Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private, wooded cottage near Sleeping Bear Dunes and Big Glen Lake

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8

Book now for summer! prime dates fill up fast!

Enjoy cool Glen Lake breezes on the shaded deck of this woodsy, classic up north cottage, then stroll across the street to Old Settlers Park for a dip in Big Glen Lake, watch the sunset on the dock or let the kids play on the playground. Close to Glen Arbor, Sleeping Bear Dunes and twenty minutes to Traverse City. Comfy for a large family or two couples.

Microwave, gas grill, coffeemaker, dishes and pans, fans, washer and dryer, pack n'play crib and child safety gate, high speed wireless internet, bonfire pit and hammock. Linens and bath towels provided. One bath, two bedrooms: one with a double and a double/twin bunk, the other with a double futon and a twin. pullout queen sofa in livingroom. No TV, air conditioning, smoking or pets. fans provided. Walking distance to two gourmet restaurants and an ice cream / convenience store.

Check in at 4:00 p.m, check out at 11:00 a.m. No pets, no exceptions sorry!

More Details

Property Manager
Carolyn Damstra
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2017

Why Carolyn Damstra chose Northern Michigan

We knew this was 'The Country's Most Beautiful Place' long before it got that moniker. The air is fresher, lakes crystal clear, and the quiet will bring a lasting peace.

What makes this cottage unique

Location is great! Something for everyone--beach time, hiking, biking, kayaking, wine touring, or just relaxing on our hammock. The cottage is simple but still has everything you need to be comfortable.

Amenities

Maple City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • River ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • washer and dryer are in the bathroom. bath towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Both bedrooms are upstairs. Stairs are steep (babygate available). There is also a new pullout queen sofa bed in the livingroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
public park with swimming dock and playground right across the street. nonmotorized boat launch.

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

43% Complete
30% Complete
8% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
Private, wooded cottage near Sleeping Bear Dunes and Big Glen Lake
average rating of 4.0 based on 23 reviews
5

Cottage Life

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a real cottage in a beautiful place, then look no further.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Owner Fails to Acknowledge Flaws

  • 2 of 5

I would first like to say, my family has been coming to this area for decades. Previously, we always camped at the D H Day Campground. We know the region. We have switched to renting homes to accommodate all the age groups, as not everyone finds it comfortable to sleep on the ground anymore. That being said, if you are looking for rustic, go camping or find a different cottage. I so desperately wanted this cottage to workout.

We first arrived and it looked like we were the first renters of the season. Everything was overgrown. The hammock was overrun with plants and bugs. The fire pit was also overgrown. The deck was in need in power washing, most of the seating was caked in dirt/mud/I don't know what. I reached out to the owner since the outdoor space was unlivable (tick problem being a big factor). She responded with, "it is what it is". Previous homes we had the owners out while we were there to make sure mosquitos weren't becoming a problem (this was without even asking them). I found her response disheartening because the outside obviously wasn't that big of a problem when the photographs were taken of the property.

The inside was generally as the pictures shown-minus the bugs. EVERYWHERE. We have pictures and video of it. By the last day we had to throw out a bunch of food and basically run out. If you're thinking it wasn't stored properly, the food was. This was probably due to firewood being stored inside (unsplit logs).

We did ask for a minimal refund, again bc of the outdoor space, and she advised that since her rates were so low, it wasn't going to happen. Looking at other cottages around, there are a lot nicer looking ones for the about the same price. Next time we will be sure to book further in advance.

This received 2 stars, as she did respond promptly and the beds were, for the most part, comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Everything you need for a comfortable stay.

  • 4 of 5

Private setting so if you are new to the area take mental notes of the quick right turn headed up the hill to the cottage. At night, it's dark. Cozy cottage and the art work painted by the owner is beautiful and displayed nicely throughout.

No TV/DVD so bring something to do Netflix or something if you need to do that thing but it was nice to just enjoy the area.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely cottage

  • 4 of 5

Was Perfect for our family of four. The sleeping bear dunes & swimming in old settlers park were highlights.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very dusty and grubby

  • 2 of 5

The communication from the owner was good. However, the place was poorly maintained, everything was covered in a layer of dust and smelled musty. Even the patio furniture was unusable without cleaning it yourself. Cleaning it before renting is the least that they can do. Bathroom does not flush properly.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you were not happy with your stay. However, we feel this review is not correct. The cottage is thoroughly cleaned before every stay and there is not any "dust" in the cottage, especially because there is not forced air heat. Other reviews comment on the cleanliness of the cottage. Both the toilet and the septic system are brand new and work fine. The flushing mechanism of the toilet is push-button instead of a handle so perhaps you were not used to this more modern device.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location with old school charm!

  • 4 of 5

We had two couples stay at the Mugg Cottage for a weekend. The host was very polite and communicated everything needed to make this a wonderful stay. The location was great! Although not right on the water, it was directly across from a park with water access. 20 minutes from Traverse City roughly and very close to Sleeping Bear Dunes. We would rent again!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Traverse City Airport
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Art's Tavern
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
La Becasse'
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
The Homestead
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Sleeping Bear Dunes
Car: necessary

Quiet, secluded house on a hill in a forest. Located 10 minutes from Glen Arbor and Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, 20 minutes from Traverse City. Watch the sunset from the dock in Old Settler's park. Biker and kayaker paradise--rent both in Glen Arbor.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maple City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Summer
Jun 27 2017 - Jul 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
late summer
Jul 21 2017 - Aug 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,500
 
 
end of summer
Aug 21 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,200
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $75

$75 cleaning fee
4:00 pm check in, 11:00 am checkout. Must stick to this, especially in the summer, unless prior requests are arranged.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties