check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Terry Spiers

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Authentic 1935 Muskoka Log Cabin with All the Comforts of Home

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Baysville Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Experience summer in Muskoka. Located approx. two hours north of Toronto, Gladstone Lodge offers the experience of Olde Muskoka with all the modern conveniences of home. Enjoy your stay in a restored historic 1930's log cabin located on beautiful Dickie Lake. Enjoy full lake view from the cottage or from the large deck or waterfront dock! Canoe around the lake and see nature at its best! For many more photos visit our website, google Gladstone Lodge or see listing below for exact address!

The cottage has been restored with great detail using high end finishes. A fully stocked cooks kitchen. Furnished with authentic sturdy antique furniture from the period you will feel like you have stepped back in time!

Enjoy quiet sun filled mornings in the muskoka porch drinking coffee and watching nature or reading. There are two separate main room areas, a living room/dining room on the second floor and a tv lounge/den on the main level. Loads of fun for families or a relaxing time for those in need of respite from the busy city. Lake is very quiet. Water is warm and calm and perfect for swimming. Great sport fishing on the lake. Gift basket of local goodies is left for every renter.

Four large bedrooms. Three with queen size beds and one with two sets of rustic bunk beds. Mattress covers, pillows, and blankets supplied. Linens and towels available upon request with a small fee for each renter.

Two full bathrooms, one large 4 pc bathroom with deep soaking tub, sink and toilet, separate tub room with sink and claw foot tub, powder room with toilet and sink. On demand water system means you never run out of hot water!

We offer an outdoor dining space as well as an indoor dining space. Large outdoor fire pit with seating for campfires and roasting marshmallows.

Located ten minutes drive to the quaint town of Baysville, and a stones throw from Lake of Bays, there is ample local attractions or stay at the cottage and soak up the sun. South facing cottage gets full sun all day while remaining cool indoors. Very large lot with just the perfect mix of sun and shade, fully treed lot and parking for up to four cars.

Pet friendly upon approval

Keywords: Log Cabin, Modern amenities, Cottage, Lakefront, Quiet, Nature setting, Muskoka cottage, Muskoka Lodge, Lodge, Waterfront Cottage, Waterfront, Clean, Private Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Terry Spiers (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Terry Spiers

Terry and Mark live and work in Toronto and spend half of their time in Muskoka. They have a passion for all things cottage and lovingly restored this rare log cabin for two years making it the perfect place to spend a summer vacation. Terry is a food stylist in Toronto and Mark works for Air Canada.

Terry Spiers purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Terry Spiers chose Muskoka

We chose Baysville for the amazing nature, beautifully treed roads and proximity to Lake of Bays and the historic surrounding areas. We were excited to find a rare log cottage from the 1930's. We were also enticed by how one can enjoy the quiet or seek out local attractions. Near Historic Bigwin Island, charming town of Hunstville and tiny beautiful Baysville it is the perfect location for a summer vacation. Neighbors and local townspeople are friendly and helpful and full of pride for the area. The lake is beautifully calm and quiet and great for swimming. The area is blessed to be part of the great Canadian Shield.

What makes this cottage unique

We fell in love with the old log and the amazing large porch, perfect for eating breakfast or having drinks before dinner with a perfect view of the water. Unique benefits are quiet and calm lake, warm for swimming. Large flat rocks gently lead into shallow water with sand packed bottom which is great for swimmers of all ages. 2000 square feet of indoor living space on two floors is extremely comfortable for families. TV lounge in addition to living room allows kids and parents to pursue separate activities if desired. Feeling like you are back in time but with all the modern comforts of home is a rare experience. Not many log cabins of this age left in Muskoka. Wonderful wildlife and bird watching.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)
Authentic 1935 Muskoka Log Cabin with All the Comforts of Home
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
London Ontario
5

Great Spot on Dickie Lake

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 (two boys age 11 and 14) shared this cottage with a family of five (one boy age 11 and two girls age 13) and had a great weekend. Cottage has lots of space for this number of people and if anyone wanted to spend some quiet time on their own, it was easy to do. The cottage has a great character to it, with all the modern amenities that you might want. The cottage was in very good condition and obviously well cared for. There were some very unique antique pieces that added to the character. The grounds were very well kept.

Everyone loved the lake, although there are some large rocks near the two docks so that it is imperative that your kids be reminded not to dive. Dickie Lake is very quiet and great for swimming and boating. Couldn't be a nicer spot for swimming in Muskoka. Water gets deep quickly.

Baysville also has all that a cottage goer would need, with Huntsville and Bracebridge easy drives away.

We had a very minor issue with the Wi-Fi and when I raised it with Terry, she and her husband immediately took every step to rectify it, including involving Bell. It was up and running very quickly despite me assuring them that we were not overly concerned about it. We had immediate feedback following our week from Terry to ensure that we had a good week and to request any suggestions on improving the experience. She immediately returned our damage deposit without any issues at all. She and her husband were entirely professional throughout our involvement with them.

We would love to return to this cottage next summer!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review Spencer, we are thrilled that your experience was so positive and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Super guests and thank you for leaving the cottage in such a lovely condition!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary
1

A difficult experience...nice cottage though

  • 1 of 5

Terry let us know about 3 months before that she had double booked Gladstone for one of the three nights and that we could either have our money refunded (not an option given the difficulty in finding an alternative), be put up at Deerhurst (a resort, not a cottage), or stay at her personal cottage. We opted for the latter. It was rustic but nice, however we were not allowed to use the stove, so we planned to barbeque, but both propane tanks were empty. Terry did direct us to grab some from her neighbour. We did also use the canoe, however there were no life jackets. Another neighbour noticed this and lent us some, stating that the OPP were aggressive with tickets. Glad he was around as sure enough OPP were around.

Terry allowed us to stay at her cottage past the 11AM checkout time, but asked us to move everything out of her cottage, which we did. We were asked not to arrive at Gladstone until after 2pm to allow the cleaners time. Serious inconvenience, but ok.

We arrived at Gladstone at 4pm, and the cleaners were still there. Another inconvenience. Basically this was turning into a one day holiday, as we needed to check out at 11AM on Labour Day Monday.

Once we were finally settled in, it was fine, but the whole experience was overall negative. From the beginning Terry was disorganized (at one point she "misplaced" our deposit) and would take several days to return e-mails.

Perplexing also is the cleaning fee charged at Gladstone Lodge, as the contract states that renters must clean the entire cottage before leaving or risk their damage deposit. Even the furniture cannot be moved. We swept the whole cottage (where we found dog hairs from previous guests) and left it spotless. We were shocked when she then accused us of staining the towels. Honestly we walked around on eggshells all weekend as we were worried about not getting the damage deposit back, given Terry’s casual response rate to e-mails. It was refunded promptly though.

We travel a lot and do private rentals frequently. This is by far the worst experience we have had. Unfortunately, I would not recommend renting here. The cottage is really cool and very well decorated with a great kitchen. We admire Terry's vision, but this rental it was far too much of hassle to be any fun.

I’m sure that Terry will post a response labeling us as ungrateful and unreasonable, but we are trying to be fair and honest. We rely on honest peer reviews when making rental decisions and this was our experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Response to Max's 2nd review. We are dismayed at his reviews and having to keep responding. I was so sorry I made an error in his booking, turnover is always Saturday. When I realized my error, I offered to find other lodging (very possible), Deerhurst would have cost us $1000. 1st review had many untrue comments. I emailed Max with actual emails refuting his review so he changed it but added further untrue statements. We NEVER told Max not to use the stove at our cottage, we only asked that he take care, it is a cool refurbished 1930's stove and a bit quirky. The propane was emptied unbeknownst to us, he was supplied with a new tank within five minutes of his call. He never called about life jackets at Lake of Bays, they would have been supplied instantly! Our check in time at Gladstone Lodge is ALWAYS 3 pm, he arrived at 4 to find Kevin cleaning after a previous renter had left a bit of a mess which took extra time, it is a rare occurrence. He was invited in immediately to unpack/get settled. We NEVER threatened to keep security deposit, we don't ever do that, he was refunded promptly even though the cottage was far from spotless, he left a full load of dirty dishes, , open garbage, dirty coffee maker at both places and stained towels. We did not accuse, only asked what stains were to attempt to launder them. Cleaning fee is for scrubbing the cottage top to bottom, re-stocking supplies, washing bed covers etc. We ask that you tidy, leave clean dishes in dishwasher and remove your garbage, basic stuff. I work long hours and it may take me a day or two to respond. I had 17 emails with Max and five phone conversations, in addition to texts during his stay. I did my best to be helpful. Deposit was not lost, I did ask exact date of deposit, we have hundreds of emails each season. If Max walked on eggshells that was his decision, none of our guests in the last six years has felt that way except for Max, we want you to feel at home and relaxed. We ask renters to put furniture back where they found it, re-arranging furniture during turnover does make our cleaner late, we are not fanatic about it. We appreciate honest peer reviews and follow up with our guests to see if we can improve, it is important to us. We act on all comments, replacing items, adding items that they feel would enhance their next stay. Max was offered so many options and extras to make his stay wonderful, sadly we could not please him. Please do read our other reviews that are positive
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Toronto, Ontario
5

Cottage Living At It's Best!

  • 5 of 5

I must say that this cottage blew me away when I arrived in person for my stay. This has everything you might need, along with great cooking utensils for someone who loves to cook while on vacation! The cottage was so spacious and allowed all of our guests to have their personal space, but also allowed us to come together as a group to enjoy as a family. I absolutely loved the private lot and the amount of nature that surrounds the cottage. Terry went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and to make us feel right at home. I wouldn't hesitate to rent here again. It's a true gem!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Perfect Cottage Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Love. Love. Love this place. We've rented twice with our best friends-- after our first rental in 2013 we tried to book again for 2014 but it was booked and so we reserved it 2 years ahead, because that's how lovely it is.

For us it's the perfect mix of everything we love. Tons of space, lots of placing for playing cards reading, cooking and eating (our favourite evening past times) And during the day we kayak, canoe, swim the day away. This cottage has the rustic beauty of real cottaging with stunning antique pieces and simple, elegant Muskoka decor blended with all the modern conveniences -- everything from wi-fi to TV, DVD BBQ. Everything you need indoor eating,outdoor eating, campfire eating. And our hosts are amazing. We arrive to basket filled with goodies--local beer, chocolates and all the fixings for smores. When our BBQ stopped working they were their immediately accessing the problem and then went out and replaced it all on the same day. Terry and her husband are the most responsive and lovely hosts.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming Getaway ... a great escape!

  • 5 of 5

It was a great place to spend Thanksgiving weekend. We found everything we needed and Terry was most hospitable! We and our guests thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The attention to detail that was put into the restoration was very much appreciated by everyone. We met some of the neighbours who were very friendly and helpful in directing us to local establishments for good baking and great shopping.

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, Ontario
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This year will be the fourth return to Gladstone Lodge for my friends and I, because it doesn't disappoint. Whether we're spending the day at the dock and in the lake, or the evenings at the fire pit or in the screened in porch, this cottage satisfies. The property is beautiful, the cottage is clean, spacious and comfortable and the amenities offer all the comforts of home, while still providing a true Muskoka cottage experience. Truly a must-try!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Baysville Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$344
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $765
Sheets/towels per guest $19 + Tax
Cleaning $115 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

50% deposit on booking, final payment 60 days prior to check in. We accept email money transfer or certified cheque or bank money orders

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Baysville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (3), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Wine fridge, Blueray player, Flat Screen TV, High end finishes in Kitchen and Bath, Fully stocked cooks kitchen, Large waterfront Dock, Canoe and Paddles, Life Jackets, Books, Games, DVD's, Claw Foot Tub, Paddle Boat, Swim Platform

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties