check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ken

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, Japanese

GRAND RE-OPENING - newly renovated - Quiet, Comfortable, Heavenly convenient!!!

26 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Shimogyo-ku House Rental Photos and Description

Peaceful Japanese Style House - 2 Bedroom, functional kitchen with a river view!

This house is in the center of Kyoto and very close to three major train lines and the subway. Its in a quiet neighborhood

You can find many cafes, bars, restaurants and many sightseeing spots such as Kiyomizu Temple, Yasaka Shrine, the Kyoto National Museum and many many more all within 15 minutes of this Guest House.

The house comes equipped with high-speed internet, a 60 inch flat screen TV, an ice-making refrigerator, 2 air conditioners, microwave oven toaster and a drum style washer/dryer.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ken (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, Japanese

About Ken

I grew up in Canada, went to school in the United States and have spent the last 15 years of my life in Kyoto. I fell in love with this city, its temples, shrines and festivals within my first few years here and don't think I'll ever leave.

Ken purchased this house in 2004

Why Ken chose Kyoto

This house faces the Takase river. The view offers cherry blossoms in Spring, fireflies in early summer, beautiful leaves in Autumn. This house is in a wonderful area. Easily accessible in a quiet and safe neighborhood.

What makes this house unique

Fantastic location (central) with a riverside view. Quiet neighborhood and traditional neighbors. Well equipped facilities and lots of helpful information to make your stay in Kyoto memorable.

Reviews

4.9
based on 26 traveler reviews

GRAND RE-OPENING - newly renovated - Quiet, Comfortable, Heavenly convenient!!!
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
5

Just what I wished for!!

  • 5 of 5

To address questions asked: The listing description is completely accurate. The location is perfect for walking to transportation, and sites. The layout works well and was a perfect accommodation for myself and my daughter giving us each the privacy we needed. Having a washing machine for a two week stay could not be beat. The house was immaculate. Ken, the owner provided all the information we could have needed regarding restaurants, stores, sites etc.. This was my fifth trip to Japan but in many ways it felt "all new" because we were "living" in the city, and Ken made that possible. I would definitely recommend this property to best friends and relatives.

I took this trip to celebrate my 70th birthday and to share it with one of my daughters. We visited fabulous temples many of which are within walking distance, an easy cab, or subway from around the corner. We went to Nara. We went into the surrounding country side which is very quickly amazingly rural and agricultural. We went to markets, and really neat stores. We loved the local pubs including Kura Kura where we returned three times (English menu) and An Gies which has great fish. People were very friendly with banter and we shared tastes of all the dishes. Ken is a food writer and his recommendations after I said what I was looking for were right on. I cannot recommend this property more highly and yes a beautiful small river is right outside the door and although near busy streets, it is a very very quiet area.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Joel, It was truly a pleasure meeting you and your daughter during your stay at KiYOMiZU House. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for taking such good care of the house and appreciating all the amenities. I truly love Kyoto and could see the same love in your eyes too. KiYOMiZU House will always be here, waiting for your next trip to Japan!!! Happy 70th!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Great Kyoto Property

  • 5 of 5

Ken was a fantastic host for our family of two adults and three kids, and the Kiyomizu House is exactly as described. The house is nicely located near the center of Kyoto and on major bus routes (the best way to temple hop). The house itself has everything one needs, including a great washer/dryer. Don't hesitate to stay at the Kiyomizu house. Thanks Ken!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Stay in Conveniently Located Kyoto House

  • 5 of 5

We lived in Japan some years ago and brought our now teenage children back on a two week trip to experience Japan and revisit the old stomping grounds. The end of our itinerary included a four night stay at Kiyomizu House. In our previous life we lived close enough to Kyoto to make day trips there but this time wanted to experience Kyoto more locally, and Kiyomizu House fit the bill perfectly. The house is located an easy walk to Kiyomizu Temple, Gion, Sanjusangendo, and a lovely (and quiet!) Japanese garden just down the street. The day we visited the garden we stumbled upon a Japanese arts demonstration including shamisen, calligraphy, and ikebana. You never know what you will find in Japan! A convenience store and grocery store are nearby, as are several restaurants. We made good use of the Kyoto subway system and a stop is a very short walk from the house. Host Ken is very friendly and accommodating and will make restaurant reservations and suggestions. A detailed map left in the house by Ken was a great resource, and the washer/dryer came in handy as well. The house is small by Western standards but convenient and clean. Two bedrooms upstairs slept the four of us perfectly on Futons. The kitchen is new and well equipped. A note to anyone with disabilities the staircase is steep going up to the bedrooms although I think a futon could easily be set up in the first floor living room if necessary. With two rivers nearby as landmarks you can easily explore the city without worrying about getting lost! We ran into a slight snag at the end of the trip with transportation arrangements to the airport due to busy cherry blossom season, but Ken set us up with a friend/driver so our sayonara to Japan included Karaoke in the van on the way to the airport. Kyoto is a city not to be missed on any Japan itinerary, and we would definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles
5

Great home along the river in Kyoto

  • 5 of 5

This house was exactly what I'd pictured in my mind when planning our trip to Kyoto. The immaculately maintained home in its quiet, serene neighborhood was what we needed for our vacation. It had everything we needed (full kitchen, washer/dryer, chirping birds) plus it's located close to many historic sites and train stations. Cabs are also easy to find when needed, but we mostly walked everywhere. Our host, Ken, could not have been friendlier nor more helpful. He gave us invaluable info in preparation for our stay and was available for questions while we were in Kyoto.

One word of caution for elderly or special needs travelers: the staircase is very steep and the bathroom is downstairs (both bedrooms are upstairs). If, however, this is not a cause for concern, BOOK THIS HOUSE!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Angeles
5

Unbeatable Location, Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5

My brother and I spent a wonderful 5 days at Ken's house, and it was perfect. In an amazing, beautiful part of Kyoto, within walking distance to the temples of Southern Higashiyama, Kyoto Station, and other sights, we couldn't have been more thrilled. The traditional tatami-style bedrooms were very comfortable, the shower was excellent, and the laundry made our stay very convenient. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
5

Perfect Location for an Amazing Trip!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough positive things about this property. From our helpful and gracious host, Ken, to the great location...we had a trip of a lifetime.

We arrived during Gion Matsuri and a typhoon! Ken's suggestions for where to best watch the parade was perfect. We avoided crowds, were close to the floats, and got some of the greatest pictures...even though we were standing in the typhoon deluge for hours. The umbrellas made available were well-used for both rain and sun-protection.

Thanks to Ken for making a dinner reservation for us the evening of the parade at Giro Giro where we had a high cuisine Japanese meal of summer specialties. Watching the chef prepare Kyoto's summer specialty pike fish of Hamo was a real highlight.

We walked everywhere from the house, strolling up Teramachi Dori which led to discoveries of Kyoto artisans and the famous Nishiki food market. The bus system was easy to use and cabs were inexpensive. We found that drivers had an easier time if we were dropped off at the cross streets of Gojo Dori and Kawaramachi Dori rather than giving our exact address. The map that you provided us was dogeared and well used, thank you. Thank you for your personal faves...we enjoyed visiting your favorite garden in particular.

As for accommodations, it was incredibly hot in August but the air conditioners in the bedrooms and family area were exceptional in cooling the rooms within minutes of our arrival. We very much appreciated the use of the laundry and soap since that allowed us to pack lightly and wash our clothes a number of times. My son is 6'2" so he hit his head on the low doorways and slipped on the stairs with his size 14 feet. That just added to the charm.

This location is near one of my favorite temples in Kyoto (IMHO), Kiyomizu-dera...plan to go early in the day...we went at the end and it's quite a hike up hill in the sun at that time. I wish I had allotted more time there as the streets leading up to the temple are filled with restaurants and shops selling the famous Kiyomizu porcelain.

Ken, I can't thank you enough for your hospitality and kindness. I hope we get to come back to Kyoto and Kiyomizu House...I had no idea how absolutely wonderful it was. I can see why you live there.

With gratitude,

Susan, Jim, and Jack Elliott

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
99.9 Kilometres
Kansai Airport (KIX) 90 mins by train
Nearest Barpub
150 Metres
Lots of bars within 5 mins in all directions
Nearest Train
250 Metres
Keihan
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Meishin Highway
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Lots of restaurants within 5 mins walk!!!
Car: not necessary

KiYOMiZU House is half way between Kyoto station and downtown Kyoto in a quiet magical location in front of the Takase river. All of the train lines and subway are within 15mins walking distance from the house, giving you easy access to surrounding cities and sightseeing spots.

Kyoto is famous for its food and there are amazing restaurants all around KiYOMiZU HOUSE.

The neighborhood is old and the neighbors are quiet. Its located in front of the Takasegawa river in Kyoto. You can find cherry blossoms all along this river in spring and even see fireflies in June.

KiYOMiZU HOUSE faces East so there is nice morning light but don't worry - there are also elegant blinds for those who just want to sleep in and wake up at their own pace.

All the appliances in KiYOMiZU HOUSE are new and quite modern so your stay will be very comfortable.

Let KiYOMiZU HOUSE be the place that you call home while you visit the most traditional & remarkable city in Japan.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Shimogyo-ku House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

*** Please contact us for the high season rates (March, April, May, July, September, October, November, End/Beginning of the Year). ***

Payments must be made in YEN.

*** All reservations are on a first come first served basis.
Your final reservation will be completed by e-mail.
Please note that your reservation is not complete until your payment is made. ***

All payments must be made in yen through Paypal.

** 2016 Rates **

*** Staying 3 nights or more ***
1 guest : 20,000 yen
2 guests: 25,000 yen
3 guests: 28,000 yen
4 guests: 30,000 yen

10% discount for 7 or more days
15% discount for 14 or more days
20% discount for 21 or more days
25% discount for 30 or more days
*** No long stay discounts for April, October & November ***

Taxes are currently based at 8% and are subject to go up according to Japanese law.

Rates advertised are for the current dates only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Shimogyo-ku House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • River ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The toilet is modern with a bidet and warm seat(appreciated on Kyoto's cool winter days). The toilet and shower/bath are in separate rooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • East Bedroom - 2 sleep sofa /futon , beautiful view of the river!
    West Bedroom - 2 sleep sofa /futon , opens out to a quiet balcony
  • The bedrooms are both on the 2nd floor. The front bedroom, facing East, overlooks a quiet stream and the back bedroom opens out to a nice balcony. There are 2 new AC/Heaters in both of the bedrooms upstairs that will keep you comfortable during your stay.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • roller blading
Notes:
*** compatibility regarding electronics and games is not guaranteed. Private chef available - please inquire.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties