check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Amal

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, arabic

Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment

59 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Upper Manhattan Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, 1 Convertible bed, Sleeps 3

This is a beautiful large one bedroom apt located on 119th Street between Lenox and 5th Ave, with all amenities included in a fully renovated landmark brownstone with a chef's kitchen stocked with all cooking needs. Flat screen TV with cable connection, Wi-Fi, and a sleeper sofa in the living room for extra sleeping quarters. There is also a home office in the bedroom for those that need to do some work during their stay.

High ceilings, exposed brick, ebony hard wood floors - very contemporary and comfortable for your long stay in New York.

Don't overpay on eating out every night, make a home cooked meal in this top of the line kitchen! Washer/dryer in the apartment for daily laundry needs as well.

Trains nearby, park around the corner, shopping, movies, entertainment all near by, great food as well!

All payments for this apt is made through the homeaway Reservation Manager

I have another duplex GARDEN apt in the same building that sleeps up to 9 guests guests.

And a NEW apt to the market that sleeps up to 6 guests, ask me about them!

Keywords: Brownstone, kitchen, one bedroom, harlem

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Amal (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, arabic

About Amal

I am a chef/caterer as well as a professional buyer in the food/consumer goods industry. The husband is an entrepreneur who puts too much faith in me! We have two young boys who keep us busy and young. Together we are a strong and passionate team of four who work hard and play even harder! We love Harlem and everything it has to offer, and are forever spreading the word on this amazing neighborhood.

Amal purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Amal chose Manhattan

When I met my husband over 10 yearsago all he talked about was Harlem, he was rootly involved in the rehabilitation of many Brownstones back when no one wanted to be there, and was passionate about owning a part of history. He was very specific about what he wanted, and sent me out in the jungle with his list to find it. And I didn't fail. Five years and two gorgeous boys later, our dream of owning a Brownstone in the historic neighborhood of Harlem came to fruition, and we couldn't be happier to share it with the world. We hope you enjoy the neighborhood, culture and soul as much as we do. We love waking up in the morning and strolling the streets of the city. There is really nothing like it (except a great cup of coffee).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Amal!

We had a great time and enjoy our stay very much. Thank you for your kindness. The apt is incredible! Happy Holidays!

Joelle
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.7
based on 59 traveler reviews

Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
average rating of 4.7288136 based on 65 reviews
5

Comfortable pad & amazing food in the area

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was very comfortable for our family of four. We had all the room we needed and the place was nice and modern as well. The best part of our stay was enjoying all the great food in the area. We had delicious BBQ, Cuban eats, soul food, Italian and breakfast all within easy walking distance. It was also easy to park our park in the street and there were plenty of private parking options nearby when it was street cleaning time. In addition, there were all manner of subway lines nearby which made it easy for us to get to all manner of points of interest. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great spot for a weekend in NYC

  • 4 of 5

Me and a friend had a great 3 night stay at Amal's spot. Amal was very responsive and had things very well organized for arrival and departure. Access to transit was easy. The top end of Central park is easily walk-able and on a beautiful day we managed the full walk to the south end of the park.

Amenities are excellent and quite modern. The only downside was the matress of the pull out couch. It is a little worn and not overly comfortable. This would be easily fixed with a thin layer of memory foam that could be put down after folding the bed out.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again. If I had been there with my wife it would have been a 5 star review.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT place + thoughtful owner = wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

This brownstone "felt" right the moment we found it and we weren't disappointed. Gave us what a hotel does not...the sense of what it feels like to LIVE in NYC. Location was convenient to both the subway and great selection of local food. Amal has thought of just about every detail from her helpful instructions prior to arrival to the book of information about the home and surrounding community. Comfortable bed meant hitting the street each morning well-rested; washer and dryer meant packing lighter AND packing clean clothes for trip home; nice kitchen meant having the option of fixing the occasional meal. This had the feel of a home and not a rental. WE'LL BE BACK!

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago
4

Outstanding, with one caveat

  • 4 of 5

This was my second stay in this apartment. I wrote a glowing review the first time I stayed, and I once again was really pleased. This is a wonderful, affordable place -- clean, inviting, and well located. I'm sure I will stay there again. I knocked a star off of my rating, however, for one important reason -- this apartment is marketed as having a sofa bed for extra sleeping space, but the sofa bed is simply not a viable sleeping spot as far as I am concerned. This apartment is a true "A+" for a single person or two people who want to share the bed in the bedroom, but I suggest that you NOT count on the sofa bed. I slept on it two nights and the "mattress" is really just a bag of springs that make getting comfortable impossible. For the next two nights, my sister offered to give it a try and slept on it as a sofa, without opening up the mattress. It is very short, and she really had to contort herself to get into any kind of position to sleep. So my suggestion to the owner would be to take one of two steps: Either invest in a significant upgrade so that the unit can legitimately be marketed as having a usable sofa bed, or edit the listing to indicate that it really is a one bedroom that realistically sleeps only two people in the one (fairly comfortable) queen-size bed. Other than that, I want to reiterate that this place is a real gem. I will be back again, I'm sure, with my spouse, but for a brother and sister team, as we were in May, it was not a great option for this one reason. (We both loved it in every other way.)

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

Great experience in NYC. Apartment is just as pictured with everything you need for the stay. Great communications! I'd stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spring break

  • 5 of 5

The home was lovely! The neighbors upstairs were awesome! Very, very helpful! I will definitely be returning!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Other Activities: shopping, basketball court, health/beauty spa

Photos

Rates & Availability

Upper Manhattan Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$105
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Refundable damage deposit $200

Rates are based on a two guest occupancy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Upper Manhattan Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 770 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , full size
  • The bedroom has a queen size bed, with a home office inside. A large dresser, a closet, ironing board, ironer, cd/radio/alarm clock all included in room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • swimming
Notes:
Smoking is allowed outside on the stoops. Free wireless internet access, home office, High Definition LCD TV with cable, Coffee, Tea, dishes, pots and pans, Central Heating, Air-conditioning, Queen Beds, Linens, towels, paper towels, Iron Board, Iron, Washer and dryer, Full kitchen, Refrigerator, Freezer, Ice Maker, Filtered Water, Microwave Oven, Toaster, Coffee Maker

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties