check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand


Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish

Lovely five-bedroom , two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.

9 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


Northern Michigan Cottage Rental Photos and Description

This lovely and spacious 2,000 sq. ft. home three miles south of Oscoda, Mi, is located on one of the most pristine sugar sand beaches of Lake Huron.

If you seek quiet and peace, then this is the place for you! Very tastefully decorated, fully furnished, and decorated with original art work, you will find everything that you need for a restful vacation. The downstairs has a t.v. room and a bedroom with a keyboard, in addition to the living room, sun room, and a large and open kitchen, full bath, and laundry room. There is WiFi on the premises. On the second floor, you will find a large master bedroom with incredible views of the lake, another full bath, and four additional guest bedrooms.

Just 11 miles north of historic East Tawas, the house is within walking distance of restaurants and a couple of miles from the Au Sable River, and the Oscoda Pier.

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Janelle (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish

What makes this cottage unique

There is a lovely first-floor bedroom for older guests.


based on 9 traveler reviews

Lovely five-bedroom , two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews

Beautiful Property in a Great Location

  • 5 of 5

I managed to snag this place for a weekend for myself and some friends. We really lucked out with this place. Plenty of beds, tons of room, and just steps form the beach! There were even 2 extra sitting rooms of the house that we didn't use.

The house came equipped with all of the necessary dishes and silverware, and there are plenty of large bowls and dishes for serving large groups. There is no A/C, but there is the lake effect breeze and plenty of fans in the house. New appliances and a great outdoor grill made cooking for a group so easy. There was enough room for all of us to sit inside and out.

The beach was clean and beautiful, the water was a bit chilly, but once you got used to it, it was so refreshing. The fire pit is great, we spent 2 nights out there talking, roasting marshmallows and looking at the stars. It was near town, but just far enough out to be nice and quiet and allow us to see so many stars. You could even see the milky way! Perfect for our group.

A few people ventured out to take a hike in Oscoda one day, but most people stayed on the beach all weekend long. We did stop in Tawas on the way back to see the lighthouse, and get some ice cream and souvenirs. Also, the sunrises were gorgeous. Another plus was having all of the towels provided. A few of us brought our own, but for the most part we used the ones provided. All in all, we could not have asked for a better stay. We had so much fun and all that people could talk about was how we can't wait to come back next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fenton, I

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This home was much larger than we had expected. There were 6 of us and there was plenty of room to spread out. The home was spotless and the kitchen was a delight. Refrigerator, stove and dishwasher are relatively new. Lots of kitchen accessories which I did not expect. I love to cook and found everything I needed to make my favorite dishes.

Beds were comfortable with wonderful newer crisp sheets. Great to have two bathrooms with 6 adults.

Beach is beyond awesome. We watched two sunrises that cannot be described! Yellow, orange, red, salmon color - with the pop as the run rose over the horizon. We walked on the beach and it is pristine. Beach chairs were there for us to enjoy the sun. Beach towels too.

We visited the Shipwreck Museum and enjoyed the glass bottom boat that hovers over local shipwrecks. The Museum was a complete surprise. Very interesting for those who love to learn about shipwrecks. We loved it!

Cannot recommend this home enough. The owner was totally available for questions and a delight. I would recommend this property to my friends and family without question!

Oscoda has places to rent canoes or kayaks if you wish. We enjoyed the restaurants and bars. :)

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We stayed here last year and this year while visiting friends in Michigan. We are making plans to rent it again next year too.

The house was very roomy, well-set up and beautifully decorated with lots of interesting art. It was tidy and exactly as described on the website. The beach is the back yard and even has a private sand dune where we watched the sun rise. A great stay!!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

HUGE house and great place for walks on the beach!

  • 5 of 5

Very spacious home with a great kitchen and dining area that overlooks

Lake Huron. We saw an eagle several times on the beach!! Enjoyed how close it is to Lumberman's Monument, a charming theatre in Oscoda, walking 5 minutes to the hotel/restaurant with a karaoke bar, and especially being right on the private, clean, sandy beach. Also close enough to Tawas to enjoy the "big city" for more dining, shopping, antiques and another theater. Would recommend this vacation spot

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Needed a good cleaning

  • 2 of 5

My family loved the location and beach but were so disappointed in the condition of the home. It was dirty and we spent the first 2 days of our vacation cleaning. This is a list of some of the cleaning we did after we arrived:

Cleaned both bathroom floors which had visible dirt, sand and hair from previous guests

Cleaned upstairs toilet which still had visible residue from previous guests (beyond gross)

Cleaned bathtubs/sinks which were not properly cleaned, upstairs had toothpaste stains in sink

Wiped down kitchen cabinets, inside and out and counters which had visible food from previous guests

Wiped off all kitchen knobs which were sticky and unclean

Washed pots that had visible residue from cleanser and the frying pans still had grease in them

Vacuumed the entire house including the stairs which had visible dirt of at least 1/4 deep at the seams (buildup from quite awhile)

Vacuumed all the bugs out of corners, etc. which were everywhere, most noticeably in the back porch area including the screens which had quite a build up of dead bugs

Washed all the sheets because of visible hair left from previous guests

Washed down all switch plates and switches due to visible dirt from previous guests

Cleaned ceiling fan in kitchen which had dust coming off the edges

Shook rugs on back porch and deck which hadn't been cleaned

Washed bathroom rugs which hadn't been cleaned

Wiped off walls/doors of visible fingerprints/dirt

Placed charcoal/candles around cottage to try and remove the smell of mothballs. We were lucky we had no small kids in our group.The mothballs were out in the open and this could be toxic is ingested.

The people that arrived after us were lucky that the place was thoroughly cleaned.

The location is convenient to Oscoda. Someone had stated that you can walk to restaurants, but there are no longer any within walking distance, you will have to drive everywhere. If you want any sand toys you will need to bring as none supplied. The home is a nice size and enough space for larger families. There is only one tv which was an issue with our family as we had adults and teens who like watching different shows.

The owner was responsive to our complaint of cleanliness and gave us some money off of our cleaning payment. The beach was sandy and we loved being able to walk out on the beach for walks. Great location to enjoy Lake Huron.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do feel the need to refute this review. Although we were not at the house the day the renter arrived, we were there the previous week and the conditions of "bugs, dirt on stairs, open mothballs: and filth in general did not exist. We have had the same reliable cleaning people from the time we started renting out the house two years ago and this is confirmed in all of our previous reviews. We were out of state on the day Sue arrived and offered to come up shortly after upon our return, (I wanted to see the house for myself) yet she asked us not to. I believe that this review is for the most part a response from her because we had to keep a portion of her damage deposit (the first time we've ever had to) due to breakages incurred to the home during her stay. After brand new 6-foot blinds were found broken off and hanging, she stated to me that I should have been able to replace them for under $4.00! A two-month old bed was also damaged from her group. The rental is located on a highway and there were trucks in front working on widening the road during her stay. Consequently there was extra dust "on top of the ceiling fan" which upset her (Those fans had been cleaned on top thoroughly the previous month.) which was probably affected by the road work. When she contacted me after her arrival and said it should "be like a hotel" I offered to have cleaning staff come in again and do another cleaning yet she refused this too. I also offered to have a worker come and pick up the key and that I would reimburse her but she said no. This renter booked in March and never once asked about how many t.v.s there were yet complained several days before her arrival that there was only one, when I had back-to-back renters which would have made the installation impossible. (I will have a second in the spring.) Sue was told that there was ONE restaurant that is a five-minute walk from the house and yes, it is still there.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 6


  • 5 of 5

We rented this more than adequate beach oasis for 3 nights while attending a family reunion in the area. There were 6 adults but we also accommodated 2 children (5&6) and a senior with mobility issues for breakfasts and dinners. Everyone found the property spacious and accommodating. The children could play in the sand at the back of the house while we enjoyed coffee or desert in the eat in sun room. There is so much room in this place!!!! The sand, water, deck and open concept in the kitchen and family room make conversation and contentment very easy to attain. We actually did not use the living room or music room as we were drawn to the outdoors the whole time we were there.

The property was spotless when we arrived and we found everything as per instruction from the owner or the manager next door who left us a note. There was ample linen and the two full bathrooms were a bonus when we were all trying to get ready to leave. I am the cook in the family and we had tons of storage space as well as all the utensils and dishes I needed to get a meal on the table. This place is a rental dream come true!!!!

The owner was super helpful from the first time I contacted her. She answered all my questions promptly and gave helpful information when I asked about grocery shopping and directions. I am Canadian and she paid special attention to banking requirements and postal considerations that are involved in a cross border rental. I could not have felt more accommodated or cared about in dealing with the owner.

I have rented from VRBO in Canada, the United States and Europe. This property is up there with my most enjoyable rental experiences. If you have a chance to travel to this very special part of Michigan, PLEASE take advantage of this rental!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary

There are beautiful state parks, scenic outlooks, canoe liveries, and the Oscoda River Queen paddle boat.

Oscoda is an old-town gem of Northern Michigan resorts.


Rates & Availability

Oscoda Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Peak Summer
Jun 18 2016 - Aug 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 5 2016
4 night minimum stay
Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 29 2016
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Payment in cash, money order, or personal check.
$400 refundable damage deposit, no cleaning fee
50% down to reserve, balance and damage deposit due four weeks prior to check-in.
check in 4pm, check out 11 am

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Northern Michigan Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , bunk beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers