check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

J. Michael Halwig MD

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Enjoy an outstanding ocean rental 25% off from 8/13/16-8/20/16

10 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Daufuskie Island House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 6 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

This property is located in the Melrose on the Beach plantation directly on the ocean. There are great views of the Atlantic Ocean, Hilton Head Island and Tybee Island from most rooms and the multiple porchs and decks.

The home is on the Jack Nicolas designed golf course overlooking the 16th green and 17th tee. There is an oceanfront private pool.

There are 3 oceanfront master suites each with its own Jacuzzi tub. There are three oceanfront decks and two fairway decks. There is a screened porch of the kitchen for outdoor dining. The home has three separate living areas and two laundry rooms. There is a second refrigerator for extra food and a wine cooler with wet bar.

Rentals booked for 2016 will include a 10% discount on Melrose Resort meals and golf for guests.

Keywords: beach home, vacation home, villa, cottage

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
J. Michael Halwig MD (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 10 traveler reviews

Enjoy an outstanding ocean rental 25% off from 8/13/16-8/20/16
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
4

Beautiful home on a quiet beach with well equipped kitchen!

  • 4 of 5

Knowing the weather would be iffy in March we took a gamble. We took May river excursions an uncovered boat over to the island. Unfortunately it was raining pretty good so we a little wet. May River helped us the best they could with tarps and gave us a break on the costs of out bikes due the inclement weather. Transfer to the house left our luggage uncovered. So prepare to cover your belongings if there is a chance of rain. The house is absolutely beautiful. We had 3 separate families and the 3 floors gave us plenty of room. The beach was quiet and the drift would along the side of the house was awesome for some beautiful photos. The kitchen was well equipped. We lucked out with better weather than was expected. There were a few things that were unexpected. The pool heater was in need of repair and the air conditioner on the middle floor went out after a storm. The direct road access to house was washed out in a storm so we had to take golf carts over to the house just a a few yards. Wasn't a problem except for transferring luggage in and out. But the property manager Deb Smith was very responsive. All in all we had a very nice stay and would go back.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chattanooga, Tennessee
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family had the best vacation ever at this spectacular beachfront home. Every detail is first-class, from location, to decor, to spaciousness. The property manager added tremendously to the quality of our stay with her hospitality and attentiveness.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Eatonton , GA
5

Stellar and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The house and the property manager were stellar. Daufuskie is a wonderful get away and the pace slows, families reconnect and this home was great! You wake up with a view that makes you think you are floating on the water. Deborah the rental agent made getting to and setting up what makes this island unique very easy.

The house offers everything you need except food and suntan lotion! More then you can expect. It is well laid out , clean and well maintained. The pictures do not mislead you at all. I stongly suggest getting a golf cart!

At high tide the beach by the house is small, but that only last for a few hours and you can walk down a path and hit the sand if you must. We fished off the sea wall and caught tons of fish more then we can eat, and gave them to a local gentleman.

The people that live on the island are great , alls you need to do is ask and they are refreshing , open and helpful.

We used the ferry service from Salty Fare on HHI Joel was great to work with and offered coverd boats, DI transportation , Stewart and Freddie were great...

Dont over pack... tee shirts and bathing suites are all that was needed and theie is two laundry rooms.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Jasper, al
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5

The house was much more that. We imagined. Very spacious and all of the amenities were first class. The pool was great for young kids. Owner was very easy to deal with. Awesome experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
South Carolina
4

Daufuskie House

  • 4 of 5

The house was wonderful, pool was great, location fantastic. We had a wonderful time. Unfortunately several things in the house were not in working order which was a bit disappointing, but overall we had a fabulous time and would definitely return to the same house again.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciated the feedback regarding issues in the home. We were not aware of the problems and had relied on the couple who were helping manage the home on the Island for us to stay on top of things. We have addressed the issues raised and have made a change in the management of the home to help prevent this from recurring in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
14 3
5

mike k

  • 5 of 5

excellent. couldn't be closer to beach unless you were in a boat. beautifully furnished and equipped. caretakers were responsive to all requests. here with kids and grandkids (ages 17 to 4) and all had a great. time. seawall along gold course and this property in desperate need of repair, but was being repaired while we were there.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The repairs to our portion of the seawall were completed in July. The damage to the seawall north of us is in the process of being repaired. The work appears to be far enough away from us now that it should not impact our property.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: not necessary

The property is located in the Melrose on the Beach Plantation directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Since Daufuskie is an island without a bridge it’s the perfect getaway for a totally relaxing beach vacation. Access to the Island is by ferry or on-demand boat service. Golf carts are the main form of transportation on Daufuskie as only maintenance vehicles are allowed within the resort. This lets you get away from the 'hustle and bustle ' of everyday life. The Island lacks the usual distractions of life 'as it is like at home'. In addition to the Resort's facilities there are plenty opportunities for long beach walks, island explorations, relaxing days on the beach, poolside lounging, reading and playing board games, dolphin watching, shelling and crabbing and a variety of other fishing and hunting opportunities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Daufuskie Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Aug 13 2016 - Sep 2 2016
3 night minimum stay
$5,930
 
 
Fall-Winter
Sep 3 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$668
$4,675
 
 
Winter-Spring
Jan 1 2017 - May 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$698
$4,885
 
 
Spring-Summer
May 20 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$5,780
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 10.0%

Cancellations made more than 60 days prior to the arrival date incur no penalty. Cancellations made less than 60 days prior to arrival forfeit the full first rental payment and cancellations made less than 30 days prior to arrival forfeit the full payment. There is a cancellation fee of up to $150.00 to take into account the time required to process the reservation and the additional deduction of any credit card processing fees charged in the process of booking and canceling the reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Daufuskie Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Guest Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Guest Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Media Room Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • All bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms. The Media Room sleeper sofa has access to a full bathroom with a shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Suite - 1 king , It is oceanfront on the 2nd floor (main living/dining area)
    Guest Suite 1 - 1 king , It is oceanfront on the north side of the first floor
    Guest Suite 2 - 1 king , It is oceanfront on the south side of the first floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Overlooks the golf course on the north side of the 1st floor
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Overlooks the golf course on the south side of the 1st floor
    Media Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Located on the top floor away from the living areas
  • There are 3 king size beds, 1 queen size Bed, 2 twin beds, 1 sleeper sofa and a portable baby rrib. The home has an inverted floor plan with the 2 Guest Suites and the other 2 bedrooms located on the 1st floor. The Master Suite is located on the 2nd floor next to the living/dining area. The top floor Media Room has a full sized sleeper sofa with access to a full bathroom with a shower. It is quiet and located away from the main areas of the home.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers