Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

S. HAVEN - Charming, spacious 6BR Vacation Home close to Town & Beach with Pool

Bedrooms 6
Space 2,941 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

6 bedrooms, 3 baths, sleeps 16 and close to our other home, listing 354937.

SOUTH HAVEN, MI - Lovely, spacious Victorian on a quiet, tree lined street, close to quaint downtown and magnificent Lake Michigan beach. Perfect location for family vacations.

This large home was remodeled in 2013 offering lots of fresh space for your large party. Decorated in cottage style with all the comforts of home, it is perfect for family reunions and gatherings. Guests love the extra large dining room because the table easily seats 15, and the formal living room because it is perfectly situated for visiting and relaxing. The bonus T.V. room is right off the kitchen. All the bathrooms were recently remodeled and so was the kitchen with all new appliances.

Our guests adore the extra large back yard. They love to kick back or grill on the deck while the kids play in the pool, huge sand box, or cedar play set. There's even a garage for your bikes, and we have a couple of bikes there for your use. Everything you need is here waiting for you. Get set to enjoy a memorable week in South Haven.

The quaint downtown with shopping and dining is an easy 4 block walk down the tree lined sidewalk. Magnificent South Beach and the Kid's Corner park with indoor bathrooms, water fountains, and play equipment are an easy walk as well.

The names of all persons staying at the property must be included in the completed Rental Agreement. Cribs and high chairs to accommodate infants can be provided at no extra charge.

More Details

Property Manager
Carolyn Slone
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2018

About Carolyn Slone

This house compliments our other weekly rental at 704 Kalamazoo.

Carolyn Slone purchased this house in 2013

Why Carolyn Slone chose South Haven

South Haven has an awesome beach and is only a 2 hour drive from Chicago. Metro Detroit are only 2-3 hours away, so it is a great midwestern resort location. 2 bicycles are included with the rental!

What makes this house unique

The Broadway House is remarkable for the size of its rooms. It has a huge dining room that easily seats 14 at it's table. It also has a living room and a large, separate T.V./game room with new leather sectional which is great for watching T.V. without bothering the people in the dining room and living room. Upstairs there is a bonus T.V. room with a day bed in it that is perfect for children. These spaces allow the house to accommodate a crowd easily, with lots of space for everyone to come together or find a quiet space apart. It also has an expansive rear deck with grill, tables and chairs, and picnic table for al fresco dining. The old fashioned front porch is covered.


South Haven House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2941 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Saturday to Saturday rentals for the months of June, July, and August.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Town ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 15 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Bathroom opens to kitchen and downstairs bedroom.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , Second floor bath with a bath tub.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Second floor bathroom with a shower.
  • Bathroom 1 is on the 1st floor, and has 2 doors: one that opens into the kitchen, and one that opens into the large 1st floor bedroom. Bathroom 2 is on the 2nd floor and has a tub, toilet, and sink. Bathroom 3 is on the 2nd floor and has a shower, toilet, and sink.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 3 twin/ single , Bunk bed with a single trundle under it.
    Bedroom 2 - old fashioned full size bed with a separate closet.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 3 twin/ single , Bunk bed with a trundle underneath it.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Two twin beds with a closet.
    Bedroom 5 - Large room with a queen size bed and fireplace.
    Children's Nook - 1 twin/ single , Twin day bed with extra T.V. and DVD/VCR.
  • Bedrooms one & four both have 1 queen size bed, plus one bunk bed with a trundle, sleeping 5 total. These are both very large rooms.
  • Books
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
The kitchen has a separate pantry which is really great for storing all the food large parties require in an organized way. There is also a second full sized refrigerator there which works nicely for beverages and extra produce. We also provide sandtoys, 4 beach chairs, and a wagon to haul them to the beach. 2 adult bikes are available with signed waiver of liability. Bath towels, kitchen towels and all linens are. A Crib, pack 'n play, baby gate, and high chair available at no extra charge. Bring your own beach towels. We provide one roll of paper towels, and a roll of toilet paper per bathroom to get you started. We do not charge booking fees, insurance fees, or rent for child equipment like local agencies do. We also charge only 6% MI tax, instead of 11% that rental agencies charge.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
S. HAVEN - Charming, spacious 6BR Vacation Home close to Town & Beach with Pool
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews

Lovely large Victorian home with all the amenities. Plus a pool & fenced back yard.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great So Haven family vacation and loved our 'home' away from home. Broadway House is a pretty Victorian with all the amenities plus a large fenced backyard with a pool. It is conveniently located to beach & downtown. The owner, Carolyn is very friendly and helpful with local 'things to do'. Thanks Carolyn!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are very welcome Susan! We are always glad when our guests have a great time and we work hard to make sure that the Broadway House is the best it can be. The extra space at the Broadway House really helps ensure that even the large, multi-generational groups have the space they need for a relaxing vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Marietta, GA

Broadway house vacation - loved it!

  • 5 of 5

This was the second visit for us with our extended family (grandparents, children, brother and sister and their family) for our holiday vacation. The living room and dining room continues to be great places for all of us to gather and as a mom with children I also appreciate that there is space for everyone to decompress as well. We liked the recent updates to the downstairs bath and living room. The Broadway House was well maintained and the owner was friendly and helpful. Love the Victorian vintage charm. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your second stay with us! We are super happy that you liked the updates to the downstairs bathroom and living room that we made this fall. Every year we take the opportunity to make the Broadway House a little better, and we are glad you noticed. We look forward to having your group back again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

My family rented this house to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. We had 11 adults and 4 teenagers and it was very tight. I would not recommend more than 10 people in this house as there is no large living space that can accommodate more than 8-10. The house is old and feels old, although it has been updated somewhat. The bathroom doors upstairs are squeaky and very loud to open and close which makes it inconvenient if someone is using the bathroom in the middle of the night. One of the sinks upstairs drains very slowly. We had planned to use the bicycles that were included with the rental, but they were not in working condition. One had a flat tire and one had a broken seat. We asked for them to be fixed twice but they were not. In fact, we were told towards the end of the week that we could take the bikes to a bike shop ourselves and we would be reimbursed for fixing them - seriously? The pool was not cleaned until 4 days after we arrived (and after we asked). Although it was cool while we were there, a few of us did use the pool and felt it should have been clean when we arrived. The inside of the house was clean. The extra refrigerator was nice to have. The outside of the house around the front door had a lot of bugs and cobwebs, the bushes had not been trimmed, and there was a broken light laying in the landscaping. The plastic table on the back deck had a big hole in it.

A lot of these things would be easy fixes for the property owner, but instead they became major irritants for us. We would not rent this house again.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback Amy. We are sorry your experience was not what you had wanted. We are committed to improving our processes and staff trainings to make the Broadway House the best it can be. To address your concerns: HOUSE SIZE: The house is 2941 square feet, which is what the city assessor records for the property. Many previous renters have left reviews saying the house was spacious and that it accommodated their large groups well. However, based on your valuable input, we are replacing a trundle in each of the two largest bedrooms with bunk beds, so as to open up those rooms even more when the house is at full capacity. POOL: The pool is professionally cleaned once a week. Unfortunately, it rained after the pool was cleaned for your week. We were happy to re-clean it upon your request. MAINTENANCE: The bikes should have been in perfect repair for the entirety of your stay. The maintenance man is now checking each bike every Saturday prior to guest arrival. In addition, he will also check the siding on the porches and landscape lighting. He is very responsive and would have been happy to fix the squeaky hinges and slow drain. In the future, the cleaning crew will now specifically check those items when they clean the house between renters on Saturday. We work hard to improve the Broadway House every year. Based on your feedback we are adding a swimming pool heater and large aluminum patio table that seats 8. We are also adding two new bikes for a total of four.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Super home for 3 generation vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our three generation family gathering, ages 3 to 95 years old, all had a wonderful time at the Broadway House. Both the beach and town are within walking distance and the home itself is every bit as spacious and lovely as the pictures show. Carolyn was welcoming and helpful and provided great tips on where to eat out and things to do. The house itself was very clean and in good repair. Everyone enjoyed walking to town, shopping, the Michigan Maritime Museum's sunset cruise, eating at the local restaurants and stopping by Nemo's for the Sherman's ice cream. (A local brand we discovered.) Everyone but Grandma enjoyed the pool, the 2 new bikes, walking to the beach and lighthouse, as well as renting kayaks and surf boards. We will recommend the Broadway House to our friends and family. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the Broadway House! We not only try hard to keep it nice, but every year we look for ways to make it even better.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Family Vacation at the Broadway House

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful family vacation at the Broadway House. Our family consisted of 8 adults and 5 children ages 16 months to 14 years. The back yard was perfect with a pool, swing play set and large sandbox. The house was spacious and the

kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cooking needs. The house was very clean and well decorated. We also loved South Haven.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay t the Broadway House! We work really hard to make sure that the house is as nice as it can be and that our guests have a great time.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Kalamazoo, MI

We had a great time at the Broadway house!

  • 5 of 5

Highlights were the ample space for 7 adults and 8 kids, the pool, and the long dining room table, allowing for meals altogether- it was a special time. The house is simply lovely- any small issue that arose was quickly fixed by the owner. Quick driving distance to everything you want in South Haven- the beach, park, downtown shopping, movies...would recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! The house is situated so that most guests walk to town and the beach, but it's good to know that there is ample parking for those that choose to drive. We hope you come back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


The United Pentecostal Church parking lot connects Green to Monroe street for a very pleasant walk directly to the beach.

The Kid'sCorner Park with baseball diamond, indoor bathrooms, fountains, and giant wooden playscape is 5 blocks away when you take the shortcut from our back yard. Our farmer's market is open every Saturday in South Haven's municipal parking lot downtown. Numerous fishing charters operate out of the Shouth Haven harbor. There is also fishing off of the pier. The Michigan Maritime Museum operates lake cruises on their tall masted ship 2 times a day from their dock in the harbor. They also offer tours of the harbor and Black River aboard their antique reproduction touring launch. Boat, dinghy, surf board, and kayak rentals can also be arranged in town. There are numberous golf courses in and around South Haven. Harbor Shores, a new Jack Nicklaus course on the shores of Lake Michigan is 20 minutes away in St. Joseph. A children's hand's on museum, operating carousel, and interactive water fountain are in St. Joseph as well. Saugatuck, with it's live theater, boutiques and restaurants is just 20 minutes north.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $180
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $500

No smoking. Inquire with the owner regarding pets and associated fees. Summer season rentals are Saturday to Saturday.

A deposit of 50% of the rental fee is due within 5 days of making a reservation, when a contract will be forwarded to you for signature. The final payment tax is due 30 days prior to your arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties