check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Chad Varnell

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

$200 PER NIGHT WATERFRONT House with a 8 person HOT TUB on Lake LBJ

42 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Lago Escondido House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-10)

Winter special through February 2015 $200 per night ***Work directly with the owners and save money***

HELLO $200.00 PER NIGHT!!!!!11-2-15 / 2-28-16

Treat yourself to a waterfront 2-story, 2 bedroom / 2 bath home on constant level lake LBJ. Play all day in the lake, then cruise up to the house and dock your skis on the powered jet ski lifts. Hang out and relax on either of the huge, covered decks; or take a dip in the 8-person hot tub. Or relax in the hammock while someone barbeque's dinner on the Texas-sized smoker. Firewood's included with our 5-foot fire pit near the water, where you can relive the day's fishing stories with friends and family. Both bedrooms have FLAT SCREEN HDTV'S ~ The master bedroom has a king sized bed, and bunk beds; the additional bedroom downstairs has a full sized bed and futon. The living room has a 55' LCD HDTV, along with a queen sized sofa bed for extra sleeping. Stay in touch with the COMPUTER with printer, HIGH SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET, and phone with FREE LONG DISTANCE

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Chad Varnell (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Chad Varnell

This is our family's lake house that we would love to share with your family. Lots of fun memories.

Chad Varnell purchased this house in 2009

Why Chad Varnell chose Horseshoe Bay

Nice neat house on the water with 1200 square feet of covered porches, an outdoor kitchen and hot tub.

What makes this house unique

We have great pictures of our kids hand feeding the deer. It's a neat experience. The paddle boat is near the BBQ pit and is for your use during your stay.


based on 42 traveler reviews

$200 PER NIGHT WATERFRONT House with a 8 person HOT TUB on Lake LBJ
average rating of 4.547619 based on 42 reviews
Midland, Texas

Best Family Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5

Our family just returned from Horseshoe Bay after having the best vacation ever. Myself, husband, son, daughter-in-Law and 14 month old grandson totally enjoyed every aspect of the house! It was AWESOME! The house was very clean and people and toddler friendly! We feed the deer and ducks everyday! The hot tub was 1st class and very well kept!

We will be back in the fall for more R and R! Thanks to Chad and his family for allowing our family to have such a pleasant vacation!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Summer fun

  • 5 of 5

Home very clean, beautiful neighborhood, everyone comfortable in beds, plenty of room, 3 day stop on road trip, owner very accessible, would visit again :)

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind words I can't wait to see you again next year
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice Place - Exactly as Described

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time and loved the place. The large covered outdoor spaces were perfect for relaxing and getting out of the sun. Everything was as described. Place was nice and clean. Pool guy came out one afternoon and tested the hot tub chemicals, etc. so that was nice to see :). Appliances and furnishings were all in good working order. No complaints. Would rent again.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review I sure appreciate your help I'm sorry that the fan was giving you some fits upstairs I'll get up there and fix it this week enjoy your trip back home
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place for a get away!!

  • 5 of 5

The property is great inside and out!! My wife really enjoyed the baby deer in the yard. Really close to Horseshoe Bay. Great location and property!! We will visit again!!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad yall had a good time, please come back soon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

The home was lovely and well-kept. Our only complaint was that the pictures were deceptive. We were wanting to fish but the water in the area is only about 8" deep. Definitely not able to fish!

If you're just wanting a pretty place to stay, I'd recommend it. If you're wanting to fish, it's a waste of money.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate you taking the time to write a review I really appreciate the input however I'm not sure where you got the 8 inch depth of the water my family and I fish there all the time the water is 5 feet deep
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Decent deal, but not a comfortable place to stay

  • 2 of 5

Booking, check-in, and check-out were a breeze.

Although it looks like this home has a boat dock (listing doesn't say it has one, just pictures), it doesn't, which meant launching and trailering our boat each day because the retaining wall is in too shallow of water.

This home sleeps 10 people, but it's very cramped and all beds except the king in the master bedroom are most uncomfortable to sleep on. The futon in the entryway counts as a bed and is not really fit for two adults. The bunk beds in the master bedroom are unstable and have prodding spring mattresses. The couch bed in the living room is similar.

We had a major issue with the air conditioner not working the first night and up until about 10pm the second night, leaving the home at 85 or more degrees and totally unlivable--we all slept horribly the first night. It took 4 phone calls to the owner to resolve the issue, and his response was less than kind. At first, we were told to wait it out. Then, the owner would call a repairman, but only if we agreed to pay for the trip if it turned out there wasn't really a problem with the A/C unit. That's clearly not part of a tenant's responsibility. Simply a manipulative tactic to intimidate a tenant in an attempt to shift the landlord/owner's liability to the tenant. The air filter was so caked with dust, it was blocking most of the airflow, thus contributing to the problem. The owner replaced the filter. Once the A/C was back working, we received no follow up from the owner.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review however I do believe that you wrote the review when you're angry at the world our house sleeps 10 people you are correct as you can tell from the pictures before you rented the house what the sleeping arrangements were going to be I believe that you may have forgot that we have a full size bed downstairs with a expensive mattress that is the most comfortable bed in the house. The air conditioning in the house is new I believe that someone in your party left the door open and the air conditioner was running this will cause the unit to freeze up. As per my recollection you me and bring this to my attention until the second night around 8 PM at that time I instructed you to turn the air-conditioning off and to let the fan run for one hour after that hour we could restart the system and everything would be just fine. You called me 45 minutes after we started the process and Demanded that I send a technician. I reassured you that the system will work as long as we follow the directions and wait the full hour. I gave you the option to pay for the air-conditioning technician if you wanted to have someone come out and tell you exactly what I was telling you to do already I have a feeling by this time the night you have a significant amount of alcohol and could not clearly follow directions. The air conditioning filters are changed on the first of the month every month. I am probably one of the most responsible owners of a vacation rental every time somebody calls or text I am on it very quickly I'm sorry that you are not happy with my service or my house hopefully in the future you will find something you will be happy with. We are human beings and there are mistakes from time to time we do our very best to make sure that everything is as enjoyable as possible anytime that a tenant brings a problem we go above and beyond to fix the problem as quick as possible as you can see in our past we try very hard
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Nearest Ferry
84 Miles
Nearest Beach
59 Miles

15 Minutes to Marble Falls, 60 Minutes to Austin

Other Activities: Parasailing, Shopping, Boating, Wildlife Viewing, Kayaking, Swimming, Walking, Reading


Rates & Availability

Lago Escondido House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lago Escondido House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Town ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Printer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , WITH BUNK BED
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • * King Bed * Double Bed * Bunk Bed * Convertible Bed
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Porch Furniture
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer * Minimum Age Limit for Renters * boat ramp within walking distance

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers