Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 weeks left! Book now!

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-13)

Location, location, location...leave the car parked.. this beautifully decorated house is not only close to the ocean but you can walk to fishing, watersports, shopping and restaurants! Beautiful extra wide decks, screen porch and views up in the crow's nest.

This gorgeous house has it all... a fully equipped kitchen, beautifully appointed bed rooms, ceiling fans throughout. Relax on the comfortable sofas in the cathedral ceilinged great room and lamps for easy reading, or enjoy the private hot tub and pool...clean your catch of the day at the outside cleaning station designed just for fish!

You'll love the pier..if you're a fishing novice they will rent you fishing rods and actually show you how to do it!!. Great fun!!

Want to try the water sports on the Sound?.. There are 3 water sports schools within .5 miles of the house...

Keywords: House, Beach House, Ocean View, Private pool, hot tub

More Details

Bonnie Baxley
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 18, 2017

About Bonnie Baxley

We love this beach house and enjoy sharing it with all of our rentors. We have tried to include everything to make everyone's stay perfect. We think is has everything, but are always available to answer any questions or concerns you may have.

Bonnie Baxley purchased this house in 2005

Why Bonnie Baxley chose Cape Hatteras

We chose this spot because of the special location. It is in a non-comercial and never crowded in the highest season. We love to build a fire on the beach and roast marshmallows at dusk. Quiet but not isolated, there are plenty of nearby activities plus, the pristeen beach is perfect with the pier right there to enjoy fising or watching the 'catch of the day' !

The house is less than a 3 minute walk from the beach with no dunes to climb.. Perfect getaway to relax, but lots of attractions within walking distance too.

What makes this house unique

The neighbors are great. The views are amazing. The house is decorated and well appointed. Easy walk to the beach and lots of space where you can relax, even with a full house, you will NEVER feel crowded. There is a generous grassy back and front yard in which to play. If the ocean's not kid friendly one day, the pool is the perfect solution! Fun, Fun!


Rodanthe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 bedrooms are 'jack and jill', meaning each pair of bedrooms has a bath between them. The King bedroom also has a bath adjacent. All baths are beautifully decorated and have bathtubs and full vanities with large mirrors.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1) this is a pyramid bunk bed: full bed on the bottom and twin bed on top
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
4TVs, 3DVDs & 1VCRs, TV Cable,wireless internet, Stereo with surround sound, 6 Phones, Cooking Utensils, Outside shower, fish cleaning sink , BBQ Grill, Ceiling fans, deck furniture, beach chairs, pool toys, Pets allowed on a case by case basis; 3 bedrooms have TV's; all bedrooms are adjacent to full bathrooms.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

2 weeks left! Book now!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews

Great location and spacious enough for 12 (3 families of 4)

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to the Outer Banks. We had a total of three families that visited the Mad Hatteras: my family of 4, my daughters family of 4 and my son's family of 4. My two younger children are ages 15 and 17 and my 4 grandchildren were aged from 1-5. We enjoyed the openness of the upper floor and massive outside decking that had great views. The 5 bedrooms were spacious enough with no complaints. The only thing that my older son and daughter (with families) mentioned is that it would have been nice if the bedrooms could have been arranged such that the kids rooms would have shared the same bathroom as theirs. On the lower floor, the two queen bedrooms share a bathroom and the twin and bunk bedrooms share a bathroom. On the upper floor the master bedroom has a bathroom just outside the bedroom door.

The pool and hot tub was a great addition and both were used quite frequently by all. There was a permanent park type of charcoal grill at the house which I used one evening to cook some steaks. It was a short walk to the beach with no complaints by even the little ones. We really liked the fact that you could make fires on the beach. We also liked the Rodanthe pier being so close and the grandkids loved watching them catch fish from the pier. My wife and I took our bikes along and there is a nice bike path on one side of the main road that we enjoyed riding on.

There are a few fruit stands and local mom and pop grocery stores very close which have most basic food and supply items at reasonable beach prices if you need them. There are also a few local restaurants to select from. I don't remember the name of the one we selected one night on the bay, but food and drinks were great and with beautiful bay views. One night we ordered pizza in from a neighbor suggested pizza shop, Lisa's pizza. It was excellent if you like pizza.

We were fortunate enough to meet Bonnie and her husband as they were preparing to depart upon our arrival and enjoyed chatting with them a bit. We will definitely consider the Mad Hatteras as a place to stay should we venture back down to the Outer Banks in the coming years (which I'm sure we will).

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Dean. Your group was great! Hope you'll come again. Bonnie PS: Yikes, the two children's bedrooms (twin bedroom and bunk bedroom) are adjacent to the bath, you guys just split them up differently.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Clean and Comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We really have nothing negative to say about our stay at Mad Hatters. House was comfortable and clean and provided all the necessities. Our stay was a rainy one, but there were games provided that helped make our stay enjoyable. We were able to bring along a furry family member which we greatly appreciated. Thanks Bonnie for the use of the house. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: May 26, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you came! Sorry for the rain.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We enjoyed the location.

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for 4 nights with a group of 7 adults. We enjoyed a short walk to the beach and fishing pier. We made good use of the hot tub, but didn't use the pool much, as we went early May it was a bit on the cooler side. The house was plenty big enough, we loved all the outdoor space. The only downfall was the cleanliness of the home. It could really use a deep cleaning from top to bottom, closets, drawers and cupboards. We choose not to press the issue with the owner. We did however have an issue with the pool and hot tub being dirty/sand filled when we arrived and Bonnie did send someone out that evening to get them in working order when we notified her of the problem. All in all we enjoyed our stay. I'd recommend Lisas for pizza, and Austins for fresh seafood. We also took a short walk to an ice cream and gift shop that was super cute.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your input Stephanie. As you recall, we had a destructive group in before you and did our best to get the property ready for you. A spring (deep) cleaning was scheduled but after your stay. I'm sorry it wasn't done before you arrived.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had a great time at your beautiful home! Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

  • 5 of 5

Rodanthe is a wonderful destination!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! Hope you can come back soon.Bonnie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Highly Recommend!

  • 5 of 5

I highly recommend staying here. The Owner is very professional. My wife and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glen Allen, VA


  • 2 of 5

I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the the house, in fact wonder if it was even cleaned!! Towels were still hanging in the bathroom, the refrigerator had slime and smelled of fish or crabs. The pool furniture was cracked and some were put together with great stuff... The living room furniture was uncomfortable and full of animal hair, thank goodness I brought extra sheets so that I could throw them over the sofa's. While I was aware I was renting a "pet friendly" house, (none of us brought pets)... Lesson learned!! Even on the bottom level by the hose was matted dog hair where someone had shaved their dog. The neighbor is somewhat invasive as he will pop up unexpected all during the week. The house was a good size, the walk to the beach was enjoyable. Love the location. It could use a grill or add an additional grill beside the current. Current grill is small.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Disappointed, We are so sorry that your stay at Mad Hatteras did not meet your expectations. We endeavor to make our home comfortable and welcoming to ensure our guests' vacation is as delightful as they envisioned. To that end, my name and phone number is displayed throughout the house. Had I been contacted, I would have gladly addressed your concerns.. Although expectations vary we try our best to ensure an enjoyable and safe experience for each guest. Bonnie Baxley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Kite surfing, Wind surfing, jet skiing


Rates & Availability

Rodanthe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High Season
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
Post Season
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
Sep 23 2017 - Oct 27 2017
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $300

There's a $125 charge to have the house cleaned when you leave, that we add into the rental fee unless you want to clean it yourselves. The 2nd half of the rental fee is due a month before you take occupancy along with a $300 security deposit in a separate check, that is not cashed unless there is damage to the house while you are there.  Let me know if you have any questions. Pet fee is $150 PER PET.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties