check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Robert and Elizabeth Flickinger

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Pet friendly, Gently sloping lot, 2 docks, Quiet cove, Great swimming!

32 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Moneta Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, two full baths, sleeps 8

Please note: Due to cleaning schedules our cottage rents from Sunday to Sunday in season. You must supply or rent your own sheets, towels, and soaps.

Our cottage is furnished to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. The media package is highlighted by a 60 inch flat screen HD TV, with premium movie channels and sports channels, DVR, stereo and satellite WIFI internet (please note that internet downloading is limited by the satellite technology).

The ranch-style cottage features a great room with a living room, a dining area, and a fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances (the oven is not full-size) and a gorgeous view of the lake. Sliding glass doors from the kitchen exit onto a deck with lake views, table and chairs, and a gas grill. The living room has a gas heater/fireplace.

The master bedroom has a queen bed, 55 inch TV, walk-in closet, and private master bath with a large ceramic tile shower. The second bedroom also has a queen bed, tv, with a large closet and full bath in the hall. The third bedroom has two sets of bunks and a large closet. The cottage is equipped with a full size washer and dryer.

A large screened porch on the lake side of the house gives 180 degrees of lake view.

There are two docks, one for boats and fishing and a floater for swimming and canoe/kayak launching. We supply a canoe, paddles, and life jackets (please use at your own risk). There is a fire pit/ring (we do not supply wood, but bundles can be purchased at the near-by White House Market).

Swimming off our lake-front is ideal, with clear no-wake water and minimal interference from waves, making it fun for younger children and adults.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Robert and Elizabeth Flickinger (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Robert and Elizabeth Flickinger

We are retired and live in Ellicott City, MD.

Robert and Elizabeth Flickinger purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Robert and Elizabeth Flickinger chose Smith Mountain Lake

Great friends next door. Great flat lot. Hidden gem of a lake. Cozy cottage totally re-done.

What makes this cottage unique

Flat lot. Clean, deep water. Our dock normally has 10-14 feet of water. Centrally located on the Lake. Close to golf, tennis, and the State Park.

Reviews

4.8
based on 32 traveler reviews

Pet friendly, Gently sloping lot, 2 docks, Quiet cove, Great swimming!
average rating of 4.84375 based on 32 reviews
5

Perfect first family stay at sml.

  • 5 of 5

Home was perfect for us 6 adults and 2 children. The location on the cove is breathtaking, especially early morning and at dusk. We celebrated 3 birthdays with 3 generations! All amenities exactly as described. Very clean, up to date, quiet, and easy to relax in. Very kid friendly as well. We would highly recommend this place to others, though hope to reserve it again next year for a longer stay! We lucked out with perfect weather as well!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We absolutely love this place!

  • 5 of 5

This cottage at Smith Mountain Lake has become our "go to" spot for vacation. This was our 5th year staying at the cottage and the 4th year under the current owners. The cottage was great the first year but every year since, Robert and Elizabeth have made improvements. This year it was new living room furniture that allows for more sitting space (although I do miss the blue comfortable couch ;-), Huge flat screen TV, new dock furniture and a new grill.

We spend most of our time on the dock or on the lake. The dock is spacious enough to allow for the docking of a good size boat and plenty of room for our Labrador retrievers to run, jump and swim while the humans lounge on the dock furniture. For Jet skis there is also a smaller floating dock as well that is easy to access.

The location of the cottage is on a quiet cove where it is safe to swim but also located near the center of SML where you can easily take boat rides up the Roanoke or Blackwater Rivers, or over to the dam. Also nearby are great areas to tube, wake-board or ski.

When not at the dock and water, we spend a lot of time on the screened in porch that gives you a great view of the cove. The porch is also where we eat most of our meals and relax out of the sun. For those hot summer days with no breeze, I do recommend bringing a couple of fans to help stay cool on the porch. But if there is a breeze, they are not needed since all 3 sides of the porch have screens.

Both Robert and Elizabeth are great to deal with and quick to answer any questions we have ever had.

We plan on many returns in the years to come.

Rob and Denise Holtz

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of the best vacations I can remember!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to Smith Mountain Lake, and using Home Away to find a vacation rental home. The home we rented not only was as described, but exceeded our expectations. The home was very comfortable, clean, and quiet! The view of the lake from the very large screened in porch was wonderful. The house has two docks, one floating dock and one fixed. We brought our waverunners, so the floating dock was great for that, and our boarder collie loved dock diving from the high dock. The lake was wonderful, and it seemed that we had the entire lake to ourselves. The kitchen is well appointed with anything you need for cooking or grilling. The owners of the home were in contact with us to make sure all was ok with the house. Overall, great home, great vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the cottage! It was very clean and just as described. It fit two families (4 adults and 4 children) very comfortably. We really enjoyed the large, screened-in porch. The lake was beautiful! SML State Park Boat Rental was conveniently located near the cottage. If we return to SML, we'll definitely stay here again. Thank you Robert and Elizabeth!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a wonderful time in your home!

  • 5 of 5

The house lived up to expectations and more! We enjoyed the dock and swimming everyday and rented a fun pontoon boat mid week. The kitchen had everything we needed and the updated master bath was beautiful.

A relaxing week in a lovely spot!

Mary and John Garrett

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
hobe sound, fl
4

Beautiful home and location but a little different experience for us.

  • 4 of 5

The Lake cottage at Smith Mountain like was very inviting and well decorated. Everything: yard, lake, deck, rooms etc, was beautiful to look at which is why I rented it. We also enjoyed watching 4 young foxes and their mother that lived in the yard next door and deer on our lawn in the evening. A real treat for this animal lover. My boys loved fishing and caught bass and brim from the dock and the boats supplied.

Strange to me that I learned a week before before our arrival (probably my fault) we had to bring our own sheets and towels. Ahhhh, a family of 7 flying with no linens. However I called the owner and she was gracious. she provided sheets for 3 beds and 5 towels. I then scrambled and had my young adult college students supply or borrow for me the rest of the sheets and towels we needed The other difference for us is we have never arrived at vrbo rental house that was not stocked with the basics like laundry detergent, coffee, garbage bags, dishwashing soap, a blow dryer, shampoo, salt and sugar etc. I would like to add kitchen was well stocked. it had plenty of dishes, glasses, bake wear, utensils etc. There also was an iron and ironing board and lots of blankets and pillows.

The house was very clean, the TV worked great. the wifi worked unfortunately it was very slow. The house felt spacious and comfortable except for the room with the bunk beds. The bunk bed room was very small and a VERY hot room. Fortunately a cold front came through the third night which solved the problem.

Despite the bare bones and the hot bunk room I would rent it again. The overall experience was good as the house was so nice and clean. Thank you Robert and Elizabeth,

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have made sure that our property description prominently displays that we do not supply linens, coffee, soaps, condiments, and other essentials. We offered the linen rental service which our cleaning service runs but the guest declined. We rented the linens at our expense for the guest. There are and were two hair dryers in the cottage, under each of the bathroom sinks. When we arrived this week we found that the air register in the third bedroom was simply not turned to the open position. We have a new AC which is very efficient. We have never received a complaint of heat in any room from renters even in the hot Summer. I am sorry the guests' experience was not as expected. We strive to offer a top notch property and make regular improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Roanoke Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Moosies, Bridgewater Plaza
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mariner's Landing
Nearest Train
39 Miles
Amtrak, Lynchburg, Va
Nearest Motorway
43 Miles
Interstate 81
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Smokehouse Restaurant, moneta
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Smith Mountain Lake State Park
Car: necessary

Cape Cottage II is located in the Holiday Hills subdivision in an ideal area of the Lake. The Virginia Dare Marina is nearby with its gift shop, restaurant, and marina services. It also offers lunch and dinner cruises on a replica paddle wheel ship. Within a five minute drive is the spectacular 1248 acre Smith Mountain Lake State Park with hiking trails, nature programs, outdoor amphitheater, life guarded sandy beach, playgrounds, picnicking, pier fishing, boat launching, and more. Also within a 5 minute drive is the Robert Trent Jones designed Mariner's Landing public golf course and tennis courts. Boat, jet ski, and kayak rentals can be found at many marinas around the lake.

Fresh water fishing on the lake is reknown for huge striped bass. Charter trips are available to catch the large variety of gamefish found in the lake.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Moneta Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 11 2016 - Nov 26 2016
2 night minimum stay
$215
$1,400
 
 
Winter
Nov 27 2016 - Apr 8 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Spring
Apr 9 2017 - Jun 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,500
 
 
Summer
Jun 11 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,725
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
2 night minimum stay
$243
From
$260
Fri,Sat
$1,725
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.3%

Other off-season rates and holiday rates are negotiable as available. Please inquire.
Cancellations refunds will be minus processing fees.
Check-in is 2:00PM. Check-out 11:00AM.
The Service FEE was just added by Homeaway. It goes to them, not the owner.
Because Satelite Internet fees at the lake are per gigabyte, excess internet usage will be charged to you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Moneta Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hall bath for 2 bedrooms and all guests
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , master bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk beds
  • Children's room has two sets of bunkbeds. Linens and towels are not supplied.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Check-in 2:00pm Check-out 11:00AM

Partner Offers