check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Quiet Family Retreat Next To A Great Lake!!

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Barnstead Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Maximum Occupancy 5, 4 adults including day gues

Quiet family getaway, with maximum occupancy of 5 (4 adults). Enjoy the private beach and use of our paddle boat. BBQ and firepit, DVD player. Some movies and games are available. Waterfront is a three minute walk. Nestled in the woods, very private. Loons can be heard in the evenings and at night. Pet possible. A screened in porch and large deck are shown in the photos. Three separate bedrooms. There is no wifi at this property.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

April Ellis
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 24, 2016
Call Owner

About April Ellis

Local homeowners who love living on the lake!!

April Ellis purchased this cabin in 2009

Why April Ellis chose Lakes Region

Beautiful in all seasons, we love living on the lake in a small, closeknit town.

What makes this cabin unique

We love having family over and playing together on the lake and then having a great campfire and night. Marshmellow anyone???

Guestbook comments from the owner

So glad you had a great time and we appreciate your comments as we are always striving to improve the property. I am so glad you were able to attend the Pittsfield Balloon Rally on your trip! Hope you will come back next year!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 2


based on 15 traveler reviews

Quiet Family Retreat Next To A Great Lake!!
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 17 reviews

Nice get away

  • 4 of 5

Cabin was close to a cute lake (2 minute walk maybe) and we used the paddle boat the owner provided to go exploring. Life vests are provided, too, even a child size which was nice for us since we had a 2 year old. They had a nice propane grill for grilling. Overall the property could be cleaned up a bit (broken down play structure and boat in the yard that haven't been used in years) and the interior could be improved in some places, too (couch is run down and broken TV is left in the screened in porch) That said, it was nice to have a screened in porch to hang out on. Overall it was fine for 2 days. Property manager was very responsive and so easy to work with. She even stopped by to check on things and tell us about things to do in the area shortly after we arrived which was a nice plus.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay. We had a great time here.

  • 5 of 5

This property was a great place to stay. My girlfriend and I had a good time here. The lake is close by and the paddle boat was a lot of fun. The living space was very clean. The area is quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed using the grill for dinner and relaxing on the deck. There is a good chance we'd rent this property again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well-Equipped Cabin in Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5

We were at this cabin in July and chose it mainly because of its location: it is just off Route 28 and only an hour and a half from Boston.

But it's also in a wonderful setting. Besides being in the middle of a lush forest, it is a very short walk to Lower Suncook Lake,

where we found a nice private beach with excellent swimming and boating (a small paddleboat is provided).

We were also pleasantly surprised by the well-equipped kitchen and used the outdoor propane BBQ grill to make a

wonderful dinner in the screened-in patio. The three bedrooms were perfect for the four people in our group and

everything was clean and in good condition.

About the only downside was poor cellphone service and limited TV reception, but if you want to get away from it all,

that shouldn't matter. (We had great weather, but if you run into rain, there is a DVD player with movies for entertainment).

We hope to return in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much - we are so glad you enjoyed the cabin and will return for another getaway!!! April Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A plain vanilla cabin

  • 3 of 5

We spent one week at this cabin. It was clean. The screened-in porch was pleasant and the deck was large enough for a get together. It seems like the owners are slowly updating the place because the flooring, ceiling fans, and curtains were relatively new. However, all the furniture and linens were passed down from a previous century. The shower stall must have been brought on the arc with Noah. If you plan to cook bring all your own utensils; the place didn't even have a cookie sheet or cutting board. We did not know until we arrived that the water had not been tested. Had we had prior information we would have brought bottled with us. We had either no bars or one bar for our AT&T cell phones, were a little concerned being completely out of touch in case our kids needed to contact us. The owner was responsive and cooperative. The price is probably okay for what you get.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the cabin it was very relaxing with plenty of room the screened in porch was a bonus I would highly recommend staying there

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mark and family, we are so glad you enjoyed you getaway on your recent trip. I hope it was peaceful and a relaxing place to connect. April
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Exactly what we wanted.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time relaxing at the lake. Thanks for having us.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
JJ Goodwins
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Loudon Country Club
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Interstate 93
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Johnson's Restaurant
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
Suncook Lake
Car: recommended

Our cabin is located close to outlet shopping (Tilton, NH and Kittery, ME), skiing (Gunstock), Lake Winnipausakee attractions. A large variety of day trips in our area include StoryLand, Santa's Village, Water Country, Weirs Beach Arcade, Hampton Beach, Meadowbrook Music Pavillion, Verizon Wireless Arena, Cog Railway, Conway (outlets). We are only an hour from the Maine coast and two hours from Boston.


Rates & Availability

Barnstead Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Barnstead Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Shower stall, no tub
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
  • Beds will be made upon arrival. Additional sheets are stored onsite. Shower and kitchen towels are stored. Please bring beach towels, we have some but not a lot.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties