check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Vicki Fox

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Stay In A Real Log Home! Be nearby to celebrate Acadia's Park's Centennial!

9 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hancock Cabin Rental Photos and Description

The home is a single-family residence. Great for relaxing & exploring together!

East Lodge is in Hancock, Maine, 15 miles past Ellsworth and quite near Bar Harbor. My cabin overlooks Jellison Cove and the Porcupine Islands, is in the woods, a short walk from the beach, and about half an hour from Mt Desert Island, home of Acadia National Park where there are multitudes of things to do for young and old. Visitors are welcome to stroll through my gardens. (I am a professional landscape designer). The sitting room/dining area are comfy and great for family chats. You can eat at the library sized table, overlooking the ocean view or on the screened porch or the deck...- Adirondak chairs rest on my mossy 'lawn' overlooking the ocean vista through the tall spruce trees or snooze in the hammock under the pines. You can even dine on the brand new picnic table as you watch the red sailed boats out of Bar Harbor. WiFi is available. There is a TV with a DVD player and decent phone reception.

I am a working artist and sell my work in local galleries. Some teaching is available upon request.

From Hancock, it is a quick ride to Acadia National Park in Bar Harbor; in the other direction, you can go to Schoodic, the quieter part of Acadia. In both parks, there are awesome trails to bike and hike. There are several delicious and cute restaurants (Chester Pikes has the BEST breakfasts!!!) within 15 minutes and you are just 15 miles from Ellsworth, the cultural center of the area. And one can rent bikes, kayaks and canoes from a local sports shop.

Flights go directly to Bangor which is about an hour from my house....you can get a car at the airport. Another option is to fly to Bar Harbor Airport - about 45 minutes or less from EastLodge. The scenery is unbeatable!

I hope you'll come and see beautiful Maine.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Vicki Fox (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Vicki Fox

I am a working artist - my medium is rustic woodworking. I earn my dollars as a landscape designer heading my company for the past 20 years. I'm the granny of three young'uns! My two children are terrific and have set their successful lives on opposite coasts. I love the beauty of the Maine landscape and am thrilled to be outside most of the time after living most of my life in Philadelphia.

Vicki Fox purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Vicki Fox chose Downeast and Acadia

I started to visit Maine in 1982 when my kids first went to camp here. For numerous summers, I'd travel up and down the coast with my friend - we were the "Flotsam and Jetsum" Duet, landing where it looked interesting. I decided after years of wandering, to purchase land and build my dream home, based on the design of the summer camp I'd gone to as a kid. I loved the process and am pleased as can be with the result.

What makes this cabin unique

Your family will be comfortable and rested in this well equipped stunning space with its marvelous views of the ocean, lobster boats, Porcupine Islands and close at hand beaches. The local lobsters are the best around and you can even have them cooked for you. There are several good restaurants close by or you can venture into Ellsworth, Bar Harbor or Blue Hill for a change of scene.

I chose to build my home here because the view was so sweet and it included the rugosa roses along the beachside. The sun rises and shines on my pillow each day and a sense of peace opens my eyes.

Guestbook comments from the owner

These people begged me to stay at East Lodge and promised numerous times to leave the house as they found it (immaculate) but didn't even come close!!! In fact, they refused to pay the "extra Cleaning " fee because they were going to leave it all "so clean". All the floors were soiled with spilled liquids, there were bottle caps under the rugs, slime on the counter tops and an antique table runner was ruined with candle wax and brown stains. There was food debris in the sink and several lights were left burning after they left the house for good. They take the 'Bad Guest' prize for the summer.
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 9 traveler reviews

Stay In A Real Log Home! Be nearby to celebrate Acadia's Park's Centennial!
average rating of 4.888889 based on 10 reviews
Fairfax Station, Virginia
5

Acadia Cabin

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was great stay for my family. The cabin is well equipped and beautifully decorated. It is located in a secluded country setting with a view of the bay. It is about an hour drive from Desert Island, and 25-20 minute drive to Schoodic Point. Vicki met us when we arrived and provided us with all the support needed to make our vacation a great success. The cabin was very homey and comfortable. We looked forward to returning each night for a relaxing family evening. The gardens were gorgeous. We highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay that is close to all sights. We will definitely stay here again when we are visiting this part of Maine.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marblehead
4

Great house and setting!

  • 4 of 5

We really loved are stay at Vicki's log cabin. The house has a great feel, and is well decorated. We are happy with are decision to rent a place out from the Bar Harbor area and away from all the congestion. Shoodic point wich is north of Hancock was are favorite and far less congested. We would stay here again

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful stay! Cottage was exactly as described. Very peaceful and relaxing vacation. We enjoyed every minute of our stay at East Lodge. Perfect for a family or couple looking to get away from it all. Within driving distance to everything that we wanted to see while in Maine.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer and her family were delightful. I was happy to meet them and have them stay in my home. They left it in good condition; neat and clean!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Franksville, WI
5

Gorgeous log home!

  • 5 of 5

Vicki's log home is stunning! It is obvious there was a lot of planning and care put into this gorgeous home. My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and we felt right at home immediately. The check-in/check-out process was very simple and easy. The beautiful kitchen is fully stocked with anything needed to cook a meal. The deck, which has views of the ocean, is great to have your morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. The beds and downstairs furniture were comfy. The lighting inside and outside was great and well thought out. We went to Acadia a couple of times and quite enjoyed the scenic drive from the cabin. Note: The wi-fi was spotty when we were there so Netflix on our phones wouldn't work. I'd recommend bringing some DVD's or renting from Red Box in town if you want to watch movies. We would highly recommend Vicki's property for anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful home while being surrounded by nature. We'd definitely stay again if we come back to the area. Thanks for your hospitality Vicki!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a nice place to stay that was secluded, yet close to everything. Vickie's East Lake Cabin was the perfect choice. First, it is beautiful. Every aspect of the cabin is very well curated. You can tell lots of thought went into the design and decoration. The lighting, furniture, artwork, view, gardens, and bedrooms were extremely comfortable and felt like home. The hot tub and outdoor shower were an amazing touch and we used them often. We also really enjoyed both the fireplaces. There are lots of cozy places to sit and relax or enjoy the company of friends. Vickie also is a gracious host. She met with us when we arrived and gave excellent recommendations of where to eat and what to see. He dining recommendations were spot on and we thoroughly enjoyed restaurants like Iron Bound, McKay's and Havana. The cabin is in Hancock between Skoodic Point and Mt Desert Island. When looking at this cabin I was a little nervous it would be too far, but it is not at all. It was just a short, beautiful drive to all the places we wanted: Skoodic, Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, Ellsworth, etc, yet just far enough away to feel out of the hustle and bustle. The grounds of the cabin and the view are excellent. We woke up every morning to a beautiful sunrise that you can see from the bed in the master bedroom-what a perfect way to wake up! I HIGHLY recommend this cabin!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This couple are the kind of folks I dreamed of having stay in my house. They are warm, appreciative, funny, charming and fun. They were happy to get advice from me and I was thrilled that they enjoyed what I recommended. The house was neat and clean when they left and I was sad to see them leave. I hope they'll come back again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great rental, wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Vicki's log cabin! It is a one of a kind house with beautiful views (photo taken from back deck) and unique decor. Our family of four (plus our dog) enjoyed our week in Hancock. The house was a relaxing retreat. Set back from the road, you definitely can unwind. The hot tub is an added bonus. Great for relaxing tired feet and legs after a long day of hiking!

The house is also centrally located between Bar Harbor and Winter Harbor. We easily found hiking, canoeing (opted for pond over ocean kayaking/canoeing), mini golf, and shopping all within a short ride.

We hope to come back for a visit again real soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This family was darling, warm and friendly. I liked them immediately! They left my house very neat and respectfully ordered. As i was sending them off, they told me about their great adventures and were filled with enthusiam. I was glad to have helped them to have an awesome vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Ellsworth
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Trenton
Nearest Train
90 Miles
Portland
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
US 1
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
The Salt Box, Ironside Grill
Car: recommended

East Lodge is in Hancock, Maine, 15 miles past Ellsworth and quite near Bar Harbor. My cabin overlooking Jellison Cove and the Porcupine Islands, is in the woods, a short walk from the beach, and about half an hour from Mt Desert Island, home of Acadia National Park where there are multitudes of things to do for every age. Visitors are welcome to stroll through my gardens. (I am a professional landscape designer). The sitting room/dining area are comfy and interesting to the artistic eye. You can breakfast or snack sitting on the screen porch or at the long old library table in the dining area overlooking the ocean vista through the tall spruce trees. WiFi is available. There is a TV with a DVD player upon request and decent phone reception.

I am a working artist and this space displays my work which I sell in local galleries. Some teaching is available upon request. This is a unique home with lots of artistic touches. I built much of it myself!

From Hancock, it is a quick ride to Acadia National Park in Bar Harbor; in the other direction, you can go to Schoodic, the quieter part of Acadia. In both parks, there are awesome trails to bike and hike. There are several delicious and cute restaurants (Chester Pikes has the BEST breakfasts!!!) within 15 minutes and you are just 15 miles from Ellsworth, the cultural center of the area. And one can rent bikes, kayaks and canoes from a local sports shop.

Flights go directly to Bangor which is about an hour from my house....you can get a car at the airport. Another option is to fly to Bar Harbor Airport - about 45 minutes or less from EastLodge. The scenery is unbeatable!

I hope you'll come and see beautiful Maine.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hancock Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Apr 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Winter
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 8.0%

If you have a pet, we are asking for a $50. fee .

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hancock Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , this is a first floor powder room
  • The Master bathroom is spacious with a large shower, lined with custom made tiles. There is a huge, butler's tub set just beneath a window which overlooks the hydrangea and daylily collections.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • First floor Bedroom, just off the main living space, is spacious and has a double bed with views (from the pillows) of the nearby ocean and the garden beds . There is a large walk-in closet between the bedroom and bath. The upstairs guest room overlooks the garden and into the woods where you can often see the local deer. The third bedroom/library overlooks the ocean. It has a comfy futon and a big TV.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
This is a single family home with lovely space for cooking and entertaining. The gardens are extensive with lots of specimen plantings and paths from which to admire the blooms. Its very quiet and one can easily hear the nearby babble of a brook, sniff the ocean breezes. The beach is a short walk at the bottom of my driveway. From here, one can explore both parts of Acadia (main park and the quieter Schoodic), see many artists studios and galleries, rent kayaks and bikes, take a ferry into Bar Harbor, eat well at several local restaurants, day trip east to Campabello, Eastport and Lubek. In the fall, the colors are brilliant - maples, birches and blueberries. There are lots of antiques shops and collectives, miniature golf and water slides, and short boat trips to see nature and the surrounding islands. There are several museums to peruse and lots of excellent ice cream shops!

Partner Offers