check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Owner

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

MTN VIEWS*PEACEFUL*POND & BROOK* PRIVATE LOG CABIN ON 34 ACRES *HOTTUB & FIREPI

41 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Northeast Kingdom Cabin Rental Photos and Description

GET AWAY, DISCONNECT AND RECONNECT ! EXPERIENCE TRANQUILITY HERE AT THE CABIN!

THE BEST OF THE BEST! This newly renovated Log Cabin has two bedrooms with a Post & Beam interior surrounded by panoramic mountain views, providing 34 acres with private trails for hiking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Enjoy wildlife viewing,sit at the pond, fish the brook and stargaze from the hottub. For skiers, Burke Mtn, Bretton Woods,Jay Peak are all a scenic drive away. We have Vermont Vast Trail access for those who snowmobile. Most all White Mountain attractions are 20 - 30 minute drive. The cabins furniture, appliances and tasteful rustic decor make this an extra comfortable, cozy place to stay. The open concept post & beam offers space, lots of natural light and gorgeous mountain views. Amenities include: satellite TV, VCR, DVD, WI, microwave, toaster oven, dishwasher, stove, washer&dryer, whirlpool bath a gas fireplace and more. Multiple sliders open out to a mountain view deck with hot tub, gas grill. Both bedrooms have queen-size beds and ample closet space. A romantic paradise in the great northeast kingdom. WELCOME HOME!

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

About Owner

Joe and I where so excited to find such a rare and spectacular piece of property. We felt that we wanted to share it with others so that they may find healing and peace in such tranquil rare settings. Since then we have had many proposals, weddings, anniversaries, birthdays, retirement celebrations and above all those seeking healing.

The joy that it has brought to our lives is indescribable and the connections we have made with others is unforgettable.

Owner purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Owner chose Northeast Kingdom

Beautiful , Scenic and private. A rare opportunity to disconnect from our chaotic lifestyles.

What makes this cabin unique

Secluded but yet close to all attractions, river, lakes, skiing, snowmobiling, hiking, restaurants, groceries and shopping.

Reviews

4.9
based on 41 traveler reviews

MTN VIEWS*PEACEFUL*POND & BROOK* PRIVATE LOG CABIN ON 34 ACRES *HOTTUB & FIREPI
average rating of 4.902439 based on 41 reviews
5

Amazing Cabin

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is a great place for a vacation for people who want to get away from everyone and everything. Super cute, and cozy with a beautiful view of the mountains and some black bears. The bears are always in sight so we can observe them but far away enough not to scare us and they always keep to themselves. No need to worry about them wandering too close to the cabin. It's a wonderful place to relax and spend quality time with the people you love.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful winter getaway

  • 5 of 5

This Vermont getaway was exactly what we were looking for and more! Surrounded by snow covered trees and acres of land, it was truly something off of a postcard. The cabin itself was beautiful and clean and had all the amenities we needed. The home owners always responded quickly to any questions we had and provided many off site activities as well. We couldn't have asked for anything better for a relaxing winter getaway.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking to disconnect and find some peace and quiet together, this is the one. We loved the mountain views, brooks, ponds and wildlife. Every morning was so blissful waking up to watch the sun rise over the mountains and the sound of the brook passing thru. Truly a heavenly experience. The Owners where kind and helpful and the cabin was meticulous and well supplied. Loved all the decor, it was so welcoming. Looking forward to returning soon. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us and others. Kristen

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

TRUELY MAGNIFICIENT EXPERIENCE

  • 5 of 5

What a lucky find for my husband and I . We spent our 40th anniversary at the cabin and it was pure bliss. The Owners went out of their way by decorating the cabin for our special day. I can't thank them enough for their kindness. The mountain setting was spectacular. The cabin was meticulous inside and out.

We could tell the Owners love their home and how lucky for us that they share it with others. We had a lot of plans, but found the cabin and its setting so peaceful, that we just decided to enjoy every moment just staying there. We saw a deer in the field, turkey and a fox ! Thank you Brenda & Joe and we look forward to seeing you again soon. The cabin is going to become our annual getaway.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Beware Scam!

  • 1 of 5

First off, I'd like to say that the property and cabin was beautiful, peaceful and quiet. BUT the problem is that they charged me for damage that was already done to the hot tub. In the email I received from them stating that I had broken the hot tub cover by letting the cover fall to the ground and ripped the strap, they were charging me only a portion of the cost to fix it. PROBLEM being that I did not even take the cover off of the hot tub and I followed every little direction they gave down to a T. Inside the cabin in a book they compiled a list of stupid things people had done, this was one of them and when I read through the papers that other people had left over time telling them "thank you", there was actually someone stating a "ps" I broke the strap. By the wording in their email to me stating the damages there were done to the hot tub, it was the same wording that my girlfriend and I had read in the cabin that had been done by someone previously. Yet they are charging me for the damage and denying it was anyone else. I know I didn't dream that I read those exact words from a piece of paper in the cabin not to mention the fact that I never removed the cover at all for the 10 minutes I was in the hot tub.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This hottub cover was newly replaced prior to this guest arrival. Our rental Contracts give our guest the opportunity to report any damage upon arrival. This guest used damage statements from other past years guests that broke straps in other places on the hottub and noted the cover was replaced because of. This guest never denied cutting the strap off to remove the entire cover. We sent him pictures of before and after his arrival showing the damage. We offered to contact the last guest to confirm that the strap he broke and all straps where in perfect condition prior to his arrival. He first claimed to be in the military and then after he falsely accused my husband of being an ex cop that was convicted, he claimed he was a cop. We offered to go to small claims court to give him the opportunity to state his case. He also placed hot poker sticks on the dry grass, broke the top of the microwave vent. He repeatedly contradicted his statements. We also gave him the opportunity to find a cheaper price to replace the cover and we would refund the difference. He never did. This type of person is what all vacation owners dread. But one bad person will never discourage us from the love we have for sharing our cabin with others. One bad apple out of a crate is expected.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

Just spent a week up at Brenda and Joe's little piece of heaven in Maidstone, VT. It was exactly what we were hoping for and more. The property is beautiful with great views and marked trails. The home itself was perfect for the two of us. Clean, efficient, cozy with all of the amenities that you could need in a vacation rental. Brenda and Joe had detailed instructions for the property including a trail map, local area attractions and restaurants if you wanted to venture out.

There was no internet access and the area itself has poor cell service, but we didn't miss it all as the point of our vacation was to get away, recharge and refresh.

Brenda and Joe, the owners, were responsive and easy to communicate with through the whole process, and refunded our security deposit promptly.

We cant thank them enough and are already trying to plan our next visit.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Scorpios
Nearest Motorway
27 Miles
I-93
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Everybodys
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Maidstone lake Beach
Car: necessary

Ski at Burke Mountain,The Balsams Grand Resort, Bretton Woods. We have access to VAST trail corridor 98.(On-site or nearby) Hiking, (minutes from the best mountain climbing in the northeast) rock climbing, or hike the oldest preserved Vermont hiking trail,excellent biking in Maidstone lake state park, sightseeing, wildlife viewing, golf, great river fishing or fly fishing in Connecticut River or Maidstone and Island Pond Lakes, hunting, kayak/canoeing, amusement parks within 20-30 minutes, swimming and beach activities at Maidstone Lake, outlet shopping, antiquing, miniature golf, theater, ride to the top of the mountains via Mt. Washington Cog Railway, Cannon Mountain Aerial Tramway,

Other Activities: kayaking,snowmobiling,snowshoeing,hiking

Ski: Burke Mtn.*Jay Peak and Bretton Woods.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maidstone Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
rates based on dbl. occupancy
May 16 2016 - Nov 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$130
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $125
Tax Rate 9.0%

Additional charges apply for added guests. Rates are based on double occupancy.
Holidays are $200.00 per night.
NOTE: There is No WIFI or Cell service folks. A Landline is available with a calling card and Free
WIFI is available nearby. Satellite TV is also available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northeast Kingdom Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1536 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
Notes:
NO WIFI OR CELL SERVICE LANDLINE AVAILABLE

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...