Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Handcrafted New England Cape, Private Grounds, Perfect Family Retreat, Worc10min

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming Five Bedroom, Spacious, Beautiful Grounds, Bring the Family

Sarah’s Haven is a Nelson Phipps beautifully handcrafted Cape in the heart of Massachusetts built in 1953 from the lumber milled from the land. All the walls are original pine board walls, handcrafted cabinetry, red oak floors, with a huge central stone fireplace gracing the living room. It has nine rooms, five bedrooms, and can sleep 10-11.

Sarah’s Haven sits on over four acres of pristine privacy overlooking it’s own pond. Daffodils, irises, and lilies abound in the spring, while azaleas, butterfly bushes, orange blossoms, and trumpet vines follow all summer.

Bask in the summer warmth or swing on the rope swing, hike trails, or just enjoy the tranquility and natural beauty surrounding this home. Huge picture windows look out over the pond and the acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. It's the perfect hide-a-way for the whole family.

All this is within ten minutes of downtown Worcester attractions: theaters, colleges, medical facilities, DCU events, and museums.

More Details

Property Manager
Rebecca Southwick
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2017

Amenities

Leicester Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , sink, upstairs full bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , sink, downstairs half bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , sink; second floor half bath
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , View overlooking the pond
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Private, Hide-a-way room
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Two twin beds, great kids room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , The Adventure Room
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , Tiny nook of a room
    Bedroom 6 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Study on first floor with a full futon sofa bed
  • Most bedrooms are on the second floor. There is one study on the first floor with a futon sofa bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

Handcrafted New England Cape, Private Grounds, Perfect Family Retreat, Worc10min
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 42 reviews
5

Beautiful house, with everything you could possibly need

  • 5 of 5

We have had a family reunion at this house twice and it has been amazing both times. The first time, it was a surprise-- we picked the house because it is near our 95 year old grandpa who couldn't travel. It was amazing! Comfortable, ideal for families and it is so well supplied with everything imaginable so we didn't have to bring basics with us. Most amazingly is that this house was hand built and has really cool cabinets and gizmos built in throughout the house. It's a masterpiece!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location and setting.

  • 5 of 5

We chose Sarah's Haven as a location from which my wife and I and her parents to visit relatives in Westborough and tour Boston and other Massachusetts areas. The house is splendid. Not only is it beautiful and historic, in a rustic setting, but it is well equipped for a budget vacation. It slept the four of us, providing plenty of space, privacy, and restrooms to be comfortable. We could easily have hosted some of the relatives as well. The kitchen had everything we needed, including some spices, ingredients, cofee and tea, to cook meals in and avoid the the expense of eating all meals out.

The house was very pleasantly clean inside and out with plenty of extra sheets, towels, and supplies for our stay.

The private and beautiful location was excellent. A beautiful view of the pond and sufficient separation from the road and neighboring houses to afford plenty of privacy. There is a frisbee golf course that abuts the rear of the property, but it was not being used at this time of year. I did use the course to take a quick nature walk and was very surprised to look over the hill to see the Worcester Regional Airport runway right there. I was surprised because I never noticed any airplanes coming or going. My wife's parents stayed in the house during one whole day to recover from a day of touring Boston, and they did hear and see airplanes coming and going, but were more entertained than disturbed. There were no air traffic disruptions in the morning or night.

Sadly, we never had the opportunity to meet Rebecca, the property manager. She did call us the morning of our arrival to explain the easy access to the house and make sure everything was good. Rebecca was very accommodating when, after a 2" overnight snowfall, she made sure to call her plow service to make sure we could get back up the driveway in our two-wheel drive rental car later in the day.

Overall an excellent experience, not a single exception to a great experience.

Thank you Rebecca for providing such a wonderul, interesting, and peaceful place to enjoy our vacation.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

This house is one of the most interesting houses I have ever seen. The woodwork and interior design must be the result of years planning and construction. The setting is beautiful. The owner took the time to explain everything including some of the history of the house. A great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
3

Pleasant place to stay

  • 3 of 5

Rebecca was very accommodating about meeting us for check in. She gave a thorough review of the house "systems". It was a cold, wet weekend so we didn't get a chance to enjoy the outside of this property (which seemed lovely as we dashed from car to house).

The house is well furnished for cooking and having large group meals. Abundant kitchen utensils, dishes, pots, pans and spices.

Disappointed to find out the fireplace is not functional- it is the lovely centerpiece of the living room, and we would have enjoyed using it during the chilly wet weather. There was also a giant piece of plaster on the living room ceiling in the center of the room that appeared it might come crashing down at any moment. The wi-fi was very dependable, as well as the TV service (had to watch the World Series!).

We were in town to visit my daughter who attends Clark University. The property is an easy driving distance to Worcester.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that this guest arrived right after a piece of plaster came loose and we did not have time to fix it without disturbing their stay. We thought having plasterers in the living room while they were there for their weekend stay, would not be welcome. The ceiling is fixed and looks beautiful. We do have a fireplace in the living room, but do not advertise it because it is not safe to have a fire there. We thank these guests for staying with us and enjoying all the rest of the things we have to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Millington, MD
4

Property was very comfortable and spotless!

  • 4 of 5

This property met our needs for a large group of athletes rowing in Worcester. Rebecca was easy to work with . Property was convenient and had everything we needed. It was spotless and comfortable!

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

We loved everything about this place. So cozy, comfy, clean and well organized. Great location quiet but easy to be in town within a few minutes. Would definitely rent again.

Thank you for sharing you beautiful cottage.

The Hawies

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Worcester 3 miles; Boston Logan International
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Maple Hill Disc Golf; Marshall Street Disc Golf
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Amtrack, Worcester
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Many wonderful Restaurants
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Leicester Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Jan 4 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$275
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,365
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak
May 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,500
$5,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday
Nov 1 2017 - Jan 9 2018
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$285
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,500
$5,550
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $95

Rates above are for up to 6 guests. For more than 6 guests add $25.00/guest/night.
Cleaning Fee: $95.00 for up to 6 guests for weekend and weekly stays, $125.00 for more than 6 guests and one month or longer stays.
Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's week @ $1,500.00/week.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties