Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Unique Cape Cod Estate, Complete Privacy, Pool, Private Beach, Tennis

Bedrooms 3
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath, with pool and private beach

This unique estate is a recently constructed classic cape cod cape featuring complete privacy. Situated on 4 1/2 acres of lovely property including a gunite in ground swimming pool. Tenents will enjoy swimming in the warm water of buzzards bay at our private beach which is only a short walk. Wind-surfing, canoeing, sailing, kayaking, tennis, and golf are also popular ways to spend the days.

USCG Licensed Capt. Arthur Stout is now offering day trips to Martha's Vineyard aboard our boat 'Charlotte Rose'.

More Details

Arthur Stout
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

Why Arthur Stout chose Wareham

Private Getaway


Wareham Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , first floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , second floor
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , second floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , second floor
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , second floor
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • bay/sound
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
16% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Unique Cape Cod Estate, Complete Privacy, Pool, Private Beach, Tennis
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews

Perfect for gatherings

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house for a reunion, and it was beyond fantastic. From the first step in the house (where Arthur had generously left us a bottle of wine!) with a nice note to the first dip in the pool to the first walk to the beach, our experience was wonderful.

The house has an enormous living area, which is perfect for gatherings, as is the pool area and front yard (though wear shoes/sandals, there are pointy holly leaves around!). We also made liberal use of the grill.

Neighbors are far enough away (and through woods) that we didn't feel worried about distracting them with the sounds of many people together.

The bedrooms are all huge, and easily fit everyone.

All in all, it was a perfect stay, and we're incredibly happy with the week we spent there. We will definitely be looking in again for our 20th!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Property was large and house was good size. Well provisioned. Felt like home.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our time. The layout of the house is open and great for families. The location is very private and great for outdoor activities. Very close to the beach (walkable) and close to the Bourne Bridge.

A few points to note:

- beach is on the bay and kids won't like it for swimming. Great for kayaks and dogs.

- pool is awesome! There are pieces of tile falling off unfortunately, but was very clean.

- hot tub doesn't work

- house is "lived in" which we found great. Felt very comfortable.

- property is fairly large so vacationers can really enjoy the outdoors. My dogs loved it and we were not concerned about them wandering off or cars or other people.

Overall we liked the property a lot. It isn't a high-end rental, so if that is kept in mind I believe a regular family would highly enjoy this rental.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Our private beach does not feature the big waves of the outer Cape but in some ways has it's benefits. The water is warm and perfect for swimming, paddle boarding and sailing. Dogs are welcome (and love it). There are no sharks! And no rip tide. The warm water and gentle surf is perfect for small children. They will love collecting shells and making friends with the local hermit crabs. The pool tile has been repaired and many renovations are underway for the upcoming season. As we continue to improve our property we are confident that future guests will be thrilled with the amenities and overall peace of this unique retreat. Sincerely, Arthur
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
London, United Kingdom

Should be 5 star, but there's a long way to go

  • 3 of 5

I have to agree with a number of the comments made in the other 3 star review.

We booked this at the back end of last year to dovetail in with a driving holiday. Our flights to and from London were non-refundable. To get an email a few weeks before we're due to arrive to say that the rental dates have changed is unacceptable.

Frankly, had we got the email earlier in the year, it would still have been unacceptable. The fact that the owner has a problem with their housekeeper is not something that should be made the problem of the people renting. It meant we had to find somewhere to stay for one extra night in place we didn't want to be in, at a time when most hotels were fully booked. We only got 6 days in the house rather than 7.

The description of the house says it has a hot tub, so again, it's not our issue that the owner decides it's inconvenient to service it.

And ripped screens? In the height of summer, when a walk to the pool can leave you bitten head to toe? You can't do those sorts of repairs out of season.

The fact is, it is a lovely house. It has a lot of space and it well equipped. The rooms are a bit light, lacking proper blinds on the velux windows. The pool is too cold to spend too much time in, but there is a firepit which is great for sitting around in the evening.

The major problem is the owner's lack of experience in renting. We had a few other problems: On arrival, there was no wifi password, and the owner didn't know what it was. We ended up downloading the router's manual onto a phone, and resetting to the default settings. Who wants to have to do that on vacation?

For several hours one night (at 2 in the morning), all of the smoke alarms in the house went off, wrecking our sleep. An earlier reviewer describes them all being disconnected, and putting the batteries back in. They've obviously been disconnected because they go off randomly. I did tell the owner who said they "beep" occasionally. It's a lot worse than that.

It's a great house, perfect for a family, with a ping pong table to keep everyone entertained. But you have to hope that nothing goes wrong as Arthur doesn't yet seem to really understand how to be a proper landlord. Sorry Arthur.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate all input as we strive to accommodate our guests in the best fashion. With that being said, we have been working diligently this fall to improve Towhee Cottage. Presently we have completed extensive landscaping and new plantings throughout the property. In addition the house has been painted throughout. I am confident that all of our guests will be pleased with their overall experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


  • 5 of 5

From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere special. Towhee Cottage is extremely private and peaceful. Tucked away from the road and out of sight from any neighbors the pool and grounds offer a completely secluded oasis. The evening sky is brimming with bright stars and the private beach on Buzzards bay is equally fresh and beautiful. The stroll down the quiet lane and across a grassy meadow leads you to this magical sandy stretch of ocean front. With sea birds and abundant wildlife free to swoop and roam unimpeded by human intrusion. Our week slipped by as we leisurely enjoyed the peace and quiet of this place. The tennis court is also a short stroll down the lane and the few other folks we met there were friendly and pleasant. The cottage itself is immaculately clean and flooded with light in every room. There is ample space for a large family to spread out. With a large fully appointed kitchen complete with granite counter tops- I couldn't have been happier cooking dinner for my family and evening guests. The bedrooms were very large and the beds and linens were exceptionally comfortable. After a long day at the beach and some tennis I couldn't have slept more soundly. We have been vacationing in this region for many years and I will say without hesitation that this is by far the best we have rented. In future years I will be sure to revisit Towhee Cottage on an annual basis. I want to thank Arthur with my deepest gratitude for this wonderful opportunity to share this lovely property. See you next year!

-N. Salmon

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

BE AWARE: Owner may renege on your contract!

  • 3 of 5

BE AWARE: the owner may renege on your contract.

We booked this property 6 months ahead with a 50% deposit. The owner contacted us just a month before our reservation to say we couldn't have the 1st night of our stay because he "had a scheduling conflict with his house cleaner" and he hoped it wasn't a problem. However, it was a very BIG problem because a family was getting off a plane from Europe expecting to have a place to sleep that night. We suggested we might even need to take it dirty for that first night because of the big inconvenience to our international travelers, but he said that actually, we couldn't because he'd already given our first night away to the previous week’s renters. So we were stuck. We missed the first night of our vacation and our friends had to stay their first night at a hotel, pack up again and then move into the house. The owner refunded us the cost of the missed night and would have let us stay an extra night, but no one was able to change their other plans. We were really appalled to be treated this way. We are landlords ourselves and would have done whatever was necessary, anything, to honor our contract with our renters, including getting to the house and cleaning it ourselves.

As far as the house goes, it was generally very nice. The rooms are indeed very large, but it does has some condition issues.

ANTS: There is an infestation of carpenter ants. They are all through the inside of the house, and a large part of the porch ceiling has been pulled down, probably in an effort to eradicate them.

POOL: The pool now has a very ugly wire fence around it which really makes the whole thing quite an eyesore. Photos should be updated.

HOT TUB: Prominently featured in the photos, the hot tub is broken and we were informed there were no plans to repair it, so it is just uncirculating, stagnant water.

POOL LIGHTS: Are permanently turned off and the manager was really quite rude when we called her to see if we could have access to the switch.

SMOKE DETECTORS: All the hardwire smoke detectors in this house have been taken down. I put batteries in one and reinstalled it myself for at least a bit of safety.

SCREENS: Missing on both the patio doors; one upstairs bedroom is missing the screen from its only window; most of the porch screens have sizable tears that let mosquitoes in.

We did enjoy our time here, it’s a nice walk to a pretty beach, but being treated so badly, I would never rent it again

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the property owner I would like to respond to this review. First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience due to the scheduling conflict this past summer. This is only my second year as a rental property owner and I am still learning some valuable lessons. I had sent an email out in March to all reserved parties however some folks didn't receive this message. Moving forward check in and check out will always be on Sundays. My property is a newly constructed house without any insect infestation. However as a safeguard we have contracted Orkin insect control company to monitor the property. The pool does have a temporary fence around it because the state of Massachusetts requires a fence by law. The hot tub is not offered at this time due to expense and liability. The pool hours are posted, which are sunrise to sunset. Maintenance including screen repair and many improvements to the property will be completed in the off season. As a new rental property owner I want to assure all the folks that have stayed with in the past and any future guests that we will do everything we can to make your stay at Towhee Cottage a pleasant and relaxing experience. Thank you for your interest in Towhee Cottage. Sincerely, Arthur Stout
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1

What a great vacation rental!!!

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautiful, well laid out and BIG!! Even with seven adults and four children there was plenty of room to spread out and engage in different activities at the same time.

The owner couldn't be nicer or more cooperative and we exchanged several calls and e-mails leading up to the vacation (because I had lots of questions which were all fully and accurately answered.)

The pool was a really nice feature and very clean and the yard was big enough for the children to have lots of room to play.

Everything shown in the property description was available as described and was all well maintained.

We had occasion to call the property managers with questions and they were easy to reach, very friendly and helpful.

We were so pleased with everything about this vacation rental that we've already booked for a return next year even though it's eleven months away!

Thanks, Arthur, for a very satisfying vacation at your beautiful house. I'll bet we'll be back many times in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Providence, RI, Boston
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Many nearby
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Woods Hole, MA
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Amtrak Boston, MA
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Route 195 to Boston or 25 to Cape Cod Canal
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
many nearby
Car: necessary

This unique estate is a recently constructed classic cape cod cape featuring complete privacy. Situated on 4 1/2 acres of lovely property including a gunite in ground swimming pool with hot tub. Tenents will enjoy swimming in the warm water of buzzards bay at a private beach which is only a short walk. Wind-surfing, canoeing, sailing, kayaking, tennis, and golf are also popular ways to spend the days.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Pet Fee per dog $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties