless. I would highly recommend this property to anyone, in fact we liked it so much we wanted to book a return trip in February 2016 and were sad to see it was already completely booked. Wonderful condo, wonderful city, wonderful (lucky) owners.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hola Jennife, Thank you so much for such a stellar review. I am so please that you had such a wonderful time in Vallarta and you found my home to your liking and enjoyment. Would love to have you back as my guest again in the near future. It was a great pleasure to be able to help you have a great vacation. Cheers, Joseph
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Southport, North Carolina
5

Amazing Condo in the Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have rented many villas over the years in the US, Mexico and the Caribbean. None have been as perfect and problem free as La Iguana del Molino!

The condo is exactly as shown in the pictures on VRBO................actually it's better than the pictures! Everything was in perfect working order, which is rare when renting a popular property.

Upon arrival we were given a thorough orientation by Fernando. He showed us around the unit and gave us his card with a number to reach him at anytime. We never had a reason to speak with him again............which is perfect!!

The highlight for us was the location. The condo is perfectly located. All the attractions and restaurants in the Centro and Old Town areas of Puerto Vallarta are easily reached on foot. We only used taxis or buses to reach areas outside the city.

The Condo has a magnificent view looking out over the ocean, the Cuale River and the Malecon. We never got tired of sitting out on the veranda watching the activities of the city, sunsets, fireworks and the Pelicans soaring over head.

As for the interior of the condo.....................the Master Bedroom is very large, with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom is also large with a huge closet and a great shower. The condo has very efficient A/C throughout. Mostly, we only used the A/C in the bedrooms and left the patio doors in the Great Room open to the wonderful breezes.

The kitchen was very similar to our kitchen at home................all very modern, high end appliances and all the cooking accessories one would possibly need!

The Entertainment unit was really high end and easy to operate. Everything is operated using one simple remote, which even I could figure out! Outdoor speakers really added to the outdoor experience. WiFi worked great................seemed as fast as at home!

The staff were absolutely wonderful, and extremely friendly. Martine, at the front gate, greeted us by name every time he saw us. In fact, he knew our names when we first pulled up to check in to the condo on our first day. Very nice man!

Joseph, the owner, was great to work with and answered all our questions patiently and thoroughly.

In conclusion, I can't recommend this condo highly enough. There is no doubt, if we return to Puerto Vallarta, this is the only place we will stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hola Sigurd, Thank you so much for your stellar review. I could have not had better guests than you. You were so easy to interact with that it was a real joy. Thank you and looking forward to have you over again. Cheers, Joseph
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mn, Minnesota
5

Absolutely Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

We were referred to this villa by friends with good taste! I am a frequent VRBO and villa renter and love staying in other peoples dream homes. Frequently - the biggest hassle with privately owned properties is lack of professional management and on site people who are not interested or committed to your travel needs - or are trying to shake you down for tips. The pictures and reviews of the Villa are accurate and show it is designer quality, beautifully decorated and in a prime location. I want to focus on the professionalism of the owners in answering questions, providing accurate and helpful information at the time of booking and throughout our stay and showing in this unit their love for the location and willingness to share the best with their guests. This was one of the best "managed" rental experiences I have had from start to finish.

The Molina staff , management , and grounds were everything I could hope for and more.

I try to get away every Nov. as our MN seven month winters begin. I will hope to return and bring other of our close travel friends to enjoy this wonderful unit and property. One out of the way place I will recommend for an amazing dinners is Tony's Hideaway. It is a 150 peso taxi away to a small town South of PV but the seafood and service were splendid. The French bakery right out the door of Molina is a great place for pastry and quiche and the little restaurant across from the bakery (Fantasia or something - a little courtyard place open 3-10 was another great dinner.) Beware of the Cadillac Margarita at the pool bar - it could make your clothes fall off!

Donna - Jeff - Dan and Miguel

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

When only the best will do, this is it!

  • 5 of 5

This luxurious beachfront condo is the perfect retreat for rest & relaxation with its beautiful terrace overlooking the waterfront, pool and beautifully manicured grounds. The location, layout, amenities and service were impeccable! We have been going to PV for 30+ years and this property is a "10"!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Art Walks Downtown
"Great walk to enjoy fine art in Vallarta."
Daiquiri Dick's
"One of my favorites spot for dinner. Great Margaritas, food and service. Nice place to watch..."
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
No Way Jose, Bravo's
Nearest Beach
5 Metres
Playa Los Muertos- Back door exit of complex
Car: not necessary

9.4 km or 5.8 miles from Gustavo Diaz Ordaz Airport, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downtown (Viejo Vallarta) Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season 2016
May 8 2016 - Oct 30 2016
6 night minimum stay
$365
 
 
High Season I 2016
Oct 31 2016 - Nov 20 2016
6 night minimum stay
$435
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2016 - Nov 27 2016
7 night minimum stay
$480
 
 
High Season II 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 20 2016
6 night minimum stay
$435
 
 
Christmas / New Year
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
High Season 2017
Jan 4 2017 - May 7 2017
6 night minimum stay
$435
 
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$2,485
$8,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

Minimum stay 6 nights.
Cancellation: 90% refund if cancellation is made at least 60 days prior to check-in date; no refund if cancellation is made less than 60 days

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Downtown (Viejo Vallarta) Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3021 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • River ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • All bathrooms equipped with hair dryers; lighted make-up mirrors; complete assortment of luxury 'Green Tea' spa products (shampoo, conditioner, bath bar soap, facial soap and body lotion); facial tissues; Q-tips;cotton balls; 100% cotton towels. Top of the line Kohler fixtures in all bathrooms. The shower areas are encapsulated in glass and marble with an abundance of lighting. Floors in the bathrooms and throughout the unit are surfaced with highly polished marble.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , mountain view; 40-in flat cable TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 32-in cable TV, and closets
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , walk-in closet; mountain view; 40-in flat cable TV;
  • Master Bedroom and second bedroom have separate private balconies with seating overlooking mountain and jungle views. The balconies have an assortment of four foot blooming bougainvillea to ensure privacy. Perfect enclave to get away in the mid afternoon to read a favorite novel or listening or watching birds with the units own waterproof/fog-proof binoculars. Warm breezes are common place through the cross ventilation from both balconies and both terraces . Watch the mountains come alive at night with the glow of surrounding condominiums swimming pools. All three bedrooms are sophisticated and interior decorated with all specialized hand crafted furniture. In addition, each bedroom has ceiling fans, central air conditioning with individual room controls and flat screen TV's with cable TV service. Master bedroom walk-in closet has combination safety deposit box and jacuzzi overlooking the Sierra Madre Mountains.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Gated Community
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Olympic heated saline water infinity pool; Vonage phone for unlimited long distance to the US and Canada and a second line for unlimited local calling within Puerto Vallarta; electronically lift/hide-away 60 in flat screen TV with digital cable service, Blu-ray DVD/CD player, iPod dock with surround sound in the living room and terraces; high-speed wireless Internet connection; First Aid kit; housekeeping twice per week, optional visits available. In addition to the indoor kitchen, take advantage of the luxury granite topped outdoor kitchen with a 30' Kitchen Aid barbeque gas grill and all of the necessary features an outdoor kitchen has to offer. This outdoor kitchen terrace is situated above the infinity pool and overlooks the Pacific Ocean. Separate dining table for eight. A highly desirable place to dine al-fresco and see the city mountains and a lovely landscaped green common area. The adjoining separate terrace allows you to watch the sunset and enjoy cocktails with friends.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties