Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3 Bedroom Duplex W/3 King Beds And Pull-out Bed.new Appliances, Furniture & Beds

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom Duplex W/3 King Beds And Pull-out Bed.new Appliances, Furniture & Beds

The property is a 3 Bedroom duplex with 3 King very comfortable beds in each room. There is also a pull out couch in the downstairs living room and space for 1 more on the upstairs couch which is also very comfortable. The house is located 3 blocks from the J subway train which brings you into the Lower East Side of Manhattan in 5 stops or abut 12 minutes. The L subway train is about 6 blocks in the other direction which brings you into mid-town Manhattan in about 20 minutes. There are 5 brand new flatscreen tvs in every room and every movie channel. I will be doing up the back yard in th coming months with a deck and outdoor setting for the summer and spring months and will have a big BBQ back there for guests use.


Owner
Brendan McGeough
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About Brendan McGeough

I am a Firefighter from NYC and try and rent my place when I am not there

Brendan McGeough purchased this house in 2013

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a fantastic time on our family trip at Brendan's place! All of the furnishings were brand new including dishes, appliances, bedding and towels! His attention to detail is amazing! It was like staying in a brand new, fully furnished condo. We stayed for 9 days and we were only 4 blocks away from the subway stop. The neighborhood is quiet and the beds? Oh, so comfortable! Grocery stores were close by. We plan on recommending his place to all of our friends and extended family! Thank you Brendan, really! We had a wonderful New York experience and created a lot of memories....
May 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Bushwick House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
  • there is a pull-out couch in the downstairs living room and also room for 1 person on the upstairs couch
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
28% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
3 Bedroom Duplex W/3 King Beds And Pull-out Bed.new Appliances, Furniture & Beds
average rating of 4.32 based on 26 reviews
5

HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5

My family and I drove there from Texas, which was a planned vacation. We had a good stay there and the neighborhood was nice and quite. I highly recommend the corner store on Evergreen for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great location, close to anywhere you may want to go in the city. I highly recommend this place especially since the owner is fixing the backyard to look simply marvelous. If you like to do some grilling during your stay here hopefully by then the backyard will be completed. The owner was very nice and courteous and let us stay an extra night for free due to hurricane Harvey's situation my son's flight was cancelled. God is good. Again I highly recommend especially to those who have a large family.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable and Convenient

  • 4 of 5

For our annual trip to New York, my family and I usually look to lodge somewhere that has the comforts and conveniences similar to home. This property certainly met our expectations. First of all, we prefer to pick up groceries so that we can prepare a few meals rather than eat out often. Having a full kitchen as well as two grills on the patio, (one gas and one charcoal), was a definite plus. Since it was five of us, with the guys out numbered, we appreciated the two bathrooms. The bedrooms all had king size beds and enough storage space for our belongings. Having a washer and dryer in the apartment was another convenience, so we didn't worry about packing a lot of clothes. There are televisions with cable in all of the bedrooms and living spaces. This provided added entertainment for our two small children in the evening after a long eventful day.

The owner provided personal touches such as umbrellas in the front closet. One of the days we were there it rained all day. We needed to use one of the umbrellas from the apartment. Although we bring our own cleaning materials, there are cleaning materials and clothes detergent in the unit.

The neighborhood felt safe and was quiet most of the time. Be aware on the weekends there may be a party or two occurring. On Saturday night of our stay, there was a party in the evening with loud music until 3:00am. Travel into Manhattan was easy. The J train is only about an 8 minute walk from the apartment, and a 20 minute ride into lower Manhattan. Add another 29 minutes to the commute if you're looking to travel into Upper Manhattan.

I decided to rate our experience four stars because we did have to deal with ants in the apartment. Make sure you sweep up any food or crumbs that have fallen on the floor, or you will have a trail of ants all around them. Also, the bathrooms had rust and mildew spots around the floor and shower in the basement. We used a bleach cleaner and were fine. The grout lines in the kitchen and bathroom floor tiles were also a bit dirty. Could have been scrubbed by the cleaning crew.

Overall though, we really enjoyed our stay. This property was a comfort and convenience to my family of five. Especially after a long day of adventure. We will definitely consider this property on future trips to NY!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Poorly maintained in less than desirable part of Brooklyn

  • 1 of 5

Water leak made one restroom unusable and one of the A/C units didn't work. The kitchen was not well stocked with tools necessary to make a real meal and was disorganized and dirty.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The AC broke and I replaced it the next day, theres nothing I can do about that but to replace it, I'm sorry you were without AC for 1 night. As for the water leak, that ruined my floors, its bc one of your party was irresponsible and left the water running out of the tub and down the walls which I had to totally rip out and replace. You left the house in ruins which I had to fix after you left. Im so disappointed you would write something like this after the way you treated my home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was in great shape and very clean. Wonderful decor.

  • 5 of 5

What a great place with an even better host!! Brendan was great to work with and very responsive. It's hard to find a place to stay with a king size bed. This place has 3. The tv's are really good. I would recommend this home to anyone we really felt like we were at home.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Shawnee
5

Great place to stay for a family trip to NYC.

  • 5 of 5

This is a spacious place for a family to stay with plenty of room to spread out.

Some tips for upcoming travelers:

1). Download the NYC subway app for your phone. This is a great tool to help you navigate the NYC subway system. This was our first trip to NYC and we learned the subway system quickly

2) the Halsey St subway stop is a quick walk. When coming out of the duplex turn left and walk up Jefferson. You will come to the subway (J) in about 2 blocks. You will have to turn left at the cross street to get onto the subway. We purchased a week subway pass for $31 per person. It has unlimited rides and is a cheap way to travel in the city.

3) there are previous reviews noting concerns with safety. Not once did we ever experience any safety concerns. One night we walked home from the subway around midnight after visiting the Empire State Building. There were several people on the subway and also walking along the street

4) a nice grocery store is right by the subway station and makes a perfect stop after getting off the subway on your way back to the duplex for lunch meat, bread and late nights sweets or snacks.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

There are not enough kind words to express how wonderful our NYC trip was!

  • 5 of 5

The cherry on the top of our fabulous week in the big apple, was being able to stay at Brendan's home! Thank you Brendan!

From the moment we began searching for a home to stay in while visiting our daughter in the city and throughout our stay, it was flawless!

Brendan was so responsive to questions and requests we never wanted for anything.

Brendan's home is convenient to everything, comfortable, amazingly clean, the amenities in the home couldn't have been better and have I mentioned the beds that are soooo comfortable! After long days of sight seeing we always knew we were coming home to a wonderful place to stay.

Thank you again Brendan! We WILL be back! If you're considering g this home for your stay, my advice would be, don't hesitate, book it! You won't be sorry!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
John F Kennedy International aiprot
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Staten Island Ferry
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
BQE and jackie robinson
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Jones Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
cleaning fee $175

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties