Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Owner

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Beautiful Log Home with Many Activities and Lots of Relaxation

10 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Location: Deerwood Park, Piney Creek, NC, Blue Ridge Mountains near Sparta NC

Located 2hr and 30 min from Charlotte International Airport and 1 Hour from Boone, NC.

Accommodations: 5000+ square foot home, 5 Bedrooms 3.5 Baths with full basement. Home is located in DeerWood Park which is a private gated community which backs up to the state park and the New River. Home was just equipped with all new furniture, gas fireplace in basement and wood burning fireplace on main floor. Two king size beds in bedrooms upstairs along with a 44” HD flat screen television in both as well and 3 queen beds in other three bedrooms throughout home. Living room is equipped with two brand new leather sofa’s, a rock faced wood burning fire place and a 52” HD flat screen television.

Fully stocked kitchen with all the necessities needed, along with service for 10. Also includes a washroom with washer and drier right off the kitchen.

Home is located on 2+/- acres which include it’s on private pond with walkway and gazebo. Also very common to wake up and watch several deer while you have your morning coffee and see them crossing the hill directly in front of you while you are grilling your dinner.

Activities: Fish, Kayak, Canoe, Tube or swim down the New River which is conveniently a 15 minute walk from the house. Also you can fish in the many ponds which DeerWood Park is filled with. Hunt in the local state park or many of the other land around. Hiking and Mountain Biking is also another great thing to do in many of the trails of the state park which is just walking distance away. There are also many picnic areas which are supplied by Deerwood Park so you can take an afternoon hike and picnic and even set up camp for the kids for the night. DeerWood Park is also equipped with stables so if you desire to take your horse for trail riding there is a place for them to stay which is just as nice. Golfing is also available at many of the local golf courses/country clubs.

Keywords: Location: Deerwood Park, Piney Creek, NC, Blue Ridge Mountains near Sparta NC

Located 2hr and 30 min from Charlotte International Airport and 1 Hour from Boone, NC.

Accommodations: 5000+ square foot home, 5 Bedrooms 3.5 Baths with full basement. Home is located in DeerWood Park which is a private gated community which backs up to the state park and the New River. Home was just equipped with all new furniture, gas fireplace in basement and wood burning fireplace on main floor. Two king size beds in bedrooms upstairs along with a 44” HD flat screen television in both as well and 3 queen beds in other three bedrooms throughout home. Living room is equipped with two brand new leather sofa’s, a rock faced wood burning fire place and a 52” HD flat screen television.

Fully stocked kitchen with all the necessities needed, along with service for 10. Also includes a washroom with washer and drier right off the kitchen.

Home is located on 10+/- acres which include it’s on private pond

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.4
based on 10 traveler reviews

Beautiful Log Home with Many Activities and Lots of Relaxation
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
Mt pleasant nc
5

dcook

  • 5 of 5

I would recommend this cabin for a family wanting some quality relaxing family time. Because of the lack of Internet and wyfi it makes you find other resources of entertainment. Reading, watching movies, walking, live conversations with family... or short trips to play in river or canoeing.. It was nice to just be still and rest my mind from the outside world. The cabin it self was beautiful and comfortably furnished. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking inside or outside. There was lots different styles furniture on both decks to fit anyones needs. We ejoyed a short trip over the mountains to visit West Jefferson. There were watched the process of making cheese and then dinner at Shattly Springs.. This would also make a nice retreat location.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Mt. Pleasant NC
5

Vacationer

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home inside and out. Its huge with spacious bedrooms, dining area and kitchen. It is well furnished with all the amenities of home. Lovely furniture with great beds and I’m grateful I didn’t have to take my own linens. The pool table and pond was great fun for the young and the young at heart . Large deck with lots of sitting areas with very nice Adirondack chairs and rockers for the beautiful view. It was so exciting seeing alots of wild life. We seen deer’s, bunnies, ground hogs and a great variety of birds Will definitely be vacationing here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

beautiful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was great for our group of 13 people - mix of family and friends, ages 16-60+. It's peaceful and spacious and beautiful. The area was beautiful, and we enjoyed swimming in the river and taking a kayak trip. Loved the house, which has great porches and plenty of space on different levels so folks could gather or have private space. Appreciated the pool table and the grill, too! Only wish there were better cell service so communication could be easier, and wifi so we could have researched options for exploring and adventure. We would definitely return. It was great!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Large, Pretty Cabin

  • 3 of 5

The good: Large, pretty cabin. Abundant parking (I'm sure you could fit ten cars easily). Easy to get to. Our bed was comfy (although other members of our party said theirs was not). A lot of dishes, cookware, etc. Nice looking furniture, counters, flooring. A lot of outdoor furniture on both decks.

The not-so-good: Odd, assorted clothing in virtually every closet. Towels seemed to be an odd assortment piled into a laundry basket rather than nice, newer towels in their appropriate closets / bars. Handsoap seemed to consist of water in handsoap bottles. Maintenance seems lacking -- lower panel missing from dishwasher, ants around stove, plumbing leak under kitchen sink, refrigerator kept running and running but did not get cold while we were there, some blinds missing from necessary rooms, a smoke detector missing from ceiling and left on dresser, I believe a tv was missing from one of the upstairs bedrooms?, cover on chandelier falling down (making it appear the light was going to crash).

I also found cleaning to be quite lacking -- although pretty, the entire cabin was in need of a detailed scrubdown. In my opinion, the windows were really dirty, outdoor furniture and a lot of the decks were really dirty, some of the kitchen counter was dirty, there was dust and crumbs left on the floor, there were a lot of stains in sinks and tubs that I feel could be removed given time and proper tools, televisions had fingerprints on them, , the bar closet had old disintegrating flowers on the counter, a lot of furniture actually had dust on it, seemed to be begging for some furniture polish.

The owners seem to be really nice people. When I sent an email to make sure they were aware of the more serious issues, their mother texted me very quickly. She offered to send the housekeeper back out but I had already Clorox-wiped necessary surfaces, dusted furniture, and swept. She also indicated they'd recently had the plumbing leak worked on, thought it was fixed and would fix again after we left. I know they were trying to install a new refrigerator after we left but the old one was working again when they got there.

In closing, this cabin has so much promise and we would very much consider renting it again next year. However, if we do I will cross my fingers that better cleaning and maintenance services are found by then ... and I will be better prepared to clean myself in case cleanliness has not changed.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Perfect escape

  • 5 of 5

We visited for a wedding in Sparta over Memorial Day weekend and couldn't be more happy with the place. It was clean, huge, and absolutely beautiful. The directv was great as was the grill outside. I couldn't believe how many Adirondack chairs were there.

Note -- make sure to print off everything before you get there, or download copies of emails to your phone -- there is very little phone service once you're out there. I actually loved this, I was able to enjoy the whole weekend without reading an email or answering a call.

It was a very close walk to the New River (which we ended up tubing down on Sunday).

Thank you again!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Durham
1

Poor

  • 1 of 5

We were very excited to stay at this cabin....until the landlords lost my deposit check, said that I never returned a signed contract (which I have email evidence of), and never responded to any of my follow up emails to ensure that they had received that information. The cabin was then rented to another group, putting my group of 10 out of lodging for a wedding weekend.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize again for your inconvenience. Fortunately we now have online booking where the tenant electronically signs an agreement and pays with credit card so no worries of things getting lost in mail. Your rental agreement and deposit check were eventually found in the mailbox of the vacation home due to we do not live there this is why our P.O. box address is in bold in two separate places of the rental agreement. I apologize once again for the inconvenience but when following up on an email 6 months after you had inquired does me no good for I can not keep the home reserved for 6 months if I never hear back from you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 5

Map

Horse StablesAvailable, Kayaks and Mountain Bikes Available for Rent

Photos

Rates & Availability

Piney Creek House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,250
$3,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $300

Rates are subject to change until stay is confirmed!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • 1 Queen Master Bedroom located on Main Floor 2 King Bedrooms located Upstairs 2 Queen Bedrooms Located Downstairs
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote