check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Relax at the Lakeview Beach this summer!

23 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Lorain House Rental Photos and Description

Welcome to your home for the week/weekend! 'A Beach Cottage' Vacation Rental offers a relaxing stay directly across from Lakeview Beach and South Lakeview Park. This charming Craftsman style bungalow has original woodwork, hardwood floors and fireplace offering a comfortable stay for guests and includes three first floor bedrooms and bath along with living/dining room and kitchen and offers additional bedrooms and baths on upper and lower levels. Enjoy morning strolls at the beach with hot coffee, or walks through the historic rose garden or quaint well-maintained neighborhood. Relax and soak in the sunshine on the beach. Indulge in a massage with on-site LMT. Take it up a notch with countless activities: tennis, basketball, bike-riding, volleyball, kayaking, fishing. Allow the breathtaking sunset over Lake Erie and the colorful fountain to set the mood for your evening as you take in the splendor on the large front porch.

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Kelly Jo Kucirek
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Owner


based on 23 traveler reviews

Relax at the Lakeview Beach this summer!
average rating of 4.0869565 based on 23 reviews

Just Right For a Family

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 12 loved spending time here! Tennis courts, a beautiful beach, a large formal rose garden, fountain and more were right outside the door.

The house is unique, cozy, and peaceful. You can tell much work has been put into it. Beds were comfy, kitchen was well supplied, bathrooms clean. It wasn't overly fancy...but neither are we! We felt very much at home, and we plan to return next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Space was in a great location and well stocked.

  • 5 of 5

I loved the location and proximity to the beach. The town was so quant and peaceful. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A lovely home that was perfect for a large family stay.

  • 4 of 5

We found this lovely home that fit our family to a tee. There was my wife and me, my three grown children, the husband of one my daughters and their two young children along with my brother. There were bedrooms enough for all. If you are expecting five-star accommodations, this home may be a wee bit old and rustic for you. For others more tolerant of older homes, you will find a charming and welcoming place. Yes, there were things we needed to adapt to like the rustic bathroom in the basement and the low ceilings on the second floor, but those were small issues for our laid-back family. The kitchen was under-supplied with cookware, but we found ways to prepare everything we wanted to. The kitchen is not large, but it was a focal point for the family in the late evening as we all gathered for ice cream. There is a park across the street and a beach just minutes away across West Erie Avenue. We are looking to return there sometime in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying! I am happy to hear that the home accommodated your large family gathering! I realize you had originally hoped to stay longer and I look forward to your return when you can spend even more time enjoying the surrounding parks and beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The cottage was perfect for 6 of us, plenty of room and porch space to relax and catch up. Very clean and organized, and Kelly was accessible and easy to communicate with!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming stay for a group of 8

  • 4 of 5

The home was a nice and charming cottage that fit my family and friends perfectly. Central location to Cleveland and Sandusky. Kelly was also great to deal with and would definitely recommend this property for those who are not expecting some high end resort type rental but rather a homely stay.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Andrew. I am glad your visit went well and you found A Beach Cottage to be the casual charming cottage it is intended to be! My adjacent property, the Beacon, is a bit more formal for smaller groups. As I continue to make improvements to each, I am happy to offer both as they truly are in a convenient location as well as right at the beach and parks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, OH

Really only 2 bedrooms and not kid friendly

  • 1 of 5

My family of four (2 adults, 2 kids under 2) spent a week at this house last summer with my sister, her husband and their two kids (4 yrs and 2 yrs). We love old houses (my sister and her husband are renovators) so we were super excited to stay here and relax at the beach a few days. We were very disappointed. They checked in first, met Kelly and were immediately told that the cable was out and wouldn't be fixed for 2 days. (No cable = no internet.) When the cable man did come, he had to wait because the cable box was located in our bedroom and I was nursing the baby and not dressed. We also had trouble with the sleeping arrangements. The basement was moldy/musty and the stairs are narrow and dangerous (I fell down them). So that "bedroom" is off limits. The upstairs "bedroom" has treacherous/low stairs and it's only accessible through another "bedroom" (aka: hallway with a full bed in it). Our kids ended up sleeping in the same room with us... the 2 year old on the floor because a pack in play wouldn't fit in the purple room. This 5 bedroom house is really only a 2 bedroom house with a loft. Also, the "kitchen renovation" means one wall has been retiled (badly) and the rest of the shelves have been left open (again, not great for kids). The beach is nice and has a playground. The park across the street is also nice. But the house itself is not great for families with little kids. It might be a nice getaway for two couples or a family with teenagers who don't mind people walking through their bedroom.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately these problems weren't brought to my attention during the stay, rather than 7 months after the departure! Internet and dehumidifier issues certainly would have been remedied. I would have even offered a blow up mattress if they insisted their best option was having a child on the floor. Earlier the same month (August), I had a family twice the size who left a 5 star review! With 4 adults and 4 kids (2 couples with their children), this was a relatively small group. I didn't anticipate them needing to use basement, I could have ran dehumidifier. Bedroom referenced absolutely not a hall, an actual room, just happens to have the access stairs through, as some older homes do, and unfortunate low ceiling at top of stair "landing" but children could have stayed there if too young to be upstairs alone then one set of parents could be upstairs, leaving 2 other bedrooms, 1 for 2nd set parents, one for 2nd set of children. Purple bedroom referenced is absolutely large enough to add the pack n play or crib That is available for guest use. But yes I would love to relocate the staircase, simply not in the budget at this time, especially when I keep the rates extremely reasonable for the guests. Kitchen remodel includes new cabinets, sink, countertops, layout, paint and tile (many have complimented the tile). Yes some open cabinets ( mainly upper cabinet which is out of reach of little ones!) most base cabinets have doors. The base cabinet that has open shelving is an added cabinet, empty, simply offers available shelving if guests choose to use for their own extra items. I certainly couldn't help that cable box malfunctioned...and no, that didn't mean lack of internet access. Again, I wished they would have asked, worst case, I would have given WI-FI code access to pick up signal from my adjacent home! Every year, during the quieter winter season, I make it my goal to make improvements while continuing to offer extremely reasonable rates. I carefully consider each guests critique, good or bad. I want my guests to truly enjoy their stay and look forward to their return, which many continue to do!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Cleveland Hopkins International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Jackalopes Lakeside
Nearest Ferry
1.2 Miles
Jet Express
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Fox Creek Golf and Raquet Club
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Rose Cafe at Lakeview Beach
Nearest Ski
43 Miles
Boston Mills/Brandywine Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Lakeview Beach
Car: recommended

We are located at Lakeview Beach and South Lakeview Park, Lorain, OH, midway between Cleveland and Sandusky (home of Cedar Point Amusement Park). Enjoy morning strolls at the beach with hot coffee, or walks through the historic rose garden or quaint well-maintained neighborhood. Relax and soak in the sunshine on the beach. Indulge in a massage with on-site LMT. Take it up a notch with countless activities: tennis, basketball, bike-riding, volleyball (park or beach), kayaking and paddle-board (rentals nearby). Allow the breathtaking sunset over Lake Erie and the colorful fountain to set the mood for your evening as you take in the splendor with music and wine on the large front porch overlooking South Lakeview Park as well as Lakeview Beach. Spend your vacation at the beach or enjoy a variety of packages including Romantic Getaways, Girl's Night Out, Wine tours, Cedar Point, Cleveland museums/concerts/sporting events; Jet Express to the islands, charter boat/fishing. We can arrange convenient unique settings for corporate, private or club parties, weddings, reunions and retreats. We can plan your whole event including just about anything you desire from flowers to limousine service. We can make it happen! We are a proud sponsor of Follow the Fish Arts and Adventure Trail, Lorain County.

Lorain is home to the International Festival and Port Fest at Black River Landing and its downtown is soon to be added as a 'Main Street' restoration project. Ms. Kucirek, acquired the adjacent property, 'The Beacon B&B' in 2003 after falling in love with the open airiness of the surrounding parks and magnificent beach. She realized her dream of opening a B&B at Lakeview Beach in 2012 and acquired this second property, 'A Beach Cottage' to share with visitors. We are conveniently located on Lake Erie, Lorain OH, less than an hour and midway between Cleveland and Sandusky (Cedar Point/Put in Bay) on SR 6 with easy access to SR2/I-90 and I-80 (turnpike). We are 2 hours from Detroit and Columbus.


Rates & Availability

Lorain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Mar 20 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
2017 summer/holiday
Mar 19 2017 - Oct 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 6.0%

This standard rate applies only to single room reservations (2 guests maximum)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lorain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1088 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties