check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

LITTLE PINES 2BR, Deck, BBQ, Mntn Views, A/C, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Pets OK.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Wrightwood Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Charming Wrightwood Cabin near Mountain High, Big Pines Ziplines, WW Guest Ranch

LITTLE PINES CABIN is one of 5 vacation rentals in Wrightwood that we personally own. Check out our other listings as well: The Hideaway, Owls Nook, Chickadee, and Reindeer Cottage.

The Little Pines Cabin in Wrightwood is a light and airy 2-bedroom, 1-bath vacation home featuring a large, stone-lined wood burning fireplace, an open concept floor plan, a large full kitchen, and a wrap-around deck under towering pine trees (sleeps up to 7). Booking this Wrightwood cabin rental comes with discounts for local businesses, including $39 8-hr. passes for Mountain High (blackout dates apply; inquire for details). Little Pines cabin includes an authentic wooden sauna for 2 with steam rocks, a fenced yard, large gas grill, mountain bikes, rubber rafts, sleds, and more. Mountain views, close to hiking trails and sledding hills. Large flat screen and Dish Satellite TV & wifi.

Both bedrooms have sliding doors opening to the deck, which wraps around the house. Wake to views of snow-covered hills! Peek-a-boo mountain views from every window in the house. The large master bedroom features a romantic queen bed with canopy and a reading corner. The second bedroom has a bunk bed with a twin bed on town and a full/double on the bottom (sleeps 3), plus a small flat screen tv, DVD player, and Gamecube system with games. In the living room there's a pull-out queen sofa bed next to the fireplace. This Wrightwood home rental sleeps 7 total.

The cabin's contemporary kitchen has stainless steel appliances including dishwasher, refrigerator, and gas range, plus a built-in microwave, coffee & espresso makers, rice cooker, toaster, crock pot, and more. All dishes, pots and pans, utensils, dish towels, etc., are all provided.

The cabin's bathroom includes a tub/shower combo, hand-carved Mexican vanity with copper sink, slate floor, and global-travel themed decor. Towels and toiletries are provided.

Board games make for fun family game nights, as well as over 250 DVDs to choose from, including many new releases. Relax in the sauna, or grab the sleds or bikes for some outdoor fun. You can also hike in the national forest just a couple blocks from the cabin.

The cabin's back deck has a glass patio table & 6 chairs and large gas grill, plus a sitting area, and mountain views. Sit under the towering pine tree and gaze at the stars! There's also a tree swing and kids picnic table in the fenced backyard as well as a sitting area on the front deck with mountain views.

Guests can opt to add an additional studio cabin (The Hideaway) located on the back of the property with loft bedroom, living area, kitchenette, bathroom, and private deck (sleeps 3-4). Adding The Hideaway to your cabin rental allows your group to easily spend time together but still have some time apart when you want your own private space. Inquire for more info.

The Wrightwood Area: Fun Things to Do! And if you stay with us, you can likely do it all for cheaper with our guest discounts. In the winter head out to nearby Mountain High (5 miles) with its world class snowboarding, skiing, tubing, snow play, and more. In summer hike, fish, swim, or bring our rubber rafts to Jackson Lake, or drive a little further to Silverwood Lake for some of the best fishing, swimming, and boating around, from jet ski rentals to bald eagle barge tours. Enjoy the village of Wrightwood year-round (1.8 miles to the shops) where you can enjoy great food at charming local eateries, friendly pubs, antiques stores, a coffee house, gourmet health foods store, book store, gift shops, candy shop, plus lots of live music, festivals, and events.

Nature lovers and outdoor types have tons of options, including hiking the Pacific Crest Trail and other trails (some just down the road from the cabin), mountain biking, rock climbing, and more!

Wrightwood Location: Only a little over an hour away from the Los Angeles area, it feels like worlds away. A great place to get away from it all and step back in time at the village, yet enjoy modern conveniences in a contemporary cabin. Come experience the pleasure of waking up in Wrightwood!

MEMBERS of Wrightwood Lodging Association, Wrightwood Chamber of Commerce, San Bernardino County licensed/registered vacation rental.

**We can often negotiate -- Make us an offer!**

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Barbara (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, mandarin

About Barbara

We are a family of avid skiers and snowboarders that love the mountains! We also love to travel, which is why our cabins have a little bit of an international flair. We're authors and like to do our writing with a mountain view (look for our book Living Abroad in China at bookstores and on Amazon to learn more about us). In addition to renting our 5 Wrightwood cabins, we also have "real jobs" down the hill as professors.

Barbara purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Barbara chose Inland Empire

We bought this cabin to stay in when our teens wanted to ski/snowboard, especially since they are now doing competitions. We decided to rent it out when we weren't staying there and quickly discovered that we really enjoy sharing our cabin with other people who love the mountains as much as we do. Now we live full time in Wrightwood so we're available to help guests when needed.

What makes this cabin unique

We fell in love with the wrap-around deck, the peek-a-boo mountain views, the proximity to hiking trails. After looking at lots of places with too much depressing wood paneling, we loved the light and airy open floor plan of this cabin. When we stay here, we always grill out on the oversized gas grill, enjoy meals on the deck, and relax in the sauna.

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a wonderful retreat you have in your warm and cozy home! What a pleasure it was for us to drink in the beauty of the mountains and hear the sound of singing birds. Thank you for opening this beautiful cabin. It truly was the highlight of our trip from Minnesota. May God bless you richly for your delightful haven of rest!
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 59

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)
LITTLE PINES 2BR, Deck, BBQ, Mntn Views, A/C, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Pets OK.
average rating of 4.703704 based on 113 reviews
5

Easter weekend

  • 5 of 5

Getting away from home is always nice. We really loved the little pines cabin. We spent the weekend here with our kids and they LOVED IT. there is a patio that wraps around the house and a tire swing they couldn't wait to wake up in the morning and play on. It's always stressful bringing our 7 month old anywhere but she slept comfortably. Everything worked out so smoothly. The Easter bunny hid the eggs all around the property. The kids had so much fun. It's such a cozy little house! We didn't get to spend much time in the house because we were up there having our wedding and Easter but we will definitely consider going again one of these days. It was so relaxing!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Little Pines Cabin

  • 5 of 5

I recently rented Little Pines Cabin for my son and his family, they had a wonderful time. The cabin was immaculate, close to everything in wrightwood. They were very flexible on checking in and out to meet our needs. I would highly recommend this beautiful cabin. Thank you Barbara and Stu

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, cosy, perfect cabin

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is clean, it's comfortable, it's warm, it's relaxing. It's got pots and pans, cups and plates, forks and spoons, it's got lots of board games in the garage, it's got a neat fireplace, it's got a TV with direct TV channels, it's got clean sheets and comforters, it's got a clean bathroom with some hotel shampoos.

A+ stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for ranking us an A+ Stay, Thomas! We're glad you had a comfy, relaxing getaway, and we look forward to you coming back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Dirty, unprofessional, CAUTION!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

Note there pictures are misleading. Our stay was originally planned for Thursday -Sunday. So in a nutshell we arrived at 3 PM which is check in plenty of time to clean the cabin (as it is extremely small) We have a one-year-old and a three-year old upon arriving we noticed that the cabin was extremely dirty (had to do some cleaning since our little one still crawls) floors not clean fireplace full of ash, cobwebs on corner of walls, TV did not work, are bed was basically 4 x 4 pieces of wood with plywood and a mattress on top extremely uncomfortable, shower had some gunk in it and around the drain and the amenities they claim they offer are half used. They claim they keep movies up to date unfortunately the majority are VHS and in Japanese or Chinese. The Coffee pot had mold in it and I could go on. After arriving Thursday late afternoon we unpacked and settled in when we woke up in the morning Friday after reading the multiple rules and sticky notes everywhere around the house telling us to clean up do dishes make the housekeepers job easy or we will charge you more money we decided to pack up and leave it just wasn't worth it really unsanitary and unwelcoming feeling so we pack the kids up and left we emailed them immediately after leaving and notified them of our problems to be fair we asked for one day refund so we agreed to pay on the days we were there Thursday and even Friday "Not even 24 hours there " they would not refund us any thing very unprofessional we will be disputing this with our credit card company.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This young couple booked our place for New Year’s Eve, left in the morning, and then contacted us after they were gone demanding we give them over $500. We suspect they only wanted to stay for New Year’s Eve (we require a multiple night stay for winter holidays) and thought if they left early and complained about the property we’d simply give them money back. But that’s not the way things work. We will always immediately send a cleaner or personally do whatever we can to meet the needs of our guests, and can sometimes switch guests to another of our cabins, but these guests left without giving us the chance to solve anything, not contacting us until they were long gone. We found no gunk in the shower, no mold in the coffee maker, no broken TVs. What we did find was they completely trashed the place; it took 7 hours to get it ready for the next guests. Some of their comments are simply untrue, and some are simply misleading – for example, we literally have over 200 DVDs there, as well as Dish satellite with hundreds of channels. Yes, many DVDs have Chinese subtitles, which we purchase to help us study Chinese, but subtitles can be turned off. The bed (which they never even mentioned to us) is as they described, a platform bed we made from recycled wood – we enjoy upcycling things! We upcycled the fireplace mantle from old beams, we’ve turned doors into dining tables and tree limbs into table legs, and many of the beds at all five of our cabins are ones we’ve made. I think they’re just mad that we didn’t let them bully us. We even gave them their full deposit back, despite the hours of extra cleaning required, and have been nothing but polite with them at all times, despite their attitude and behavior. We aren’t afraid of a false bad review. You can check the reviews on our other 4 places (Reindeer Cottage, Owls Nook, Chickadee, Hideaway) for the same time period (cleaned by the same people, products, and processes), and you’ll see nothing but happy guests, and many of the reviews specifically mention the word clean. So don’t assume that all reviewers are being honest.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Little Pines Cabin, Wrightwood. Cozy, quaint & relaxing

  • 4 of 5

We celebrated my 65th birthday with our friends. It was so nice to have a home-away-from-home to take our shoes off after a day of snooping around Wrightwood. It was topped off with my girlfriend and I zip lining! Awesome experience. I've already recommended the cabin to our friends.

Best,

Vern & Patricia Norman

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure hosting you, Vern & Patricia. You're always welcome at your home away from home, so let us know when you're ready for another mountain getaway! And thanks for recommending us to your friends!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Cabin and Owners are Great!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was clean, spacious, and orderly. Directions for everything are clearly stated. Barbara is easy to get ahold of via email or text regarding any question or concern you may have. No complaints. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to having you back again, Briana. Glad to hear you had a good time!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Yodeler, Racoon Saloon, Blue Ridge
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Hwy 2; Hwy 138; Hwy 15
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Grizzly Cafe, Evergreen Cafe, Blue Ridge...
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Mountain High Snowboard and Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Five miles from Mountain High Snowboard and Ski Resort, Three miles from Navitat Canopy Tours and Zip Lines, and just 90 minutes from Los Angeles. The mountain hamlet of Wrighwood (2 miles from the cabins) features antique shops and galleries, quaint eateries and down-home pubs, coffee shops and bakeries. Tubing and snow play abound in winter weather. In warmer months the hiking is gorgeous (the town is on the Pacific Crest Trail) and trails can be reached easily from the cabin, plus nearby fishing, swimming lake, and all kinds of outdoor activities beneath the towering pine trees. The town hosts several fun events each year, such as classic car shows, chili cook-offs, Christmas caroling, lots of live music, and the like. A small town that feels worlds away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Other Activities: snow play, tubing, Shopping, Snowboarding, Wildlife Viewing, Spa. New in 2011 -- Ziplines and ropes courses!

Ski: Mountain High offers some of the best snowboarding, skiing, and tubing around. With three resorts, there's plenty for all skill levels, from bunny slopes for beginners to plenty of 'park' features for those with advanced skill in rails, boxes, jumps, and the like. Home to professional snowboarders and frequent competitions, tournaments, and events.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wrightwood Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring-Summer-Fall
Apr 1 2016 - Nov 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$165
$780
$2,800
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Winter Break 1
Dec 11 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Christmas & New Years Weeks
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$995
Flat fee
 
 
Winter Break 2 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
President's Day Weekend
Feb 16 2017 - Feb 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$185
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $75
Pet Fee $30
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 7.0%

1) PAYMENT INSTALLMENTS may be available upon request. If you are making an advance booking, we would be happy to set up payments rather than require all of it at booking.
2) Inquire about LAST MINUTE DISCOUNTS.
3) CANCELLATIONS must be done 30 days in advance to qualify for a refund, minus $25 processing fee. CHANGES to reservation dates also incur a $25 processing fee unless adding nights. If you think there is a possibility you may have to cancel less than 30 days before arrival, we strongly recommend you pay for the HomeAway vacation cancellation insurance. Details will be given to you by HomeAway when you book.
4) BOOKINGS NOT PAID 2wks before arrival cancelled without refund.
5) DEPOSIT refunds are processed within a week of checkout.
6) PET FEE is $30 for weekend stays. If staying more than a few days, a higher fee will be assessed. Additionally, if any pet mess is left in the yard, a cleaning fee will be assessed.
7) CLEANING & LINENS FEE: if you're looking to save money, it is possible to avoid this fee by not having it cleaned before you arrive and by bringing your own sheets, towels, TP, paper towels, and dish towels. Inquire for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wrightwood Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Little Pines bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Little Pines Cabin has one full bathroom, decorated with travel treasures. Add the detached Hideaway efficiency unit for an additional bathroom (along with sleeping room for up to 4 people, kitchenette, living area, private deck).
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed is twin over full/double. Sleeps 3.
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofa bed & its mattress are new. Cozy fireplace view.
  • Little Pines Cabin sleeps maximum of 7. Add The Hideaway studio to your rental (on the same property) for an additional bedroom, bathroom, living area with kitchenette (sleeps 3-4, see listing #399941 for rates and info).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Inflatable Boat
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Raft
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 11 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Singles
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
Notes:
Smoking limited to outdoors (on deck) with use of ashtray; guests must clean up all cigarette mess. NO BUTTS IN YARD due to fire hazard. Failure to follow smoking rules forfeits $200 deposit entirely.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties