Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Bob Harley

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Classic Oceanfront Cottage

21 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Coastal North Carolina Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

This is a classic beach cottage with knotty pine tongue and groove interior siding. It has been modernized to include everything you will need to enjoy a long weekend, week or more at the beach.

The oceanfront screen porch is a great place to relax out of the sun and enjoy the cool ocean breezes. Or you can enjoy the same breezes on the sun deck while getting a tan.

This family beach is seldom crowded and the strand is less than 100 feet from the sun deck. You will never need to 'lug' your chairs, sand toys, etc. a long distance to enjoy them on the beach.

Keywords: oceanfront,cottage

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Bob Harley (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Bob Harley

My parents bought this cottage in 1954 and I lived here every summer until I went to college. My wife and I bought it from them in 1983 and raised our children here. We have a number of renters who have raised their families here as well and their children are now coming back.

Bob Harley purchased this cottage in 1983

Why Bob Harley chose Coastal North Carolina

We love the family atmosphere at Holden Beach. There are plenty of things to do here on the island. It is within a 45 minute drive of Myrtle Beach or Wilmington if more action such as amusement parks, more nightlife, etc. are desired. There are many golf courses within 30 miles. Surf fishing, pier fishing and deep sea charter fishing are all available here as well.

What makes this cottage unique

Holden Beach is one of the few developed islands in this area with no high rise, high density housing. You can stroll along the beach without having to dodge other people constantly and never have a problem finding a place to sit on the beach.

Reviews

4.5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Classic Oceanfront Cottage
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 21 reviews
5

Loved this cottage

  • 5 of 5

We loved Harley's Better Half! The "cottage", in the true sense of the word, was clean, cozy and perfect for us. Being just steps away from the water was wonderful and the screened in porch and deck were perfect for coffee in the morning and wine in the evening, Our two dogs felt right at home and loved their beach adventure! Oh yes, we'll return!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kay - Thanks for writing such a nice review of our cottage. We do our best to keep it clean and provide a nice place for our guest to enjoy their vacation. We look forward to hosting you again. Bob
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlotte, NC
1

Great beach but...

  • 1 of 5

Let me begin by saying that we've stayed in various rental homes over the past several years. This was the first time we broke a cardinal rule and booked a two week stay without having tried the property for a shorter time period first. What a mistake that was. We thought we could take the risk based on all of the fantastic reviews the property received. Unfortunately, this did not work in our favor.

I'll start with the positives. The beach is beautiful and there is easy access to goods and services. The AC in the house worked great and the bed was comfortable. Holden Beach Realty was responsive and very easy to work with as the on-site property manager. They quickly addressed 2 serious needs right away (exterminator & yard mowing), as we were greeted by cockroaches, pill bugs (rolly pollys), tall grass and sand spurs.

Now for the reality. The home is in major need of updates, scrubbing and general maintenance. What looks charming and nostalgic in photos, is just plain grungy in person. The walls are in desperate need of cleaning. The screen porch and deck are in disrepair with several boards either rotted through or popping up when stepped on. There are protruding nails which are hazardous, especially in bare feet.

The bathroom is extremely outdated, which explains the lack of a photo. While everything was functional, it was challenging to plug a blow dryer into the light socket outlet above the medicine chest which was the only outlet in the room.

The kitchen was lacking outlets as well, and there is a power strip on the table that is used to plug in any and all appliances/electronics. While I appreciate the functionality, it was a bit less than I expected from an "modernized" VRBO property. The silverware drawer was nasty, so in addition to running all the cutlery through the dishwasher, I needed to put liners in the drawer before putting the clean utensils in.

There are laundry facilities, however, they are located in a small dirty enclosure underneath the house. The under house lighting didn't work, so you couldn't do laundry in the evening after a day at the beach.

The lights switch plates were so dirty my husband didn't want to touch them with his fingers and would only use his knuckles. I refused to go barefoot due to the bug situation and the general feeling of grunge.

I'm sure the owner is not aware of the state of things as I can't imagine them letting the property go to this extent.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Roni - I am truly sorry that Harley's Better Half did not meet your expectations. No excuse but the reason for the yard and insects is the extremely wet fall we have had this year. I am glad that HB Properties took care of these issues immediately. This is an oceanfront cottage and our guesst leave the doors open so that they can enjoy the ocean breezes. This will deposit a thin layer of salt on the walls that you may have assumed was "grunge." The cottage gets a thorough cleaning every spring and is cleaned by professional maids after each guest leaves. I have never had anyone complain that it was "grungy" or they were afraid to walk barefoot or touch anything. I'm sorry that you felt that way. This cottage was built in 1948 and carries a lot of the charm of cottages built in that era. It is listed as a "classic" oceanfront cottage. We have installed a lot of amenities that were not in the original cottage but it is by no means a "modernized" cottage. I'm sorry that you felt you were misled but the house looks just like the pictures and the description on line. Bob
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte NC
5

Great vacation spot at Holden Beach

  • 5 of 5

Our family has enjoyed Holden Beach for 18 years, but have never stayed in this home before. We really enjoyed Harleys Better Half! It was a perfect week with lots of relaxation for our whole family including our furbabies! Thanks so much for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad that you had a good vacation at Harley's Better Half. We work hard to make sure the property is in great shape for our clients. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lake Norman, North Carolina
5

Charm, shells and a porch with a great view.

  • 5 of 5

My Husband and I have had a wonderful week at this adorable beach cottage. Our little Bishon, Mia, has had a great time too! This was our first visit to Holden Beach and we loved it. I always collect as many shells as I possible can to take home for art projects. I hit the jackpot here. This beach is one of the most beautiful we have visited. The screened in porch was one of the best features giving us a great view of the ocean. Make sure you read the journal entries left by previous guests. They are insightful and entertaining. This is how we found out about the "disappearing doors". The cottage is charming and is everything it appears to be in the photos. We hated to leave. All the way back to Lake Norman I kept trying to persuade my Husband to "Turn Around".

Sonja and Pat Shannon, Lake Norman, North Carolina

  • Submitted: May 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sonja and Pat - Thank you very much for the kind words about your stay at Harley's Better Half. We think that Holden Beach is a special place and we are happy that we can share it with our renters. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future rental. Bob Harley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Big Island, Virginia, USA
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5

'Harley's Better Half', this cozy cottage ON the oceanfront, was precisely what we had hoped for as a much-needed, relaxing, haven for us two overworked folks. The house is comfortable and casual and well-kept, and the owners - Bob and Donna Harley - are fine people whom we immediately liked and respected. We also just fell in love with Holden Beach as a community, and the great people who live there.

As is said, 'The proof is in the pudding': we have already reserved the cottage again for next spring and fall. :) - Ken and Linda, Virginia

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ken and Linda - I am glad that the house and Holden Beach met your needs. We are always glad to have our renters enjoy Holden as much as we do. Thanks, Bob Harley
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a stay at Harley's Better Half and hated to leave. The cottage was just as pictured and described but what the pictures don't convey is the great feel and character of the place. It is well maintained and is full of personal touches and vintage accessories. Beds were comfortable by night and the screen porch was my favorite place to spend time when not on the beach during the day. Owner was very pleasant when contacted and I plan to return to this cottage again in the future.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Susan - I'm glad that you had such a great vacation. We are proud that so many of our guests have had a really nice stay. Looking forward to talking with you about a future visit. Bob
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Provision Company
"Great place to have lunch and a cold beer overlooking the Intracoastal Waterway."
Patronies Pizza
"Friendly service and good pizza."
Beaches N Cream
"Best homemade ice cream ever."
Kd Morris Art Gallery and Wine Shop
"Great art, wine and yoga all in one place. Their Wednesday and Friday night wine tastings a..."
Surfers Cafe
"Very budget friendly and tasty lunches and early evening meals."
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Wilmington Internationl (ILM)
Nearest Ferry
18 Miles
Southport to Fort Fisher
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Lockwood Folly
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Captain Pete's
Car: necessary

This cottage is on a delightfully quiet small barrier island on the southern coast of North Carolina. Because the island is oriented east to west the ocean is usually calm. There is a very wide, uncrowded strand. The shape of the strand provides a long shallow area making it ideal for young children and adults alike to enjoy the ocean. There are a few putt-putt courses and a waterslide nearby but the island itself is basically non-commercial. There are a number of seafood and other restaurants both on and off the island. And it is situated about half way between Myrtle Beach and Wilmington which provide many activities as well as shopping and restaurants. On the island you will find charter boats, pier fishing, jet ski rental, bike rental, kayak rental and guided trips and a number of other things to do.

Other Activities: boating, parasailing, mini golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Holden Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season
Jan 1 2016 - May 28 2016
2 night minimum stay
$165
$910
 
 
Shoulder Season
May 29 2016 - Jun 11 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,125
 
 
Summer Season
Jun 12 2016 - Aug 13 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,550
 
 
Shoulder Season
Aug 14 2016 - Sep 3 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,125
 
 
Off Season
Sep 4 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$160
$910
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.75%

For rentals less than a week there is a $60 cleaning fee.

One half the rent 6 months prior to rental. The remainder of the rent 30 days prior to rental.

Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Coastal North Carolina Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ceiling fans in every room, screen porch on oceanfront, elevated walk way to the beach

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the manager to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote