Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)
Marla or Jay
- english, mandarin, Tagalog, Fukienese
About Marla or Jay
Island Beach Rentals LLC RB-21967 manages this property on behalf of the owners. We have a team to service our guests and properties. We are here to assist you with the perfect island vacation and any requests during your stay. Marla is our Reservation Agent and Kirsten is the manager of Guest Services. Jay and Arlene are Owners and Carla Ellis is the Principal Broker. Our staff oversees all of the day to day operations: repairs, communications, arrivals and guest requests. We are on call every day for any emergency or guest need. We have numerous repeat guests. We have been managing Vacation Rentals in Paradise for over 22 years and we have lived in the Islands for all of our lives. We are here to assist you with your dream vacation! Professional, but personal and friendly “aloha” style. We have been around a long time and we have reputation that we are proud of. We look forward to speaking with you soon and helping you with your dream vacation! Aloha!
Why Marla or Jay chose Puako
Puako (Pu-ah-ko) is a small, quaint oceanfront community on the Kohala Coast of the Big Island located about 30 miles north of Kailua-Kona and 22 miles north of the Kona airport. The island's largest white sand beach, Hapuna, is right next door. Puako is conveniently located for visiting all the resort hotels and restaurants on the Kohala Coast. The Mauna Kea, the Fairmont Orchid, the Mauna Lani and Hilton Hotels are just minutes away with their beaches, first class restaurants, shops and world class golf courses. Kohala Divers is nearby at Kawaihae Center, and offers various ocean activities including scuba diving and sunset/afternoon sails. Kawaihae Center and Harbor are just 10 minutes by car, with several great restaurants and shops. You are close to almost any activity you may choose, with the exception of the volcano which is a 3 hour drive from Kohala. Several fabulous beaches are minutes away. Hapuna Beach (voted best beach in Hawaii by Conde Nast Magazine) and Waialea Bay (Beach 69) both are wonderful for swimming, snorkeling and boogie boarding. The neighborhood is called Puako, and it is conveniently located for touring all parts of the island. All homes in this neighborhood are on small acreage, so it is a very low density area. Driving time to the Kona airport is approx. 40 minutes, Kailua Kona 50 minutes, Waimea 20 minutes, Hilo 1½ hours, Captain Cook, coffee country, 1¼ hours, Hawi and Polulu Valley 20-30 minutes.
What makes this Condo unique
The sun shines 355 days per year and the average temperature highs are in the 80's with low's in the 60's. The ocean's edge is about 150 feet from your doorstep with crystal blue water that is 72-76 degrees year round. Puako offers ideal fishing, snorkeling, diving, surfing and kayaking. Walking and biking is a favorite, too! Sea turtles, dolphins and whales are some of the sea life you may see. Puako offers beach style living and a real sense of getting away from it all. Puako is rich in Hawaiian history. Walk south along the ocean trail to see the petroglyphs. There are approximately 3,000 petroglyphs scattered throughout the Puako Archaeological Fields. These pictures are etched into the lava rock that dominates the Kohala and Kona Coasts. Access to the Puako Petroglyph Park is through the adjacent Mauna Lani Resort. The waters around Puako are extremely clear due to the fresh water run off and strong coastal currents. Divers and snorkelers can enjoy waters abundant in sea life along the shallow reef at Puako. The Puako Marine Preserve is a protected environment for endangered sea life. Green sea turtles are a protected species and should not be bothered, only enjoyed and admired. Watch the humpback whales play along the coast. Beyond Puako's reef shelf the whales play and breach during their migration to Hawaii from Alaska. It is quite a sight!
Pool / Spa
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Damage and incidentals
You will be responsible for any damage to the rental property caused by you or your party during your stay.
Max guests: 8
Location and view is great but this condo unit is need of renovation
I stayed here four nights out of five nights I booked since requirement was five-night minimum over Christmas break. For the price I paid, I expected a better place. My trip on BI was broken down to 3 Vrbo locations and this was by far the worst one.
When I arrived at the condo, the day after I was supposed to come, the door code didn't work. I emailed the property manager but did not get a response. I had to call the property manager to get the code. They changed the code on me and did not give me the new code! I called the property manager one more time to see where I can park a second vehicle. The condo complex only has one parking spot per condo unit, no extra parking space for guests!
Upon entering, a person was in the condo saying that I arrived earlier than expected and that she was there to replenish things. That was weird because I actually arrived a day later than what I booked it for. I was also shocked to see that the pictures do not match up with the Vrbo listing! Furniture and decor were more drab than the pictures online. I would not have booked this condo if they updated the pictures to accurately represent the condo. This place is in need of a big renovation! The flooring is old; living room had old hardwood floors and some rooms had old carpet. I actually stepped in small specks of glass in the carpeted den (not easily seen unless really close to the ground)! I tried my best to vacuum the glass from the carpet but the vacuum did not work properly! Later, one of the showers would not turn on. I emailed the property manager these things but I did not get a response back. Good thing there are three bathrooms.
There is not a good representative picture of the kitchen online. The width of the kitchen is as wide as the stove! Luckily, I am not that big but it was tight to have more than one person in the kitchen. There is no A/C either so it is very hot but luckily the fans work in all of the rooms. Also, some of the glass panels could not be opened. If it rains, water can get through the windows easily and there is carpet on the patio that was soaked.
Another quirk is you can hear everything through the windows! You can hear your neighbors talking, kids playing, babies crying, TV on loudly from the first floor! Our kids were told that they were too loud at the pool.
What is great is the fresh fruit outside, the recycling area, the store is right next door, ocean is across the street, church down the way and the view is awesome!
Sorry to hear you folks didn't enjoy your time at the Puako Condo 406. You should have received an email from vrbo with the directions and lockbox which did not change. It has been the same code since you booked. Unfortunately, this unit does not come with AC and we don't advertise that is does. We does come with ceiling fan's and upon request, we can deliver stand up fans. Also, the unit does get a nice shoreline breeze. Thank you for informing us regarding the glass louvres we will be sending our service guy to fix them. We apologize we didn't respond to your vrbo message regarding the finding of glass on the floors. In the welcome book, we do provide our phone contact information as well. Again we apologize the unit was not what you expected. We do try our best to serve our guest with the best of our abilities. Our goal is to make sure our guest is happy during their visit. If you do decide to come back to Hawaii we would be happy to accommodate you folks at another one of our properties and offer a discount.
Well appointed condo with magnificent view. Nice floor plan that could be two suites
Property is badly in need of updating. Poor maintenance in that most screen doors stuck and hall closet off its rails entirely. Bed linens rather sad. My room had soiled sheets with Male cologne and hair smell on pillowcase. Invest in some memory foam beds or toppers. Well appointed with most everything one would need. Great location with a store next door and beach access across the street.
Thank you for your comments. We have gotten everyone on the team to examine these issues and have made some improvements. If you had mentioned any of these issues to us we would have been able to take care of them immediately. Also, there will be new items at the condo added which should please all of our guests going forwards. We are pleased that the place has been increasingly booked as the owner and our team have incrementally improved the place between each stay as time permitted. We appreciate the feedback and everyone has taken it to heart from the cleaners, handyman and assistant property manager.
The condo was perfect and we had more room than we needed. Clean, well-equipped and well maintained with a serviceable kitchen and updated bathrooms (3!) You might be tempted to bring various things but you don't need to. There were plenty of high quality beach towels, beach chairs, even a beach umbrella. Previous guests had left behind enough staples and condiments to make it easy to cook, and you can get groceries right next door, although the food land in Mauna Lani was cheaper. The building manager was lovely and put a small bouquet of flowers in the elevator every day. It's also super close to two of the best beaches we've ever experienced., Hapuna and Beach 69, and easy driving distance to charming farmers' markets in Waimea. But it's all about the view. We whale/sunset watched and star gazed on the balcony, then watched the sunrise from the back gallery. Just spectacular.
Puako Beach Condo Trip
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this condo. I am familiar with this complex having lived in the area many years ago and wanted to return but not pay the rate for beachfront. The condo was a great value and the location and view was equal to the higher priced accomodations in the same area.
the rental was clean and well stocked for our purposes. We had enough space to invite family from Maui and Honokaa to come join us for a few nights.
We plan to return and will recommend this condo to other friends and family.
The area has grown significantly since I lived there in the late 1970s. The harbor has several good restaurants, along with the Waikoloa area shops and eateries. However, my favorite is still the Hau Tree for lunch and a Mai Tai at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. There is so much available in this area now that we did not make it to Kona this trip.