check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

KAREN STANBROOK

Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Speaks: english, polish

FALL FOLIAGE WKND SPECIALS $600

11 Reviews
Sleeps20
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hunter House Rental Photos and Description

Steps to Hunter Mountain from this house! Beautiful views of slopes and creek.

FRESH WATER CREEK HOUSE LARGE BEAUTIFUL RENOVATED HOUSE,WITH VIEWS OF THE LAKE ,CREEK, AND MOUNTAINS AND WALKING TO FESTIVALS AND HOUSES OF WORSHIP....Large house with sleeping for 20 ......The closest location to Hunter mountain festivals. Right at the foot of the mountain and steps to ZIP LINING & ZOMBIE WARS TOUR! House is across from restaurants and convenient stores, you can walk to the slopes. Bus from NYC stops across the street. S

House is on the water with hunter mountain directly behind. The views are fantastic and includes two car parking spot,with municipal parking across the street. . Freshly painted with new kitchen, Dolans Lake right behind house! Public park with basketball court, public beach with lifeguard. It is walking distance to all the bars, restaurants, houses of worship and stores. Located at the entrance to Hunter Mountain.If this house is booked please check out our other properties.

1.HAPPY TIGER & LUCKY LION: Large 8 bedroom house, sleeps 22, & 4 bedroom house sleeps 12. Located across the street from each other. Can be rented together to separate. #3012916

2. STANBROOK STATION: large 12 bedroom house, sleeps 24. With additional apartment it sleeps 30. Steps to houses of worship, set back off the road with plenty of land. Home Away listing #354547

3. STANBROOK MOUNTAIN VIEW Three seperete apartments studio,one bedroom, and three bedroom can be rented as whole house sleeps 4-18 3543541

4 .STANBROOK MANOR: 6 bedroom, 6 bathroom with optional cottage. Sleeps 24, 30 with cottage. Steps to houses of Worship.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
KAREN STANBROOK (Property Manager)
Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Speaks: english, polish

About KAREN STANBROOK

Karen Stanbrook is originally from Southampton on the south coast of England, and has been the owner of two successful Bed & Breakfasts in Staten Island New York......

Karen has depended upon her friendly attitude and devotion to customer care to bring her success in all previous adventures. She lived in New York for the twenty years and decided she needed a change of pace, so she moved to Hunter Mountain in The Catskills,

KAREN STANBROOK purchased this house in 2013

Why KAREN STANBROOK chose Hunter Mountain

THIS HOUSE IS CENTRAL TO EVERYTHING IN HUNTER ON THE WATER WITH PRISTINE VIEWS OF THE MOUNTAINS STEPS TO HOUSES OF WORSHIP AND DOLANS LAKE, BEAUTIFUL RENOVATED HOUSE.IT IS STEPS TO SKI SLOPES AND THE ZIPLINE & ZOMBIE WARS TOUR! AND THE BUS FROM NYC STOPS A CROSS THE STREET FROM THE HOUSE. THE BARS AND ACTION ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE BUS THAT COMES FROM NYC.....

What makes this house unique

HOUSE IS STEPS AWAY FROM HUNTER MOUNTAIN RESORT.....We are one minute to Ski Hunter, hiking, biking, swimming, rafting, golf, horseback riding, canoeing, fishing, tennis. We are steps to Hunter...Zip lining and skiing

Snowboarder at Hunter Mountain

Location

Hunter, New York, U.S.

Nearest city

Albany, New York

Coordinates

42°12?01?N 74°13?49?W

Vertical

1,475 feet (450 m)

Top elevation

3,200 ft (975 m)

Base elevation

1,600 ft (488 m)

Skiable area

240 acres (97 ha)

Runs

58

Longest run

2 mi (3.2 km)

Lift system

9 chairlifts; 1 J-Bar; 1 rope tow

Terrain parks

2

Snowfall

85 in (216 cm)

Ads not by this Site

Hunter Mountain is a ski resort located about three hours up the New York State Thruway (I-87) north-northwest of New York City. It features a 1,600-foot (488 m) vertical drop.

From its inception in the late 1950s, the management of Hunter Mountain has employed extensive snowmaking facilities. Hunter was the first ski destination in the state of New York to install snow-making, the first in the world with top-to-bottom snow-making, and the first in the world to have 100-percent snow-making coverage of the mountain.

Guestbook comments from the manager

My girlfriend and I were unsure what to do for labor day week end . So we ended up booking this cute Mountainview home in Hunter mountain. The house was very clean and comfortable for 4 couples and 6 children (plenty of room ). It is located so conveniently with restaurants and a convenience store right across the street. Behind the house is a beautiful river, a swimming pond and a park with views of the Hunter Ski resort which is walking distance away. We did enjoy a beautiful sky ride to the top of the mountain. We loved having dinner which we barbecued with the babbling noise of the river and the incredible views of the open sky and mountains. What a great labor day vacation. I would recommend anyone to rent this great house for a great price if you are heading to Hunter Mountain this is a great place Thank you Karen Stanbrook for the wonderful time , John and Marjana
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.3
based on 11 traveler reviews

FALL FOLIAGE WKND SPECIALS $600
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 12 reviews
3

The Location is The Win

  • 3 of 5

In all honesty, the moment my husband and I walked into the house I turned to him and said "I'm ready to go home". It was 2am, we had just driven for 2.5 hours and were exhausted. There was no chance that we were gonna leave at that moment and I'm glad it happened that way. First, let me tell you why my doubts sank in. The house has a very interesting setup, it's small and every room had been converted into a bedroom (I'm guessing to accommodate groups that come to ski in the winter) it's a perfect place to "crash". I however, was expecting a nice relaxing vacation with my husband and a few close friends and would have enjoyed a more typical home setup. We went to bed ( I, reluctantly) and when we woke up, my doubts began to fade away. Just outside the upstairs living area window was a beautiful view of the mountains and a brook in the backyard. I got more comfortable with the house as the day went on and as soon as our friends arrived, felt instantly more at ease. We spent most of the time outside and went walking in the brook on Saturday. There is a great coffee shop called TwinPeaks that makes fresh donuts to order and the town atmosphere is welcoming and warm. Karen, the homeowner, was available as soon as we needed her when we had internet connectivity issues. She came right over and began working on the problem. She is a very sweet women who is down to earth and accommodating. For a last minute vacation it ended up being nicer and more enjoyable than I had expected it to be. I grew fonder of the house as the days passed and like I said before, the views made it all worth it. The sunset I saw on my last night there (by the bridge) was by far one of the more beautiful ones I've seen in my life. This is a great home for groups that want a place to lay their head after a long day outdoors. Though the experience was a good one overall, the house had no AC and offered us fans only, we were there on a very hot weekend and suffice it to say it was quite uncomfortable. Also, the notes mentioned that we bring a lot of our own things including paper goods but we had left the house in a rush and had forgotten some things. Disappointingly, there wasn't a roll of toilet paper or tissues to be found in the house, we had to leave again and go to the store to stock up. Luckily, there was one 24 hour shop open. I know it's not anyones fault but ours but I think for convenience it would have been nice not to have gone out for toilet paper at 2:30am.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well Thank you for your comments.this is why we insist on everybody reading our welcome letter. It is a rental house and most every rental house i know does not supply towels or toiletries so i would suggest the next time you read your welcome pack and contract.There is a store across the street so that make it easier to get things.The house was priced at $350 a night it has 3 new kitchens and 3 bathrooms and 3 living rooms with water and mountain views from almost every room. This is not a palace and it is not priced as a palace. Most houses in the area that can sleep 20 are priced at about $600 a night. I am so glad you gave it a chance 3 stars i think was a little unfair.The house is very new and clean,and i feel 4 stars would have been better but there you go. As far as air conditioners most houses up here on mountain top has no air conditioning, as it is quite cool in the night . Well have a lovely summer and once again Thank you for your comments......
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything we expected and more!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this house last minute and the owners were extremely helpful and accomodating. Upon arrival our group of 12 people were surprised at the perfect location. It is in walking distance to skiing, food, and also bars. The pictures on this page do not do the house's size justice. We had plenty of room for all of us and more. I highly recommend using this house. My group and I will be returning again next year for a ski trip hopefully.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZING and HUGE

  • 5 of 5

I rented the house for my boyfriends birthday with 14 of our friends the house fit us all comfortably with way more beds to spare!!

I had zero issues with the house and was very very clean

Location was amazing - the house is located right across the street from a few bars (Karaoke on Saturday nights is a must), stores, and is in walking distance of the slopes.

I was in contact with Jessica the whole weekend and she was extremely helpful and beyond friendly.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We Thank you very much for your review. The location of this house is really fantastic walking to skiing and all the festivals bars and village. So Thank you for your lovely comments Karen Jessica
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So Convenient

  • 5 of 5

Our group really enjoyed our gathering in the mountains and this place really fit the bill. There was room for everyone in our group so we could all stay together, which was the whole point of our trip. It was super convenient so we didn't have to drive the whole time. We could just walk to the store, get something to eat or go to the bar. The kitchen was recently renovated so that was a plus for the cooks in our group. It's really close to the festivals and skiing so I'm looking forward to coming back and staying here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much the location is key walking to ski slopes and stores gars restaurants and NYC bus. We have remodeled house and I think it's a great deal. Thankyou and come visit us again soon. Karen stanbrook
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

ideal location

  • 4 of 5

Ideal location! Across the street from stores. Short distance from mountain entrance for skiing! Best part is the pub across the street! Great views!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Union County, New Jersey USA
5

Very Enjoyable Stay

  • 5 of 5

The location could not be better, near the village and skiing but in a quiet and peaceful location with a lovely view. I had a very restful night's sleep in the comfortable bed. It's very clean, which is important to me, and it's affordable. The place was renovated in 2013. There are three kitchens. lt's great for families. Karen the owner makes you feel right at home and is a lot of fun to talk to! She knows the area backwards and forwards. (Also, if you like Disney movies or Britcoms, she shares those interests!).

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Albany
Nearest Barpub
Cosmic charlis,mcgregors
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Rip van winkles hudson
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Colonial
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Hudson
Nearest Motorway
Route 23a
Nearest Restaurant
Rip van winkles
Nearest Ski
Hunter Mountain
Nearest Beach
Dolans lake at back of house
Car: not necessary

This House Was Totally Remodeled Feb 2014 This Year. It Has Unbelievable Mountain And Water Views. Everything Is Walking Distance Steps To Hunter Mountain and houses of worship. Has A Nice Parking Pad For 6 Cars And All Water Views Of Schoharie Creek And Dolans Lake.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hunter House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
May 1 2016 - Oct 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$375
Fri,Sat
 
 
Columbus Day
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
THANKSGIVING
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 24 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
CHRISTMAS
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,000
Flat fee
 
 
NEW YEAR
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$2,500
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$400
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
cleaning and garbage $150
Refundable damage deposit $750

If cancellation occurs there is a $100 cancellation fee ($500 for parties under 21). Deposit will be refunded minus cancellation fee ($100 or $500) if cancelled before 60 days of check in.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hunter House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • This is a large house with three full bathrooms toilet and shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 4 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
***PLEASE BRING EVERYTHING WITH YOU AND COME PREPERED...TOWELS,PAPER TOWELS, GARBAGE BAGS, SOAP, TOILET PAPER, FIRE STARTERS, TIN FOIL, REFILLING PROPANE TANK.*** WE DO NOT RENT TO UNDER 21

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties