check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Perfect Location and Comfort

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Studio Bedroom,1 Bathroom Sleeps 4

This beach cottage is one of a kind. It is so calming to just sit there and watch the ocean which is only steps away. Turtles frequently swim nearby for your enjoyment.

All amenities are there in the cottage and on the property. The only thing you will need are groceries which can be bought on the way or 2 miles past the cottage at Tamuras Market. This is a vacation spot of a lifetime to remember.


Owner
Lisa or Terrie
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

About Lisa or Terrie

Being Raised on Oahu and now living in Oklahoma, this cottage will bring me home. It is like stepping back in time to be there watching the turtles and whales through the window in my living room. I come to relax and float in the clear, glass like, ocean which is just steps away. One must see to believe and experience to know.

Lisa or Terrie purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Lisa or Terrie chose North Shore Oahu

Perfect to get away from the hussle an bustle of Waikiki. Once you visit Waikiki it is perfect to drive back to Old Hawaii.

What makes this cottage unique

You get a well stocked, better view, equipped beach cottage equal to any hotel but as a lesser cost.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

Perfect Location and Comfort
average rating of 4.4871793 based on 39 reviews
Fresno,Ca.
3

Cute but not worth the price

  • 3 of 5

very small property, we got there late at night to find a thumb size cock roach near our bed, there were ants on floor, counter & table, we didn't even eat in there we ate out, only showered & slept. could not watch movies @ night, down stairs people complained. it did have a nice view & shower head was great, but way too small for honeymooners..probably would not stay there again, too small.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Living in the tropics and Hawaii does bring one to paradise. But the other side of paradise is that we do have to constantly be vigilant for insects and pests. This is one of the reasons we pay Terminex, an exterminator a monthly contract fee for them to help us stay ahead of the possible bugs that may try to share our hale's with us. In addition to their service we also keep insect traps and sprays under the sinks for use just in case a stray bug appears or if the ants find their way inside. Our housekeeper is very good at keeping these supplies and others stocked and ready for use if need be. And yes the cottage is cozy, like many studio properties in Hawaii. Its size of 550 sq ft is clearly listed in the description of the amenities. And cost comparison of studio/one bedrooms with direct semi private beach access make this cottage a rare commodity and a return to old Hawaii.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful location! Great for a small family!

  • 5 of 5

Everything went smoothly. The cottage was even nicer than the pictures can really show. It was very clean and the beach was perfect for us and our children. We loved snorkeling right there and exploring the North Shore. Would love to return.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo, you are welcome back anytime. We are so glad that you were able to experience our cottage and truly enjoy. Aloha E Komo Mai.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful studio !

  • 4 of 5

This place is a small cottage like room / studio with absolutely everything one could ask/wish for. It is very neatly maintained.The view cannot be beat ! It is absolutely the best view one could dream of. The beach is just steps away. My husband and I woke up every morning to walk on the beach and witness a glorious sunrise. The only reason why am giving this place a star less is because of its distance from everything else. Its far off from the airport, the beautiful east shore and the city life in waikiki. There are no decent dining options around. But if you like seclusion and are going to hang around only in the north shore then this is the one !

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ah so you did find the Hawaii of yesteryear. Yes we are 35 miles from Honolulu International Airport, but when you cross over thru the tunnels to the windward side of Oahu, the beauty is breathtaking and nothing short of amazing. This drive never gets old to us. Right along the oceans edge after you pass Kaneohe until you arrive at the cottage. And in Hawaii there is always food. Right up the road in Hauula there is PapaOlies, which has the best breakfast omlets, loco moco and pehleu ribs to die for. There is also fish tacos, a pizza place and Tamura's grocery store in the same complex. Right across the road there is a local okazua deli that serves teriyaki and kalbi that is so delicious. Usually their plate lunch is enough for two meals. Even within walking distance from the cottage there is the small Kaya's store, where you can find a subway or choose from the local fare being cooked at the counter at the back of the store. And yes a shrimp truck. So ono. In Laie there is an excellent Chinese resturant, a Five Guys Hamburger and Sandwich deli resturant, a shave ice and ice cream store. McDonald's and the Polynesian Cultural Center offers resturant dining without having to go in the facitlty as a tourist, or they also offer a extraordinary luau and luau buffet at night so you could dine before their night Polynesian fire dancing show. Don't forget the many shrimp trucks and BBQ in Kahuku near the old sugar mills. Giovanni's is considered one of the best. And in Haleiwa there are many small eateries, Historical Matsumoto's Shave ice and a must eat stop at Haleiwa Joe's. The dining room at Haleiwa Joe's overlooks the harbor and the prime rib is over an inch think and hard to beat. A must do at least once during your stay. As always, Hawaii is a multicultural dining experience that must be tried and savored to truly enjoy. And there are local dining gems hiding all through out the islands, just awaiting your discovery.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A calm and quiet place with a great view and beach access

  • 5 of 5

Our little family had a great time staying here. We had everything we really needed available to us and we couldn't beat the location on the beach. A couple of stores were within walking distance and even when the weather wasn't cooperating we could quietly read in the beautiful sun room facing the beach. Great little hidden gem!

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh we are so glad you found the magic of Punalu'u. We are always so happy to share our little slice of paradise with you. You are always welcome back and as we say in Hawaii. Aloha E Komo Mai
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very Relaxing

  • 3 of 5

The Views were very Beautiful.There are some Items that need to be updated in regards to Beach Equipment.The Photos show Chairs that are pictured as Morning Coffee Chairs that have been replaced with uncomfortable hard wood armed chairs?Weather was windy-rainy and did not see any Sunrises or Sunsets,Disappointing ...... Property can not control weather, the lesson I learned is do not go to Hawaii in November.If You are looking for a quite location you found it.Would have loved to have seen the Sun.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh we are so sorry your trip was planned in the beginning of winter in Hawaii. The winters in Hawaii are the rainy season. And yes there can be many days of overcast skys, but also still just as many blue sky days. We understand how unfortunate it can be to have your schedule of days coincide with the rain days. But the joys of winter in Hawaii also include the big wave events on the North Shores which are just up the road from the cottage, comfortable ambient (night and day times) temperatures between 60-80 degrees, our Punalu'u beach that is protected by the reef that still allows safe swimming and snorkeling, even when the big waves are happening in Waimea Bay and beyond and our Hawaiian rains or "ua" are considered a blessing, as they continue to keep Hawaii green and beautiful. Sorry the sun didn't shine as much as it could have during your days there. But mahalo for understanding and appreciating that we cannot influence Mother Nature, we can only attempt to provide a beautiful location from which our guests can appreciate a quiet secluded location to be able to enjoy a bit of "old Hawaii" , the way it used to be, in years gone by.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful condo in amazing location

  • 4 of 5

I would have given 3.5 if allowed. Overall I had a wonderful time here and would recommend it to a friend.

Pros:

-Amazing location! The beach is literally in your backyard. The water is very mellow, great for children or those wishing to avoid large waves.

-while it's in a small complex of units, with two bigger buildings nearby, it feels remote and private. If you're looking to get away from the bustle of Honolulu, this is a great location, though you'll need to have a car if you plan to do more than just chill on the beach.

-with a car, this is a great jumping of point for points beyond on the north shore.

-the condo is nicely decorated, makes great use of a small space, is very clean, and comes with all the amenities you'll need. A fully stocked kitchen, plenty of bedding and towels, beach toys (boogie boards, snorkel gear, sand toys, etc), beach chairs. There's even free laundry very close by on site.

Cons:

-the unit is a studio, not a one bedroom as advertised. There is a kitchen-livingroom with a bed in it. The lanai is right off the living room. I really like the open floorplan, but with a small baby, I was really counting on having a separate room. We had to tiptoe and whisper after the baby went to bed.

-interactions with Terry and Lisa were awkward and strained at times. Overall they were both great, but when our TV didn't work Terry wanted us to contact the cable company and work it or ourselves. She ended up taking care of it eventually, but it made for a strained afternoon. They also got my checkout date wrong and I received a not very nice message from Terry saying she was going to "box up all the stuff you left behind". It was quickly resolved but it seems like Lisa and Terry could do a better job communicating with each other.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you found the magic of Punalu'u and the beach cottage. We understand that not all things are "perfect" in our little slice of Hawaii Nei, but we do our best to alleviate any unforeseen problems or questions as they they arise. We appreciate you and your family for being so gracious when the cable/tv service provider had a glitch. And understand that sometimes in our modern technological world how electronic communications can be strained or delayed. Mahalo for your understanding and aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Turtle Bay
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Turtle Bay
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Papaole's (Good)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.25%

Rate increases $10 for any person after 2 adults. $100 cleaning charge, refundable security $200. The rate for winter is $155.00 per night for 2people

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hauula Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Dressing room separate
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen bed studio 2 futons
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Like old Hawaii with a beautiful, private beach.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties