check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Carolyn Damstra

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Private, wooded cottage near Sleeping Bear Dunes and Big Glen Lake

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Maple City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8

Enjoy cool Glen Lake breezes on the shaded deck of this woodsy, classic up north cottage, then stroll across the street to Old Settlers Park for a dip in Big Glen Lake, watch the sunset on the dock or let the kids play on the playground. Close to Glen Arbor, Sleeping Bear Dunes and twenty minutes to Traverse City. Comfy for a large family or two small.

Microwave, gas grill, coffeemaker, dishes and pans, fans, washer and dryer, pack n'play crib and child safety gate, high speed wireless internet, bonfire pit and hammock. Linens and bath towels provided. One bath, two bedrooms: one with a double and a double/twin bunk, the other with a double futon and a twin. pullout queen sofa in livingroom. No TV, air conditioning, smoking or pets. fans provided. Walking distance to two gourmet restaurants and an ice cream / convenience store.

Check in at 4:00 p.m, check out at 11:00 a.m. No pets, no exceptions sorry!

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carolyn Damstra (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Carolyn Damstra

The Muggs live in East Lansing, MI and are fierce Spartan fans!

Carolyn Damstra purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Carolyn Damstra chose Northern Michigan

We knew this was 'The Country's Most Beautiful Place' long before it got that moniker. The air is fresher, lakes crystal clear, and the quiet will bring a lasting peace.

What makes this cottage unique

Location is great! Something for everyone--beach time, hiking, biking, kayaking, wine touring, or just relaxing on our hammock. The cottage is simple but still has everything you need to be comfortable.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)
Private, wooded cottage near Sleeping Bear Dunes and Big Glen Lake
average rating of 4.076923 based on 13 reviews
5

Lovely little cottage

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely little cottage - I liked everything about it - not to modern and not to rustic - if I could I would like to spend all summer there. I am cyclist - so on bicycle you can get everywhere in 30 minutes, roads are bike friendly and bike/ hiking trails are awesome - Will come back for sure :)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

Very disappointed. All the beds were not suitable for sleeping. The floors were dirty. The shower head dripped out water. We could not get some of the outlets to work. The only good thing I can really say is the location is nice. Easy access to Traverse City and all of Lelanau Peninsula. Won't stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry your stay was not what you expected, however we do not feel all of these comments are accurate. all of the outlets work; one downstairs requires flipping a switch next to it. The beds all have regular mattresses except for the smaller bedroom double, which has a futon mattress as advertised--many people really like it. The larger bedroom double has a very nice pillow top mattress. The shower does not have great pressure but it certainly does not "drip water". This conserves water so several people can take showers without running out of hot water.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Quaint

  • 4 of 5

The property is definitely sweet, on a hillside so driveway in winter might be dicey. There were two bedrooms. One had one comfy bed and a bunk with lower double but the smaller bedroom had a queen sized bed and a twin bed that were as hard as a rock. If you've ever slept on a floor or traveled to India where soft beds do not exist, you will know after one night what this means. Thank God we brought a blow up mattress. The kitchen, well appointed, had lots of mold in the lower cabinets. If you are sensitive to that, then this spot is not for you. Only two of the burners on the 4 burner electric stove worked. The two not functional barely got warm. Bathroom was spotless but all the floors were very dirty. Swept, but not washed in a long time. Typically we do not wear shoes in the house, but had black feet and dirty socks so kept shoes on. There is a blue desk between kitchen and dining area that is quite moldy as well. Again, if you are sensitive to mold, you may keep looking for another spot or ask owner to remedy mold issues in the cabin. The fire pit was large and there is ample fire wood with lots of split rail seating.. Access to the Dunes and a great coffee shop is only a short drive away. I'd give the cleaning lady some extra time for floor washing. It was cozy and heater worked fast to take chill off where wood stove would be great in really cold weather. No A/C. Fans provided though.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
3

Rustic and comfy

  • 3 of 5

This little cottage is exactly as it is described; nothing fancy and perfect for an overnight stay for adults. The beds were comfy and the living room cozy to sit and chat. The only suggestion I would offer is to have mirrors in the bedrooms.

The owner, Carolyn , kept in contact, via mail, and made the process effortless. Thank you Carolyn!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. There actually are full-length mirrors inside the closet doors in the bedrooms! We try to think of everything that would make our guests more comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfectly Relaxing Recharge

  • 5 of 5

Ideal location for ALL of the family's needs (kiddos & M&D) the Muggs Cabin was a great recharge and the TRUE "Up North" weather for July was nothing less than PERFECT. Nice accommodations, Close to Glen Arbor and an Ideal location for "smores" and long-lasting Up North memories...Thanks

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Clean, well-maintained rustic home

  • 4 of 5

This home is tucked away at the top of a hill with trees all around. The drive is a bit steep, but manageable. Loved the outdoor hammock in the trees and the deck for dining and relaxing. There were plenty of fans for warm days to bring in a cool breeze at night for sleeping. While I usually opt for AC in the homes that we utilize, this house cooled down enough at night for sleeping and we are rarely around during the day, since there is so much to do in this area. It is on the rustic side, but well-maintained and was very clean when we arrived. The owner was readily available before we arrived to answer questions via email and to help us plan accordingly. We spent time in Traverse City at Schelde's for dinner, as well as, Boonedocks in Glen Arbor. We climbed Pyramid Point, looked for rocks along Lake Michigan, hiked in the National Forest, biked along various parts of the Heritage Bike Trail ( which is awesome!!!!), drove through Pierce Stocking and checked out those sites, kayaked part of the Platte River run by Riverside Canoe Rentals in Honor, MI, watched the sunsets, had outdoor bonfires in the fire pit, and swam at various points along Lake Michigan. Pictures and description of the property are accurate. The pricing is great for someone wanting to experience the NW corner of Michigan on a budget.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Traverse City Airport
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Art's Tavern
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
La Becasse'
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
The Homestead
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Sleeping Bear Dunes
Car: necessary

Quiet, secluded house on a hill in a forest. Located 10 minutes from Glen Arbor and Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, 20 minutes from Traverse City. Watch the sunset from the dock in Old Settler's park. Biker and kayaker paradise--rent both in Glen Arbor.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maple City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
late summer
Aug 15 2016 - Sep 5 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,300
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 26 2016
2 night minimum stay
$130
$800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $75

$75 cleaning fee
4:00 pm check in, 11:00 am checkout. Must stick to this, especially in the summer, unless prior requests are arranged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maple City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • River ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • washer and dryer are in the bathroom. bath towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Both bedrooms are upstairs. Stairs are steep (babygate available). There is also a new pullout queen sofa bed in the livingroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
public park with swimming dock and playground right across the street. nonmotorized boat launch.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties