check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

MARGARET SMITH PIERCE

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

National Park Treasure. Charming, Tranquil Country Cottage.

13 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Overview

Volcano Golf and Country Club House Rental Photos and Description

Three bedroom, two bathroom surrounded by native trees and plants.

Enjoy this haven of peace and tranquility. Private yet convenient to all Volcano sites. Relax in this charming country cottage surrounded by beautiful native trees and flowers. A bird lovers delight. Take walks, hike, ride bikes, play golf or just settle in front of a cozy fire and read a book or watch a movie from our extensive DVD collection.

This modified A-frame house features two bedrooms downstairs. One with a queen bed and one with a twin bed. These two bedrooms share the downstairs bathroom. Upstairs there is a large master suite with a king bed, sitting area and private bath. There is extra bedding and futons for overflow guests. Each room of the house is tastefully decorated in a charming country motif featuring handmade pine furniture by a local artisan and paintings, drawings and pottery by local artists. The kitchen is fully equipped with high end modern appliances. Everything you need to make your stay comfortable is provided (4 slice toaster, blender, mixer, slow cooker, waffle maker, coffee maker, bean grinder and more). Hot chocolate, coffee and a variety of teas are provided. You will also find name brand bath products, hairdryer, first aid kit and common paper products. Just bring your personal items and you will be right at home.

This quiet residential area is situated around the Volcano Golf Course. The 4000 foot elevation boasts beautiful sunny days and cool nights. The clear skies provide amazing star gazing.

A half hour drive takes you to the beautiful Punaluu black sand beach for swimming or snorkling or into Hilo town for shopping and sight seeing.

Our previous guests have said:

'What a fantastic cottage! We were so impressed with absolutely everything here. One could not ask for anything more. We LOVED the decorations!. The whole experience was far better than I ever imagined. Thanks for a fabulous place and for such great hospitality. We will definiitely do this again.' Plainsboro, NJ

'We loved this place from the time we turned into the driveway to the time we left. Everything about the cottage is PERFECT! We had gorgeous sunny days to hike in the park and we were astounded by what we saw. Truly a great place to visit. Blue Springs, Missouri

'This must be the prettiest cottage in all of Volcano! Wish we had more time here. Felt absolutely spoiled. We recommend it highly.' Abmay, In.

Keywords: House with large lot, charming country cottage, cheerful accomodations, tranquil surroundings, minutes from National park.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
MARGARET SMITH PIERCE (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About MARGARET SMITH PIERCE

Mike and I are 30 year residents of the Big Island. We have always loved the Volcano area and spent a lot of time camping and staying at different B&B's in the area. We purchased Pukeawe Cottage in 2001 and then within the next few years we were able to purchase the lots on both sides of our house giving us almost an acre of land. Much of the land was over taken by invasive species and we have worked hard to clear the land and replant with natives and non invasive plants. We feel very proud of what we have created here and hope our guests enjoy the park like surroundings.

MARGARET SMITH PIERCE purchased this house in 2001

Why MARGARET SMITH PIERCE chose Volcano

We chose to buy our future retirement home in this neighborhood because it is secluded yet close to all the things we enjoy. Hiking and biking and working in our gardens are things we enjoy when we visit our home in Volcano and we look forward to doing more of it when we are able to retire. We are both very busy small business owners in Kona so we cherise all the time that we have at Pukeawe Cottage.

What makes this house unique

You will be visited daily by the birds that drop in to be fed. We provide the food so

you can enjoy their presence.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The cottage was so great! I didn't want to go home! Cozy fire, beautiful stairs and rooms. We went bike riding, ate some Thai food & got a souvenir from Volcano. Thanks so much!

It is so peaceful.
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 9

Reviews

5
based on 13 traveler reviews

National Park Treasure. Charming, Tranquil Country Cottage.
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
Arizona
5

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at Pukeawe Cottage and really enjoyed our stay! The location is beautiful and as promised..it was cooler than other parts of the island. It was about 10 minutes from the volcano, so made it convenient to go see it at night. The furnishings and everything about the cottage was first class! I would be happy to stay there again and recommend it to anyone! The owners were readily available for all questions.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect holiday home

  • 5 of 5

- nice, clean and perfectly equipped cottage (washing machine and dryer - all new - european standard)

- plenty of space for our family of 5

- quiet place

- comfortable climate - not as hot as at the beaches

- close to the volcano national park - no long drives for our activities in the park

- don't miss to go to the Jagger museum lookout at night (less than 10 min drive)

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I only got to stay one night in this beautiful home. The house was very well taken care of and was even stocked with many helpful essentials! (Shampoo, coffee, tea, etc...) We were just a couple of minutes from the entrance to the volcano park and also just a few minutes from restaurants and small stores. The beds have amazingly soft sheets and nice furniture to relax the afternoon and evening away. The grounds are beautiful and there are even pheasants and chickens that roam around from house to house. Fun to watch...and feed! We would highly recommend this house for a night...or longer. Next time we come back to the volcano side of the island we are definitely staying here again...hopefully for more than one night! Thank you for sharing your house.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Paul for your review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Pukeawe Cottage and hope you get to come back again for a longer visit. We will continue to try to make it a pleasant experience for all who visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A cottage we will never forget!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, children, and I were lucky enough to find this perfect cottage while visiting Volcano National Park on the big island of Hawaii. From the minute we arrived, we felt at home. The decorations are beautiful, beds are warm and comfortable, kitchen is stocked, hundreds of DVDs to watch, large washer and dryer, large upstairs master suite, and I could go on, and on. The outside of the cottage is just as amazing. Walking paths with pretty flowering trees and shrubs line the way. I wish we could've stayed longer! It was a perfect place for us, and in the perfect location.

Margaret, the owner, was a delight to work with and we were very prepared in advance with directions and check-in information.

I would highly recommend this adorable cottage and hope to stay there again!

Shelly L.

St. Louis, MO

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Shelly L. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you have the opportunity to return. We will continue to maintain and improve Pukeawe Cottage in hopes that all who come to visit have a great experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Salinas, CA, USA
5

Lovely home in Volcano!!!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time at this lovely home in Volcano! This was my 2nd stay at Pukeawe Cottage and both visits were perfect. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. I stayed for 6 days with some friends, including a 1 year old child. It's a perfect location for exploring that side of the island. We had several fun day trips in the Volcano and Hilo areas.

The house is beautifully decorated and has a cozy, welcoming feel. The kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms are all well stocked with items you'll need during your stay. There was even a pack n' play for the baby and several fun board games for nights in. The outdoor landscaping is great and there are some nice spots to sit outside and take in all of the surrounding beauty. There is a container of seed outside for feeding the local birds, who arrive every morning for breakfast.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. I would recommend this home to anyone visiting the Volcano area.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

What a gorgeous cottage so close to Volcano National Park!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this cottage for our "pre-honeymoon" last winter. What a wonderful place with such a charm! It is at walking distance from a winery (which I do also recommend ;), and 5 min away (by car) from the volcano national park. It is a couple miles away from Volcano Village (you have to try the Thai Thai Restaurant), and only 1/2 hour away from Hilo (for shopping, markets, coffee [!!!]...) - maybe 45 min during rush hours. The black and green sand beaches are also not far away and are definitely worth the detour! Very convenient location for those who want to stay in the South of Big Island for a while - and trust me, 5 days was "just enough", count at least 2 days in the park to make it worth...! And a bonus: if you don't like so much the heat, it is often cool at night in this area (as cold as 45-50°F / 8-10°C during our stay), which makes it easier to sleep at night. And not as rainy as Hilo is.

What to say about the house... Except that it is a fantastic, well arranged cottage, with a closed wood fire place (needed for the coldest night), fully equipped kitchen (and laundry!), internet (to publish some pictures ;), very well maintained, with definitely enough space for 6 (or 8) people. Every morning we had the pheasants, cardinals, and other local birds eating breakfast with us (make sure to feed them - their is a bucket of bird seed available :). This is a very quiet neighborhood. The landscaping around the house is full of native plants, shrubs, and trees, with delicious tiny details that I will let you discover. The garden-side close to the house is very well-maintained, creating a cute and peaceful / relaxing environment!

The rental was made easy, and the tenants (very nice people!) have responded quickly to all our messages and where very helpful. There is definitely nothing to complain about. We will definitely return there, and next time, we might bring some friends ;)

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Kilauea Military Camp
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Volcano Golf
Car: necessary

Within walking distance to Volcano National Park, Great hiking trails, Walking distance to Volcano Winery.

Withing 1/2 hour to black sand beach with great snorkling.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Volcano Golf and Country Club House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$140
$950
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.41%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Volcano Golf and Country Club House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Great place from which to explore Volcano National Park.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties