check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Family-Friendly Chalet with Privacy, Hot Tub, and Mountain Views-- Virtual Tour!

35 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights


Truckee House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms + 3.5 bathrooms in 2,700 square feet --newly remodeled

Located in picturesque and historic Truckee, CA, perched high above beautiful Donner Lake and just minutes from Lake Tahoe, is Trokay Chalet, a mountain dream home conveniently located in Truckee's Tahoe Donner district. Our chalet is located minutes from five major ski resorts and numerous opportunities for summer and winter recreation. Meanwhile, nearby downtown Truckee offers the Tahoe area's best dining and shopping.

Trokay Chalet is our luxury vacation home that features:

• Five bedrooms and three-and-one-half baths in a generous 2,700 square feet

• Expansive views of the surrounding mountains and Tahoe national forest from the great room, master bedroom, and over-sized hot tub

• 'Adult game room” with kitchenette including a wine refrigerator and wet bar, complete with a pool table, Foosball, air hockey, and tv/dvd player

• “Kids game room” with board games, blocks, Legos, books, games for young children, and tv/dvds. Enough to keep the kids entertained while the adults relax!

• Two kitchens, a full kitchen upstairs and a kitchenette below in a private downstairs studio 'apartment' that occupies the home’s lower level

• Newly-furnished and beautifully appointed with top quality mattresses, linens, etc.

• Extremely child and baby-friendly with special equipment for little kids including high chairs, sippy cups, bibs, children’s utensils and plates, potty seats, footstools, and a Pack n’ Play



• The main floor features a fully-stocked kitchen and a great room with a fireplace with a stone hearth, a wood-burning stove, and a large dining table. Mountain views abound.

• The front deck adjoins the indoor dining area, and includes a table and chairs for outdoor dining. Get the gas grill going out on the private, expansive back deck (which also has a table and chairs) and soak in the mountain views (or soak in the six-person hot tub while soaking in the views.)

• An expansive master suite with four-poster bed is also on the main level, set aside and extremely private. It has a walk-in closet, forest and some mountain views, and an en-suite bathroom with his and hers sinks and jetted tub.


• Down a half-flight of stairs from the main level are two more bedrooms. “The Bunk Room” has two brand-new twin-over twin handmade log bunk beds with new mattresses. “The Gold Room” is our second master bedroom — newly furnished with a high-end queen-size bed/mattress, forest views, and lots of privacy.

• Two baths are also on this level (one full, one half) leaving plenty of room to spread out.

• Rounding out this level is 'The Barn Room' complete with a rustic barn door for privacy. The 'Barn Room' has a 50 inch HDTV and loads of family games, videos and toys. The Barn room features a full-size pull-out sofabed with a deluxe Tempurpedic memory-foam mattress. This room is loaded with a TV, books, videos, and board games.


• Down a further half flight of steps, the lower level is “the apartment” — its own self-contained living quarters, complete with its own outside entrance with everything you need for a great vacation — including privacy.

• “The Apartment” doubles as a game room for adults — complete with a wet bar, wine fridge, and kitchenette. It features an TV/DVD, pool table, dart board, and air hockey/Foosball table.

• A queen size Ethan Allen sofa bed with deluxe Tempurpedic memory foam mattress allows comfortable sleeping for an individual or couple.

• 'The Apartment' also has a full bath for completely self-contained living.


• Trokay Chalet has everything you need for a memorable vacation including DIRECTV, land-line phone and high-speed wireless internet, all included.

• All our guests may use our complimentary guest cards to take advantage of Tahoe Donner’s wealth of amenities many of which are available only to members and their guests. These include a private beach club at Donner Lake with passes that allow you and your family to relax lakeside, go paddleboating, canoeing, sailing, or swimming. You can also enjoy tennis and Tahoe Donner’s sparkling tennis facilities or golf at its renowned golf-course, take a dip in our community pool.

• For winter guests, you're also just two miles from Tahoe Donner's downhill and cross-country ski areas. The downhill ski area is in particular a great place for families and has some of the most affordable lift tickets in the Tahoe region. The cross-country ski area is one of the nation's finest, and recently hosted the U.S. National Championships.

And for summer and fall guests, don't miss the chance to hike or ride on Tahoe Donner’s 40 miles of private trails with breathtaking views of the Sierras. From a trailhead less than a mile up the road from the chalet you can access Tahoe Donner's extensive trail system, which connects you to the Donner Rim Trail and the Pacific Crest Trail.

We regret that we cannot accommodate pets (our family loves them but one family member has severe dog and cat allergies) or smoking at the chalet.

Unlike many 'by owner' rentals, we utilize an in-town professional service and maintenance company that is available to answer your calls and address any problems you may have, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. And in the unlikely event they can't assist you with a question, we are always available as well. You get the best of both worlds; personalized property management and design of your rental experience with an owner's touch-- along with in-town help and service for any unexpected issues that might arise.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Jeremy C.
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 26, 2016
Call Owner

About Jeremy C.

Jeremy and Anna live in Silicon Valley and have four young children-- three boys and a girl. Jeremy is a researcher at Stanford and Anna is a physician working in San Francisco. We both grew up on the East Coast but fell in love with the West Coast — and Truckee and the Tahoe region in particular.

Jeremy C. purchased this house in 2013

Why Jeremy C. chose Lake Tahoe North Shore

We had vacationed in Tahoe Donner for years and always loved the location, which we think is the best in the Tahoe area. We enjoy Tahoe Donner's great amenities and its setting in the historic town of Truckee (for our money the best place in the Tahoe area). As our kids grew older we wanted to have our own place to make family memories, teach them to ski, and enjoy the beautiful Sierras. We also wanted a place big enough to where the entire extended family could stay comfortably. And this place fits the bill. In addition to the beautiful natural setting there are tons of great shops and restaurants nearby (many of whom deliver to the home when we don't feel like cooking!) We can have our whole family + our parents and my aunt and uncle up to stay with a layout that gives everyone a chance to be together-- but have privacy when we need it.

What makes this house unique

We fell in love with this place at first sight. We saw this home the day it came on the market and put an offer on it that day. And a good thing too, since we had to beat out another family who did the same thing. It has a wonderful layout that combines great privacy with the ability to congregate. The mountain views from the family room, the deck, and the hot tub are great (and hard to capture on film!). It's got all of the vacation home toys you want (pool table, hot tub, foosball, air hockey) combined with easy winter access in a flat driveway. It's got a great location in Mid-Tahoe Donner — not down so low that you are dealing with lots of through traffic nor up so high that it takes you a long time to get to town. It's a 'Goldilocks' home. Just right.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Jeremy and Anna,

Your house was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing your home with our group.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 1


based on 35 traveler reviews

Family-Friendly Chalet with Privacy, Hot Tub, and Mountain Views-- Virtual Tour!
average rating of 4.7714286 based on 36 reviews

Neat and spacious with easy road access but questionable interior.

  • 1 of 5

We had booked Jeremy's chalet for LBW (Fri-Mon) and was emailed a list of "tasks/chores" shortly after booking that we would need to have done during our stay. I sent this to my wife so she could read all of the specifics. Oh boy, was it a list. I'll try to bullet the points to make this review less lengthy.


- Chalet was spacious with many rooms and levels.


Here is where my review really begins.

- Trash was FULL! We emailed Jeremy ASAP to ask him what he would like for us to do. He said we were the 1st guest in 9 days and didn't know why it was full. According to his trash schedule, there were 2 trash pick-ups before we arrived.(Strange?) We ended up having to put all the trash/recyclables in the garage.

- Foosball table was BROKEN. When we first entered, it did not appear broken, everything was in place but once you touched it, the leg fell apart and one of the playing sticks broke as well.

- YOU HAVE TO WASH ALL SHEETS AND RUN THE DISHWASHER WITH ALL DISHES PRIOR TO CHECKING OUT. What on earth was my cleaning fee for then?! (Oh, and come to find out the cleaners are related to him?!) But hey, we followed the directions and washed all sheets, BUT THERE WAS BARELY ENOUGH DETERGENT FOR ONE LOAD. (Yes, we emailed Jeremy to let him know). My wife also had to go to Safeway down the street to buy dish soap to HAND WASH the dishes every day during our stay.

- One of the gas stoves would not stop ticking! Maybe something was wrong with the igniter? It sounded like it was going to explode. (Once again, emailed Jeremy to let him know)

-Oh, and he blamed us for breaking a sofa bed that we didn't even know was a sofa bed! After our experience with everything else in the place that was falling apart, we made every effort to not touch/use things! Many people from my party slept on the floor!! He claims the cleaners said it was broken after our stay. If in fact it was, how the heck did we put it back together before our check out?!

-WIFI WAS WEAK!! You lose signal upstairs.

Overall, we made the best of our stay (Side note: This was my first family trip with my 18 month old daughter) I would recommend that you fully examine all options before booking. Many things about this house were very fishy and it took us 5 days after our check out for him to confirm things with us. Why would your cleaners need 5 days to get information back to you?! Your agreement says the cleaners only take 4 HOURS to clean, not 4 DAYS.


  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly, as one might intuit from the numerous five-star reviews on the property, virtually nothing in this review is correct. This guest and his group illegally smoked on my property, which as my house rules note, is grounds for immediate eviction and revocation of the entire security deposit, being both damaging to the house and dangerous in our forested and fire-prone area. We found out because his party left cigarette butts, many not even stubbed out, all over the property. Even though by contract I was entitled to withhold the entire security deposit, I only withheld half, because I don't like withholding security deposits from my guests-- and that half sufficient for him to write a retaliatory review. I also did not charge him for the sofabed being broken, even though it is very likely that his party broke it and lied about it. I paid for the repair out of my own pocket-- as I explained to him, it took me a few days to talk to cleaners, the repair people and previous guests to determine what had happened-- while the damage to the sofabed was not reported to me until his group left, because I was not 100% certain that his group caused the damage, I did not charge them for it. That is how I like to do business-- always giving he benefit of the doubt to a guest, even if it costs me money. The cleaners, of course, have no relation to me, contrary to the guest's claim. The only negative thing in the review that was accurate was that the foosball table was broken. One of the legs had previously been wobbly and perhaps it gave out. When we were notified of this by our guest, we immediately ordered a replacement of the table with an even nicer and sturdier model, which is in the house today. It's unfortunate that among the many wonderful guests we have had over the years, on rare occasions you get a very malicious guest such as this one. I hope anyone reading this review will read the many wonderful reviews of our chalet and draw their own conclusions about the experience they are likely to have there.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Fourth of July stay..

  • 4 of 5

This is a great location if you are looking to pull away from all the touristy part of Tahoe. There is not a lot traffic, but, it is hidden up high on mountain top. Fresh air all around.The surroundings are beautiful but, that is why we are here, right?

I gave this home four stars for a couple reasons:

1. The home seemed a little disorganized. The cleaning can be kicked up a notch, dusting primarily.

2. Patio furniture needs to be trashed or removed.

3. T.V./Cable/DVD in "Barn Room" needs some attention.

Besides those three minor things, we enjoyed every minute of the 5 days we were in Truckee/Tahoe.

We would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Debbie-- thanks so much-- we're glad you enjoyed the house and would stay there again. Re: the"minor things" you mentioned, we have totally replaced all of the patio furniture so that the new furniture is all in pristine condition. We have also addressed the temporary issue with the TV/Cable in the barn room and we have a repair contract with the cable company so that any outages can be promptly addressed. Thanks again and we hope to have you visit us next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Place was ready, clean and organized, guidelines were well presented

  • 5 of 5

See above, place was clean , organized, very presentable, offered everything we were expecting. Would return if accepted.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose, CA

Great house for a family ski trip

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this house with 4 couples and 2 children, and appreciated that the sleeping areas were on 3 levels, so everyone felt they had some space. There was plenty of living area, and a well equipped kitchen. The living and dining area has a high ceiling and lots of windows with a beautiful view out through the woods. The large kitchen table became a great place for meals and games. Several people used the hot tub and appreciated that amenity. We have found the Tahoe-Donner area to be very convenient for skiing as it is close to so many of our favorite areas. I highly recommend this house!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great Family Home.

  • 5 of 5

Our friends and family had an amazing Christmas in this beautiful home. There was plenty of space for our party of 12. The kids and adults all enjoyed the game room. The house was very clean. The owner responded promptly to questions we had regarding the house. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful home and excellent location

  • 5 of 5

I just stayed at this home with 2 other families. We all had a terrific time. Plenty of space for 3 families to live in.... a fun game room and TV room for the kids and adults. GREAT location. Skislope Drive is a wonderful spot only minutes from Tahoe Donner.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Reno-Tahoe International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Lodge At Tahoe Donner
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Tahoe Donner Golf Course
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Truckee Amtrak Station
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
U.S. Interstate 80 (I-80)
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Lodge At Tahoe Donner
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Tahoe Donner Ski Area
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Donner Lake
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Truckee House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 2 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
Early Winter
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Years
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
Winter 2
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
Martin Luther King Holiday
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Winter 2
Jan 17 2017 - Feb 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
President's Day/Ski Week
Feb 15 2017 - Feb 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
Winter 3
Feb 27 2017 - Apr 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
Winter 4
Apr 3 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Housecleaning Charge $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

All holiday reservations are subject to a one night non-refundable charge if cancelled.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Truckee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2688 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , His and hers sinks, full walk-in closet, views
    2nd main bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , immediately adjacent to 2nd master bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1/2 bath on second level adjacent to bunk room
    'Apartment' Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Full bath for self-contained downstairs 'apartment'
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Master Bedroom #2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , Two log bunk-beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Sofabed with memory foam matttress in downstairs 'apartment
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Our library has a rustic barn door and a full-size sofabed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers