check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Owner

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Perfect Lakeside Retreat for Your Family Trip to Lake of Egypt

28 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Creal Springs House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

***NEW DOCK 2013- COVERED BOAT SLIP AND HUGE SUNDECK!***

Come explore what Southern Illinois has to offer for your next family vacation!

Our lakeside retreat is located on the beautiful Lake of Egypt, popular for fishing, boating, and water sports. This tranquil waterfront home is situated on a private road and features vaulted ceilings, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a stone wood burning fireplace, and a large deck overlooking the lake. There is also a separate full basement unit with 2 double beds, living room, full kitchen, and full bath with patio and beautiful lake views as well! Room enough for 2 families comfortably! The house has lake views in the front and back, and is situated off the ski area in a no wake zone with deep water off the dock. The dock is a new covered one boat slip with huge 12'x28' sundeck to enjoy all the lake has to offer as well as the picturesque sunsets! There is also a private sand beach with toys provided and a built in fire pit for evening campfire activities.

The open floor plan of the main living area is ideal for entertaining. The large kitchen has loads of cabinets that wrap around the entire kitchen and includes a built in kitchenette area with seating. The master bedroom with queen size bed is complete with master bath with a roman tub and double sink and walk-in closet. The upper level consists of 3 bedrooms (all Queen beds) and 2 full baths. In addition to the spacious main floor, we also offer a fully finished basement with separate entrance accessed from the outside. The lower level living area is set up as a studio apartment and includes a bathroom with shower, kitchen, dinette area, living room area with couches and TV, and a bedroom area with two double beds. The walk out patio with sliding glass doors and picture window offer beautiful views of the lake. All bed linens are provided and a washer/dryer are on premises. All beds and pillows have allergy covers.

There is also a small book library and a selection, games, toys, water rafts, and life jackets for your use during your stay. There is a toddler bed in the master bedroom and a portable crib/ playpen and a high chair are available in the closet. Pets may be allowed at an additional fee and deposit, however, the yard isn't fenced, and dogs must be on leashes. Dog leads are also available.

If traveling with a boat, you may launch it at any one of the marinas, which are only 5 minutes away. Boats and wave runners can also be rented at Mack's Marina.

This home is located within minutes from I-57, Giant City State Park, Tunnel Hill, wineries, and plenty of shopping and restaurants in the town of Marion.

Keywords: Private, getaway, ranch, house, home, hotel, vacation rental, vacation home, Southern Illinois, Lake of Egypt, Illinois lakes, Illinois vacation, Creal Springs, Marion, Crab Orchard,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Why The Owner chose Illinois

We are from the Chicagoland area, and I have been traveling to Lake of Egypt since I was a little girl. This home was in my family, and I took over 8 years ago. It is a special part of my memories as a child, and now that I have children of my own, it is special for them, too. I've been to lakes in Indiana, Michigan, and Wisconsin, and nothing compares to Lake of Egypt. We love it and we love Southern IL. We would like to open our home to other families and friends so that they can also create fond memories of their own at Lake of Egypt!

What makes this house unique

Cyndi's favorite spot- Drinking my morning coffee on the deck overlooking the peaceful, still lake and watching the Great Blue Heron perched on my dock.

Tom's favorite spot- In his fishing boat searching for those Largemouth Bass in Sugar Creek.

The Kids' Favorite spot- On the private beach playing in the sand, catching minnows with nets, and swimming.

Guestbook comments from the owner

(In response to a survey question: What did you enjoy most about the vacation rental property on your vacation?)

Answer:

The location on the lake, the size and comfort of the house to meet our needs, and the quick response to questions from the owner. We have been to the lake for years and rented 3 other houses - this by far, was the best experience.
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 28 traveler reviews

Perfect Lakeside Retreat for Your Family Trip to Lake of Egypt
average rating of 4.607143 based on 29 reviews
Elmhurst, ll
5

Lakeside crew!

  • 5 of 5

We were back again at our favorite house on the lake, and had a great time! The house is on a really nice spot on the lake, plus very private and quiet. The house is large, has 2 living levels with 2 full kitchens and plenty of beds for all to be comfortable. It’s very clean and the owner has lots of extras for the children to occupy themselves- videos, games, toys, plus outside toys. My kids couldn’t get enough of the beach and the lake! They played in the sand all day every day and were sad to leave. We were glad to have the huge covered dock to sit in the shade relaxing and fishing while we watched the kids play. Cyndi is wonderful to work with. She is very accommodating and answers all of our questions, plus gives us ideas on places to sightsee. Thanks for having us and will be back next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Dowmers Grove
5

Another great vacation at this house!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I took our daughter and 2 granddaughters to this house for a week. We had stayed here 2 years ago and this year was just as nice as last time. We love to sit out on the boat dock with our morning coffee, watching the wildlife.The house is always clean and there is so much room for everyone! This will now become our vacation spot every year. So glad we found it!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just what we thought it would be and more

  • 5 of 5

We had a great fishing trip because of this house. All the room we wanted, and everything we needed was there. I would go back in a heartbeat. I would recommend this house anytime. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The house and dock were excellent.

  • 5 of 5

The house and boat dock were excellent as usual. I have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. Cyndi is always quick to respond to any problems that may arise. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Hebron, IN
5

Very nice house, clean fully stocked with necessities, great location.

  • 5 of 5

We have rented this house for several years and plan to return again in the future. The house is very clean and fully equipped and the lake is beautiful. Very responsible and professional owner. Great experience all around.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Beware...pictures are not what they seem.

  • 1 of 5

Very disappointed with our stay in this rental home and the treatment from the owner. We booked a 5 night stay and were most excited about the expansive yard and direct entry beach that the pictures showed. We arrived on a Saturday and got to the home a bit early so we walked around the yard and checked out the property. We peeked our head in the house and told the cleaning lady we were there and were going to check in today just so she wouldn't wonder who was walking around the yard. At first glance I was disappointed in the outside appearance. Two of the three trashcans at the top of the driveway were full of trash and smelled. There was a pile of junk and debris, including children's toys underneath the deck that was unsightly and dangerous. If the toys were usable, they did not appear to be so as they were thrown under the deck along with old wood, deck trellis and a grill among other things. I was most disappointed with the beach. In the pictures on this site, the beach "appears" to be level and defined with the railroad ties. In reality, the beach was a huge mound of sand that had clearly just been dumped in place with no attempt to level it all. It extended beyond the railroad ties with one of the end of the ties jutting up through the sand causing a hazard to the children. We could not let our 15 month old play on the "beach" as he would topple down the sand mound into the rocky lakefront water. When I contacted Cynthia the morning after our arrival to tell her about the trash and the beach, her reply back to me stated that "hardly any of the private beaches on the lake are level due to the slope of the land to the lake and the erosion that occurs". She then went on to question the number of people in our party and to question what time we arrived to check-in. I was very put off with her response knowing full well that all beaches around the lake are level, all one has to do is drive by boat and view all of the beaches to see how level they are. I replied back with the number of people in our party and left it at that. Inside the house was a dirty washcloth in the shower along with a used bar of soap. The furniture was dirty and the overall state of the house was worn. In my emails with the owner after our stay to inquire about my deposit I was accused of trespassing for arriving early and extortion for informing her of my complaints and my intent to write this review. Overall, horrible experience and stay and would not recommend at all to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am truly sorry for your disappointment. Unfortunately, I am equally as disappointed as your review is dishonest and deceiving to the public. You intentionally lied to me and violated the terms of our Agreement. You had many more people staying at my home than stated in the Agreement and didn’t pay for them. You admitted there were more people only when you were caught in your lie, but didn’t take responsibility. You arrived more than 2 hours early, and not only to “look around”. My maid called me nervous because your guests tried to enter the house to check in early 2 times while she was cleaning to unload your luggage and she felt very unsafe. Yes, I would consider that trespassing when you are repeatedly told that you’re not allowed to enter the premises. I can understand your concern with your 1 year old baby. There is never a “safe” area near a lake for them to play. I have numerous photos of the beach area to view between vrbo.com and their link to my website. There is nothing deceiving- I have photos showing the beach from different angles, including views from the lake looking in. I’ve never had complaints about having too much sand for kids to play with before. Several guests who stayed right before your arrival and their children had a great time playing in that same beach area. See review from “Lakeside Crew”. Garbage pick-up is every Wednesday. I have that stated on pre-arrival instructions, on the refrigerator, and in the welcome book at the house. The garbage is not on my property or around my house, but on the street. I am not quite sure how this impacted your vacation. You had 2 empty cans to fill during your stay until garbage day. Every hotel has garbage as do residential homes that have normal weekly pick-up schedules. There aren’t any broken toys for kids to play with. Everything is in working order, and if someone breaks it, then it is thrown out. Your exact words were “everything in the house was great” the day after you arrived. This changed only the week after your stay when you found out that you were going to be charged for the extra people at my property. I was more than generous and accommodating, even with your threats of posting a bad review in demand of your full deposit back, despite owing me me money. I am posting your review only to show that I can be a gracious host regardless of the company. This is the first negative review received in 4 years of vacation rentals at this home.
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0

Map

Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Lake of Egypt Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Triple E Barbeque
Car: necessary

Giant City State Park, Tunnel Hill, Garden of the Gods, Cave in Rock, Southern IL wine trail- 2 wineries within 10 minute drive, Metropolis Superman Museum, Harrah's Casino

Photos

Rates & Availability

Creal Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
May
May 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
October-April
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$199
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and Laundry fee $85 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Deposit and signed guest agreement must be received by owner within 48 hours in order to reserve dates. Pricing based on occupancy of 6 persons or less. $25 fee assessed to each person over 6, maximum 10 occupancy. Pets allowed if approved by owner. Pet fee of $25 per night per pet and additional pet deposit fee are not included in quote. ***Contact owner for holiday pricing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Creal Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Large Roman Soaker Tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Basement Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Master Bath with roman soaking tub. 2nd bath has a full tub/shower combo. 3rd bath on 1st floor bath has a stand up shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (3) 3 Queen beds on main level, Double Beds (2) 2 double beds in 1st floor level studio apartment, Child Beds (1) Toddler bed in master bedroom, Baby Cribs (1) Portable play crib available in closet
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Food processor, blenders, baking essentials, free condiments, bed linens and pillows provided, book library, toys and games, baby items, sand toys,

Partner Offers