Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Perfect Location and Comfort

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 550 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Private Pool

Overview

About the property

Studio Bedroom,1 Bathroom Sleeps 4

This beach cottage is one of a kind. It is so calming to just sit there and watch the ocean which is only steps away. Turtles frequently swim nearby for your enjoyment.

All amenities are there in the cottage and on the property. The only thing you will need are groceries which can be bought on the way or 2 miles past the cottage at Tamuras Market. This is a vacation spot of a lifetime to remember.


Owner
Lisa or Terrie
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Lisa or Terrie

Being Raised on Oahu and now living in Oklahoma, this cottage will bring me home. It is like stepping back in time to be there watching the turtles and whales through the window in my living room. I come to relax and float in the clear, glass like, ocean which is just steps away. One must see to believe and experience to know.

Lisa or Terrie purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Lisa or Terrie chose North Shore Oahu

Perfect to get away from the hussle an bustle of Waikiki. Once you visit Waikiki it is perfect to drive back to Old Hawaii.

What makes this cottage unique

You get a well stocked, better view, equipped beach cottage equal to any hotel but as a lesser cost.

Amenities

Hauula Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Dressing room separate
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen bed studio 2 futons
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Like old Hawaii with a beautiful, private beach.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

Perfect Location and Comfort
average rating of 4.5 based on 42 reviews
5

this is the perfect location to see the real Oahu

  • 5 of 5

beautiful place in Punaluu! You can role out of your bed right onto the beach. I saw about a dozen sea turtles and snorkeled with a ton of fish! the reefs are right out there, easy swimming distance. behind you is a killer view of the mountains.The place is clean and has all that you need. Dont buy anything but food and maybe charcoal (they had it but we grill alot).. if you like to be away from the hustle this is the place. and your only about 50 minutes from Honolulu and Waikiki. and the 50 minutes goes by fast cause the drive is insanely beautiful. well worth it to be out of Honolulu and see the real Oahu. the place has no air conditioning but you do not need it. the breeze off the ocean is perfect at night.

If you stay here you will see more of Hawaii than other tourists. In fact you will feel like a local! Which when i travel i want to feel like. its 10 minutes away from the Polynesian Culture Center, which is a must.. Close to hiking, waterfalls, Sharks cove (ridiculous sunset and food trucks! cant pass up!), Banzai pipeline, Kaneoha Bay, etc. its worth people to find out themselves and explore from here! great place, great location. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sounds like you did find the magic of the beach cottage and "old" Hawaii! The cottage is perfect for either relaxing and enjoying your almost private beach or allowing you to explore the island on your own. And yes grilling out with the ocean as your back drop is a perfect way to end your day. We are so glad that you truly enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the cottage. Loved having the ocean lull us to sleep and wake us in the morning. The accommodations were very comfortable. It was nice having a fully stocked kitchen to be able to use and cook a few meals during our stay. We even used the outdoor grill one day and enjoyed cooking while almost on the beach. We were looking for peace and quiet and this place was perfect. Yet we were close enough to grocery stores and a few restaurants just up the road.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyable 2 week stay

  • 4 of 5

Very well equiped and nice location. Had many unexpected facilities such as swim masks, boogie boards and beach towels. Kitchen had full compliment of utensils, pans and glassware.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you found the magic of Punalu'u. You are welcome back any time. Mahalo and Aloha.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fresno,Ca.
3

Cute but not worth the price

  • 3 of 5

very small property, we got there late at night to find a thumb size cock roach near our bed, there were ants on floor, counter & table, we didn't even eat in there we ate out, only showered & slept. could not watch movies @ night, down stairs people complained. it did have a nice view & shower head was great, but way too small for honeymooners..probably would not stay there again, too small.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Living in the tropics and Hawaii does bring one to paradise. But the other side of paradise is that we do have to constantly be vigilant for insects and pests. This is one of the reasons we pay Terminex, an exterminator a monthly contract fee for them to help us stay ahead of the possible bugs that may try to share our hale's with us. In addition to their service we also keep insect traps and sprays under the sinks for use just in case a stray bug appears or if the ants find their way inside. Our housekeeper is very good at keeping these supplies and others stocked and ready for use if need be. And yes the cottage is cozy, like many studio properties in Hawaii. Its size of 550 sq ft is clearly listed in the description of the amenities. And cost comparison of studio/one bedrooms with direct semi private beach access make this cottage a rare commodity and a return to old Hawaii.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful location! Great for a small family!

  • 5 of 5

Everything went smoothly. The cottage was even nicer than the pictures can really show. It was very clean and the beach was perfect for us and our children. We loved snorkeling right there and exploring the North Shore. Would love to return.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo, you are welcome back anytime. We are so glad that you were able to experience our cottage and truly enjoy. Aloha E Komo Mai.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful studio !

  • 4 of 5

This place is a small cottage like room / studio with absolutely everything one could ask/wish for. It is very neatly maintained.The view cannot be beat ! It is absolutely the best view one could dream of. The beach is just steps away. My husband and I woke up every morning to walk on the beach and witness a glorious sunrise. The only reason why am giving this place a star less is because of its distance from everything else. Its far off from the airport, the beautiful east shore and the city life in waikiki. There are no decent dining options around. But if you like seclusion and are going to hang around only in the north shore then this is the one !

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ah so you did find the Hawaii of yesteryear. Yes we are 35 miles from Honolulu International Airport, but when you cross over thru the tunnels to the windward side of Oahu, the beauty is breathtaking and nothing short of amazing. This drive never gets old to us. Right along the oceans edge after you pass Kaneohe until you arrive at the cottage. And in Hawaii there is always food. Right up the road in Hauula there is PapaOlies, which has the best breakfast omlets, loco moco and pehleu ribs to die for. There is also fish tacos, a pizza place and Tamura's grocery store in the same complex. Right across the road there is a local okazua deli that serves teriyaki and kalbi that is so delicious. Usually their plate lunch is enough for two meals. Even within walking distance from the cottage there is the small Kaya's store, where you can find a subway or choose from the local fare being cooked at the counter at the back of the store. And yes a shrimp truck. So ono. In Laie there is an excellent Chinese resturant, a Five Guys Hamburger and Sandwich deli resturant, a shave ice and ice cream store. McDonald's and the Polynesian Cultural Center offers resturant dining without having to go in the facitlty as a tourist, or they also offer a extraordinary luau and luau buffet at night so you could dine before their night Polynesian fire dancing show. Don't forget the many shrimp trucks and BBQ in Kahuku near the old sugar mills. Giovanni's is considered one of the best. And in Haleiwa there are many small eateries, Historical Matsumoto's Shave ice and a must eat stop at Haleiwa Joe's. The dining room at Haleiwa Joe's overlooks the harbor and the prime rib is over an inch think and hard to beat. A must do at least once during your stay. As always, Hawaii is a multicultural dining experience that must be tried and savored to truly enjoy. And there are local dining gems hiding all through out the islands, just awaiting your discovery.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Turtle Bay
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Turtle Bay
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Papaole's (Good)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hauula Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$139
From
$139
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$942
$3,764
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.25%

Rate increases $10 for any person after 2 adults. $100 cleaning charge, refundable security $200. The rate for winter is $155.00 per night for 2people

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties