Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Brand New Cedar Oceanfront Housewith Most Amazing Ocean View

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

If you are a Nature lover this location is for you. South Beach features extensive vegetable, herb and flower gardens for the enthusiast.

Keywords: Built in 2010. This home offers picture perfect views of Towhill and Alaska from your balcony. The interior features two sunken tubs (one with ocean views) with separate showers and an 8 burner Wolfe Range. All appliances and pillow top beds are brand new. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and old growth forest. Enjoy our farm fresh (omega 3) eggs delivered to your door. Fish for Rainbow Trout in our pond.


Owner
Jody Grange
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2017

Amenities

Masset House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Monument View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Master bedroom has ocean views from a sunken, jetted tub. 2nd bathroom also has a separate shower and sunken jetted tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1) Single sofa sleeper in 1 bedroom for children (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Brand New Cedar Oceanfront Housewith Most Amazing Ocean View
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
4

Nice house right on the beach

  • 4 of 5

The house is situated on a nice large property, right on the beach. Although, you don't actually get the entire house to yourself as there is a caretaker living on the ground floor and you have the top floor (stair access). The owners also have a house on the property but were not home during our visit.

The beds were very comfortable but the rest of the furniture in the house was pretty dated. All of the dining room chairs had lost their padding and were uncomfortable to sit on. The couch was old and all the seats were sunk in. Thankfully, we had decent weather and spent most of our time outside exploring the island. However, if the weather was bad or we just wanted to spend some time curled up inside enjoying the view or the fireplace, it would have been very uncomfortable.

The bathrooms were nice. Large soaker tubs looked awesome (but we never got around to using them) and there were nice large showers. One toilet wouldn't flush intermittently (waterline issue?) so we had to fill a garbage can from the bathtub to fill the toilet tank.

Nice large kitchen with huge stove/range and fridge. Lots of utensils. Espresso machine didn't work but there was a drip coffee machine so we used that. Fresh eggs was a nice touch :)

Lots of split firewood for the fireplace was very handy. Although, I believe the fireplace is the only source of heat and it was too small to stock up and keep burning all night. So the house was cold on cool winter mornings and took a while to warm up.

Overall, still a good place to stay :)

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After reading your review, I felt I should respond as many of your comments are false. I don’t mind criticism, but I respect the truth. The Carriage House name does imply that there is another house on the property. However, the main house is not seen from where you were and is located at the other end of the 7 acres. There is a small, unobtrusive caretaker suite on the other side of the house. You spoke daily with him and remarked the place was great, comfortable and how much you loved it. Also, I am SHOCKED that you took it upon yourself to hang three dead deer from the stairs without asking. The home is warm, extremely well insulated and both bathrooms have radiant heated floors. Also, because you were a day late arriving (and didn’t telephone) the wood stove and floors were on two days before your arrival and the house warm and toasty. The wood stove you refer to is a new premium airtight one that is designed to heat a medium size house. Other guests have accidentally put too much wood in the stove and needed to open the doors because of the heat. I also supply an additional oil heater that is capable of heating the Carriage House. So, with the radiant floors, wood stove and oil heater, you had more than ample heat. The espresso machine works fine as well. I understand you cracked the carafe on the other machine and my caretaker gave you his, nice guy. I agree the dining room chairs could use extra padding. As for old furniture, there is a difference between old furniture and very expensive antiques that are like new. Everyone that has stayed in the Carriage House mentions how beautiful they are. The plumbing problem was ONE night. The weather on the west coast has been unusually cold this year, and there was an unforeseen frozen pipe. The caretaker placed a heater on the problem, there were no water issues during your stay. Because you missed the first night of your stay due to weather and a canceled ferry, I offered you a free night. The very morning of this review you emailed, thanked me, and said you had a great time. No mention of anything in your review. You’re welcome Mitchel but asking for money instead of the free night--after you check out does not show good manners. I can’t control the ferry or the weather. I also can’t help but think this review is related.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful beach home

  • 5 of 5

Such a lovely home. Description of it was accurate and the owners are super helpful. Can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Spruce Grove, Alberta
5

Surpassed expectations

  • 5 of 5

We knew that the Carriage House was going to be exceptional, but it far surpassed what we'd expected.

There's not a lot more that I could add to what others have said. The house itself -- gorgeous. Well appointed, everything you could want. Waking up in the morning and looking straight out to the water was amazing. You are actually right on the beach. It is a huge property, but there is a short, pleasant pathway to the gated fence with the beach right on the other side.

The property is stunning -- gardens, ponds, fire pits. All of it delightful

We loved every moment in this beautiful home -- especially the one where we got married in a small, but lovely ceremony, facing the ocean. Very romantic!

Jody was fabulous to deal with during my emails and phone calls. She's lovely! She was away when we first arrived, but her husband, Rick, was a generous and gracious host.

We can't wait to come back to Haida Gwaii. It stole our hearts. And when we do return, you can bet we will be booking at the Carriage House again. We have stayed at many VRBO's and this is at the top of the list.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A real gem

  • 5 of 5

My partner and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Carriage House for our first visit to Haida Gwaii. The property is beautiful, complete with a greenhouse, chicken coops (with well cared for chickens and ducks!), and excellent beach access. The house itself is beautiful, very tastefully decorated with a wonderfully stocked gourmet kitchen. It was a pleasure to cook! The caretaker Mike is awesome, and he supplied us with fresh eggs and wonderful chats! The views from the balcony are incredible and just being so close to the amazing beach (Haida Gwaii's beaches are beyond incredible) was worth it! Communication with Jody was great, even though they were away, and we had everything that we needed. I personally fell in love with Haida Gwaii, and would return to the Carriage House in a heartbeat...we were sad we had to leave! A special thanks to Mike for making our visit very enjoyable!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful, well-kept, amazing location! Would return in a heartbeat!

  • 5 of 5

From the first communication with Jody, the owner, to our arrival at the house (where a fire was already lit for us!) The transaction was amazing! The property is immaculatly kept and the house is beautiful and well appointed. Mike the caretaker, was a great source of information and fresh eggs. We enjoyed our chats with him learning about the chickens and other aspects of the farm and island. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean, cooking in the lovely kitchen and walking the beach were some of our favourite things. We already miss the house and Haida Gwaii! We can't wait to return! Overall a fantastic experience! Thanks to Mike and Jody for making our holiday so memorable.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Delta, BC CANADA
5

Heaven at the carriage house

  • 5 of 5

Right from the start, communication with Jody was amazing; she was helpful, kind and informative.

We were welcomed with open arms to this truly incredible haven.

The carriage house is impeccably furnished with comfortable surroundings, and stunning art work. We enjoyed cooking many meals in the professionally outfitted kitchen. What a joy it was to sit at the elegant dining table and look out at the ocean.

We were treated to fresh eggs, raspberries and fresh produce every day.

We especially loved our daily visits with Chelsea the resident lovely lab (don't forget to bring her a treat). Also, not be missed the the three little pigs, we enjoyed their antics so much...Olivia, Spot and Oreo also love a special treat everyday.

Mike the caretaker was so very helpful and attentive, we loved his bantams...he keeps the grounds immaculate.

It was a bucket list adventure of a lifetime, we are so grateful to have chosen this property and to have met the owners.

Book it now!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Masset
Nearest Barpub
10 Kilometres
MASSET
Nearest Ferry
90 Kilometres
Queen Charlotte City
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Masset Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
Home is off the main HWY
Nearest Restaurant
10 Kilometres
MASSET
Nearest Beach
in your front yard
Car: necessary

Located a short drive to North Beach, Naikoon Park and Towhill.

The home features beautiful sunrises and sunsets from you balcony. River for Trout fishing a short walk away. Great location for beach combing, crabbing, and hiking. Did I mention that the owners are really nice and very accommodating?

Photos

Rates & Availability

Masset House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall/Winter
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$185
$1,110
 
 
Standard
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$222
$1,554
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$222
$1,554
$739,899
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $73.99

We also charge a $100. cleaning fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties