check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Paula J. Dunbar ~ Dunbar Real State ~ Southwest Harbor, Maine 04679

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Mountain/ocean Views, Sleeps 7, Fireplace, Peaceful Surroundings

8 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Mount Desert Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Mountain/Ocean Views, Sleeps 7, Fireplace, Peaceful, Woodsy, 3 Bedrooms/1.5 Bath

This classic, Maine cedar shake home located in Hall Quarry, is centrally located in the heart of Mt. Desert Island. It features a fantastic view of Somes Sound and Sargent Mountain. The double sliding glass doors in the great room allow the feeling of bringing the outside in. Nestled in the pines, this setting offers the peace and quiet of being away from it all, yet it is just a half mile from Rt. 102. Relax and enjoy your natural surroundings, as you see the deer pass by or the sound of the birds on the Sound. As you enter the cottage, you will be impressed with the finely appointed upgrades made by the new owners. The first floor contains a master with a comfortable queen size bed, adjacent to a full bath, a second bedroom with two twin size beds, and a laundry. Climb the stairs to the loft bedroom with one twin bed that overlooks the cathedral ceiling and the great room. A step up from the loft, you will find a third private bedroom with two twin beds and half bath. The tastefully furnished great room provides adequate seating for guests to converse, read, watch a movie or to relax in front of the fire place, after a day on the trails. Outdoor living is max from Hyland Cottage, conveniently located across from swimming and kayaking on Echo Lake, or climbing the trails of Beech and Acadia Mountains, nearby. With Cadillac Mountain and the surrounding carriage trails just minutes away, you will have easy access to hiking, biking and experiencing the magnitude of Acadia. Enjoy fine dining in nearby Southwest Harbor and Bar Harbor, or delight in the experience of a casual lobster feast! Because words cannot describe the beauty that surrounds Hall Quarry, we urge you to come and experience Acadia National Park and its breathtaking sights, for yourself!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Paula J. Dunbar ~ Dunbar Real State ~ Southwest Harbor, Maine 04679 (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Paula J. Dunbar ~ Dunbar Real State ~ Southwest Harbor, Maine 04679

The owners of Hyland Cottage have wanted to own a piece of Mount Desert Island for years. They searched for that 'special place' for years but the minute they saw Hyland, they new their search had ended. Lovingly, picking out each item that decorates or furnishes the house was a real treat. The care and craftsmanship of caring owners adds some of the best touches to this holiday retreat. You will feel the warmth their ownership as you walk through the doors.

Paula J. Dunbar ~ Dunbar Real State ~ Southwest Harbor, Maine 04679 purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Paula J. Dunbar ~ Dunbar Real State ~ Southwest Harbor, Maine 04679 chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

The owners have vacationed on Mount Desert Island every year.

Drawn to the Quiet Side of the island, their paths couldn't help but lead to Hyland Cottage.

What makes this cottage unique

Sitting in the chairs on the deck as they were taking in the view, their eyes lit up with excitement at finally finding their dream vacation home!

Reviews

4.9
based on 8 traveler reviews

Mountain/ocean Views, Sleeps 7, Fireplace, Peaceful Surroundings
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
Birmingham
5

Everything we'd hoped for

  • 5 of 5

My husband and three kids (8,6,&4) stay at Hyland Cottage in early June. We could not have asked for a better home or location for our trip - it was just as described. The cottage fit our family of 5 perfectly - the kids LOVED the upstairs loft. It was a perfect little nest for them and they continue to talk about it even now that we are home. The house was comfortable, but decorated very well (we felt like we could put our feet up and relax, but everything was so tasteful and not shabby!). The kitchen was well-equipped for lots of cooking. We worked quite a few puzzles, played games, read, ate meals on the deck that really does have an excellent view of Somes Sound. I was surprised by how quiet and secluded it was. Well off the main road, but still close enough to Acadia to make it an easy drive every day into the park. We loved how close it was to the Acadia Mtn. parking area (our favorite hike while we were there) and just minutes away from Southwest Harbor and restaurants/markets. I am ready to pencil in our trip for the summer of 2017 - we can't wait to go back. Working with Dunbar Realty was easy - they were prompt with all communication and the house was clean and immaculate upon arrival. Thanks for a great trip!!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our cup runs over with appreciation for this fantastic review! We are so very happy that your family enjoyed their stay at our "little piece of heaven on earth" ~ We love hearing how you spent your days while you were hear and that your children have such fond memories from staying at Hyland. By all means, please come back. We want renters that love our cottage as much as we do, and we were please with how well you took care of it! Thank you ~
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quaint, cozy, comfortable and close to everything

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time! This cottage is cozy, clean, comfortable, well-stocked and very well organized. It is in a perfect location, very quiet and private yet only a short drive to both Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. It has a very large rear deck and grassy lawn where we watched deer almost every night while sipping coffee. The kitchen was full of everything you could possibly need and had a nice view of Sommes Sound. The interior was spacious and comfortable and super clean; cottage cute but with all the modern conveniences readily available. In all correspondence the manager was prompt, courteous and very professional, answering all of my questions right away. Acadia National Park was stunningly beautiful and we enjoyed Bar Harbor downtown shops and restaurants after hiking all day.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We want to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are glad you were happy in the cottage and that you enjoyed cooking with the supplies in the kitchen ~ we are pleased to know it was a highlight of the rental. So glad the deer came out to greet you and that you enjoyed the Island and Acadia National Park ~ the reason we bought this cottage to begin with ~ Thank you, again ~
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Kalamazoo, MI
5

Restful; perfect location. Quiet!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Hyland for one week. Not only well stocked; stocked with class. It is more than a true cottage. Centrally located so each area of interest on Desert Island could be reached with little effort. The deer do indeed show up; one day we had the buck and all.

If you seek a restful place to come home to after a delightful day of hiking, shopping or driving, Hyland is the place to settle.

The trail to the St Seveurs via the Ledge trail right off 102 and then onto the Valley Perch trail is breathtaking as one can see out onto the ocean from the end of Somes Sound.

We would most definitely return!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a glorious review! We are so grateful for your comments ~ and so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time ~The deer and other wildlife( we had a snowy white owl, one night) are one of the best parts of the cottage and seem to show up for all of our renters, Thank you, again, for taking the time to share your vacation comments ~ we really appreciate it ~please visit us in the future ~
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location! Amazing view!

  • 5 of 5

Funny story before I go to the review... We rented Hyland Cottage to meet up with my sisters who also rented a cottage at Mount Desert Island. We all felt the pictures of our cottages looked very alike but for some odd reason, we never traded addresses. When we arrived, we realized we were neighbors for the week as they had the cottage right next to ours... We could not have planned it better if we had tried!

The cottage was very nice and cosy. As another reviewer said the pictures do not quite do it justice. We had more than enough space for us and our kids. The cottage is well stocked and comfortably furnished. Hyland Cottage is a bit isolated as you need to drive 10-15 mins pretty much anywhere you want to go but it is totally worth it.

Personal highlights for the week: Kayaking with my son on Long Pond. Family outings at the Echo Lake beach. Watching a sunset from the top of Mount Cadillac and watching the Perseid meteor shower in total darkness lying on the deck... :)

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you so much for your thoughtful review ~ we love that your family could be together for your vacations. (We would like to point out, for other interested renters, that the cottages are a comfortable distance apart, and cannot be seen from each other.) We are so glad you enjoyed Long Pond and Echo Lake. Echo Lake is our favorite as it is less than a mile from our cottage. We are so happy when our cottage brings as much enjoyment to others as it does to us! Thank you, again, for taking the time to express your feelings about staying at Hyland Cottage ~ We really appreciate it!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location! Fabulous house!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hyland Cottage. It is centrally located to everything on Mount Desert Island but away from the crowds and people.

The cottage itself exceeded our expectations and provided plenty of room for our family after a day of hiking and seeing the sights.

The pictures do not do this place justice. It is even nicer than it appears!

Thank you for a great week in a beautiful place!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so grateful for your wonderful response ~ and so glad you enjoyed your days here. We have tried o think of anything a person would need while they are at our cottage on vacation and are so pleased to hear that it is well supplied. Thank you, again, and please come back on your next holiday!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great House, Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Hyland Cottage. We had plenty of privacy and peace and quiet (as well as an excellent view), but we weren't far from the points of interest on Mount Desert Island. We traveled all over the island and really liked the central location. The house was well supplied and everything was in great shape. We had everything we needed and felt right at home. The cottage was very spacious and the deck was great. If we were to return to MDI in the future, we would be staying here again for sure. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review ~ we so appreciate your kind comments. Please let us know when you want to come back, again ~ we would love to have you come!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Bar harbor
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Cafe Dry Dock
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Swans Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Causeway Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Route 102
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Sips
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Echo Lake Sand Beach
Car: necessary

Centrally located, Hyland Cottage is close to almost anything you need on vacation. Echo Lake is right around the corner and Acadia Echo Lake Sand Beach is just a bit further. Long Pond is about a 10-15 minute drive. Kayak and canoe rentals are across the street from Pond's End.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mount Desert Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Sep 4 2016 - Oct 1 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
Autumn
Oct 2 2016 - Oct 22 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Security deposit ~ $500 -Lodging tax - 7%
Along with the rental fee is a refundable security deposit of $500
The state of Maine requires a 8% lodging tax

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mount Desert Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 912 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , sink, also
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , sink, also
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , Loft sleeping area
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers